Our Stay At 1863
We received a very warm welcome and shown to our room - which was beautifully decorated and had a really nice shower room. We ate in the Bistro which was busy but we were well attended and the food was to die for.
All in all a really lovely stay - highly recommended and we hope to be back very soon.

Debbie Whitaker - 8th May, 2018
Verified Review

Andy Reed Food Nut
I have stayed in lots of 5 star hotel in the area witch could learn a lot from this place, staff so helpful but not in your face . The room 7 clean and bright and comfortable. Now the best bit the food, to die for , my last trip was to Barcelona to a 2 star mitchlin not a patch on 1863 I will be back ASAP .

Andrew Reed - 6th May, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hello Andrew, It\'s Mark here we spoke about your car, glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your great review if you get chance would you mind posting your comments on TripAdvisor as it seems to be the one that everyone takes note of. Note: We have 2 listings 1 under Hotels / B&B\'s and 1 under Restaurants in Pooley Bridge. Thanks again, no problem if you don\'t do TripAdvisor just thought I would ask.

Best Regards

Mark Vause

Fantastic
Stayed at 1863 on a Saturday night. We were Room 6 which was lovely. Had a great meal in the bistro - service and food were spot on. Had the Cumbrian breakfast in the morning, which hit the spot. Highly recommended.

Andy Swarbrick - 30th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

A Little Gem
Great little Hotel owners and staff very friendly
Best of all the food was excellent
Looking forward to next visit

Joseph Turner - 29th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Great Stay
We stayed here on our way to and from Scotland and the rooms, bar, restaurant and food are excellent. Lots of thought has gone into the décor which is very smart. Will recommend this hotel to family and friends and will look forward to staying again.

Margaret Goldthorpe - 26th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Excellent
Excellent fine dining. Super décor and friendly attentive staff. We really enjoyed our overnight stay.

David Dand - 25th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Supa-dupa
Stayed for 3 nights in April and had a super, comfortable and happy stay. Owners and staff are a delight. We will definitely return!

Michael Galvin - 24th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Beautiful Boutique Hotel
The hotel is exquisitely decorated. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Lovely touches such as a flask of iced water daily in addition to quality biscuits and mint chocolates. The breakfast choices are delicious and well presented. An excellent place to stay if visiting Ullswater.

Amanda jones - 24th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Superb
Such a relaxing place to stay. Welcoming hosts and staff. Lovely location, beautiful decor, outstanding meals (wow!),delicious breakfast. Superb - thank you to all at 1863.

Chris Stewart - 20th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Recent Booking
Lovely relaxing stay,would book again.

Mrs Thompson - 5th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
What a fabulous place, rooms great and food amazing

Colin Walker - 25th Mar, 2018
Verified Review

1863 Overnight Stay And Dinner
A lovely overnight stay again. Friendly welcome as ever. Food absolutely delicious. Rooms luxurious super nights sleep

Jeremy Brown - 22nd Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Stunning Stay
Stunning accommodation, incredible food, fantastic hosts. What more is there to say? Cannot wait to return. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable and comfortable

chris fahey - 20th Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Overnight Stay In Cumbria
Perfect spot for overnight stay on long teip north. Quiet and comfortable, friendly staff, excellent food and close to Ullswater for a brisk walk.

David Blackwell - 18th Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Top Class
Wonderful property with excellent food.

David Hughes - 17th Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Superb Discovery
We discovered 1863 by a recommendation from a colleague and we booked 2 nights whilst on the way up to Scotland.
1863 is a delightful boutique hotel, extremely comfortable and well managed. We stayed in room 4 which was lovely, cosy and had a lovely en suite bathroom. We dined in and the food was fantastic, a delightful mix of flavours that were well thought out and brilliantly executed - Delicious !!
Will definitely come back

paul Rostand - 3rd Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent stay with us.

Hope to see you again.

Best Wishes
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Wonderful Place
Hosts - welcoming, friendly and engaging.
Staff - attentive, pleasant and polite.
Accommodation - clean, modern and inviting.
Food - amazing, delightful and faultless.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

John Myers - 2nd Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Wonderful Place
Hosts - welcoming, friendly and engaging.
Staff - attentive, pleasant and polite.
Accommodation - clean, modern and inviting.
Food - amazing, delightful and faultless.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

John Myers - 2nd Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Delicious Food, Friendly People
We loved it! Food was pricey but delicious and so worth it. We took a walk from the 1863 to Howtown along a trail and it was spectacularly beautiful. At the hotel everyone was friendly and warm. Highly recommend especially the food.

Sarah Stein Lubrano - 26th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

A Really Lovely Place To Stay
The staff were very friendly and we felt very much cared for in an unobtrusive way. Our room was very comfortable and the food delicious. It was lovely to come in from the cold to a wood burning stove. We felt very much at home.

David Arbuckle - 25th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Great Location And Fantastic Restaurant
Great rooms and excellent food. Good access to M6. Only small minor is breakfast not served before 8.30.
Enjoyed my stay!

Toine van Beek - 22nd Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Very Enjoyable Stay
We stayed at the property on 19/20-02-18 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The premises were spotless and the food was excellent. The Staff were very professional and helpful. We would recommend 1863 to friends and we will certainly return in the near future.

Anne Smith - 22nd Feb, 2018
Verified Review

I Don’t Leave Feedback But This Was So Good
February in the lakes and to find a gem like 1863 a nice welcome and warm comfortable room. The food is better than all the upmarket hotels around Ullswater. The wines matched to the food are to be recommended .
If you are looking for fine dinning and comfortable accommodation close to Ullswater 1863 I can’t recommend enough

Chris Dawson - 20th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Fabulous Weekend
Highly recommend staying here. Room was beautifully appointed and staff were friendly. Breakfast offered a lovely selection to set you up for the day. Would definitely stay here again if visiting the Lakes.

David Allan - 20th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Lovely Weekend
Everything about our stay this weekend was just perfect.car parking convenient, warm welcome, cosy and pristine facilities. Great breakfast choices well prepared. The restaurant was excellent each course and matching wine faultless served by charming staff. Location is great for walking and only 20 minutes from Keswick. We will return.

Linda Koziarska - 19th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Lizzie
What a pleasant surprise we had staying here overnight on our way up to Scotland. The welcome we received was very warm,not only the roaring fire but the helpful staff. We were in room 7. It was very tastefully decorated extremely clean and the facilities were excellent.We had booked a meal in the evening.I don\'t think I can describe how pleased we were with the excellent food.My husband had the fillet steak as a main and I had the guinea fowl. both meals were extremely tasty and beautifully presented.We will definitely recommend this place to others and we will be back.

margaret Loynd - 14th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Fine Dining Find!
Having lived in Cumbria for over 20 years, and having experienced many venues, our return provided a opportunity to \'try\' something new.
We were very impressed.
An excellent reception and welcome, a homely winter warmer bar area and outstanding food! High standard room.
( make sure that red wine is served at a higher temperature than \'room temperature\' in winter!)

Denis Turner - 13th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Superb
Great food and superb environment , sitting by the log fire on a cold Feb evening . I will be back...

John Mcintosh - 10th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay And Eat
There was a warm welcome from the pleasant member of staff on arrival. The bedroom was clean and comfortable with a small but good bathroom. The lounge was homely. Dinner was taken and the meals looked like works of art which tasted just as good. Great breakfast. We can’t speak more highly and will be staying again.

Graeme Parry - 9th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Happy Memories
We had a delightful stay with you and your imaginatively decorated rooms were extremely pleasing to the eye and provide much interest.
We dined with you on both evenings and we found the menus again imaginative , interesting and with elements of surprise. The food itself was delicious and we look forward to the time when we may have the opportunity to stay with you again.
Finally any review would be incomplete without mention of our kind hosts for their warm welcome, courteous manner and their help in facilitating a comfortable stay providing relevant tourist information.

Mr. A.P. Wilcock - 26th Jan, 2018
Verified Review

Birthday Treats
Celebrating two birthdays had a most enjoyable evening the food was superb and the surroundings most relaxing. The bedrooms were excellently fitted out, and the breakfast was great. Easy to recommend to anyone.

Jon Watt - 18th Jan, 2018
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
We stayed for 1 night. Room was lovely, warm and spotless. Checking in was quick and simple and every member of staff was friendly. The food is outstanding and compliments much go to the chefs for their hard work. Overall a great experience, we will be back.

Lee Donald - 15th Jan, 2018
Verified Review

Fantastic Gem
Stayed here for one night on my birthday. Have to say the service from all staff was fantastic. The room was really comfortable, clean with a few luxuries thrown in. A welcome change from the same decor you get in chain hotels. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was superb with beautifully matched wine. I would highly recommend the Bar Bistro rooms to anyone who is looking for short break in the Lakes.

Louisa Brown - 28th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

1863 Bistro
Fantastic food service food staff and overnight stay. Food including breakfast was as good as I’ve had anywhere in the world. Truly excellent.
Richard h

Richard Berns - 25th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Place To Stay
Would highly recommend staying here couldn’t fault anything will definitely stay here again

Dawn Cromarty - 18th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Warm And Welcoming
We received a warm welcome from the friendly staff. The tasteful decor and standard of cleanliness are excellent. We had dinner in the bistro - fine dining at it\'s best. A great place to stay as part of the Ullswater Way.

Sue Watson - 16th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Food And Very Comfortable Accommodation
We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Ian Stitt - 16th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Short Stay
First-class everything - will return.

kathleen blake - 14th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

A Lovely Weekend
1863 Bar Bistro is an intimate, and friendly hotel. The staff are very pleasant, but not intrusive. We were very impressed with the breakfast (vegetarian). And it is so close to many beautiful areas to visit or walk. It was an extremely cold weekend when we visited, into the minuses, and we felt the heating struggled to cope in the bedroom. But the lovely log burner fire in the lounge area compensated. We\'d definitely go back for another visit.

Maria Elmieh - 13th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Flying Visit
A very comfortable stay in a nice room(6). Food excellent but beware it is fine dining so don\'t necessarily expect big portions but what had was great.Felt welcome and would visit again.

John Valleley - 3rd Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Top Notch Hotel
Loved everything about this hotel. Small and intimate with super friendly owners and staff. Tastefully decorated and furnished with lovely attention to detail. We stayed in room 7 on the top floor and had a really cosy sitting area with tv. Enjoyed fine dining in the restaurant and superb breakfast while watching the birds on the feeders right outside the window. Would recommend it.

Geoff Taylor - 27th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
Couldn’t fault anything for our visit, I would say one of the best B&B we have stayed in over the many years of going to the lakes. We didn’t try the bistro on the evening as only staying for one night it will be back to try that out. Breakfast was lovely.

Richard Stephenson - 19th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful !
What a lovely , friendly ,welcoming overnight stay at 1863 , beautiful surroundings , fantastic food , friendly staff , we will certainly return ,hopefully soon !

Kilbee - 19th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Welcome And Superb Dining
Lovely welcome when we arrived at 1863, this is a tip top guesthouse, clean and very comfortable rooms. The dining is to a very high standard, modern British, very welcome after a days muddy hike. Well located at the head of the Lake District.

Philip Astley - 17th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Weekend Away
Very lovely place with lovely people, and great food.

Gary Mitchell - 13th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Comfortable Cosy Stay
Great food, if you enjoy a modern approach to local english food, we did! Really welcoming team. Great design of all the interiour, makes it a spacious cosy place. We loved the place, not to forget, the region is also a great must see!

Daniel Murdoch - 12th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Simply The Best !
1863 is just the best in everything you do . Fantastic personal service and surroundings plus amazing food beautifully presented.Thankyou once again .

Yvonne Sumner - 9th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Pearl Of Pooley
I propose to submit afuller review in Tripadviser but suffice it to say for now that our stay was most enjoyable thanks to Anne and Mark\'s excellent hosting in lovely accommodation and providing fine dining cuisine. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Robert Thomson - 9th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Couple Of Days Away
Once again we’ve had a fantastic time
Bedroom very clean and comfortable
Service excellent
And the atmosphere in the evening was warming and welcoming

joanne taylor - 2nd Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Weekend Away
Our stay at the Bistro was very enjoyable. And will certainly be making a return visit

Julie McNeal - 30th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Wedding Accommodation
We were guests at a wedding at nearby Askham Hall; had eaten previously at 1863 and knew food was excellent and atmosphere cosy/relaxed/country so booked B&B. Helpful and friendly staff; room spotless, king-size bed extremely comfy, breakfast delicious - with added bonus of busy birds to watch at feeders in garden. Will be using again as venue to meet up with friends for relaxed walking break. Can recommend for Askham weddings as only 5-10 minute drive away.

Sarah Walsh - 28th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Peaceful Stay
What a lovely boutique hotel, perfect setting, lovely room and excellent food.
Staff extremely helpful and genuinely friendly.
Loved all of it, will definitely be back.
Many thanks to all.

Elspath wilkinson - 28th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Fabulous Stay
Just spent 2 nights at the 1863 bar bistro with my husband and some friends, the rooms were decorated to a high standard very modern comfortable and clean. The staff were so friendly and eager to please, loved staying here would love to visit again and definately recommend it.

Julie Fraser - 24th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Our Wonderful Stay
Our rooms were awesome, a connecting door aloud us to have two rooms together....as our daughter is disabled but adult.
The service was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble, we had our evening meal in the bistro which was spectacular. Highly recommend this hotel.

Mrs Wendy Heath - 23rd Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Place.
Clean and comfortable room. Fantastic staff, they couldn\'t have been any mote helpul. Delicous breakfast and fabulous evening meal.

Rhiannon Oldfield - 20th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

B&b Plus Meal
Can highly recommend, we had an overnight stay with evening meal. The staff were both friendly and professional, the food was of the highest quality and the care and attention to detail was incredible. Look forward to visiting again.

Mario Bonaminio - 16th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Old Times And First Visits
First stay in 1863, having visited Pooley Bridge on a regular basis for over 10 years. Gorgeous hotel and amazing food. Immaculately designed and maintained. Highly recommend a visit.

Lynn Haime - 9th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Food And Brilliant Room.
Had a great time and would definitely stay again, we got exactly what we were looking for. Excellent evening meal and very cosy well furnished room. Great friendly ,helpful staff and a great location. Cheers we loved it.

Davidos Goddard - 9th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Visit To Pooley Bridge
Clean comfortable rooms with friendly staff and Mark the landlord was very welcoming .
Well above average food.
Quiet location.
Reasonably priced.
Tea and coffee tray in room.

Savvakis Savvas - 8th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Amazing Hotel
We stayed here last year and couldn\'t wait to get back. everything here is wonderful and I am recommending that all my friends stay here. The staff, the food, the bedrooms are all amazing. We will definately stay here again on our travels. Thank for a welcome stay.

Gwen Gray - 5th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent!!
From the very warm welcome we received when we walked through the door we could not fault this beautifully decorated hotel. The atmosphere about the place is just right and the food in the bistro is wonderful. We will definitely return to this little diamond of a place

Neil Higham - 3rd Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Good Overnight Stay
A very personal welcoming stay, with outstanding food and well priced after dinner drinks.

christopher booth - 3rd Oct, 2017
Verified Review

2nd Visit And Still Perfect
We stayed at 1863 this time last year so decided to come back and again everything about our stay was perfect. The staff and owners are friendly and the place has a very relaxed feel and atmosphere. The rooms are beautiful and we couldn\'t rate the food highly enough. We will definetly be returning here and recommend it to all.

Alisha Oliver - 3rd Oct, 2017
Verified Review

A Gem In The Lake District
Highly recommended. Great care taken with taste and presentation of dinner (might add a free from option for dessert). Room stylish and very clean. Walking access from the door to hills and views of Ullswater lake. Steamer boat also available to tour the lake. A breath of fresh air.

Corinne Sreeves - 30th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful
This is a great boutique hotel, finished in a great way with high quality furnishings throughout. The staff were welcoming and friendly at all times. Very restful stay and will definitely stay again.

Angus Jack - 29th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Weekend Stay
We enjoyed a lovely relaxing weekend at 1863.
Relaxed atmosphere . Warm friendly staff that were very helpful.
Beautiful surroundings and excellent food.
Just what we needed.

Joy Burgess - 26th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

2 Night Stay
A very good hotel, very welcoming and excellent accommodation.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was of a very high standard. We would definitely recommend, very helpful staff.
Adrian and Ann Medley

adrian medley - 20th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
We stayed at 1863 for our anniversary. Excellent accommodation, Exceptional food, of the highest order. Will definitely return ! Thanks

Andrew Crowther - 18th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Birthday Treat
The accomodation was very well appointed and finished to a very high standard. The food in the bistro was excellent with good wine matching. Host was great, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Chris Allen - 18th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

A Little Gem!
We first discovered this restaurant whilst staying in the area and had an amazing meal. On a subsequent visit we decided to try out the accommodation, needless to say it was excellent. The room was very comfortable with deep, soft pile carpets, the bathroom top notch and the the black out blinds actually do keep the light out!
If the owners wanted to further enhance the customer\'s experience, they could provide better quality bed linen and offer down pillows as an option to synthetic pillows.
The dinner was innovative, delicious and the presentation mouth watering - all in all, exceptional!

Anne-Marie Hunter - 15th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Stop Over In The Lakes
We stayed one night in transit from Scotland to Bristol

A pretty, but small room. A lovely evening meal and good breakfast

Limited on site parking but otherwise highly recommended. Voucher for booking direct was nice touch

Mark stephenson - 12th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Gem Of A Place
Fab stay in this gem of a place, lovely comfortable well appointed rooms, fantastic hosts and staff and delicious seasonal menu. What an absolute treat...we will be back Caroline

Caroline Whalley - 10th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

We Liked It
Limited choices on menu but very tasty. Staff friendly and helpful.

Mr. jay freeman - 5th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Room was on the small side but nicely decorated, clean and comfy. Breakfast was nice too and the staff were very friendly.

Tina Mace - 2nd Sep, 2017
Verified Review

1863 Bar Bistro
Beautiful hotel , very clean , right in the heart of poole bridge , great staff and quality breakfast...👍🏻

paul morgan - 31st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Spot On!
Stayed for one night at August bank holiday weekend. Room 6 was our choice and I would agree that it is their \'jewel in the crown\' as described on the website. Fabulous spacious room which is beautifully decorated, modern, exceptionally clean and the bed is probably one of the comfiest I have ever slept in! Attention to detail is also spot on.
Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of fruit, cereal, pastries and juices as well as cooked breakfast options on the menu (highly recommend their eggs benedict!). This is served in their dining area which is also very modern, light and airy.
Overall, I am really glad we chose 1863 to stay in, in my opinion it looks to be the nicest place to stay in Pooley Bridge and is better located than some as it is in the centre but slightly more tucked away with parking available. The hosts are very personable and there is a home from home vibe to this boutique style place which makes for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay all round. Spot on!

Charlotte Douglas - 29th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Spot On!
Stayed for one night at August bank holiday weekend. Room 6 was our choice and I would agree that it is their \'jewel in the crown\' as described on the website. Fabulous spacious room which is beautifully decorated, modern, exceptionally clean and the bed is probably one of the comfiest I have ever slept in! Attention to detail is also spot on.
Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of fruit, cereal, pastries and juices as well as cooked breakfast options on the menu (highly recommend their eggs benedict!). This is served in their dining area which is also very modern, light and airy.
Overall, I am really glad we chose 1863 to stay in, in my opinion it looks to be the nicest place to stay in Pooley Bridge and is better located than some as it is in the centre but slightly more tucked away with parking available. The hosts are very personable and there is a home from home vibe to this boutique style place which makes for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay all round. Spot on!

Charlotte Douglas - 29th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Lucky Find
Had a fabulous night stay here rooms are gorgeous every thing you need and more down to luxuary items in bathroom to small touches like ice cold water jug and mints and biscuits with drinks tray .we had our meal here in the evening definetly recommend it everything taste amazing .staff all very nice and go out of their way to make your stay the best .xx

Shirley Niknejad - 29th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

First Class
A really lovely place to stay - high standard, tastefully decorated public rooms and bedrooms. Friendly and attentive staff and excellent food in the restaurant . A Lakeland gem and highly recommended.

michelle moutrie - 21st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Find
Hotel room was really good with a small suite area and lovely bed and bathroom. No bath which was a negative but everything else great. We ate in the restaurant which was outstanding and a must do if you stay. Breakfast was really good too with almost everything made on site. Lovely garden at rear.

David Sheridan - 21st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Comfortable And Wonderful Food
Beautiful and well appointed room the service was excellent and the food was out of this world

Paul Davis - 16th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect
Another lovely break!

Fiona Turner - 16th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect
Another lovely break!

Fiona Turner - 16th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Bliss
As committed foodies we were extremely impressed with the food in the Bistro and will be sure to return soon.
Our room was beautiful and relaxing. A lovely big bed, bathtub and sofa area.
Location was perfect and we had a wonderful walk around Aria Force waterfall nearby.
All in all a beautiful weekend away and one that must be repeated!

Rebekah Cooper - 14th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Short Break
Great place to stay, superb restaurant, we have stayed in the lakes a few times over the years and this the best i have found. Nice rooms, well stocked bar and serves a good breakfast sure to return

Mark Aldridge - 10th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

What A Gem
We booked this hotel as we were nearby and wanted a comfortable bed for the night. This hotel fitted the bill in spades! It is an absolute gem. The hotel is smal but so well designed space is well utilised throughout the hotel that this is a positive. The small bar is fully stocked - and needs to be - as it is a popular spot for guests and locals. There is a comfortable sitting area to relax for a while.
The room we had was very comfortable. Small but again well laid out so you didn\'t feel that the size was an issue. The fitting a are in places where you\'d want them to be - and that\'s unusual. The en suite was nicely done and the shower nice and hot. We were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness. The hotel look recently refurbished but it hasn\'t. It\'s just exceptionally clean.
We had a meal in the restaurant (pre booking advised). It is very popular and having tried it out we can understand. This is not home cooking but excellent fine dining. The touch of the chef is really good and the way he uses the excellent local produce to create tasty and beautiful food. Excellent choice of wines are available to accompany the food.
We loved the 1863 and would give it the highest recommendation.

Robin Price - 8th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Week End Break
Fab week end Great hosts Would highly recommend

Mr. Peter Aldridge - 7th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Week End Break
Fab week end Great hosts Would highly recommend

Mr. Peter Aldridge - 7th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Short Break In Pooley Bridge
We stayed here for 2 nights during a visit to the Lake District in August 2017. Our room was very comfortable and very nicely finished with a great shower. The public areas were tastefully decorated and welcoming. The food was exceptional and beautifully presented, both breakfast and dinner. The staff were attentive and helpful and the service top class at all times.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Pooley Bridge.

Norman Low - 6th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Little Hotel
Found this place quite by chance and stayed for one night whilst travelling home to Scotland. Had never visited the area before. The hotel was delightful from the welcoming bar entrance to the lovely rooms. Tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and although restaurant was fully booked for dinner the menu looked great. We would definitely stay again.

LINDA STEVENSON - 5th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Could Not Fault
We stayed at 1863 Bistro for 3 nights and could not fault it. The owners and staff made us very welcome, the room was superb. We ate there on the last night and it was one of the best meals we have ever had and we\'ve had a few in many top restaurants both in the U.K. And abroad. We regretted not eating there other nights but will not make that mistake next time. All in all a lovely experience in one of our favourite areas and it will not be our last. Thanks 1863 Bistro.

Mr John Baxter - 31st Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
We stayed at 1863 boutique hotel for 2 nights. we enjoyed our stay and would return if visiting the Lake District again. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast is really tasty with a good selection. We also had diner at the restaurant on the Saturday night and the meal was delicious and well presented.

Asif Ghafoor - 26th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
We stayed at 1863 boutique hotel for 2 nights. we enjoyed our stay and would return if visiting the Lake District again. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast is really tasty with a good selection. We also had diner at the restaurant on the Saturday night and the meal was delicious and well presented.

Asif Ghafoor - 26th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

5* Stay
What a outstanding place to stay, spotless,bright and friendly staff.
Would recommend to everyone.

Michelle Holmes - 24th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Stay
We had a brilliant stay with you, the staff, rooms, food and bar area all excellent. Will defanately book again.
Thank you for a great weekend, just what we needed.

Mrs. Anna Hall - 24th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Incredible!
One of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The evening meal was incredible and the staff attentive and lovely!! We will most definitely be back!

Carmel Harvey - 22nd Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Just had 2 nights at 1863 and it was wonderful, the food the restaurant was excellently prepared and presented and the room was very clean and tidy and finished to a high standard. We will stay there again.

Richard Wilkes - 21st Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Easy To Airport
Clean and well located. Good large breakfast and friendly staff at hotel reception and breakfast.

Donna J Hall - 19th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Place To Stay
This was our third visit to the bistro (formally elm house) and found the accommodation better than ever.
Mark Anne and their staff were very helpful during our stay. Will definitely be returning.
Fantastic location with the bistro furnished to an excellent standard.
Would definitely recommend.
Thank you.

Mrs. emma mullally - 18th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Short Break
Wonderful short break and very pleased we stayed here. Very comfortable bed, clean and spacious room. Friendly staff who made us very welcome.We will return in the future and I would recommend staying here to anyone. Thank you Mark & Andrea

Mark Rogers - 18th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Beautifully clean and comfortable room. The breakfast menu was very good and the chef was kind enough to deviate from the menu for my wife. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We didn\'t get the chance to have dinner but when we returned on both evenings the bistro was very busy.Would highly recommend staying here.

Steve Best - 17th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Fabulous
What a gem ,gorgeous surroundings,delicious food ,cosy and congenial atmosphere topped off by attentive staff and beautiful decor,what could be better ?! Thankyou

Evonne Sumner - 15th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Top Class Experience!
Super stop-over for a night - wished we had stayed longer. The room decor and comfort was excellent - slept over by an hour! And the dining experience topped it all - mouth-watering menu choices, with everything cooked and presented with perfection. Thank you for \'getting the little things just right\'!

Warren Burgess - 13th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

A Lovely Experience
Charming boutique hotel with style and character. Food is superb without being pretentious. Staff are lovely and helpful. Would recommend to anyone who appreciates quality. Will definitely return.

Edward Cruddas - 8th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Best In Pooley Bridge
A very good B&B with friendly staff and a high level of comfort and cleanliness. Excellent breakfast with a good choice of food. Well appointed room with en suite. Probably the best place to stay in Pooley Bridge and would definitely recommend.

Chris Wimhurst - 5th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

1863 Bistro Warm Welcome
Just like to thank Mark and Anne for their warm hospitality and looking after us so well. Our room was spotlessly clean and well furnished with good sized towels and a comfortable bed.

The restaurant is well run with charming helpful knowledgeable staff. The menu is innovative varied and uses a lot of local produce. The food was simply divine beautifully presented with bags of flavour perfectly cooked. This is fine dining at its simple best. The dishes speak for themselves without the need for heavy sauces or ceremony. Truly two of the best meals we have had in a very long time. You must try the Hogget and the Guinea Foul Boudin! 1836 Bistro is a hidden gem of the lakes run by two very passionate hard working people whose attention to detail and design is evident.
They also have a varied artisan gin selection in their well stocked bar
We will be back and can\'t recommend you highly enough.
Many Manx thanks
Helen, Michael

Helen Latham - 4th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Weekend Away
Fantastic weekend stopover for the Lord Birkett Memorial cup sailing regatta. Loved everything about this little gem in Pooley Bridge. Highly recommended, you must eat I. The Bistro, you will not be disappointed. The whole 1863 team are on the ball, top job guys.

Mr. Stephen Hodgson - 3rd Jul, 2017
Verified Review

A Gem Of A Find
Cannot fault anything. Excellent food and service. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated. Felt really special had a very relaxing night.would highly recommend.

Karen Gubbins - 3rd Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Mr&mrs P.s. Cooper
Another lovely stay at the now called 1863, with the lovely owners Mark and Anne. Nothing is too much trouble for them to help make your stay the best ever. The property has recently been extended to a very high degree, with fixtures and fittings being second to none. The new chef Phil ought to be awarded a Michelin star for the quality of his cooking and food presentation. It was mouth wateringly delicious.

Paul Cooper - 1st Jul, 2017
Verified Review

A Lovely Stay At 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
We enjoyed a great stay here last weekend. Our room was very well appointed and extremely comfortable and the meals that we enjoyed in the Bistro were truely delightful!We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely B&B!

Mrs. Alison Aldridge - 27th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

A Gem Of A Place
What a great place! Nice relaxed atmosphere, beautifully decorated, friendly efficient service and the best food we\'ve ever eaten. So pleased we found it - we\'ll definitely be back. Thank you everyone there.

Claire Ford - 22nd Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Our Stay @ Bar Bistro Pooley Bridge
From start to finish our stay was brilliant. The room was excellent really comfortable rooms with every thing needed bathroom was spacious and modern. The food was fresh and really nice and the service was spot on. Would and have recommended this to family and friends and will return again.

Linda Nicholson - 22nd Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Absolutely Fabulous
Beautiful, clean, comfortable and friendly.
Room was done to a high speck with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was spacious & clean with everything you need. The food was out of this world. Management & staff was very friendly & couldn\'t do enough for you. Excellent establishment all round, 100% will be back

Caroline Scott - 20th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Good Place To Stay
We enjoyed staying at 1863 Bistro.
Clean, modern, effiecient,
We didn\'t eat there in the evening, but if the breakfast are anything to go by... we should have.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Rolf Nielsen - 19th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Superb B&b!!
My parents stayed at the bed and breakfast, for my dad\'s 70th birthday, they were delighted with everything. The bedroom was stylish, very clean and roomy. The breakfast was amazing. The polite staff made their stay relaxed and enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend the 1863 bar and bistro to anyone wanting a more than the average bed and breakfast - well done

Mrs. Joanne Lynch - 19th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Relaxing Break
We loved this hotel! Staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was bright and very comfortable. Situation of hotel was perfect. Wonderful!! Thank you! Would recommend!

angela gibson - 18th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

A Two Night And A One Night Stay.
We stayed at 1863 Bar Bistro for two nights on our way up to Scotland and for one night a week later on our way home. We had stayed at this Bistro a few years ago when it was Elm House B & B and it was unrecognisable. The place has been completely renovated to a very high standard and the rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate in the Bistro each night we stayed and the service and food was excellent. I would certainly recommend this Bistro but if you want to eat here make sure you book in advance.

Mrs. Heather Morgan - 13th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Place To Stay
We have stated here twice in room 4. Love the super king bed it\'s been redecorated since lat year looks fab. Mark and Ann marked us so welcome for my bday. The food in the restaurant is top quality all local producess. Will be back to see the new rooms in September. Thanks again richard and Jan Leeds x

richard doubleday - 11th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

A Fantastic Weekend Away In A Beautiful B&b
Stayed for the weekend with my husband. The accommodation was immaculate. The hospitality of all the staff was brilliant. Breakfast was freshly made and made a great start to our day. There\'s a lovely friendly buzz to the whole place.
Definitely will be returning. Would recommend for anyone wanting a relaxed and pleasant break.
It\'s a fabulous addition to Pooley Bridge.

Mrs. Sandra Stephenson - 5th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
Fantastic accommodation in a lovely part of the world.
Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food

Mrs. Valerie Morris - 2nd Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Amazing
our stay for 2 nights was absolutely wonderful. 1863 bar bistro is a lovely place. We were made to feel very welcome and the Bistro food is amazing. Can\'t recommend this little gem highly enough and hope to return.

Julie Evans - 31st May, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful
Just returned from a one night impromptu stay and I would just like to say a big thank you to everyone there the staff were faultless and we decided to dine in the bistro what a great decision that turned out to be what a fabulous meal the quality of the food and cooking were first class .

Inman - 30th May, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
First class service and facilities. Highly recommended and will certainly return.

Roy Hibbert - 28th May, 2017
Verified Review

A Little Gem
This was a little gem of a place. Situared in a small hamlet at the head of Ullswater the rooms were modern and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the ambiance of the bar and lounge was really welcoming. We would return there at any time.

Peter Jones - 26th May, 2017
Verified Review

A Little Gem
This was a little gem of a place. Situared in a small hamlet at the head of Ullswater the rooms were modern and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the ambiance of the bar and lounge was really welcoming. We would return there at any time.

Peter Jones - 26th May, 2017
Verified Review

Superb Restaurant
3 course meal was superb, venison loin cooked to perfection. Worth going to restaurant alone. Accommodation great as well. Definitely worth a visit

Keith Ridding - 18th May, 2017
Verified Review

Superb
We stayed as a group of 8 adults, with just a 1 night stay to break a journey form Birmingham to Edinburgh - and wished we had booked for longer.

The rooms were excellent, so different from the standard Premier Inn type of accommodation. We had pre-booked an evening meal which was just as well as the restaurant was full. The food was superb, and the service excellent, which was matched by the friendly welcome and service offered throughout our visit.

Overall we were delighted with our stay, and have already recommended the 1863 Bistro to others.

Glyn Brazell - 16th May, 2017
Verified Review

A Fantastic Stay At 1863
A lovely weekend at 1863. The staff could not have been more helpful, the rooms were lovely and the food delicious. Thanks to all for a great stay!

Miss. Alison Oldfield - 8th May, 2017
Verified Review

Amazing Place Lovely Food Friendly Staff
Thanks so much for such a nice stay. Would highly recommend. Cheers

Mark Walker - 6th May, 2017
Verified Review

Great B&b
This was the second time we have stayed here and it never disappoints. The hosts are really friendly and welcoming and the accommodation and food in the bistro is delightful. Highly recommended!

Mr. Colin Jaggard - 5th May, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
Stayed for a night and also had dinner. The rooms are beautifully done out and lovely quality breakfast in morning. The evening meal was amazing, fine dining at its best. Will be coming back soon. Thankyou for a fantastic time with a brilliant service by all.

Alison Bearpark - 3rd May, 2017
Verified Review

Weekend Away
Excellent all round.Would definitely recommend.

dean mussett - 26th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect!
What a great place to stay! wonderful bedrooms, wonderful food and faultless service. Felt welcome as soon as we arrived. Will definitely return.

Mr David Etere - 18th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Place To Stay!
Myself and my husband stayed for a night over easter and loved it! The rooms are beautifully decorated and have everything you could possibly need...lovely china cups and little chocolates a nice extra touch. We ate in the bistro which was delicious and the breakfast the next morning was just as good. Enjoyed everything about it, the only bad thing was having to leave! Thank you all!

Sarah Cochrane - 16th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent, Brilliant, Lovely
It\'s not like me to rave about somewhere unless it is warranted and in this case it is. This is a small hotel/B&B that is family owned and run. In turn it is friendly with a relaxed atmosphere and great service. Our double room was large enough with a comfortable bed. We ate dinner in the restaurant- the food, presentation and quality were faultless. Small but good selection of wines and a bar with some good beers.
The inclusive breakfast was a small feast.
We will definitely be staying here again, no question!
And book direct to get a £10 voucher to use in the bar or restaurant

Kevan Lee - 13th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Stay In The Lake District
Stayed up in the Lake District for 2 nights with my girlfriend, booked the 1863 bar bistro and it looked fantastic on the website but in person it was much better than I imagined. Spacious, tidy rooms with a lovely en suite. The bar and bistro yet again was fantastic, good selection of beers, lagers, wines and spirits plenty to choose from. The bistro yet again was unbelieveable a nice selection of food, the meal was delicious and fair priced and cooked to an extremely good standard one of the best meals I have eaten would definately recommend to all my friends and family and would definately stay here again

Ross Stevenson - 10th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

A Gem In The Lake District
This is a well run and beautifully presented bistro, bar and bed and breakfast. Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. Good choices, quality ingredients (bacon and hash browns were superb). The owners, Ann and Mark are extremely pleasant and obviously enjoy what they do. Would highly recommend and will return.

Janet Hughes - 6th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Experience
This is a lovely place to stay, our room was so nice and comfortable, it felt like such a treat to stay here. The decor & finishing touches add a special something . The bar & bistro are relaxing and the staff were attentive & welcoming.

Ms. deborah crosthwaite - 6th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Stay In Excellent Property.
The room was excellent, modern and well thought out. The attention to extra details was noted and the owners clearly take pride in their business. Very clean and the decoration tasteful and spotless. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and freshly cooked by chef. The breakfast area looks into the garden and I enjoyed watching the birds on the feeders in the morning. Only small downside was the bed was a bit too firm for my liking.

Jennifer Cowen - 5th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect Stay Again
Another perfect stay in this, our favourite stop on Ullswater. The owner and his wife go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and take time to chat to the guests. The food is exquisite, the bedrooms and bathrooms beautifully appointed with attention to the finest details. Best wishes to you both as you continue to work hard to ensure this business maintains the highest of standards.

RHONDA MCCOLGAN - 4th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

A Real Gem
Bar Bistro is a modern friendly place to stay. Our room was bright,very clean and comfy with excellent facilities. Breakfast had a good selection of fruit and yoghurts and a good choice of cooked foods. We also had an evening meal in the bistro which was excellent. The location is good with access to several walks and with the Ullswater Way very close by. We would recommend this to anyone and will certainly back for a return visit

Mrs. sharan holden - 2nd Apr, 2017
Verified Review

1863 Comments
Very comfortable rooms and ambience
Welcoming atmosphere
Excellent food

Gill Cartwright - 30th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Place And People
I booked the hotel as a stopover to break up a journey further north. From the minute we arrived to when we left we wished we were staying longer. The welcome was great and the room superb. It was nice to be shown to our room rather than have to find it ourselves. The food in the restaurant was amazing. Everything was cooked to perfection. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly without being \'in your face\'. We will definitely be back.

Mrs. Gill Milward - 29th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Claire & Howard, Preston
Very modern and clean and the accommodation and service were excellent and staff very friendly. We had a great time.

Claire Patterson - 28th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Wow...a Little Gem! A Perfect Weekend.
Just returned from a fantastic weekend with friends. Room was spotlessly clean,with comfortable bed and lovely decor. Ate in restaurant on Friday night. Excellent tasty food, cooked perfectly and beautifully presented. Chef accommodated our various dietary requirements. Staff wonderful and helpful. Lovely bar to relax in, with cosy log fire. We are regular visitors to the Lakes, and we would not hesitate to go back again.Owners Anne and Mark made us feel at home. A little gem!

Mr. Howard Gruber - 27th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Amazing !!!!!!!!
From start to finish this place was AMAZING. The rooms were great, modern looking, but so much passion and care has gone into making your stay a perfect one. The restaurant was also superb, great local produce done very well and with the breakfast too. Highly recommended. Ann/mark thanks for a great time there For us it was faultless well done.

Des Thomas - 26th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Mid Week Break
Thank you for a fabulous stay, everything was perfect from the warm welcome, lovely room, great breakfast, and the restaurant food was superb! We will definitely be returning!

Deborah Hawker - 24th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

What More Can A Traveller Ask For?
A warm welcome on a rainy night; bags carried in, canapés by the wood-burner, followed by a 5-course tasting menu based on the theme of Marmalade, echoing the Dalemain International Marmalade Festival taking place a mile up the road. The proprietor even managed to find me a choice of TWO waterproofs to borrow when we walked up to Dacre Castle, as I had forgotten to pack mine. What more can a traveller ask for?

Jane Bourne - 20th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Comfortable Place To Stay With Outstanding Bistro.
We would highly recommend a visit to this fantastic little place. Very cosy and comfortable place to stay with welcoming and attentive staff. Most amazing bistro; wonderful freshly cooked locally sourced food of the highest quality. We understand the menu changes regularly and we would definitely plan to visit again. We enjoy good quality food and our delicious 3 course evening meal rates as one of the best I can remember having.
Great ethics (bottled tap water, young local chefs and staff, even high quality soaps etc). Nothing to fault, just hope it doesn\'t get too popular and become difficult to book!

Jane Worthington - 23rd Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent New Year
A wonderful relaxing New Year break in well appointed, warm, comfortable room. We enjoyed a superb 7 course taster menu with champagne reception and entertainment on New Years Eve in good company. We will definitely be back.

Helen Jackson - 3rd Jan, 2017
Verified Review

One Night Stay At 1863
Beautifully refurbished since last stay. Room small but very comfortable - excellent shower room with plenty of hot water. Ate at the Bistro - food was very good, as was breakfast. A fantastic B & B experience in a lovely part of the world

Mrs. Sarah Hyatt - 1st Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Great Small B&b
Great rooms combined with good service, accommodation and bistro and bar. All in all excellent!

Mr. Colin Jaggard - 20th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Clean Stay
Had a lovely time the accommodation was first class ,would highly recommend

Paul Barnard - 12th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

A Little Gem !!
After just having been to a hotel in Manchester and paid 5 times the price that we paid at this little gem of a hotel id rather have given the 1863 every penny of it.

Although we didn\'t eat here because the restaurant was fully book that evening, our fault for not being more organised, breakfast was superb!

This is a cosy little hotel and has to be visited if you are in the area.

After running around the hills all day the welcome of the open fire and a glass of wine rounded off the day nicely, oh yeah, the beds are far to comfortable :-)

Only 4 stars as we didn\'t eat here or I\'m sure it would have been the full, well deserved 5.

Thanks You - Lisa & David

David Mair - 5th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful
Everything was perfect, thanks.

Mr. sion dennis - 21st Nov, 2016
Verified Review

1863 Bistro
I stayed in the 1863 Bistro. The rooms were immaculately clean. There were some lovely attention to detail - e.g. bottled water in the room as well various teas and biscuits ,bathroom shower soaps, shampoos and conditioner .
The staff and landlord were friendly and helpful .
We dined in the main restaurant the first night. The food was excellent-particularly the feather blade beef in a crispy potato basket.
There was homely wood burner in the reception area with an assortment of games e.g. chess .
It was also very reasonably priced.
I will try and come back at some time when I am next in the Lakes

Savvakis Savvas - 7th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Ticks All The Boxes
What a delightful find. 1st the B and B, lovely rooms, comfy beds, all the facilities, coffee, tea, water, local info, that you could require. The bathroom is super, large shower, 2 showerheads - Rainshower and regular - toiletries. Breakfast, with several excellent options is freshly cooked to order and delicious. A very warm welcome,nothing is too much trouble. The bar area and little snug are charming.
Now to the restaurant, the jewel in the crown. We dined on both nights, a small menu, 5 or 6 selections for each course - always a good sign in our opinion - all fresh ingredients, the meals were superb. We had different dishes each night, each one was faultless and beautifully presented. I have a reputation for not finishing dishes, here every plate went back spotless. I\'m afraid we can\'t comment on the deserts, we were too full.
The food is worthy of AA rosettes. If you\'re in the region, visit.

Mr. Peter Kelly - 19th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Excellence
The welcome was friendly and warm the accommodation was first class and the food was excellent! We strongly recommend 1863 as a destination.

Richard Walton - 18th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Place To Stay
Very nice clean rooms, friendly staff and great food. Definitely worth a visit even if just for a meal.

Matthew Frazer-Ryan - 9th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Short Break In Ullswater
Lovely room, warm welcome and fabulous food. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Susan Haley - 5th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Amazing weekend .. Decor and food was wonderful .. Breakfast was delicious. Thanks to the lovely staff too who worked so hard to make our stay so special X

Rachel Farnworth - 3rd Oct, 2016
Verified Review

A Sparkling Restaurant With Rooms
We enjoyed a two day stay at 1863 and were impressed with the standard of the bedroom (a shower that works!) and the quality of the food.
Good service from charming hosts.

Mr. Colin Pogue - 1st Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Well Deserved Rating Of 4 Star
Well deserved rating of 4 stars. Lovely décor. Welcoming staff. Nothing too much trouble. Rooms are comfortable and well designed. Would definitely recommend.

Diane Ashley - 25th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

1863 Bar Bistro Rooms Excellent Stay
The room was extremely comfortable and very well decorated. Fantastic shower. All the amenities you would require. Nice view over the attractive village. The food is exceptional, be sure to book at least one evening meal when reserving your room. Such good value. Attractive dining room and bar area, friendly service made the whole experience a joy. Just 5 miles from the motorway do yourself a favour and stay here en route or for an extended break in the area. Fabulous.

Brian Peachey - 19th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

What A Gem!
Wow, what a gem - small but beautifully formed!
We have stayed in B & Bs - and some high-starred hotels nationally and internationally over the years - and this comes out near the top of our list!
Newly and tastefully furnished with good quality fixtures and fittings (including a shower cubicle you can move around in!) but also quirky touches that add personality.
Mark and Anne have created something unique of which they are justifiably proud.
Downstairs a lovely lounge bar area leads into the Bistro, no strict lines here but a mixture of booths, round and square tables of different sizes so that the atmosphere feels intimate but not pretentious. We had an excellent meal here on our first night and wished we had booked in for our second night instead of venturing out to a less enjoyable gastropub.
In the mornings over breakfast you can watch the birds outside in the charming courtyard garden.
We very rarely go back anywhere - there are so many places to experience - but wish this was nearer home so that we could visit more often!

Mr. John Paulley - 14th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

What Can I Say!
This was our first stay at 1863 and we will definitely be stopping again. The rooms were excellent very clean and had every mod con. The service and staff were very welcoming. The food was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble.

Andrew Jackson - 5th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect Location & Accomodation
Stayed here on the bank holiday weekend perfect spot to walk from. Accommodation fantastic Room 4 was lovely and whilst it looks onto the road no traffic noise. Bar and facilities perfect. Quality of the food in the Bistro second to none. Tip: reserve a table when you book your stay otherwise you could be disappointed if you have to eat elsewhere. We will definitely be going back.

Mr. Ian Sofield - 2nd Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Charming Gateway To Ullswater
Stylish room and very good food at this charming small family-run business at the edge of Ullswater. Ideally placed at the northern end of the lakes and with easy access to motorway.

Mr. Paul Reiderman - 1st Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent All Round!
We stayed for 2 nights in one of the king-sized rooms which was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. We also had a meal in the bistro both evenings and the food was wonderful. Mark and Anne are great hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. We will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

Mrs. Elaine Bright - 30th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Superb Stay
Had a superb one night stay. The owners have created a stylish, beautifully designed hotel with a very relaxed atmosphere. Staff and owners are very friendly, professional and efficient. Enjoyed local ales on the sunny front terrace, a delicious three course dinner (the chef has real flair), drinks in the chilled-out lounge and a lovely breakfast. As vegetarians we were well catered for. Would love to return for more of the same!

Mrs. Heather Wardle - 25th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Well Worth It.
Stayed here over a busy weekend. It\'s an upmarket venue and as such is a very welcome change in Pooley Bridge. Only has 5 rooms, fairly small but very modern and good furnishings. Food was excellent, staff friendly and welcoming. Owner very visible and \"hands on\" which is always reassuring. Nice little bar area. I thought it was really good and will stay there again on my next visit. If you are having dinner here then best to book in advance.

David Mcwhirter - 23rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

A Jewel In The North Lakes
Could only stay for 1 night unfortunately but would definitely recommend 1863. Superb room and our dinner in the bistro was excellent (remember to use your residents discount voucher, we forgot). Very good breakfast although would have preferred more random seating rather than all sitting in a regimented row (just me being a bit picky).

Malcolm Hill - 21st Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect
We needed an overnight stop en route to Scotland. Newly opened 1863 is a both a conveniently short distance from the M6 and, being by Ullswater, real \"Lakes\" too: we had a beautiful walk along the south side early evening. Room slightly on the small side, but very comfortable indeed and thoroughly clean. Delicious evening meal, wine selection and breakfast. Everyone was very helpful and welcoming too. We would certainly recommend it and will visit again if it is not fully booked!

Victoria Macnamara - 18th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Holiday In Pooley Bridge
Most enjoyable holiday.Everything first class

Sheila Tong - 9th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect Accommodation And Location
Stayed for a couple of nights B & B. The accommodation is spotless and beautifully decorated. Friendly, efficient service and tasty breakfast. We will definitely be eating in the bistro next time as the menu looks delicious. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Mrs. Lorraine Bowers - 6th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Accommodation At Pooley Bridge
Friendly welcome.
Spotless well appointed and comfortable rooms. Fabulous food. Perfect.

Mrs Goodes - 4th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Excellent location and very welcoming staff.
The decor in all areas was very good and the breakfast was excellent. Will return to try the evening meal as everyone we spoke to in the bar said the meals were fantastic.

Mrs P Martin - 2nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Brilliant Weekend Break
We had a couple of nights at this lovely hotel & bistro. The food was lovely, the bedroom well set out and comfortable and the owners and rest of of the staff were friendly. We would definitely recommend a stay ... and if you are local, book in for an excellent meal before you have to queue!

Andy Lloyd - 26th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Weekend Hotel Stay
Everything involved from the management to staff, food, and professional attitude of this family run hotel made us feel welcome and relaxed. The decor is excellent with the refurbishment now complete and I would have no hesitation on returning to 1863 Bar Bistro. Thank you and will see again soon. Kenny Henderson

Kenneth Henderson - 25th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

First Time In Pooley Bridge
This was an overnight stop on the way to Scotland. Great decision to stop off there. The owners have tastefully refurbished this Bar Bistro to a high standard. The best part was the evening meal. This is not pub food like the other places in the village but excellent quality food ,well presented and cooked by their chef. All of there dinner menu is reasonably priced and is good value for money. Loved it. Well worth a visit even if you are not able to get accommodation.

Mr. Graham Affleck - 21st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Superb
what a fantastic gem tucked away at the end of the village. location perfect. bedrooms perfect. food beautiful & very well presented not like the standard typical presentation you get when having \'pub\' food, but this isn\'t traditional \'pub food\', its perfect. staff very helpful & fun. a BIG well done to owners Anne & Mark (happy 49th Mark) who have a wonderful set up & should be very proud of all their \'family\' staff. see you all soon.

James & Nicola.

Mr. james dobson - 18th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Our Stay At 1863 Bar Bistro
Had a great time in the lake district and our stat at 1863 Bistro was excellent and all the staff were very friendly defiitely a good place to stay.

Pam Webster - 8th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Stylish And Comfortable
We stayed for 2 nights and due to availability we had to stay in a different room each night. The first room was a twin - quite small and a bit too cramped for us!. The second night was in a much more spacious room which was lovely. All the décor is very stylish and very \'boutique\'. Combined with excellent food we had a lovely say.

John Fisher - 6th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

An Excellent Stay
We loved our stay here. The room was great, and served our purposes admirably. The restaurant was excellent with the food indeed exceeding our expectations - kudos to chef Phil. The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed, very much like visiting friends and family. Best of all is the location - Pooley Bridge is a lovely village (with a great tea rooms by the bridge - Granny Dowbekins) and ideal for outings around the Lakes. We did a number of wonderful walks and the scenery is breathtaking. Stay at 1863 - it\'s excellent.

Phil Smyth - 6th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Very Good
It was a Plaisir to stay at your B&B. Room was good, everything perfect clean.
Personal very friendly and helpful.
You are on top of my list for my next visit to Pooley Bridge

Mr. Andre Bronsgeest - 5th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Recent Short Stay
Fabulous place to stay, in a beautiful village, the recent refurbishment is immaculate, the room was excellent as was the breakfast and the owners Mark and Anne very friendley and helpfull, would definately stay again

Ann Wright - 26th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
We enjoyed everything about our stay. The room was beautifully decorated, as was everything in the hotel and restaurant, with nice touches like the rainfall shower head. Staff was helpful and kind. The dinner was excellent and we would return again. I highly recommend a stay!

Kirsten Rose - 19th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Short Stay On A Long Business Trip
Delightful little B&B with a recently opened restaurant serving delicious and inventive food. Owners and staff friendly, helpful and very accommodating, even sorting out charging for my electric car while I was there. Pooley Bridge is of course lovely and the walks to and around Ullswater are superb. Highly recommended.

Neil Richards - 15th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

1863 Bar Bistro Rooms Pooley Bridge
stayed here 10/11 june had lovely stay food was top quality by far best place in pooley bridge to eat rooms clean modern and done to good standard hosts and staff very welcoming will look forward to returning

Mr. jeffrey charlton - 15th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Just Perfect
An enjoyable few days stay, due to friendly staff, excellent food, and attention to detail was First Class. Will definitely book again. Thank you making our stay Just Perfect.

Mrs. Patricia Marshall - 11th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Family Run Business
A friendly, warm relaxed welcome into an excellent, updated ,clean family run hotel. The place was beautiful in side and out situated within an excellent location. First visit to the area and 1863 formally known as Elm house. Rooms were cozy ,spotless and very modern. Decoration through out was amazing and spotless for cleanness. Food was excellent with a nice bar area. Would recommend to family and friends and anyone visiting within the area. We stayed for 2 nights and would visit again.
Thank you from Martyn

Martyn Privett - 6th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

A Lovely Stay
Me and my partner recently stayed for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfy and the whole place has a real welcoming feel. There was a large choice at breakfast which set us up well for day ahead walking and enjoying the lakes. I would recommend a stay at 1863.

Miss. Sarah Wallis - 31st May, 2016
Verified Review

Stay At Elm House
Great stay at Elm House. Very warm friendly owners. Really nice B&B and great room. Defiently go back to stay again. Really recommend it to everyone. Great breakfast aswell.

Matthew - 19th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

The Lakes At Their Best
Seeking some peace and quiet in the October half term break...and that\'s just what we got at Elm House! Excellent room, excellent breakfasts and convivial, knowledgeable hosts.

Mr. Michael Oakes - 2nd Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Gary And Donna
Fantastic short stay at Elm House. Lovely, comfortable room with everything that you would need. Great location in Pooley Bridge for walks and a short walk to Ullswater. Thanks to Mark and Anne who made us feel very welcome.

Donna Lynch - 28th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks Gary & Donna hope to see you again.

Mark & Anne

Short Stay
From the very friendly welcome (including the dog!) to the unusual porridge for breakfast this was a lovely short break. I was very grateful that I could leave my car on my last day while I had a lovely trip on the steamer.

Mrs. Sue Jenkins - 4th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Friendly And Relaxing Stay In Great Location
Mark was a lovely host when we arrived and he and Anne made our stay welcoming and relaxing and are among the best owners I havemet in all my many guest houses. The accommodation is spotless and well furnished. Its only a minute from the high street and is very peaceful. Breakfast in the large wooden conservatory was a great way to start the day. Thanks very much and see you again.

Andrew Sabourin - 16th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

August Bank Holiday Break
I was very happy with the accommodation. The proprietors were very helpful and approachable and I would definitely stay there again. Nothing was too much trouble.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Joan Turner - 8th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Short Stay For End Of Summer Hols
We stayed for the one night (31 Aug). Lovely, homely B&B. Ann and Mark are very welcoming. The rooms (we had the family suite) are very comfy, and the breakfast was excellent. Mark also provided us with some good info on local walks.
We would highly recommend this B&B

Philip Bowers - 2nd Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Elm House
Perfect location fantastic hoasts delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Very clean and comfortable beds great will be back in the future.

Mrs. Lynn Hall - 1st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Thank you to Mark and Anne on a great stay, service was fantastic, our room was clean and very good, Pooley Bridge is a great place to stay, everything we could of asked for

Fred Holbard - 1st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent
Excellent Guest House , Warm and friendly reception on arrival. Rooms very clean and tidy. Breakfast was lovely . Highly recommend staying here and should we ever be visiting again this is the place we would book.

Rachael Laurie - 26th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review Rachael, much appreciated. Mark & Anne

Exceptional
LOVELY BEDROOM, GREAT BREAKFAST, VERY FRIENDLY OWNERS. WHAT MORE DO YOU NEED.

Gillian Cresswell - 25th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Gillian, hope you had a less eventful drive home. Best Regards Mark & Anne

Great
We had a good stay in the family suite. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and the breakfast lives up to the billing!

Cathy Lewis - 25th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you. :-)

Second Visit With Third Already Booked!
Lovely hosts who are professional, helpful, friendly but not overbearing. Breakfasts perfect with bonus of dining area overlooking garden, bedroom pristine, comfortable and luxurious. Good care is taken over how everything is run. Ideal base for walking and visiting market towns, and doing all Lakeland sightseeing.

Louise Robinson - 24th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Louise, see you again in September. Mark & Anne

Modern , Clean, Comfortable And Excellent Breakfast
The room was modern , clean and comfortable , with nice touches like the chocolate onthe pillow , a good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate . There was quality products in the bathroom for use during your stay . Hairdryer , wineglass and even a corkscrew were thoughtful touches . Staff were friendly , and breakfast was freshly cooked to order . The alterations planned for later this year will be a welcome addition of a bar, lounge and facilities for evening meal . Would definitely recommend , and will re-visit .

Mrs. carol smith - 22nd Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your feedback Carol, look forward to seeing you again. Mark & Anne

Lakes Mini Break
We were pleased to have chosen Elm House our hosts were friendly and helpful the accommodation was cosy with everything you need for a break ,The breakfasts were superb and more than enough to set you up for the day ahead we would have no hesitation if we were in the area staying there again nice people nice food nice place well done Mark and Anne.

Beryl Smith - 21st Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words Beryl, hope to see you again. Mark & Anne

Elm House, Pooley Bridge
Excellent family accommodation. Very clean and plenty of room, with the family suite having two bedrooms and its own bathroom. Parking spaces available. Lovely and welcoming owners, very accommodating when I needed milk for my little one. DVDs on loan which was great! Excellent choice of breakfast, but you can make your own up too. Could not have picked a better accommodation situated in such a nice area of the Lake District. Thank you guys!

Gillian Malcolm - 15th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for the great review it was a pleasure to look after such a lovely family. Hope to see you again soon. Mark & Anne

Excellent
Excellent stay - very comfortable rooms and great breakfast. Thoroughly recommended.

Stephen Murray - 10th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Service
Really great B&B. Arrived very late and the guys were very accommodating. Great breakfast and rooms. Highly recommended.

Adam Withers - 10th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Every Comfort
Elm house is home from home. Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. Nothing was too much trouble and breakfadt was delicious with many choices. For the bird watching enthusiasts you might just see a sparrow hawk!

Chris Baker - 9th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

A Great Place
A fascinating, gem of a place. Very caring and attentive hosts. Made our stay all the more enjoyable

Mr. Bhupinder Mahal - 29th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Room With A View
Our room had two windows, overlooking garden and fields beyond. The room and ensuite were fresh and spotlessly clean. Lovely thoughtful hospitality tray. Delicious Cumbrian breakfast. Hosts kind and helpful without being overbearing. Look forward to returning.

Mr. Terence Robinson - 23rd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent B&b Highly Recommended
We stayed 2 nights in the largest luxury double (kingsize bedded) room. Our room was very comfortable with extra sitting area a very smart en suite shower. The complimentary tea and coffee supplies are generous, the supplied toiletries are of high quality too and the breakfasts were fabulous. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful that I cannot recommend this B&B enough. Like many reviewers, we loved having breakfast watching the birds visiting the feeders and bird table outside the window. Thanks very much for a great stay. We will return.

Steve Bull - 15th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Very Pleasant Stay
Well appointed accommodation.Well organised administration. Spotlessly clean and very welcoming. Could not fault it.

Mr. John thomas - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Break Away...
We had the pleasure of staying at the Elm House overnight last week and the whole experience was brilliant from start to finish. Check in and welcome were warm and efficient. The room was quite simply beautiful - tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was a Cumbrian treat of mammoth proportions, that kept us going throughout the day.I would recommend this guest house without reservation to anyone who wants a relaxing, stress-free and welcome break. Staff were warm and friendly, adding to the overall experience. Thank you very much!
Liz and Dave Nutland :)

Mrs. Sharon Gill - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Wedding Nearby
Warm welcome, beautiful room, comfy bed, good nights sleep, yummy breakfast - what more could you ask for?
Thank you for your exceptional hospitality.

Jo Ross-bason - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Only One Night
We had a delightful stay at Elm House for, sadly, only one night. The house was warm and welcoming with comfortable beds. The breakfast was amazing with lots of fresh food to choose from. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast in the conservatory, watching the many different species of birds feeding in the garden. thank you, Mark and Anne, for your warm welcome.

Susan Kerry - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

My Stay In Pooley Bridge
Lovely welcome, perfect place to stay when in this area. The room was beautifully prepared and nothing was too much trouble for Mark and Anne. My only regret was not stopping for more than my one night. Thank you.

Mian Gardner - 29th May, 2015
Verified Review

Elm House
A lovely place to stay. This B&B is well placed to visit the northern lakes and the village provides all the newsagents, local shops and pubs/restaurants that you need.
Easy guest parking at Elm House and friendly welcome.
Our luxury king double room (R4) provided all we needed and was comfortable and spacious with a lovely bathroom.
The breakfasts were cooked fresh and you could \'design your own\' if the set choices were not as you required. They provided an excellent start to the day.
We would definitely return if visiting this area again.

Susan Cook - 28th May, 2015
Verified Review

Elm House
The Elm house stands proud at the boundary of the town and as we had room 3 a pretty view of the high street was a bonus. Our room being a double with on suit was fabulous and worth every penny and more.breakfast was second to none and we really can\'t wait to do it all again.

Glyn Paget - 26th May, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect!
Friendly and helpful owners (thanks for suggesting the walk from Howtown), lovely freshly prepared breakfasts and really comfy beds. A perfect base to explore the beautiful countryside around Ullswater.

Mrs. Jo Chivers - 21st May, 2015
Verified Review

Comfort And Relaxation
Our spacious room had beautiful decor, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was luxurious too. We had a lovely rest in the afternoon, with T.V. and hot drinks in the room. Mark and Anne were friendly and helpful, and took an interest in their guests. Certainly an excellent place to stay.

Sandra Shirley - 21st May, 2015
Verified Review

Our Stay In Pooley Bridge
Very welcoming, comfortable bedroom with nice view down towards Pooley Bridge. Nice breakfast room with views of the garden and bird feeders, great breakfast choice, would recommend it to anyone.

Gareth Turner - 18th May, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Nice modern rooms and ensuite in a charming old house. Friendly obliging hosts and a very good breakfast make for an excellent place to stay

Graham Ruff - 18th May, 2015
Verified Review

Elm House, Pooley Bridge
Excellent accommodation.

Friendly, cosy, clean, warm. Wonderful choice of breakfast and cooked fresh.

Bike friendly too with secure storage.

Mr. Gary Hayden - 18th May, 2015
Verified Review

Elm House Is Quality
We visited Elm House for the third time and once again were not disappointed. Spotlessly clean. Most comfortable bed ever. Shame I couldn\'t fit it in my suitcase. Large selection of delicious breakfast food sets you up a day in this marvellous area.

Paul Cooper - 16th May, 2015
Verified Review

Elm House, Pooley Bridge
Mark and Ann run a lovely B&B and, to say the least, are extremely helpful to guests including extensive knowledge of the area and giving recommendations for visits. For our part it is our intention to be back with them for another stay as soon as proves possible.

Bill Evans - 8th May, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic!
Stayed for three nights at this delightful B&B in Pooley Bridge. Mark and Anne are very friendly, welcoming hosts. The bedroom we stayed in was absolutely top notch. Spotlessly clean with quality furnishings and a lovely en-suite shower room. The breakfast menu is second to none. Great variety and cooked to perfection. Another plus point is the view from the dining room whilst having breakfast watching the varied species of colourful birds on the bird feeders in the garden. If your lucky you might just get to see the gorgeous Pheasant make a early morning appearance!
We would whole heartedly recommended Elm House as a perfect place to stay next time you visit the Lakes!!

Mr. Ken Morris - 2nd May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks Ken, it was lovely to meet you both, hope to see you again. Mark & Anne

Six Years On
We visited the Lake district in 2009 staying in Elm House.We enjoyed it then, so much so ,that we revisited last week on our way to FortWilliam.The welcome was very warm,room beautifully designed and appointed and the breakfast just as wonderful!Ann and Mark are great hosts and the location is superb. Within a few minutes walk there are three excellent hosteleries so evening meals present no problem. Great base for a Lakeland holiday.

Colin Smith - 19th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks Colin, always nice to see people coming back, hope we see you again, I\'m sure we will still be here in another 6 years. #greatplacetolive Mark & Anne.

Weekend Stay For Local Wedding
Clean, welcoming. The hosts were very warm and helpful. The room was lovely as was the bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good with a nice choice. We would definitely stay again.

Mr. Martin Robinson - 13th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review Martin glad you enjoyed your stay. Mark & Anne

Easter Break
Another fantastic time at Elm House - a home from home experience and great breakfasts as always!

Mrs. Sarah Avern - 8th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was good to see you and your lovely family again and a special thank you to Eleanor for the lovely Easter card and home made biscuits she made for us, really made our day. Hope to see you again, Mark & Anne

Comfortable, Friendly And Great Breakfasts!
We absolutely loved our stay here. A great location to explore the Lakes. Comfortable accommodation and friendly hosts with lots of knowledge of good walks.

Miss. Gioconda Beekman - 7th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your great review, it was lovely to meet you. Hope to see you again, Mark & Anne.

Elm House Review
Thank you for looking after us during our recent stay. Will visit again.

Mrs. Sharon Lake - 17th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hi Sharon thank you for your review look forward to seeing you again soon. Mark & Anne

Very Pleasant Stay
Nicely decorated room, excellent breakfast, friendly welcome, and two days of perfect sunshine. Also a couple of very pleasant meals at the Sun Inn in the village.

Martine Stead - 5th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

New Years Eve Stay
my wife and i stayed here for new year,mark and anne were very welcoming,rooms were nice and breakfast very good.we would stay here again in the future.

Lesley Fleet - 3rd Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Weekend Away At \" Elm House\" Pooley Bridge.
Mark and Ann our hosts have got it just right.A little Gem tucked away at the Top of the village. Stayed here from 21/22Nov 2014 with friends in a friendly relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast superb rooms excellent and you could see that a great attention to detail had been well thought through would recommend to anyone without hesitation,
Really had a great time and will return in the new year to do it all again.
Thank You

Carol Taylor - 24th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Review
Clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfasts, owners friendly and helpful but not overbearing. I would reccommend this establishment.

Mr. Michael Patten - 18th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend At Elm House
Our stay at Elm House was just a weekend but it was great, the breakfasts are a treat and you must try the porrage. Room was warm and spotless, recomend any time.

John Turnbull - 14th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
Absolutely loved the place, owners were really friendly and helpful - even printed out an long email from my daughter as I had left my travel guide at home!! Breakfasts were out of this world, most definitely coming back next year.

Pauline Rogers - 13th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
This was our second visit to Elm House with friends.
It is a wonderful B&B very hospitable and accommodating with an excellent choice of breakfast.
Thank you for making our visit so enjoyable.

Emma Mullally - 13th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

A Little Bit Extra
Great attention to detail and obviously trying hard to give just that little bit more. Great choice and quality of breakfast.

Derek Simonds - 8th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
We stayed in room 4. Plenty of space and a king sized, comfortable bed. Clean and well looked after throughout. Lovely breakfast.

James Eustace - 28th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Stay At Elm House
Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast fantastic and owners pleasant and obliging. Would go again.

Mr. Anthony Sprinks - 23rd Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House 2 Night Stay
We recently had an excellent 2 night stay at Elm House. The room was very well furnished and bed comfortable, the en suite was superb complete with toiletries. Mark & Anne were very attentive, breakfast GREAT,would recommend ELM HOUSE.

Stan Berry - 21st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly And Convenient
We enjoyed our stay at Elm House. Breakfasts were great, good choice, and Mark and Ann were very helpful and informative.

Chris Hill - 19th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Nicely decorated family suite was just what we required. Although we didn\'t stay long, the room and breakfast were great. Mark was most welcoming.

Sid Reddy - 15th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Very Comfortable, Quiet
Received excellent advice on local dinner reservations

Mr. Robert Kempthorne - 15th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Lakes Getaway
Homely, welcoming,and situated in a beautiful village where you can strike out to any part of the lakes or into the town of Penrith. The owners Mark and Anne make you very welcome with nothing too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and clean and the breakfasts are something else. Been before and will definitely go again, a little Gem !

Richard Pape - 8th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Really Pleasant &homely
We had a pleasant greeting &shown to our room which nicely appointed. Our room had a separate bathroom but was not far down the landing,the breakfast room was very pleasant and the view of the very busy bird feeders was fantastic.our freshly prepared breakfasts were excellent,we would happily tell our friends about lovely place to stay.

Lyndsey Earl - 7th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely B And B
It was a pleasure to stay at your establishment, everything worked as it should particularly things like the shower and the TV. There was great attention to detail without being fussy, I would stay with you again if the occasion arose. Good luck in all you do, hope your son continues to enjoy school.

Ruth Walker - 6th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

August Getaway
We enjoyed our stay immensely. Mark and Anne are most welcoming and helpful. The room was decorated and furnished to a high standard as was the en-suite. The room had an excellent TV and the minibar fridge was a useful bonus. The breakfasts were excellent and service was very punctual. We would definitely recommend this B&B. Location was also very good. We ate at one of the 3 local pubs. One we didn't fancy and the other was always booked solid (ok if you reserve a table no doubt!)so we travelled nearby to a lovely place about 4 miles away a couple of nights.

Mr J Ambrose And Ms C Tonkin - 1st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Short Break
Fantastic hosts, full of local information. Tastefully decorated rooms and a very peaceful setting.
Look forward to returning soon.

Mr. Jon Foulkes - 25th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for you lovely comments see you again. Mark & Anne

Another Excellent Stay
A warm welcome from owners Mark and Anne. Very hospitable nothing too much trouble. Great location in the village of Pooley Bridge. Great breakfast made with the best of local produce. Rooms are modern and very tastefully decorated, nice touch is the mini fridge in the room. Exceptionally clean rooms. Very highly recommended, cant wait to go back.

Ian Bradshaw - 16th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Ian so glad you enjoyed another excellent stay. Mark & Anne

So Pleasing
We arrived at Elm House and were warmly greeted by the host. We were happy to find a cozy home and to be in and out of the rain. We were pleased to find we'd been upgraded to a larger room - so elegantly decorated. Walking distance to a walking trail along the lake and to the steamer. Delicious and hearty breakfast to send us on our way.

Lesley Mason - 15th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your lovely review glad you enjoyed your stay despite a little rain. Mark & Anne

Birthday Break
I booked elm house after looking at reviews for my partners 50th birthday . I wasn't disappointed and it lived up to all expectations . Comfortable homely with many extras supplied in the room . Superb breakfasts with plenty of choice . Highly recommended

Gillian Harris - 14th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you, glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our superb breakfasts. In fact we are thrilled we just had our latest secret Hotel inspection and got a new breakfast award for 2015 with 100% score. Thanks again Mark & Anne

Weekend Break
Lovely comfy clean room,peaceful location & within walking distance for all amenities at Pooley Bridge. Great breakfast choices!

Ms. Deborah Gaston - 12th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Very welcoming establishment. Good breakfast. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Jackie Thomson - 12th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

5 Star Stay
We stayed for 1 night at Elm House and it was
everything we could wish for, the welcome was good, the place was spotless and had great attention to detail. The icing on the cake for me was the porridge laced with Drambuie. Delicious! I'll be trying that at home. We would definitely stay there again.

Mrs. Valerie Worrall - 9th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay In Lovely Location
We really enjoyed our time staying at Elm House. There was a real attention to detail and a real desire that we should enjoy our stay there. Highly recommended.

Mr. Clive Morris - 5th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
Clean, comfortable room with excellent choice of breakfast. Friendly and helpful owners.

Buchan - 4th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Mrs
as/ what was written in the visitors book and we will recommend to all our friends.

Albert Matthewson - 1st Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Top Guest House In A Great Location
I stayed at Elm house for three nights with my wife in the King Deluxe room. The warm welcome we received when arriving was superb! The breakfast was equally outstanding - while I enjoyed the full English my wife also thoroughly enjoyed the hearty porridge with the cute "tot" of Drambuie. We were provided with some great local advice regarding walks and hikes, including which pub gardens benefit from the afternoon sun! .. I highly recommend the teashop by the bridge for lunch or dinner, the vegetarian selection of meals was impressive (As was the wine!). I really hope we have the pleasure of staying at Elm House once again in the near future.

Mr. Jonathan King - 30th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Single Night Stopover
Very nice and warm welcome, lovely room and bathroom and good breakfast too. Liked the honesty box too for a naughty chocolate bar in the evening!

Dennis Kennady - 29th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Perfect Stay!!!
Stopped in at Elm House on the way back home, was amazing. A spot we will definitely return to. The perfect B&B for a relaxing stay and a great 1st adventure in the lake district. Can easily walk into pooley bridge for an afternoon tea and the pubs for dinners. Will be definitely be back.

Richard Leach - 28th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House Pooley Bridge
Great B&b location. Perfect would stay again
Breakfast fantastic
Rooms and service immaculate

Anne Bryden - 26th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Success
Warm welcome. Very helpful and friendly. Room upgraded without any problems.Very nice stay.

Dietmar Tiegel - 2nd Jul, 2014
Verified Review

What A Nice Place
friendly welcome; comfortable room; spotless cleanliness and a delicious breakfast.what more could anyone want? We would certainly book here again

Gerald Corbishley - 30th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Home From Home
The Elm House is a very hospitable B&B- a true 'home from home'. The rooms are un-fussy and very clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast menu has plenty of choice and the cooked breakfasts were delicious -an excellent way to set you up for a day of hill walking. Mark and Anne are very friendly and helpful people. This was our sixth visit - and we shall definitely be back!

Helen Lawson - 28th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House, Pooley Bridge
the breakfasts alone make staying at elm house a joy.

Allan Robert Foad - 27th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
Perfect stay! Clean, comfortable, friendly.

Jill Umpleby - 14th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

My Opinion
Excellent accommodation. Prompt service and pleasant attitude by the staff.

Pauline Sarson - 9th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Great B&b
lovely room,lovely food,lovely people.

Mr. Alan Needham - 5th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

4 Night Stay @ Elm House
We have just come back from 4 nights at Elm House. Great location, warm welcome, comfy beds, great breakfast for us and the children. We will definitely recommend Elm House to our friends. Thanks!

Kate Powell - 30th May, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
We spent three nights here. Lovely location, lovely owners and accommodation. Enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning overlooking the garden. Rooms cleaned daily and well presented!

Mrs. Natalie Callaghan - 29th May, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
Stayed 1 night on way back from Scotland , ideal location for local village including Pub , Room had all Facilities Required and Breakfast was Plentiful and Tasty . would recommend stopping here especially for outdoor walks etc

Brian Morris - 29th May, 2014
Verified Review

24th - 26th May '14
A peaceful and relaxing place to stay. We particularly enjoyed watching the resident woodpecker as we breakfasted. Service was warm and friendly, and we would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Fiona Baldwin - 27th May, 2014
Verified Review

First Class
Great location, top class accomodation, excellent service and a warm welcome.

Barry Charlton - 26th May, 2014
Verified Review

Stay On May 18th
This bed and breakfast had a friendly atmosphere and clean, functional rooms. I would stay here again.

Mr. Mark Nickless - 22nd May, 2014
Verified Review

Short But Sweet
Great weather, lovely room and very friendly welcome. Thanks also to Auntie ???? for her help in your forced absence. Stayed 1 night on our way from Sussex to Scotland.

Mr. Roy Broad - 20th May, 2014
Verified Review

Review
Really clean, comfortable room and well organised. Would not hesitate to go back.

Emma Brincat - 6th May, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Place To Stay. Book With Confidence.
Stayed the weekend here with my Fiance and felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Ample car parking, welcoming hosts, the room was perfect and the full cumbrian breakfast well cooked and plentifull. What more can you ask for? I will be back.

Mr. Stewart Sanderson - 6th May, 2014
Verified Review

Great Weekend
We had a great weekend the room was great the food was great we will be back soon.
ELM HOUSE was spot on yours P C Heyes

Peter Heyes - 28th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
Friendly staff, good knowlage of the area, room was nice and clean, hot shower, comfy bed, food excellent and guest can choose what they wanted the night before which is good if you didn't want a full English, good location. Overall we had a lovely stay, thank you

Lee Jones - 27th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Perfect Easter Break Away
The room had everything you could need with lovely touches like chocolates on the pillows. Breakfast was perfect each day. We really enjoyed our stay knowing that our bikes were secure and the room could be cooled with the fan provided. There was even a tuck box if you were peckish. We'd recommend Elm House for a lovely quiet stay with excellent facilities and food.

Mrs. Sheena Cairnie-coates - 21st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Relaxing
The hosts Anne and Mark were great.Very approachable and accommodating.The room was comfortable and clean.The breakfast was excellent.Will recommend to others.

Trevor Pugh - 18th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
A fantastic Guest House. Very clean, with friendly helpful owners. The breakfasts were amazing with so much choice. The rooms were very comfortable with coffee and tea making facilities. All our holiday needs were catered for. Will certainly return.

Marian Chippendale - 16th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Great B&b
Elm House is everything you'd expect from a B&B: parking on site; welcoming hosts; well presented and clean rooms and a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Would definitely stay again!

Mr. Nicholas Weston - 8th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Thoroughly Recommend
Another fantastic stay at Elm House. Lovely people, rooms are great, everthing you need and more. So much choice at Breakfast, well cooked and served with a smile.

June Schewtschuk - 7th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely B & B
We had a lovely room, the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and Anne was very helpful and welcoming. We would definitely recommend Elm House.

Peter Hayes - 4th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Top Class
Very friendly proprietors. Rooms were very tasteful and spotless.Also the breakfasts were exellent with plenty of choice and expertly cooked.Cant wait for our next visit.

Mark Edwards - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Top Class
Very friendly proprietors. Rooms were very tasteful and spotless.Also the breakfasts were exellent with plenty of choice and expertly cooked.Cant wait for our next visit.

Mark Edwards - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Elm House
my daughter and I stayed at Elm House for a mothers day treat, as we went walking in the area. We had a lovely stay. Our room was very clean, warm and comfortable with tea/coffee available. The breakfasts were great and a good selection. The owners very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Thank you

Mrs. Ann Ball - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Short Stay
We had a lovely short stay in this very comfortable guest house. We had a very comfortable bed and a great night's sleep. Breakfast was substantial and very tasty.
The only downside was the slightly noisy plumbing. We could hear water running from an adjacent room on occasions. Overall not a big problem though.
We will stay again if we are in the area.

Gary Oswald - 12th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Stay
Excellent stay. We arrived a bit early and got straight into our family suite which was lovely. Nothing was a problem for Anne and Mark . Our bikes were stored safely in a shed, breakfast was fantastic....if only they could have fixed the weather.

Sharon Johnston - 24th Feb, 2014
Verified Review