Friendly Owners And A Lovely View
Stayed at the Frenchgate for 3 days. The owners and their son were very welcoming and served superb breakfast; whilst also meeting the dietary needs of myself and one of my friends. The dining area has a stunning view of Richmond, which is complimented by the two large windows and the small balcony. Would very much recommend this guest house and its hosts.

southernerjake - 5th Mar, 2019
Verified Review

Absolutely Perfect
Stayed at 66 Frenchgate for a couple of nights. We were made very welcome by Mick , Rachel and Harry . Nothing was too much trouble for these marvellous hosts. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard with views that are breathtaking . Breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful. We would highly recommend 66 Frenchgate if you are looking to stay in Richmond. Richmond itself is a beautiful place with lovely walks and restaurants. This is the place to stop without a doubt.

Bruce W - 5th Mar, 2019
Verified Review

Nice And Cosy B&b - Frenchgate Guest House
We stayed at this lovely B&B for a couple of nights.The room was neat and clean and the view from the room was really nice.Also, really enjoyed the breakfast while we ate looking at amazing views from the conservatory which was the breakfast room :)
The best part was our host, Rachel is a lovely lady, very nice and polite and will help you in any which ways she can.
Thanks for you hospitality!!

Smita p - 18th Dec, 2018
Verified Review

Amazing!
One of the best B&Bs around. Immaculate, peaceful, fantastic views, amazing breakfast and great people running it.
Can\'t recommend it highly enough. I stay in a lot of hotels, but this is definitely better than most of them!

Robert Younger - 6th Dec, 2018
Verified Review

66 Frenchgate
Lovely stay. Mike and Rachel have recently taken over the guest house and couldn\'t be more friendly hosts that make you feel welcome the moment you walk in the door until you leave. Guest house at the top of a small georgean street with a nice old pub across the road. You can also access from the main road down some steps but we preferred the cobbled street with pavement as it was atmospheric with the old houses and street lamps. Parking on street. Only a few hundred yds from town centre with places to eat and drink even before you get to the centre. The guest house is nicely decorated, furnished and warm with each room having a different decor and feel. We had room 4 with a supurb rear view, as is the dining room and as claimed must be the best views in Richmond. As a guest house and hosts I couldnt fault

Ian herbert - 29th Oct, 2018
Verified Review

Superb ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š
Fantastic bed and breakfast!
Very fresh,very homely, very welcoming,the views from the dining room really are the best in Richmond !
Super breakfast with a great choice, a nice easy going time of day made perfect by Rachel and Mick ( some b and b's can be very dead at breakfast time with no atmosphere not saying here is lively ...just relaxed and warm )... Rachel and Mick are doing a sterling job with brilliant attention to detail ( must give the bed linen a mention here ...divine)!
Without a doubt its the best we shall be talking about this for a while ...till our next visit anyway!!
Rachel and Mick are sooo lovely
We had a fantastic weekend in Richmond and this place added to it.

bengalcats - 2nd Oct, 2018
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Although we only stayed for one night we enjoyed our visit very much

Hickman - 24th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Great Area To Visit Made More Special By Mick And Rachel
66 Frenchgate is a beautiful establishment run amazingly by Mick and Rachel. They are friendly and the rooms and service are next to none. We had Room No. 1, for one night whilst visiting Whitby and Richmond and it just wasn't long enough. Wish now we had booked a week off after meeting such great hosts and also the place and surroundings are so beautiful. Definitely coming back and bringing more friends and family next time. Neil Sheppard and Lorraine Lane.

Lorraine L - 16th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

On The High Side Of Town
This is a beautifully well appointed guest house. Very friendly hosts Rachael and Mike.
After our walk it was a bit more of a hike up the street but well worth the walk. Rooms and view are stunning. Breakfasts fresh and filling. Local knowledge very helpful.

Maureen050751 - 11th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

One Of The Best B&bs On The Coast To Coast
We felt fortunate that Packhorse C2C are so good at finding superb bed and breakfast accommodation. This was one of the best we encountered. Rachael and Mick are warm, friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Their elegant and stylish home commands fine views of Richmond and they run it as a tight ship with customer service at the centre of everything they do. Our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is good with plenty of fresh fruit, decent yoghurt and a fine scrambled egg and smoked salmon dish. Ok the coffee was not great- you cant have everything and I am VERY fussy about coffee.

GlinysW - 9th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Great Hosts, Great Food, Great View
We couldn't have been more warmly welcomed than by Rachel and Mick and their son Harry. (Rachel, by the way, is hilariously funny.) Breakfast offerings included superb salmon and eggs, Greek yogurt, and a delicious berry medley. The view from the conservatory is splendid.

Fred S - 12th Aug, 2018
Verified Review

R & R And Music
Frenchgate is a great guest house in The heart of Richmond, which overlooks rolling hills and commands the most stunning views.
The rooms are cosy, clean and have very comfortable beds. Bathrooms are immaculate and have lovely fluffy towels and toiletries. Rooms have coffee, tea, biscuits and there are even chocolates at the bedside!
The owners, Mark and Rachael make a great breakfast and are fantastic hosts.
All shops and amenities are on the doorstep and I'd recommend visiting the town and booking for the 2 day music festival next year.

Judith - 6th Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Coast To Coast Rest Day In Richmond.
The perfect spot to rest and recharge the batteries. Rachel & Mark are lovely Hosts providing clean, comfortable rooms and beds, appetizing breakfast selections and lots of local information. Their dining room has a breathtaking view over Richmond and surrounds - worth visiting just for that! Close to many facilities which made exploring the town easy. Will most definitely return and highly recommend.

T M - 13th Jul, 2018
Verified Review

C2c Stopover In Richmond
Fabulous B&B in a quiet location but close to Richmonds fine restaurants and cafes .Mick and Rachel are a lovely couple and could not have made us more welcome.Delicious breakfast ,nice room and comfy bed.Highly recommended.

Shaun Layton - 6th Jul, 2018
Verified Review

Wonder
A lovely place to stay while discovering Richmond. A welcome rest for tired walkers, comfortable accommodation superb food and very gracious hosts. Although uphill from the town square itโ€™s well worth the effort for the fantastic views.

KLaith - 29th Jun, 2018
Verified Review

Perfect
This place is outstanding it really is . The host and staff are welcoming. The rooms lovely , clean and the beds are massive . The wines served were lovely . All topped off by one of the best fresh cooked breakfasts Iโ€™ve ever eaten .
Really first class we will be back !

KevinH89 - 27th Jun, 2018
Verified Review

Coast To Coast Walk
If the people make the place then this is the place to stay! Rachel and Mike are amazing hosts and made our stay the most enjoyable stay on c2c. The property is delightful , clean and comfortable with exceptional views . We will be back - one day .

Odyssey488926 - 23rd Jun, 2018
Verified Review

New Owners Doing A Wonderful Job!!
My daughter and I loved this place as we walked the Coast to Coast Path. The new owners Rachel and Mick are so friendly and nice. Great touch: our bags were in our room when we arrived. Room was nice after we figured out how to work the hot water for the shower. (Mick offered a wonderful tutorial) We had tea and cookies/cake when we arrived and enjoyed this in their elegant dining area with amazing views over the city. Breakfast was wonderful and we had a delicious lunch packed for us as well.

henriettagal - 17th Jun, 2018
Verified Review

So Friendly And Amazing Views In The Middle Of Beautiful Town
One of the Friendliest places we have stayed. Great Breakfast with incredible views and rooms really clean and comfortable. A great place to stay when visiting the most amazing countryside and the Yorkshire Dales. The owners Rachel and Mike couldn't have been more helpful, and we have fallen in love with Richmond. They even have a waterfall in their park.

Susie & Jim - 2nd Jun, 2018
Verified Review

Very Friendly Welcome, Terrific Views Over Yorkshire
Welcome refreshments on arrival,
Spotlessly clean room with marvellous views across countryside.
Everything you need including tea and coffee making facilities, and biscuits.
Large TV in room.
Well equipped en suite.
Lovely full English in the morning with various cereals, fresh fruit, tea ,coffee, and toast. All very tasty and set us up for the day.
We would recommend this B and B to any one who wanted a comfortable stay.

Bob & Gilly - 30th Apr, 2018
Verified Review

Good All Rounder For The Price
stayed for a saturday night and was very happy with location, cleanness, and welcome. the only one thing was last call for breakfast was 8.30 which after a good night out was too early for me but what a view from the dinning room amazing. would stay there again

Mr. graham hunter - 16th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks Graham for your review, lovely, sorry the breakfast was to early, it just says on the breakfast request, \"Breakfast at other times ,gladly.\" For Next time.. thank you Ralph

2nd Stay
Everything lived up to expectation, my first visit was a quick one night stay but left a lasting impression enough for me to return for a longer stay. My 2nd stay gave me the chance to appreciate what a gem Ralf has got for us to enjoy.

Mr P Shadlock - 6th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Many thanks Phil, for your Feedback and kind words, lovely time, Ralph

Excellent Stay
Brilliant as before. Will continue using Frenchgate Guest House. Just love the situation and the views!!

Mrs. Margaret E Wilkinson - 23rd May, 2017
Verified Review

Very Friendly
Ralph has a very friendly disposition and made me feel very welcome.I had a good-sized room that was very cosy and warm.It was quiet, despite facing onto the main road into Richmond.A very filling breakfast got me off to a good start for the day.Parking could be a bit hit or miss but I was lucky and found a spot very close by the Guest House.

Mr. Ants Aug - 16th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful
Beautiful place only minutes walk from centre of town. Wonderful views from the conservatory/breakfast room. Good night\'s sleep in the comfortable bedrooms, and a very tasty breakfast was enjoyed by us next morning. Ralph was the perfect host, and told us of several places to eat in the evening. Highly recommended, would stay here again if in Richmond.

Mrs. Sheila Stewart - 12th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous!
I can\'t praise this charming guest house enough...very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I had a super room with a lovely comfortable bed and then enjoyed a fabulous breakfast whilst enjoying the most spectacular views ... What more can you ask for? I would highly recommend Frenchgate Guest House and look forward to a return visit :)

Ms. julie simpson - 3rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Altberg
We visited so I could order walking shoes from Altberg. The facilities were very comfortable and the breakfast was a substantial Yorkshire style meal.

Mr. Philip Shaw - 20th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Great Night In Richmond
We were visiting Richmond to see a show at the Georgian Theatre and booked a room at he
Frenchgate Guest House. It was really lovely, our room had great views over Richmond and the views from the Breakfast Room are fantastic and a great choice for breakfast. Ralph was a great host and we will definitely be back.

Mr. barry alderson - 16th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Many thanks Barry, lovely time

Easter Break
Our grown up children loved staying at your B&B over the Easter weekend. They said you were a lovely man and the breakfast was amazing!!!

Mrs. JAN` PICTON - 29th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Many thanks Jan.

Great B&b, Friendly Owner, Fantastic Views
Stayed a couple of times. Always clean, big rooms, friendly, excellent breakfast in room with great views of the moors. Highly recommend

Mr. Michael Barber - 29th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Fantastic Find!
You won\'t be disappointed with anything here. Attention to detail was second to none. Was made to feel at home and very welcome right from the start. Ralph is an exceptional host, you don\'t find many like him these days, the B&B is a credit to him. We shall definitely be staying there again next time we\'re in Richmond.

Ms. Julie Gibson - 1st Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Many thanks Julie for your nice comments. Ralph

Another Excellent Stay.
We have stayed at Ralphs on several occasions, and he is always my first choice when we are staying at Richmond. From the warm friendly welcome you receive on arrival and the first class breakfast menu selection. Ideal location for bars, restaurants and local attractions. Would definitely reccomend to anyone thinking of staying in Richmond.

Mr. Peter Richardson - 1st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay With Great Hospitality
we enjoyed every moment in the french guest house. very nice room, perfect view, good breakfast. ralph gave us lots of informations about every topic we asked for. thanks for that warm and friendly atmosphere. we will come again

Mr. Joerg Becker - 30th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Delightful Stay
This guesthouse is charming, beautifully presented, immaculately clean and conveniently located within the town. Ralph, the owner, is the perfect host, friendly yet discreet and more than happy to give excellent travel advice. Delicious breakfast with stunning views.

Mrs. Alicia Chardon - 25th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Fgh
Very enjoyable stay.

Mrs. Jenifer Restall - 22nd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Jenifer, pleased your arrangement worked out ok... Ralph

Road Trip
Most warm welcome from Ralph, comfortable rooms and breath taking view from the breakfast room. Could not have asked for more - a perfect way to round off our road trip - will be sure to return.

Miss. Sandy Tchilinguirian - 11th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Very Comfortable And Helpful
Dear Ralph, We have had a very nice and comfortable stay with you and thank you so much with helping to get in contact with doctor Palmer. The knee problem was caused by overdoing the walking, and it turned out that she had her minuscus taken out when she was 14 years old. Anyway I think she did very well to come that far being 70 years of age. It will have to heal with rest. We did get home safely and are looking back on a unforgetable holiday. Thank you so much. Evert A. De Rooij

Mr. Evert A. De Rooij - 5th May, 2015
Verified Review

A Room With A View
A comfortable and attractive room and a wonderful breakfast with the most amazing view over the countryside surrounding the delightful town of Richmond. All the ingredients for a great stay.

Mrs. Susan Wright - 17th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Susan,it does make a difference.
Ralph

A Wonderful Stay!
We stayed at Frenchgate House for two nights just before Easter 2015. The room was lovely, the breakfast room idyllic and Ralph was a wonderful host. Breakfast was more than ample and the hospitality was excellent. We will definitely stay here again!

Mr. Paul Gilchrist - 10th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Great Value.
the frenchgate is a very clean and well presented guest house, within easy reach of the town centre, with an extremely accommodating owner, and a great breakfast!

Mr. Paul Edwards - 6th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

5 Star Review
The best B&B I\'ve been to in years.

Mr. David Dewar - 16th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Pleasant Stay
Frenchgate Guest House is a characterful townhouse with fabulous views over the North Yorkshire countryside and an interesting history. We had a comfortable en suite room at the top of the house, accessed via a very steep staircase. Ralph gave a warm welcome and provided a substantial breakfast. I hope to return.

Ms. Alison Maitland - 20th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Frenchgate Guest House
A very warm welcome by mine host on arrival. We were given plenty of info on the surrounding area.
Accommodation comfortable, clean and nicely furnished.
The only disadvantage is that our room was a bit on the small side.

Mr. Peter Johnson - 19th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hello Peter, many thanks for your comment, I agree I had put to much furniture in the room which can get in the way, i have removed some of the furniture to make the room more spacious, very best wishes Ralph

C 2 C
Delightful accommodation, brilliant view across the Swale valley.Going to return with my wife as Richmond is a treasure

Mr. Stuart Anderson - 12th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

A Frenchgate Weekend
The views, The views The views are fantastic. Our room was very warm, comfortable and spacious. The facilities were second to none. A very relaxing and informal atmosphere.. Choices at breakfast were superb. Would highly recommend to anyone

Mr. Mick Hennessy - 1st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Great Stay
Great place to stay can't fault anything

Mr. Brian Rigby - 25th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

2 Day Stay
many thanks to ralph The perfect host, for making our stay at richmond most enjoyable, a comfortable room and a most generous breakfast in delightful dining room with superb views. Ralph was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Perfect location for the town, castle and lovely walks. Highly recommended.

Mr. Colin Bradley - 18th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay & Lovely Views!
What a perfect spot to stay in Richmond while visiting the area. Frenchgate is located centrally, close to excellent dining, the town center, and near many of the fine walks that the area provides. Ralph was a most accommodating host, provided a delicious breakfast, and the room provisions were excellent. I definitely will stay here again during our next visit to the Richmond area.

Mrs. Erin May-urban - 23rd Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Its a great pleasure to do this job , and thank you for taking the time to add your comment.

Ralph