Brill
As usual superbly looked after and excellent food.

David Savage - 23rd Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Fabulous Stay
We had a fabulous and comfortable stay here. The beautiful old house is spotlessly clean. Our bedroom was lovely and comfortable with all the facilities we would wish and a lovely view. The breakfast was delicious too. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful in ever way. Would definitely return!

Lynda Winston - 30th Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Our Stay
We stayed for 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised by this guest house. It is superbly located for the whole of North Devon.
The room far exceeded our expectations both in comfort and cleanliness. The food was superb both for breakfast and the evening meals, with everything prepared fresh to order.
Our hosts are a lovely couple who could not do enough to ensure we had a marvellous stay.
We have already recommended this guest house to all our family.

Stephen Leeks - 4th Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We\'re glad that your 4 night stay with us exceeded expectations and thanks also for recommending us to your family. We will certainly look after them if they decide to come and stay with us. Very best wishes for your future, we hope all your plans go well.

Wonderful Stay!
This was our second visit to Sampson Barton and just as good as the first thanks to the great welcome, extra special care and wonderful meals from Bev & Neil. We hope to return to our special B & B retreat next year.

Julie Flannery - 31st Jul, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for your lovely review, we\'re so pleased your second visit lived up to the first and can\'t wait for your third! Looking forward already to seeing you again next year.

Devon Holiday
Very comfortable and attractive home with the friendliest of owners which included the very good cook!

Terence Harragan - 25th Jun, 2018
Verified Review

Fabulous Stay.
We stayed for two nights, lovely friendly welcome from Bev and Neil the owners.We enjoyed a delightful cream tea on arrival sitting in their beautiful garden.Our room was very very comfortable and very well presented.Our breakfast each morning were \"Simply the Best\" we have ever eaten at a guest house.Bev and Neil are a lovely lovely couple as was our stay.We will definitely go back, we would highly recommend a stay.We give 10/10 and more!!๐Ÿ˜Š.

robin churchill - 25th Jun, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks so much for your great review, we\'re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially breakfast which you have rubber stamped with the seal of approval as being fantastic local produce with eggs from our own \"ginger girls\" and not forgetting Neil\'s home cooked bread! We look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting your family.

Weekend Break
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the scones and tea on arrival. Lovely quiet location and in easy reach of the main towns and amenities of the North Devon coastline.
Would definitely stay again.

David Potter - 21st Jun, 2018
Verified Review

2 Day Stay
a very friendly couple,
food of a very high standard
direction to guest house very easy
thoroughly enjoyable stay

howard caine - 31st May, 2018
Verified Review

Home From Home.....
....although, to be honest, itโ€™s a lot better than being at home. A warm welcome, spotless rooms, excellent food - the list goes on. In addition to which, Bev and Neil are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet. I urge you to stay here.

Robert Douglas - 26th May, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks so much, we thoroughly enjoyed you being here staying with us and are so pleased the feeling was mutual! Thanks also for recommending others, as you know, we have many returning guests, all of who we now see more as friends than guests. We hope we will be adding you to the list!

Superb!
Beautiful location, clean and modern rooms, delicious food and wonderful hosts. What more could one ask for! Looking forward to our return visit in July.
Thank you Bev & Neil

Ruve Duncan - 22nd May, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for your wonderful review, we\\\'re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciated all of our efforts into making the guest house a special place for great people like you to enjoy! We too are looking forward to your return visit in July.

Mr Robert Brew
Ifound this guest house to be very clean and good value for money and the owers could not do enough for you i would tell others about Sampson Barton Guest House

Robert brew - 13th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Saturday Night Stay In October
Warm welcome greeted our arrival. Directions were good. Quaint and cosy farmhouse in picturesque location is an accurate description. Bev and Neil were great and worked hard to ensure our stay was comfortable. Neil\'s cooks a fine dinner and breakfast.

Laurence Elliott - 23rd Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and Neil\'s cooking. It was lovely having you to stay and we hope to see you again when you\'re next visiting your family in South Molton.

A Lovely Finish To Our Holiday In North Devon
We only stayed one night, but wish it could have been longer. We were made so welcome, and given a dinner in the evening that was one of the best we\'ve had in a while. A superb and very friendly place to stay - would thoroughly recommend.

Jane Mole (Mrs Conyers) - 15th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So pleased you ended your holiday on a high and enjoyed Neil\\\'s food so much - he is completely self taught and just seems to have the gift for cooking! Thanks for such a lovely review.

A Gem In The Countryside
A gem in the countryside. Superb hosts, best food of the holiday and not too far away from RHS Rosemoor and the North Devon coast.

Ann Rogers - 18th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Outstanding
Wonderful peaceful location, outstanding accommodation and delightful hosts.

Detlev Fischbach - 17th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
Absolutely delightful location and guest house

The owners were friendly helpful and welcoming

Lee Robinson - 5th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

A Very Warm Welcome
Neil and Beverley made us feel very welcome in their gorgeous Guest House. Breakfast and evening meals were really lovely. Bed was very comfortable. Very quiet and peaceful.

Mrs sharon Bonner - 4th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Breath Of Fresh Air
From the moment we set foot on the grounds we were transported. Greeted with proper homemade warm scones and tea with a smile. The farmhouse room was cosy with a powerful hot shower and vuews of the countryside. An array of fresh fruit accompanied a home cooked full English breakfast. Nothing more we could ask for!

Denise Bain - 28th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to have you here. Hope you managed more surfing before heading home. Many thanks.

Beautiful Place Beautiful Couple
Our first time here and will never stay any where else.such a lovely stay shame it was only one night,so so welcoming feels like your visiting old friends rather than just
Staying at a guest house.all I can say is beautiful location and guest house with beautiful couple see you both again soon .

Barry West - 23rd Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Wow, thank you so much for your beautiful review. The feeling is mutual on all counts, shame you couldn\'t have stayed longer, but hopefully next time we will get to spend a bit more time together with our new found beautiful friends!

Perfect
We have been very busy and could only manage one night away. We couldn\'t have chosen a more comfortable, restful and relaxed place to stay. Neil and Bev are terrific hosts, the food was good and plentiful. Although there is a pub in the next village it is about a two mile walk so the well stocked bar in the lounge was welcome. The bonus was meeting a really nice couple to join for dinner. Certainly recommend and hope to visit again. Although our car is quite big there was no problem along the access lanes and the SatNav took right to the gate.

Kate Wheller - 21st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we very much appreciate it. So pleased that as well as enjoying your surroundings, you made friends with others staying here. Hopefully we will see you all again next year for the reunion. We hope you enjoyed your day at RHS Rosemoor.

Absolutely Brilliant!
We spent 2 nights in Sampson Barton guest, as we had friends\' wedding close-by. The house and rooms is super cozy and will everything you might need. Bev and Neil were very carrying and friendly! Made our trip so much better!

Alanas Kraujalis - 30th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
Just returned from a lovely 3 nights with Bev and Neil at Sampson Barton Guest House. Good company, great breakfasts, superb evening meals in a relaxed and peaceful environment. Thank you for a lovely few days and to be greeted with a cup of tea and a piece of Neil\'s carrot cake on arrival. Beat that! Edmund and Jean

Mr. Edmund Brew - 15th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent!
This is a truly excellent place to stay. Bev and Neil could not be more welcoming and friendly. On arrival we were greeted with a delicious cream tea with beautiful warm scones, made by Neil. Our room was very comfortable with a view of the surrounding countryside and the garden. Breakfasts were cooked to order with an excellent choice. We chose to have our evening meals there every night as Neil\'s food is exceptional. There is a different menu every night with 3 choices for each course. Every dish was well cooked, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The fish was incredibly fresh and there was a different array of vegetables every night - always cooked perfectly and always with a novel twist. There is also an honesty bar in the Guest Lounge which works very well. We cannot rate this B&B highly enough. You really have to stay there to appreciate how friendly Bev and Neil are and what a warm welcome you will be given.

Mr. Geoff Parkes - 11th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

A Definite Return Visit Is Going To Be Booked In
Thank you Bev for being incredible from the booking on the phone to the email exchanges through to your acceptionally accommodating welcome and finally the cooked breakfast after a long day celebrating and partying at our friends wedding. The 13 adults were already discussing a return visit over breakfast. Thank you xx

Caroline Hope - 9th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Accommodation And Welcome Excellent
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Brian Hare - 18th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

The Perfect Guest House
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was large, well furnished, peaceful and very clean. We chose this Guest House because evening meals could be taken if required and the food was superb!! Bev and Neil made us so welcome that we will return.

Jennifer Gosling - 12th May, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for the wonderful review, it means a lot to us. Really looking forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.

Enjoyed Our Stay
We realy enjoyed 4 days with Bev & Neil in lovely surroundings

Linda Bedford - 8th May, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was lovely to see you again and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay once more. Hope all is going well for you and that we will get to see you again in the future.

Short Break
Little gem of a place, if you do not visit then that is your loss. Lovely couple run the guest house, the food is excellent, all very well cooked by Neil, and using good quality ingredients. It is tucked away on a minor road with hardly any traffic, but only a few minutes from South Molton. We will be returning!

MARTYN WARNE - 30th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks so much for your very kind words. We\'re so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sampson Barton Guest House
This was my 7th visit. Bev and Neil are the perfect hosts. This place has a home from home feeling and Neil\'s cooking is some of the most adventurous that I have ever come across. I would recommend this Guest House to anyone

Michael Ennals - 11th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks so much for your great review. So pleased that we are keeping up our high standards year on year and we look forward to seeing you again next year, you are the perfect guest and it just wouldn\'t be the same without your annual visit!

Fantastic
I stay in the South Molton area often and having tried almost all the options i will, having found Sampson Barton, now always try to stay with Bev and Neil. The accommodation is great,it is welcoming after a hard days work. it is clean and comfortable. The food is the best i have experienced in the south west with fresh locally soured produce all cooked by Neil and the conversation and front of house expertly managed by Bev. so i will not stay anywhere else!!!! Thank you Neil and Bev!!

Steve Noall - 13th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Sampson Barton Guest House
My husband and I had never been to a guest house, always preferring hotels, but we have been converted after staying with Bev and Neil. We had precise instructions from them of how to get to SB - a priority for us as we get lost leaving the house! Neil was there to greet us and take our bags. He then offered tea and scones which were wonderful. Our room was small but had everything you needed and the bed was really comfortable. We went down to dinner and the food was magnificent - I am sure Neil is a master chef! We then relaxed in the lounge with 2 other couples and had drinks from the \'honesty\' bar which was great. In the morning Bev served us breakfast (another gourmet delight from Neil) and then unfortunately it was time to leave. I cannot thank Bev and Neil for their kindness and hospitality. We had a wonderful time and the bad news is we WILL be back! Thankyou both. Sharon and Brian Manson.

Mr. Brian Manson - 16th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Another Lovely Stay
Lovely room, great meal and very warm welcome!

Ms. Mary Tait - 11th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Place
Beautiful place with wonderful inglenook fireplaces.

The rooms were super , nice decor and extremely clean.

Bev and Neil are a lovely couple who run the b & b, the food is first class and we highly recommend an evening meal as well as breakfast.

We would definitely return.
Many thanks,
Lisa & Steve

Stephen Fox - 27th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Sampson Barton Stayed 15th October
We stayed for just one night on the 15th October but wished we had booked for longer. A great local (for Rosemoor and more) with fantastic hosts; Bev and Neil. Neil is a great cook so make sure you book the evening meal.

Dr. Keith Edwards - 17th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks very much for taking the time to give your review; we\'re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and yes, you must book for longer next time! Hope to see you again soon.

An Ideal Place To Stay
Always a warm welcome
Very peaceful
Wonderful food
Great hosts

Mrs. Pamela Harwood - 6th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It\'s always a pleasure having you and Alan to stay, you\'re great company and we love looking after you! Hope to see you again soon.

7 Nights At Sampson Barton
Great stay,accommodation first class,food first class,Bev and Neil great hosts. This is our second year at Sampson Barton looking forward to next year.

Janet Bailey - 12th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks so much for the lovely review, it was great having you back and we can\'t wait to see you again next year. Pete\'s top notch Devon sausages at the ready!

Thank You!
From the moment we arrived, to the day we left we felt we were welcomed as part of a family. We enjoyed the excellent food and the diet will hopefully work in time for us to eat again when we next come!
One small improvement we would suggest is a greater sense of locality. For example, although we were in the heart of the cider tradition of the UK, the bottles on offer were standard supermarket brands. Maybe contact a local supplier?

Robert Harnett - 4th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks so much for this great review and for the comment on the cider. We\'ve been on the look out for a good local supplier and have found one close to Iddesleigh, just half an hour away. Our first order is just about to be placed! It should be worth you coming back just for the cider - hope to see you again soon!

Lovely!
Warm welcome, comfy clean and stylish rooms, hearty tasty breakfast! We\'ll visit again & definitely recommend.

Stevie Slade - 15th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Top Class With Superb Food.
A warm welcome from Bev and Neil to their beautiful old farm house with spotlessly clean rooms and immaculate en-suites.
The meals are wonderful using local produce and cooked to an extremely high standard by Neil.
Thank you so much for our lovely stay and see you again later in the year.
Helen & Geoffxx

Mr. Geoff Charman - 23rd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

A Long Weekend
From the minute we arrived we felt at home. This is truly an idyllic guest house. Neil and Bev are just wonderful, nothing is too much trouble, the breakfasts are extensive and gorgeous, and the one dinner we had there was delicious and very impressive. By the time we left we were feeing like family! Highly recommended, we can\'t wait to return.

Wendy Gordon - 21st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Great B & B !
Great time had with Bev & Neil.
Good food perfectly cooked.
Couldn\'t have been better.
Definitely coming back.

Mr. kenneth quinn - 20th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Great Hospitality
We very much enjoyed our stay with Neil and Bev. Great food and very welcoming.

Heather Downey - 11th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for your review, much appreciated. We hope Sunday was a great success for K and we\'re definately looking out for him in that yellow jersey. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Satisfied Customer
A first class retreat in an idyllic setting. Lounge large and comfortable, Dinning room large & well appointed. Host`s were first class.

Mr. DAVID J . SCOTT - 27th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Great Place For A Break
Neil made us very welcome when we arrived with a cream tea (home made scones). Delicious. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Neil\'s efforts in the kitchen and Bev\'s expertise \'front of house\' made breakfast and dinner very pleasurable indeed. Set in a beautiful part of Devon with easy access to north and south. We will certainly be back.

Mr. David Butcher - 25th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Brilliant! What more could i have asked for after a long journey, great place, lovely people,my god the hotel and setting is superb, thank you

Michael Scholefield - 29th May, 2016
Verified Review

A Blissful Stay!
A lovely place to stay - welcoming, deep in the countryside. Provided simple soup and roll when we didn\'t want a full meal. Comfortable guest lounge with wonderful wood burning stove. Delightful hosts.

David Robinson - 30th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Home From Home
Lovely relaxed atmosphere... hosts were really friendly. Food was great. So it was a good place to stay for a couple of days. I\'ll consider staying longer next time.

Jacqui PRESTIDGE - 11th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

Welcome To B And B Guests
a lovely rural location which we decided to visit during a time of flood producing rain! You can imagine our delight to be greeted by the friendliest of welcomes, a roaring log fire and the (free)offer of freshly made real coffee and homemade scones. Breakfast was also excellent.

Howard Clifton - 8th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

6th Fantastic Stay At Sammy B\'s
We love the location, accommodation, food and hospitality so much that we\'ve stayed here 6 times. We always leave feeling relaxed and in need of a diet. Can\'t recommend it enough!

Mrs. Sue Haslett - 8th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Location For Exploring Exmore National Park
Guest house is delighfully located in an old farmhouse. Rooms are well furnished with modern and confortable en-suite facilities. Friendly feel-home managing. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

Paolo Waldis - 27th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Great hosts, wonderful breakfasts and a relaxed friendly environment. Scones on arrival and honesty bar were a nice touch.

Mr. Warren Wynne - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Sampson Barton Guest House
This is a lovely place, would definitely recommend - friendly and helpful owners, really nice old building and gardens set in beautiful countryside near Exmoor but not too hard to get to, lovely food. We had a great time.

Ms. Mary Tait - 27th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review Mary; we\'re so pleased that you had a great time, you did seem quite at home sitting in the lounge after dinner each evening, chatting to the other guests. We wish you well in your quest and hope that you will keep in touch and let us know how things are progressing.

Lovely People And Excellent Breakfast
Pleasantly situated and you were both so friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay

Terry Bedford - 11th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Hidden Gem In The Devon Countryside
A comfortable converted farm situated on the edge of Exmoor in rolling countryside with quiet lanes and walkways that you can explore on foot. Leave your car parked safely in the farm yard and walk to Kings Nympton to enjoy the thatched buildings and a good lunch and pint at the Grove.

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and the whole atmosphere of the old farm was really relaxing. You can relax in a very large guest lounge with beams and an inglenook fireplace, where we were welcomed with delicious a cream tea.

The bedroom was very clean and comfortable with a modern en-suite, views to the countryside and no passing traffic so we slept so well.

Sadly we were only there one night so didn\'t get a chance to try the evening meals which the other guests said were amazing.

After a proper English breakfast when we said goodbye to our hosts, who made us feel so at home, it felt like we were saying goodbye to friends or relatives; we\'ll definitely stay again.

Mr. Daryl Williamson - 21st May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you so much for your in-depth review of your stay with us. Although only here for one day/night you certainly enjoyed your time here and made the most of our beautiful surrounding countryside as well as experiencing the local hospitality. It was lovely to meet you and we hope that you will come and stay for longer next time.

Very Peaceful And Relaxing
Owners extremely helpful and friendly. Room was perfect and breakfast was excellent. Thank you.

Peter Sinclair - 12th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks very much Peter for your great review, we\'re so glad you enjoyed your stay; it\'s very rewarding knowing that our efforts are appreciated and makes it all worthwhile and keeps us going! Hope to see you again if you are down in sunny Devon!

Total Comfort,
Totally enjoyed my stay, room was light airy, brilliant views from window, clean and nicely decorated. Slept like a log on super comfortable bed. And most important the owners were super pleasant and welcoming. I would stay again infact ive stayed twice mow

Jacqui Lewis - 9th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it means a lot to us especially when we know how busy you are juggling work and home life. We\'re so pleased that we can help to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible whilst you are working away from home and we hope to see you again soon.

Superb
Fantastic - very friendly welcome in a beautiful location

Mark Allen - 26th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Too Brief A Stay
We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by Neil. He showed us through to the lounge and immediately asked if we would like a cup of tea. He then showed us to our really lovely room. It was very clean and very comfortable. We slept brilliantly that night, and in the morning had a wonderful farmhouse breakfast. Delicious coffee, fresh bread, sausage, egg, bacon and beans. Worth every penny and we really look forward to staying with Bev and Neil again.
Thank you to you both for a truly restful night\'s stay.

Tanya Wilson - 18th Feb, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect Peace And Quiet
We had a one-night stay here recently and found both the house and owners delightful. As it happened we were the only guests and so benefited from their undivided attention. Our bedroom (Peppermint) was very well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. The evening meal was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. Our thanks to Neil and Bev for a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

Mrs. Jane Fearnley - 12th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent As Always
Have stayed here several times. Always a lovely warm welcome. Fantastic food.
Comfortable room. Nothing to not like!

Mr. David And Anne Stone - 2nd Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Five Star
Welcoming, beautiful setting, everywhere clean, lovely room and great food.
What more could you ask for.

Mrs. Deborah Rand - 20th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
This was our third or fourth visit to Sampson Barton. It is a lovely place to stay, in rural surroundings, with pleasant gardens in which to sit and relax. Bev and Neil are friendly hosts and Neil a great cook providing a good hearty breakfast. We have also had excellent evening meals. There is a cosy lounge in which to sit and chat or watch TV. Great holiday, even stayed an extra night, and will be returning.

Mr. Richard Thompson - 19th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for your lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your fourth visit and will be back again - it wouldn't be the same without your annual visit!

Rural Retrat
Wonderful rural retreat but access on single track road. Very clean and comfortable room. Fresh cooked breakfast was a treat. Some less able guests may find the stairs difficult as they are very steep but it is an old house so quirky normal!To be highly recommended

Eileen Hand - 19th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Great Little Farmhouse B&b
The owners were friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and tidy, breakfast was delicious and the location very peaceful.

Mr. Gary Spratley - 8th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely review, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again if you're back in the area for work - or pleasure for that matter.