Very Pleasant Stay
Very pleasant stay in a well appointed room. Exceptionally clean. Easy to find and easy parking. Convenient for the ferry to Belfast. We stayed 3 nights. Very welcoming lady and we would stay here again.

Heather Bloomfield - 7th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

The Thisle Inn Stranraer 25/07/17
Hotel owners friendly and helpful
Helped with directions to the places I wanted to go,and even got the football club to announce my vist to ground

Brian Derbe - 9th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
Great accommodation, central for everything, owners very welcoming. Would stay again.

Isabel Gallagher - 22nd Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Great Place
Great place to stay. Very friendly. Will definitely book again.

patrick mclaughlin - 21st May, 2017
Verified Review

Warm Clean Welcoming
Lovely room with all mod cons . Warm Clean and welcoming

Catherine Davies - 10th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Comfortable, Pleasant And Accessible.
Private off road parking outside the chalets which is so handy. Motel style accommodation is disable friendly, and ours had a walk in shower with bars too. The beds were extremely comfortable, and we slept like logs. Staff were friendly and charming, so much so, that we will stay here again.

Adrian Fear - 13th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect For Us!
My fiancé and I have stayed here twice now as a rest stop before our early morning ferry to Belfast. It\'s just perfect for our needs! Warm chalet room, hot shower, clean comfy bed and always a lovely warm welcome. Ideal for a nights rest before and after a long days travelling. Will no doubt be back next time!

Dawn Barker - 26th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Room
Clean and tidy and right in the centre. Basic but had everything you would need for a one nights stay. The only thing missing was some glasses in the room

Tracey Gleave - 24th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Fantastic
Lovely room and was very peaceful and quiet. Only negative was that the shower was quite light and slow. Will definately be staying again:

Lynda Boe - 14th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Ideal Stopping Off Point
on past occasions when catching the Cairnryan to Belfast Ferry it has been a mad dash to get the ferry after a 500 mile drive so this time we decided to travel up to Stranraer the day before and avoid any stress catching the ferry, the same was planned for the return trip.On arrival at the Thistle Inn it just looks like an ordinary pub, but drive to the rear and the terrace type ground floor rooms look most inviting, the double room was clean and nicely decorated and the en suite shower/toilet clean and well presented,heating was available and required as the temperature dropped during the evening, TV, wi-fi,tea and coffee were all available in the room,after a good nights sleep we set off for the ferry relaxed and in good spirits. On return from Ireland we stayed at the Thistle for another night before travelling to the Lake District, we occupied a similar room which was to the same standard as the other. Would recommend the Thistle Inn to anyone who needs a stopping off point at a reasonable cost.

Mike Hadley - 8th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
thank you Mike appreciated very much
Regards
Alex

Basic, Clean And Comfortable
Stayed for an overnight in this wee place, the owner was lovely, very accomodating, rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable, would stay again.

Catherine Ross - 21st Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Ruhiger Ort
Sehr enger Parkplatz!
Rollstuhlgängiges kleines Zimmer.
Nettes Personal

Beatrix Mögerle - 5th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Weekend At The Thistle Inn
Friendly and welcoming, happy to help in every way to make our stay comfortable clean and spotless accommodation with housekeeping done every day.

Robert Cochrane - 30th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Stay At The Thistle Inn
I very much enjoyed my stay. The room was large and comfortable, with interesting architectural features, and the bed was very comfortable. The room was quiet and restful. It was not en suite, but the bathrooms were close and really ample for the number of rooms. I liked having the choice of a bath as well as a shower. Having the kitchen was welcome. I was able to eat a tasty take-away meal and keep milk in the fridge. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I was a bit sorry not to call in at the bar - just too tired after having been out all day! But it looked very cheerful and welcoming.

Alexandra Hardie - 23rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

The Thistle Inn
Very clean and tidy would stay again

Paul Davies - 17th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Thistle Inn
Helpful hosts and comfortable accomodation.

Elise Methven - 15th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Rooms
Nice clean rooms and 2 minutes from town centre would go back

James Anderson - 8th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Great Location
Great central location in tye town. Friendly owner and super breakfast. No problem staying here again next time

Mr. Stuart Turner - 1st Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Great Place!
We stayed in the family room. 3 adults and 2 children. Lovely place and lovely owners would highly recommend!

Adam Longfield - 23rd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Great Stay
Fantastic, clean, comfortable bed, great service.

Trish Bolton - 22nd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Great Stay
Great night at the Thistle. Friendly staff and the manager Sandy is a gem

James Park - 18th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Thistle Inn Wonderful
Such a nice staff, welcoming and friendly. Love that the pub is attached. Yummy breakfast.

Kimbrough Mauney - 3rd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect Rest Stop
Clean, comfortable, great breakfast and friendly staff. A great wee bar where fun nights are to be had (sadly we were too exhausted) and a great breakfast room. For down to earth travellers who want a refreshing stop over in walking distance to bars and restaurants this is for you.

Janet Booth - 26th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Thistle
Enjoyed our stay good service, good breakfast friendly people

Ann Jenkins - 5th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Good
Comfortable warm and sunny room. Bed was comfortable neat and clean friendly staff

Jacqui Dornan - 2nd Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Visiting Family
Again visiting family In Stranraer, the host and staff are always friendly and will go out of there way to help out. I needed an extra room at short notice for my son who decided to join us and this was no trouble in sorting out for us. Thank you for another excellent stay.

Mr. Colin Ramsden - 23rd May, 2016
Verified Review

Stranraer Stay
Very clean tidy accommodation, staff competent confident and very friendly and helpful, highly recommended

Mr. Dave Newton - 26th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Couldn\'t Fault.
Booked this accommodation at the last minute as I decided to travel a day earlier than expected to be nearer ferry. Easy online booking, great sized comfortable room (3) only downside was street noise which is not to Inn\'s fault as the town bars emptied. Good value, excellent breakfast and friendly efficient staff.

Mr. Stewart Thompson - 4th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely, Thank You
We had a very nice stay. Helpful staff. Nice breakfast from Freda. Thanks to Ashleigh at the bar. Aeroplanes are very safe now young lady, cape diem.

Phillip Morton - 14th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Great Place With Great Staff.
First time ever staying here and will definitely be back if in Stranraer again. Chalets are beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly ,also the private off street parking was very useful. Not far from town centre either..A++

Kerry Drummond - 7th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Very Pleasantly Surprised
Stranraer is not a place we\'d go out of our way to stay in - but the Thistle Inn Motel style cabin room was perfectly pleasant, comfortable, well supplied with necessaries and quietly situated, off the road. We just needed a night\'s sleep pre- ferry and this matched our requirements to a tee, and was great value. Stranraer Tandoori, just round the corner was an excellent find for a great tasting, well presented meal.

Mcfaul - 5th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Pleasant Stay In Stranraer
Room was clean and bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was very tasty with choice of cereal and cooked. Staff all very helpful.

Bryan Davis - 29th Feb, 2016
Verified Review

1st Class
I had a one night stay in the Thistle Inn on Sat 09.01.16. I stayed in one of the chalets at the rear of the inn and found the chalet to be very comfortable. It was cold on arrival but as soon as I spoke to a member of staff the heating was turned on and it was warm in no time. I found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and Frieda serving was a delight, nothing was too much for her. I also used the bar during the Sunday and found the staff to be excellent. I would definitely use The Thistle Inn again if I\'m ever down in the Stranraer area.

Helen McGreechin - 11th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Clean, Friendly, Comfortable
Very warm welcome on arrival, very clean room. Great quality bedding. Lovely breakfast. Definitely would return 100% Staff were very helpful. Great value for what I paid. Some people just love to complain. Thanks Thistle inn..... I will be back :)

Caitlen Kelly - 6th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Clean And Comfortable
For accommodation on a budget this b and b is great value. The chalet was warm, comfortable and clean. Well situated for the town with a friendly welcome from the owners and staff. Would definitely return.

Nigel Westwood - 3rd Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Friendly And Hospitable
I enjoyed my stay here. Everyone (including the customers in the public bar) was friendly and welcoming.

John Thor Ewing - 30th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Great And Easy
Highly recommend. Very comfortable and easy service. Great location for our early ferry crossing. Thank you for the great nights rest.

Kim Erskine - 27th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Well Worth A Visit.
We stayed on Fri Sat Sun 3rd to 5th Oct2015.
The room was clean the bed was clean and the shower room was clean. Only complaint there was no hot water in the washbasin. They were having problems with the heater. breakfast was not included. But there are plenty of places nearby like the Rendezvous. If you do go to the Thistle Inn You must attend the Karaoke on a Sat night. Best laugh we\'ve ever had for a long time. Look out for Morris he\'s brilliant. Staff were excellent too and very friendly. Do go and have a really good time. Bill & Margo.
PS don\'t take any notice of the negative reviews they don\'t reflect the conditions as they really are.

Bill McLaren - 6th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hi Bill
Thank you for your kind review,Was a pleasure to have you stay with us ,Could you put a review on booking.com for us

One Night Stay At Thistle Inn
Stayed at thistle inn whilst attending family wedding. We stayed in one of the chalets and it was very clean and perfect for our requirements. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely the next morning. Would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Mrs. Shirley Ferguson - 15th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

One Night Stay At Thistle Inn
Stayed at thistle inn whilst attending family wedding. We stayed in one of the chalets and it was very clean and perfect for our requirements. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely the next morning. Would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Mrs. Shirley Ferguson - 15th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Surprise
Pulling in on our bicycles, we were a bit concerned...but once we saw how lovely and clean and quiet the rooms were...we could not have been happier. Great location...close to town but not right in it..a very easy stroll...the rooms were small but very well appointed and the showers were great! Thank you for the wonderful surprise...from happy Canadian cyclists:)

Michelle De Camp - 31st May, 2015
Verified Review

The Thistle Inn
This inn is ideally situated for the ferry to Northern Ireland being only 5 miles from the terminals. I found the accommodation perfect for a nights\' break in journey. I was met on arrival by Freda and she showed me immediately to my room which was immaculate and very comfortable indeed. Breakfast,too was excellent. Alround the Inn is friendly, comfortable and welcoming. I shall be booking again.

Ray Newman - 4th May, 2015
Verified Review

Easter Weekend
It is always a pleasure to stay at the Thistle inn. Travel up from the south to visit family takes it toll and the warm and friendly welcome and atmosphere from the owners and staff are always a great sight. Again you are made to feel part of the family from the time you arrive till the time you depart. I will definitely rebook again.

Mr. Colin Ramsdens - 7th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Mr
nice clean ,well laid out chalet room ,good breakfast very nice friendly people ,good saturday night kareoke in bar ..very good value for money .car parking beside chalet

Terence Mccracken - 30th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Young Couple
Found safe very friendly room clean and tidy and breakfast good .Would recommend to freinds and family. Would stay again .GOOD value for the price..

ANdrew Smith - 23rd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

One Night In Stranraer
The Thistle does exactly what it says on the tin. Clean excellent value for money budget accomodation ideal for the Cairnryan ferry

Gary Banks - 11th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Thistle Inn
We stayed overnight before catching ferry and found the Inn to be very convenient and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a problem with heating when we arrived and this took a couple of hours to be fixed. In the meantime the staff could not do enough to provide heaters and ensure we were comfortable. We would certainly stay here again.

George Baker - 9th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Comfortable with enough facilites to make it an easy place to stay .i wold us again

Mark Copeland - 12th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Good Nights Sleep
Room was clean and tidy, very comfortable bed and nice quiet nights sleep.
Easy walk into town.
Will use the Thistle again if travelling Cairnryan to Larne.

Kevin Shannon - 10th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Chalet Room At The Thistle Inn
Perfect stay for a night before catching the early ferry. 15 minutes from Cairnryan Ferry. Friendly staff greeted as on arrival. Free internet access was a bonus. Clean room and comfortable bed. En suite toilet with shower. Short walk to town centre. No entertainment but ask for a quite room as could be noisy at weekend. Did not have breakfast.

Richard Cowie - 2nd Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Wonderful Hospitality
Yet again another weekend in Stranraer visiting family and staying at the Thistle Inn. The hospitality and warm and friendly welcome of everybody involved is wonderful. It is a family run inn/b&b and you are made to feel like one of the family, from the room, to the bar and then to breakfast, nothing is too much for them to do for you. Again like last time I have rebooked . Thank you

Mr. Colin Ramsden - 17th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Overnight Stay.
I found the Thistle Inn an ideal stop over from the ferry a (couple of miles away).The staff were friendly and breakfast excellent .

Ian Brown - 14th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Warm Welcome
This hotel was what it says on the tin!! great welcome nice room, we didnt have breakfast as left early to catch ferry, but i am sure it would have been great. Defo stay again.

David Henderson - 20th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Stranraer Revisited
First time at the Thistle, but not the last, made to feel like one of the family, nothing was too much trouble for the staff the service was spot on.

James Ludlow - 19th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Pleasant Stay
Very clean,good breakfast
Good to have direct access from the car park to the room (chalet style)

John Moore - 18th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Recommend This Hotel
Very clean and the staff were very helpful at all times we would recommend it to anyone.

Irene Muir - 2nd Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Family Visit
Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Chalet style room is clean and comfortable. We will be using this venue again.

Mr. Iain Gardner - 1st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Great Value For Money
Lovely sized chalet style room,very clean, very friendly and welcoming and nice breakfast too
Would definitely stay again

Russell Crowther - 19th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Nice One
short but pleasant stay, nice clean room would stay again. thankyou

William Thomson - 17th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly
Very friendly welcome,could not be more helpful.

John Guthrie - 7th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Old Fashioned Hospitality
We enjoyed our stay here very much. Lovely staff who were extremely accommodating. Nothing seemed too much to ask and a delicious breakfast in bed was very much appreciated too. Would definitely stay again.

Laine Clark - 4th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Stopover
Just a brief stop over at this delightful Inn. Very basic and a little dated but great reception from the owners who were very helpful and informative. Very good value for money. WIll definitely be staying again.

Julie Lukow - 22nd Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Very Good
Very welcoming owners rooms are basic but comfortable and spotless we will be going back

Howard Ramsden - 18th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
Great friendly owners who welcomed us. Small clean rooms with all you need for a comfortable stay

Deborah Strang - 7th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Late Booking
I was very happy with the welcome. Room was spotless and comfortable and breakfast more than adequately met my needs.

Iris Harborne - 5th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Jim Casey
Great place to stay. Liked the idea of having chalets. Will use it again when in the area

James Casey - 1st Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Basic But Nice
It will never win any awards but it's what it says on the tin. Cheap - Basic - Clean & Very Very friendly staff.

Garry Pearson - 1st Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Mr
Room was clean staff were friendly and i enjoyed my stay at the Thistle..

Kevan Kennedy - 30th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

08th June To 09th June
once again thank-you for a very pleasant stay at your hotel, again the staff service was way beyond par and the room very comfortable, I would have no problem recommending your hotel to friends and family. Once again a score of 11 out 10 keep up the good work and I will definitely be booking the next time I am in stranraer.

Kevin Gemmell - 9th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

My Stay
Thank you for a lovely night , the room was very tidy and warm and the bed was very comfortable.In the morning breakfast was veryenjoyable and I would recommend your hotel to any of my friends who were in need of somewhere to stay whilst in stranrearr for whatever reason.

So marks out of 10 where 10 very pleased and 1 is not pleased at all I am happy if allowed to give you and your staff 11 out of 10

Kevin Gemmell - 2nd Jun, 2014
Verified Review

From Oz
Staff were friendly, Room was clean and homely, shower was HOT! Really well situated, reasonably priced and the breakfast was lovely!

Brendan Leahy - 11th May, 2014
Verified Review

Thank You!!
Excellent accommodation, spotlessly clean and most comfortable. Ideal base for touring as well. Breakfast was delicious and again, lovely clean breakfast room. Thanks for the experience, will return if we need to travel back down that way. Will recommend to friends.

George Stewart - 8th May, 2014
Verified Review

The Thistle Inn
It was a great stay. They are very welcomeing and friendly.

John Wilson - 19th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
Ideal place to stay with helpful friendly staff,Comftorble and cosy. Second time used and will return.

Norma Donald - 2nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Warm Welcome
We stayed in the large family room, it was clean,warm and comfortable. No on suit but not a problem as there are two bathrooms very close to all 5 bedrooms.Breakfast was a choice of cereal, toast and cooked, tea and fruit juice. This is not a 4 star hotel but for the money (£70)good value, I would say again.

Paul Carr - 2nd Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Bargin
clean tidy rooms,great breakfast,friendly staff,what more do you want ?

Bill Brown - 14th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

The Thistle Inn
The accomodation was lovely, the breakfast lovely and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly - acting above and beyond the call of duty. Just one problem - they weren't expecting us - not that it mattered. They put the matter right in about 10 seconds. It's just lucky that they hadn't gone out. But I'd certainly recommend The Thistle.

Mr. Stephen Peters - 7th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
Good facilities, good price, very warm welcome from owner and a great breakfast served in my room. What more could you ask for? Would recommend this accommodaton.

Patricia Gorst - 6th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Traveller
We found the chalets clean smart and comfortable and the staff very hospitable would stay again

Elsie Graham - 29th Dec, 2013
Verified Review

Great.worth Every Penny
Had a lovely stay at The Thistle Inn. Room was clean and cozy, great value for money, warm welcome and great oriental breakfast. Would stay again. Thanks to all staff for making my stay so comfortable. Couldnt ask for better. : )

Nicola West - 18th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Very Friendly
very nice clean chalet comfortable bed landlady very friendly with a very helpful son would use again

Mrs. Margaret Brown - 7th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Hotel Review
Clean, friendly and real value for money. Plenty of eating places within easy walking distance. Recommended

Mr. Garry Bagguley - 5th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent B&b.
Excellent B&B. Great location. Very clean. The room we had was very big and nicely decorated. The staff where nice and friendly, Freida was great with Harrison and Oliver. Recommended.

Mr. Mark Heaney - 4th Aug, 2013
Verified Review