Brief Stay
Our second visit to the Rambler. On both occasions staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Excellent choice of meals and plenty of ales to choose from. Excellent breakfast also.

Bernadette Moore - 6th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

The Best Stay We've Had In Europe So Far!
If you're considering staying here, get to it immediately! The Rambler Inn is the most charming and wonderful place to stay. The food was unbelievable, the service was unmatched by any other stay we've had and the views from our bedroom were incomparable. We watched the sun rise over the peak districts beautiful hills from the comfort of our huge bed. Thank you so much for having us, the only downside was we only booked for one night! We should have stayed longer!!

Ashley Lambourne - 2nd Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
We were very happy to stay in the Rambler, lovely quiet location, very friendly staff, good service, nice food & drink.
Good standard of accommodation.
Would be happy to stay again.

Andrew Brookes - 13th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

2 Nights At Rambler Inn
Very friendly inn, met our needs of a party with mixed ages perfectly. Lovely room with extremely comfy beds.
Food good

Denise Nightingale - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
So beautiful..Wonderful views and the most delicious breakfast with WI jams and marmalade. The landlord and staff are friendly and advised us on where to visit.

The railway and station is very close, it didn't bother us, we uesd it to have a car free day. You could come here car free and be in the middle of Edale. We might just do that next time.... Yes Definately worth another visit.

Marcia Martin - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Great Hotel
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this warm and friendly Hotel. We arrived late, after the kitchen had closed and yet they were able to rustle us some food for us, breakfast is epic. The rooms are clean and comfortable. What more could you ask for?

Richard Funnell - 8th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

July 2014
Perfect location, fantastic breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.
Stayed in Mam Tor room. The only criticism I can think of is that the hot water is actually too hot when it comes out of the tap.

Mr. Richard Durkin - 24th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly
Last minute booking, turned out to be ideal. All the staff were friendly, the location great and the food and beer very good.

Mark Underwood - 20th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Great Stay - Again!
Our second visit this year & we weren't disappointed. Really nice staff, good food & they don't mind dirty boots! If you want a prefect base for doing your walking/cycling look no further.

Miss. Jacqui Craig - 14th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Forest Inn
Cosy inn with hiking tracks and train station just outside

Ove Oksvold - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Welcome
Everyone was very welcoming and friendly. The room was large and the real treat was that there was a bath! Not just a shower.
We ate in and the food was tasty and again served with a smile.

Raymond Smith - 19th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Terrific Stopover
This was a first night stay for me prior to a walking holiday around the Peak District National Park - the hospitality was second to none, the room was very clean, well stocked with all a ladies needs! I would gladly recommend The Ramblers, Thank you all

Mrs. Helen Brewerton - 17th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

First Visit To The Rambler Inn
Excellent location and beautiful view of the hillside.

Having found it we hope to use midweek visits now and again for hill walking.

Staff were excellent. Thank You

Geoffrey Pell - 17th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

An Excellent Inn
My wife and I stayed for just one night at the Rambler Inn and then had lunch the following day. We were very impressed indeed with everything from the food, the bedroom and the beers to the friendliness of the managers and their staff.

Peter Elwin - 7th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Great Experience
My wife and I stayed at the Rambler last weekend and very much enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are clean and nicely presented. Although the menu is not huge, the food is nicely cooked.

Mr. Carl Davis - 3rd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

As Good As It Gets
What a great place to stay. Friendly staff serving food that was delicious and plentiful. Bedrooms that were clean, well laid out and comfortable. And, what a view we had when the early morning sun made its way over the hills. We'll be going back at the next opportunity; that a certainty.

Mr. Patrick Joyce - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Monday At The Rambler Inn
Enjoyed the stay from the moment we entered. The bar staff/chef were friendly and attentive and made us feel comfortable. This standard was maintained throughout our one night stay.

The room was comfortable and the food wholesome and substantial.

It was very good value for money and we will definitely make a return visit.

Michael Owen - 14th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Good Team!!
Great midweek break. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable PLUS lovely food to be enjoyed after a days walking in this wonderful part of the country.

Jacqui Craig - 13th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Must Return
Good location for hiking, spacious room and friendly staff who deals with queries timely. Great breakfast too (portion can be too big)!

Feifei Peng - 13th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
This is the second time staying at the rambler and as the first time everything was perfect.

Paul Judd - 12th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Fantastic Stay
Great breakfast, gorgeous views, friendly staff and wonderful management. They bent over backwards to make sure we had a wonderful stay. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Ms. Ann Smith - 10th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Birthday Treat
very enjoyable stay,very warm welcome. good food, friendly staff. top marks.

Christina Green - 10th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Great Weekend
The Rambler has a good cosy atmosphere,is comfortable and the food is good.Located just on the edge of the village of Edale- very convenient for sightseeing and walking.
As an bonus the weather was excellent!

Penny Fisher - 9th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Walking Weekend
Very friendly welcome. Room was clean and comfortable. Food throughout our stay was good and the staff attentive. A great base for walking this area.

Martin Frith - 3rd Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Break
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Inn. Good traditional food, efficient and friendly staff, warm and comfortable atmosphere. Won't hesitate to go back another time.

Nando Medema - 2nd Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Weekend
We have just enjoyed a lovely stay at the Ramblers. The room was large, the bed enormous & the bathroom really good. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and so were the other customers! A great place to stay. Th food was brilliant. My compliments to the chef. I would rate it five stars but the wireless connection was not the best.

Mr. Nicholas Pyne - 24th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn
Had a wonderful stay at the Rambler Inn. Superb location with beautiful scenery. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff really friendly and the breakfast excellent. Would definitely visit again. Thank you to all the staff for their great service.

Paul Morgan - 22nd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Velentine
Nice venue to stay. Good food. pity about the weather!!!!

Betty Dane - 17th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn
Excellent ! Very friendly people, lovely comfortable rooms, quality served food, roaring log fires
Highly recommended A********

Sue Lacey - 2nd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

10-11 January
Stayed a night at the rambler before embarking on the epic Spine Race, starting in Edale. Apart from the obvious convenient location for the Pennine Way, the stay was excellent in every way. Friendly hosts, clean, comfortable, spacious and well-appointed room, and great bar food. Just a pity I had to leave the next morning and run 268 miles to Kirk Yetholm....

Mr. Steve Holyoak - 18th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

One Night Stay
My wife and I only had time for a one night stay at the Rambler Inn and wish we could have stayed longer,room was brilliant as was the evening meal and full English breakfast and the location was supurb,highly recommend.

Mr. Gerald Salter - 18th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Just returned from the ramblers...this was our 3rd stay! Fantastic accomodation, good beer and excellent pub grub!

Mrs. Jacki Rushby - 2nd Jan, 2014
Verified Review

November 2013
Staff looked after us even though it was a very busy Saturday night following the village fireworks display, Old Rosie Cider was a big hit. Breakfast was lovely.
Great Hotel, Fantastic Pub, Brilliant Time

Mr. Paul Adams - 4th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Rambler Inn
Very comfortable accommodation.well appointed bedrooms.very welcoming and friendly staff.

Mr. Antony Mack - 23rd Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Review Of Rambler Overnight Stay
Room 2 again, perfect for a short stay. Clean and well appointed bathroom, love the shower gel and shampoo in dispensers.
room was spotlessly clean with a big soft bed perfect for a tired walker.
Breakfast is first class too.
My only (minor) quibble is that the evening menu is perhaps a bit more beefeater steakhouse than gastro pub, but that really is nitpicking and i will stay there again.

Mr. Andrew Miller - 15th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Really enjoyed our stay. I couldn't find any fault with the place considering its location and friendly staff.Would definitely visit again.

Siobhian Madlung - 8th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Beautiful Views
Great combination of location ,value and good beer and pub food. Spacious room with fantastic views

Mr. William Knopp - 5th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Rambler's Base
Very friendly and welcoming staff who weren't remotely phased when I rang up and said we'd get there around 11.30pm on the first evening!

Comfortable, clean room and great food. A wonderful place for exploring the Peaks - whichever direction you went it was a beautiful walk. I especially liked the sign outside that said muddy boots welcome!

Mr. Martin Hockey - 30th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect Place
First time to Edale, but a perfect place to stay.
Good food and fantastic scenery. We will be back soon

Mr. Clive Johns - 20th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

An Enjoyable Stay
I spent one night here as part of a walking weekend in the dark peak. My room was on the small side but perfectly adequate just for myself, spotlessly clean with snowy white sheets on a comfortable bed. Well stocked bathroom, good amount of tea, coffee and milk provided, also a bottle of water. The pub itself caters for walkers, so muddy boots are welcome, the evening meal was simple but adequate (I chose the bangers and mash) the real ale selection was good but more expensive than I am used to at £3.55 per pint, the breakfast choice was also good, a range of cereals, juices and choice of mains (I had the full English which was cooked to order and very nice) toast, butter and a selection of home made jams and marmalades! all with tea and coffee. if I have a small niggle I think the 3pm check in time could have done with being and hour earlier, but a small point in what was an enjoyable weekend, I would definitely return!!

Mrs. Sue Moakes - 16th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Short Break At Kinder Scout
Excellent facilities, service, food and location. Ideal for walkers/ ramblers and anyone who likes the countryside. Will definitely stay again

Mr. Andrew Haw - 15th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Friday Night Stay
Really nice location, very freindly and welcoming. Booking on-line was very quick and simple. Twin room was good size, clean, warm and comfortable. Dinner menu was fairly standard pub food in terms of choice, but excellent in terms of quality. Breakfast was very good, exelent start to the day. Value for money: 10/10.

Mr. Andrew Barker - 12th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Fab Fab Fab!!
Just back from my first ever visit to The Rambler and Edale...and can't wait to go again. We stayed for 2 nights (Fri and Sat)The Hotel is lovely, clean and comfortably busy (its also a local pub. )We stayed in a family room and it was spacious with comfy beds and a large en-suite. The food is very good with a great blackboard choice and enjoyed smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast. Kids are welcome. Its only yards from the train station ( no train noise) and the views from your bedroom are amazing. In fact the Hotel couldn't be better situated. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff. Would definitely recommend.

Mrs. Julie Knapton - 9th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Well Worth A Return Visit
Lovely people and beautiful setting. Inn feels well cared for and room comfortable and clean, but disappointed with toiletries in bathroom as no shampoo and shower gel appeared to be watered down. Breakfast was delicious, but bar food was disappointing. However, I would definitely return again as overall it was a good place stay.

Ms. Juliette Baysham - 5th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Short Stay
Very comfortable accommodation with a friendly atmosphere. The ideal hostle for walkers and ramblers.

Mr. George Robin - 31st Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Our Stay At The Ramblers Inn
always a pleasure to stay at the ramblers inn , lovely comfy beds and lovely food

Mrs. Lynn Jones - 30th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Delightful And Peaceful Break
Although the room was slightly small for a double, it was clean and comfortable with good facilities. Plenty of tea, coffee and bottled water was provided. The bed was extremely comfortable with luxurious and immaculate bedding. The bath was large with a n overhead shower, and lashings of steaming hot water. The views over the garden were beautiful, with trees and hills visible when lying in bed. The breakfast was large and delicious, with plenty of choice and excellent service from friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future. Would recommend for a relaxing break. As the hotel is also a pub, everything you need is provided within the Ramblers, but also an excellent base for walking and exploring this beautiful area.

Mr. Michael Bowd - 26th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

A Great Stay
The staff were friendly and attentive and the room we stayed in was comfortable and clean, with a beautiful view from the window. We've visited the pub regularly for food and drinks, but this was the first time we'd stayed overnight there. We're hoping to be able to treat ourselves to a longer visit in future.

Mrs. Claire Riley - 26th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Great Location, Great Food!
I stayed with my 20 year old twins just before the August bank holiday weekend to do some photography and cycling. The location is tucked out of the way in the Edale Vally so is quiet even though near the railway. Convenient if you want a train at the station is next door. The room (6) was very comfortable and large with a fantastic view. The staff were very friendly and helpful and best of all the food is excellent so you don't have to travel back into Hope to eat. They make the best chips I have ever had. It is a hikers hotel so they don't mind muddy boots and dogs. I will be back and would highly recommend. The only downside is the free wifi. It has poor reception and keeps cutting out.

Mr. Tom Mackie - 25th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn
Great location for walking, excellent breakfast and lovely comfortable bed after a long walk. Would have liked a more varied menu.

Mr. David Southall - 24th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Short Visit
Nice rooms, good food & good selection of real ale all made for a pleasant stay. I was travelling with my teenage sons for a second visit....shame the 'games' room is no longer. Excellent breakfast made up for it.
Not sure I liked being called 'mate' all the time by the young barman..but will come again..

Mr. Robert Fowler - 15th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
We've just returned from 6 August-nights at the Rambler and we could not fault our stay. We've had a wonderful break and will not hesitate to go back again.

To paraphrase another review. The new manager and his wife - who only took this hotel on 3 months ago, deserve praise for how they have turned the hotel around.

The inn (building) has a lovely welcoming feel and the management & staff made us feel very welcome and relaxed throughout our stay.

The choices for breakfasts and evening meals were extensive. There's something for every taste and appetite. We never ate the same evening meal twice and every meal was excellent in quantity and quality.

The bar had 6 real-ales available, and our room (#6) was spotlessly clean and very spacious.

Parking isn't an issue as there are plenty of spaces for guests and visitors alike.

The bar/reception and the garden had plenty of seating. We had meals outside most evenings sharing the views and atmoshere with fellow walkers using the inn as a pub.

Mr. Steven Andrews - 11th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
The new manager and his wife - who they tell me took this hotel on 3 months ago, deserve recognition for how they have turned the hotel around (reading the previous comments). I've just returned from 2 August-nights at the Rambler, and I could not fault my stay.

The inn has a lovely high-ceiling and dark-wood character, my full-English breakfasts were presented beautifully and tasted good. The bar had 6 real-ales available, and my room (#4) was spotless. There were also noticeable details such as the door to the room being a heavy wood, yet could be allowed to close on it's own behind you with a quiet click...
There's plenty of parking and when I was there, a busy feel in the bar/reception and in the garden in the afternoon as walkers use the inn as a pub.

Well done guys. I can appreciate the long hours you must put in, and I genuinely hope you can make the Rambler work for you.

Mr. Dickon Hutchings - 10th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

We Had A Great Time!
We really enjoyed our time at the Rambler and in Edale—very refreshing after cramped London! Good food, helpful and friendly staff, and wonderful scenery.

Mr. David Hjelle - 8th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Friendly And Comfortable
I stayed for 3 nights 1-4 August 2013 and received a warm, friendly welcome. My room and bathroom were well-equipped, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast menu offered a good choice and the food in general was very tasty and reasonably priced. I've stayed here before and enjoyed it, but it is much better under the new management. Will definitely stay again.

Helen Cooper - 5th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Rambler Inn
Nice room, nice meal and very handy for the station.

Mr. Jeff Gibson - 2nd Aug, 2013
Verified Review

15th July
Nice room, wonderful staff and very helpful, easy access to the peaks from the B&B, only thing I wasn't too keen on was lack of choice on the menu - after a long walk around the peaks I was looking forward to some kind of big steak when I got back, but unfortunately none was on the menu. However the 'dish of the day' style menu was very varied and I ate from that which was nice.
Would def go again and suggest visiting yourself.

Mr. Barnaby Newton - 22nd Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Our Stay
Our stay was very enjoyable. Gorgeous clean accommodation and facilities. Amazing breakfast and lovely staff. Only recommendation i could say is to have fans in rooms, especially above the kitchen as this room was particularly hot but we had brought our own with us so wasnt a problem. Really lovely hotel and would definitely go back again.

Tracey Taylor - 21st Jul, 2013
Verified Review

A Night In Edale
Met with school friend as a convenient place between Manchester and Sheffield -excellent location for car and rail-lovely rooms and breakfast excellent. If we were walkers it would be be even better....

Mr. Gerard Leigh - 21st Jul, 2013
Verified Review

The Ramblers Inn
Very enjoyable stay. Clean & tidy room and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast each morning on our 3 night stay but the evening meals were a bit hit & miss - some very good, others not so.

Mr. Philip Malyon - 18th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

A Very Lovely Place
A lovely stay - the hotel and staff were great - just - great - we shall return to see the peaks at different times of the year and are already looking forward to it - Thank you The Rambler Inn

Mr. Mark Rivers - 7th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Value
Excellent value accomodation in a beautiful location. Warm and friendly welcome with great atmosphere in bar and restaurant areas. Food was great with good choice of "proper " beers and wine. A definite winner !

Mr. Neil Wildey - 30th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Mr.
The ensuite room and the bed were both very comfortable. The service was excellent and friendly and I would recommend a stay here to anyone. The night I spent here enabled me to walk directly to Crowden the next day.

Griffiies - 24th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Comfortable And Friendly
Very comfortable and friendly, in a beautiful village in a lovely part of the country. We appreciated the complimentary bottle of water.

Sudbury - 24th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

P J Harpham
very good rooms, friendly staff ,good choice of breakfast will be back soon thanks.

Harpham - 23rd Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
On a very busy sunny Friday despite doing over 400 meals the staff looked after us beautifully. The room and food were good but the staff were superb. We'd come again.

Mary Rodgman - 19th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Walking Stay
We found the Inn reasonably priced and the food good value for money.

Mr. Peter Hill - 14th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Our Stay
We found the beds very comfortable and the food was very nice as were the staff. The curtains in our room needed some attention.We were made to feel very welcome.

Christine Aldous - 13th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Start Of Pennine Way
good beer & food. nice down to earth pub. rooms a bit small & basic but do the job for a good price

Mr. Shaun Knott - 10th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Great Walkers Pub
Conveniently located near the train station, good selection of ales, tasty food, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. What more could you want?

Mr. John O\'mahony - 10th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Spacious Room
We had a big corner room over the snug so it was lovely and quiet. A big bathroom and nice views from both windows, a comfortable bed plus an excellent dinner and good breakfast.

Mr. Christopher Hunt - 6th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Good Food And Great Accommodation
I came across the Ramblers Inn when organising accommodation for 7 of my friends. We were looking to run the Edale Skyline. Food is value for money, very tasty, and comes in good sized portions. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Recommended for a 4 star accommodation at B&B level.

Mr. Carl Smith - 4th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Edale Break
Apart from being set in a fantastic location for walking, the Ramblers Hotel was fantastic value for money. I am aware that the owner had only recently taken the premises over and I can commend him in making our weekend stay very welcoming. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean, beds very soft, the food was fantastic and plentiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would happily stay at this hotel again and can recommend it highly

Keith Appleton - 1st Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
My room had lovely views and was of an excellent standard, the bed was really comfortable! The bar area was very nice and the food was really good too. The staff are all very helpful and gave a great welcome, I would defiantly recommend the Rambler Inn to anyone wanting a nice place to stay in a beautiful location.

Miss. Pamela Rigby - 23rd May, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
Spent two nights here as a base to walk over to Derwent and the 70th Dambusters flypast. Also stayed here many times in the past. The Inn has recently changed manager and this has been very effective. The friendliness, welcome, food and facilities are excellent and I would recommend anyone stay at the Rambler.

Mr. Tim Davies - 20th May, 2013
Verified Review

Well Worth Popping In...
Lovely pub in a great location. Food is good and the rooms comfortable.

J.Stockham - 13th May, 2013
Verified Review

Good Place To Stay
Good for the price, great location, friendly & helpful staff. Really enjoyed my stay. Only let down was the food really.

Marcus Wemyss - 9th May, 2013
Verified Review

Must Do Better
I don't want to be too harsh because I know that a new manager was installed very recently, but there is plenty of room for improvement. Three of us on a walking trip stayed a night on the early May bank holiday weekend expecting to be able to have our evening meal in the hotel. We tried to book a table for 8pm by email a few days in advance, but received no reply. We tried again when we arrived at about 4pm, but were told that they do not reserve tables. Never mind, we were assured, food is served until 9.30pm. When we tried to order meals just before 8pm we were told that they had stopped serving because there was no more food! I understand that it was a particularly busy day, but it is a pretty feeble excuse. The other pub in the village was at least as busy and managed to cope. After a dash to the other end of the village we managed to get a meal there. Message to new manager: get a grip. Get more food in, more staff, a bigger and better kitchen - whatever it takes to deliver the service you promise to your customers. And why not allow paying guests to book a table for dinner. Oh, and get the lock on the Jacob's Ladder room fixed.

Mary Smith - 7th May, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
excellent staff, beer and food.

Gary Holloway - 30th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

20 -22 April
Excellent - all very friendly . Food good and lots of it. beers - real ale well kept and top rank breweries - rooms excellent. All good - would go again and certainly hope to

Mr. Mike Cattell - 24th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Recent Stay
I was satisfied with my stay over all and had a lovely time walking in the area. The pub was clean and tidy but no soap in the dispenser in the shower, such a small thing that could be easily sorted. My friend got a mixed grill but the sizzle plate was far too hot and ended up buring a lot of the meat. It was replaced imediately and got a refund and the staff were very appologetic which made up for it. Despite this i would stay again primarily because it is in such a great location. Wouldnt take much to make it a perfect stay!

Mr. Aldo Malcangi - 22nd Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Rambler Review
An excellent stay with splendid hospitality and breakfast . The room was lovely many thanks The Rambler we will return
Tom Birmingham

Mr. Tom Ashley - 7th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Had A Great Stay. Good Value For Money And Friendly Staff
Had a great stay. Good value for money and friendly staff

Lee Marshall - 2nd Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
Everything we could have expected and more. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
The room was clean, comfortable & presented first class.
As for the food we ran out of days to try out everything we fancied on the menu. What we did choose was delicious.
An ideal base for exploring Edale or as a treat before or after the Pennine Way.

Steve Smith - 22nd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Expectations Exceeded!
We loved everything about the Rambler.
-proximity to the train station and fantastic Peak District hiking
-top notch food and real ales and ciders
-luxurious linens and beautiful, clean room
-welcoming, multi-roomed pub, with lively, but not noisy atmosphere

But the real standout about the Rambler was the excellent service provide by Adam and Mike. They both seemed to always be there and always provided a smile and a warm welcome, even when it was crowded and busy.

Mr. Nathan Banks - 19th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn
Lovely hotel in a stunning setting. Comfortable beds, nice hot showers, good meals, variety of beers and ales and friendly staff...just what we wanted. We will definitely be visiting again!

Miss. Rachael Fieldhouse - 14th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Mam Tor Room
This is a good sized room for 3, with lovely views. We were made very welcome by all the staff and would certainly recomend and consider returning ourselves.

Ms. Rosey Farmer - 3rd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Last Of The Summer Ramblers
Excellent accommodation and location for Compo, Clegg and Foggy. Great selection of beers and food too. Look forward to returning in the Spring for more rambles.

Jeff Hicks - 2nd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Welcoming
Comfortable one night stay. Staff very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Mr. Brian Parker - 1st Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect Place To Stay
Perfect location - good starting point for hiking. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good (typically english) breakfast, dinerfood, draught beers, et cetera. Comfortable and clean rooms (or at least 1 :)), with good beds and shower/bath.

Nothing to complain about. I'd recommend this place to anyone!

Mr. Hilbert Oosting - 24th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Welcome For A Walker
I stayed for one night before starting to walk the Pennine Way. An excellent room, with a bath rather than a shower, and good dinner and breakfast

Mr. Tom Hankinson - 24th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Great!
The Ramblers Inn was a great find, ideal location particularly if you have left the car at home. The Inn is warm and welcoming and the staff are spectacularly good, welcoming, knowledgeable and great to be with. The food is good and plentiful all for a modest price. could not wish for more.

Mr. Richard Jarman - 22nd Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Very Good
Clean rooms, decent breakfast and friendly service. The only downer was that 2 out of 3 beers were so-so, though the third one was excellent!

Mr. Brian Douglas - 10th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Friendly And Practical
I found my stay at the Rambler Inn a pleasant experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They made me packed lunches for my days walking and were happy for me to put on my walking boots indoors. (They have tiled floors downstairs.)
The room was good, with all the usual tea and coffee making gear and the bed was very comfortable.
They also had a good selection of real ales at the bar, which seemed well kept.

Mr. Robert Cameron - 10th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Room comfortable although bed rather soft. Food and service was good and staff were friendly, but finding a table was rather haphazard because of the large influx of campers.

Richard Harrison - 27th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
This b & b is excellent. At first you are greeted by a very warm welcome. The staff are so friendly. The double room we had was clean, tidy and just perfect. The food is excellent, well priced and the portions are a good size. You can get a 3 course meal for £ 20. There are plenty of walks from the pub. The new owners have a fantastic place and their golden retriever holly is so friendly. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and will be returning soon. 5 stars from us.

Paul Cope - 26th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hello Paul,

Myself and Helen wish to thank you for your review and are genuinely very greateful.

Hope you do come back an try our new menu that we are working on now for October. All totally fresh, home made and proper hand cut chips!!

Bes wies,

Shane & Helen
The Rambler Inn

Fab Time At Ramblers
Wonderful time at the Ramblers...perfect place for a 2/3 day break!The staff were fantastic-nothing was too much trouble!The food was really good pub food and the selection of beers great! We will certainly be going back as we prefered Edale to Castleton where we had stayed before!

Mrs. Jacki Rushby - 22nd Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hello Jacki,

We just wanted to say a huge thanks for your review and we a so pleased you enjoyed you visit.

You know where we are now so make sure you come and visit us again!!

Best wishes,

Shane & Helen

Weekend Break
The Rambler remains a comfortable and convenient place to stay with a relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff.
As a lover of real ale, some of the more traditional 'darker' ales would be a welcome addition.

Keith Lewis - 20th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

A Great Stay
Had a brilliant week in Edale. The staff at the Rambler Inn were warm and friendly, the food was excellent and we were very pleased with our stay there.

Mr. Ian Mckeaveney - 20th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Mr
fantastic large meals,very nice staff,great rooms soft beds,

Richard Price - 20th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Recommended
The facility was clean, the food was much better than the local competitor, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Easy walk from train platform.

Mr. Robert Fitton - 15th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn is everything you need as a base to explore the surrounding area of Edale. Comfy beds, good pub food and all at a reasonable price. In Summary, a bit rough round the edges but a lovely place, lovely staff and lovely food & drink. Thankyou Rambler Inn.

Tony Cooper - 15th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn
Very pleasant hotel. Good food & drinks selection. Child friendly. Hospitable staff. Definitely recommend. Thank you.

Mrs. Chrissie Woodhouse - 14th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Two Balding Bikers
Nice convenient overnight hotel when taking part in Vintage Motorcycle Club event which started in Edale village next morning.Good meals enjoyed.
Appreciated being allowed to leave car and trailer over weekend to collect on following monday. Will keep in mind if visiting in future.

Richard Carlisle - 29th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Recommended
Friendly staff, nice clean room, comfortable bed, tasty beer, good location, good food especially the steak & ale pie :0), would come back again, thanx

Mr. Lee Ribbon - 22nd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Spiffing
very enthusiastic and nice staff, beautiful setting, a fair price with good breakfast, beware window cleaners appearing at upstairs windows in the morning!!!!!!

John Spollin (laterooms) - 12th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

No Flaws
The rooms were nice and tidy and the staff really friendly. I even got a my thermos bottle filled with coffee for free and without hesitation. Also the food was excellent. I can totally recommend the stay in the rambler.

Ms. Franziska Bonath - 12th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay
The Rooms were comfortable and good value for money. The Rambler Inn was happy to prepare us scrambled eggs and bacon as opposed to the full English, showing flexibility to guests needs. Excellent real ales, draught lagers and ciders in the bar, where you can relax in pleasant surroundings. The Inn serves well prepared, good food in very generous portions. One night we ate elsewhere and regretted it!

Miss. Isabella List - 9th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Happy Rambling
Rambler Inn was a pretty place, welcoming, good evening meal and traditional breakfast (i.e. no discernable fruit!). Room comfortable and fortunately nearby trains did not run all night. A good place for starting the Pennine Way.

Mr. Andrew Parkin - 9th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely clean room. Great service from staff and nice food. Thanks

Kirsty Mohun - Smith - 28th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
we had a wonderful stay food & accommodation excellent , will definately be returning .

Mrs. Lynn Jones - 27th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Brilliant
We stayed at the Rambler Inn as we were attending a wedding somewhere close by. Needless to say we were so impressed we are planning a return visit in the summer. The staff were friendly and helpful, the accommodation spotless and the breakfast freshly cooked and delicious. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Mr. Gary Cronin - 24th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Happy Days!
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great food at sensible prices and a fine selection of beer, what more could you want after a days walking in the hills.

Mr. Alan Dwyer - 24th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Satisfied
There is only ever one comment to make about a stay in a hotel etc. That is would I stay here again. The answer in this case is definitely yes.

Mr Kemp - 24th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Great Start To The Pennine Way
My cousin and I stayed here our first night in UK just before we started the Pennine Way. The room was fine with a view to the Kinder Scout. Staff were very helpful with transportation and advice. Food and drink in the pub good.

Ms. Judith Mcguire - 22nd Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Very friendly atmosphere. Good food. Nice place to spend the night.

Dianne Crawford - 18th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Thanks To All At The Ramblers Inn
We were really impressed - nice rooms with great views, friendly staff and good food! We stayed as a big group and they were really accommodating to our needs. Really handy location next to the station and for starting walks.

Thanks to all at the Ramblers Inn for a great stay!

Jennifer Cadd - 17th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

A Pleasant Stay
Lovely Peak District location, great for walks around Edale and Castleton. Comfortable, clean room. Late access if necassary. Some noise from the pub below, but this stopped once it closed.
Good English breakfast with fresh mushrooms and tomatoes. Very friendly and helpful staff. I would stay there again.

Mrs. Joanna Edwards - 11th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Very comfortable place to stay, very friendly and obliging staff. Room clean and comfortable. Food, especially the english breakfast excellent. Easy to find, plenty of parking.

Ms Christine Crompton - 10th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Great Stay
Great ambience, warm and friendly staff, slept really well. All in all, a very nice place to stay and will definitely be coming back again.

Mr. Darren Poole - 9th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely Pub
Lovely pub in a very pretty setting. Staff friendly and welcoming. Will stay again.

Mr. Patrick Scott - 8th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend Break
We have stayed here before and it is ideal for Kinder and the surrounding area. The room was clean, the staff were friendly and the food and drinks just the job after a day on the peaks.

Mr. Mark Smith - 3rd Jun, 2012
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn, Edale
A lovely peaceful place. Excellent food and ales! Recently refurbished rooms were comfortable. the only problem was that the TV would not work despite the considerable attentions of the manager. They did give us a hefty discount as a result though! Highly recommended

Mr Archer - 31st May, 2012
Verified Review

just to it was an excellent but brief stay..accommodating staff on hand will return soon..many thanks..

David Rice - 28th May, 2012
Verified Review

A Great Weekend...
We had a fantastic time at the Rambler Inn, and will be back. The staff could not do enough for us - they were all excellent. The food (including the breakfast) was of a very high standard and good value too. The atmosphere was relaxed and fun, and the beer garden was the perfect place to enjoy the superb weather.

Thank you for our stay.

Mr. Ian Yates - 28th May, 2012
Verified Review

Another Great Stay At The Rambler
The Rambler was right at the start of my 19 day Pennine Way walk on 1st May and, as before (when I did a one day test walk 3 weeks previously) Chris and his team looked after us very well. The welcome was warm, the room well equipped, very clean and comfortable. There was a good choice of food on the evening menu and the meal was well-cooked, generous in size and the service friendly and efficient. Breakfast in the morning was a great start for a long day of walking over Kinder and Bleaklow. My only quibble (a small one) was that I could not have porridge for breakfast. I would recommend The Rambler to anyone wanting a good night in the Edale area.

Mr. Duncan Smart - 24th May, 2012
Verified Review

Close To Heaven
Warm and comfortable, with a hot bath (particularly appreciated after a cold day in the clouds in this year's wretched May), perfectly quiet despite the folk festival down the road, in one of the most beautiful spots in England. Friendly, considerate staff, good beer and food... how could it be better?

Rodie Sudberry - 21st May, 2012
Verified Review

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location for seeing walkers off on the Pennine Way, and also for exploring the beautiful area.

Pamela Tiller - 18th May, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend With The Boys
Friendly welcome. Great rooms, clean and newly refurbished with great views. Breakfasy very nice and good product. Good selection of ales and nice evening meal food. All in all a top venue for a boys weekend and great value for money. Thanks.

Paul Duckett - 14th May, 2012
Verified Review

Value For Money
I was pleased to find that as I was travelling on my own the rate for the room was reasonable and the quality of service and room were very good. I will certainly stay again.

Oliver Conmee - 13th May, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent- Great Value
The rambler is a great pub that has 9 rooms in Edale. My room was very comfortable. The food was good pub grub and there was a good range of cask ales. The staff made me very welcome and the real fire was a nice touch. No qualms staying here again.

Steve Hockly - 28th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Very Well Located
A friendly place to stay, with good size rooms that appear to have been recently redecorated, and a good choice of evening food. Best of all, it's right at the foot af many lovely walking routes.

Mr. Trevor Kartupelis - 25th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Fantastic Visit
We had a great time at the Ramblers. Our room was excellent and both dinner and breakfast were good. The atmosphere was great, mostly down to the enthusiasm of the staff.
Hope to stay again when we are next in Edale

Giles Henderson - 23rd Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Sat April 21
Staff were extremely helpful. Rooms spacious and view of Mam Tor - enormous beds. Would defintely go again. really couldn't complain about anything - beer was good too !

Mr. Mike Cattell - 23rd Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Great Stay - As Always
Just returned from a couple of nights away at the Rambler and couldn't have asked for more. Great sleep, great food, great hospitality and the perfect way to recharge those batteries - see you all again soon !!!

Christopher White - 22nd Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
Lovely night's stay - will definitely be back

Mr. Paul Stevens - 17th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Guys Weekend Away At The Ramblers
Fabulous place to stay with the guys on a weekend away. Perfectly located to zip up Kinder Scout, as well as enjoy the delights of the Rambler Inn as well as other local hostelries. Great value as we had two rooms for five of us, and the service from the staff was out of this world! Thanks for a highly memorable few days...we'll be back

Mr. Steven Lister - 17th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

13th April 2012
Staff very friendly and helpful in busy surroundings.

Good food and value for money. Room of a good standard.

Ideal location for outdoor pursuits. Thank you for letting us leave our car in your carpark whilst we walked in the Dales even though we had checked out.

Mr. Alan Bradshaw - 16th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Easter Break
room very clean and comfortable.Plenty of hot water on tap.Food very good. Staff very friendly, helpful and polite.Can't wait to get back

Mrs C Aldous - 15th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

5 Stars
Thanks for a great few nights - really friendly staff and atmosphere, lovely quiet room, and the perfect start and finish for the walk right around Kinder Scout. Loved my stay from start to finish!

Miss. Helen Spencer - 15th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

A Great Place To Stay
I will be walking the Pennine Way from Edale this year and wanted to check out the first day of the walk from Edale to Crowden in advance of that. So, based on location and availability of en-suite accommodation I booked my wife and I into the Rambler. What a great choice! The hotel is run by a young and very enthusiastic and welcoming team and nothing appears to be a problem to them. Without exception the staff were great. Our room was freshly decorated, clean and comfortable with great views over Kinder Scout. While I walked my wife was well looked after at the hotel and we have no hesitation in going back there before the start of the actual walk.

Mr. Duncan Smart - 14th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Pennine Way Preparation
No better start to a memorable and adventurous trail across the Pennine Moors. Our stay was truly all we could have wished for, no navigation problems as simply round the corner from Edale Station. Tho' arriving in the midst of an unexpected blizzard the Inn hummed with the attention of friendly and helpful staff, providing warmth and hospitality. Lovely open fire near the bar, excellent beer and food and so comfortable rooms. Thank you. Well fortified we found the strength to endure the hard slog next day across the Moors to Crowden!!

Mrs. E Richardson - 14th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Easter Weekend
A really comfortable and relaxing place with friendly and helpful staff. Food was good but being there for 3 nights, and with the same sort of food at the Old Nags Head pub up the road, I would have liked a bit more variety. As the Sunday carvery had run out by the time we ate, I really struggled to find something to 'hit the spot'.

Mr. Eric Scott - 10th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Good Hospitality
Staff were very friendly & helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to visit again. Might stay off the Old Rosie next time!

Mark Smith - 9th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Comfortable Night
a very welcoming and pleasant hotel providing very comfortable accommodation.

Mr. Robin Summers - 3rd Apr, 2012
Verified Review

very beautiful rooms, very good eveningmeal and breakfast. great location and very friendly and helpfull staff

Mr. Luc Droogmans - 1st Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend Away
6 of us in 3 twin rooms all had an excellent time. Very friendly staff good food and beer. I would recommend it and will go again.

Geoff Billington - 27th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Flossy
Excellent location comfy rooms good food and real ale and scrumpy....Paradise

Mr. Philip Lacey - 14th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Rambler Inn Edale
Comfortable and clean rooms. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Good Ale.Good breakfast. Fantastic location for Penine Way and for a visit to Kinder Scout.

Richard Brooks - 5th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Rambler In Jan 2012
Comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, decent food, good base for walking. Overall, good - I would stay again.

Mr. Tony Sargeant - 29th Jan, 2012
Verified Review

Rambler
very pleasant stay friendly staff nice food comfy bed and good nights sleep !

Mr. David Chalmers - 16th Jan, 2012
Verified Review

My Birthday
Group of adults and my daughter celebrating my bday...snow, log fire, good food, great company, wish bar opened a little later..9/10

Chris Jennings - 30th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent
Had a lovely time food and rooms and service was faultless will be coming again

Mr. Luke Pickering - 21st Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stuff
I have been a guest of the rambler several times in the past and I have to admit sometimes it has been a bit of hit or miss affair.(Although has been a couple of years since I stayed last)
But this last stay has been with out doubt the best ever experience I have had , the room was lovely , clean and cosy. The bed was lovely and soft and just the thing for a winter night, slept like a log.
Myself and my wife also stayed for dinner at the hotel which I'm pleased to report was delicous and a much better menu now , with simple but hearty dishes , exactly what one needs after a long days walking , nothing fancy just honest good grub!
Also another change I was pleased to see was that breakfast was starting at 8am , as before It used to be 9 which especailly if you wanted to walk all day in winter was not early enough , The breakfast itself was just right I had a couple of poached eggs on toast , all cooked very well and the bread looked homemade and there was more than enough.
So to sum up for me , staff were all attentive and so helpful , value for money was extremly good. I'm delighted see the rambler being run so well , I really wish I could have stayed longer!
Only complaint would be the Bar closed
to early for us ! :-)

thanks to all who made our stay so lovely

Fell - 15th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Thank You
An lovely picturesuq place to stay with really friendly staff, lovely room with a soft and comfy mattress. facilities were great , food was fantastic and everything was briliant!
I will recommend to friends and i will be staying again :)
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay brilliant!

Ms. Nikki Fountain - 1st Nov, 2011
Verified Review

A Blinding Wee Break
well i say weekend i actually stayed 3 nights from thursday to sunday.

an excellent warm welcome that was much appreciated after an awful journey. i was shown to
good sized clean warm room with a bath shower and gallons of red hot water.
this pub is a fantastic base for exploring the peaks. we never used our car at all as there are so many walks form the door.
the usual pub grub was on offer. nothing too fancy but good portions at the usual prices.
if or when i come back to the Peak District this is where i will stay.
Room Tip: room 9 - mam tor has a large double bed and also a single. its at the back and we hardly heard any noise from the pub at all

Mr. Kevin Lye - 31st Oct, 2011
Verified Review

A Great Place
I love this place. The rooms are really comfortable and the location is great. Good beers, good food and it's even got WiFi if you need to keep in contact with the outside world (although it was down on my last visit). Suits me down to the ground and it's great value. Forgot to mention the breakfasts are great as well.

Mr. Tim Howson - 26th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

The Rambler
Generally very friendly service at the pub, and the food was both reasonable and well presented.
We were walking a lot so towel change could be more regular and there was no drying room.

Mr. John Farrier - 19th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Walking And Mountain Biking In The Peak District
As a group of 5 we spent one night in the Ramblers Inn during a 2 day mountain biking and walking trip to the Peak District. The hotel is perfectly located for outdoor activities in the area. The accommodation is very comfortable and the hospitality outstanding. Throughout our stay the staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming; I strongly recommend this venue as a base to all looking to explore the Peak District.

Paul Moss - 14th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

A Real Haven For Walkers
This is a wonderful place to stay, especially for walkers. Edale is of course the perfect spot, marking the start of the Pennine Way, with great access to fabulous rambling opportunities in the Hope Valley and within easy reach of Manchester and Sheffield by train... but in addition, The Rambler's Inn is a real joy. Incredibly friendly staff, lovely warm and comfortable bedrooms, great food and drinks, marvellous atmosphere in the bar/restaurant and all quite reasonably priced. As enthusiastic hikers, the rotten weather last weekend didn't dampen our enjoyment of this part of the Peak District, but you certainly want to come back to nice, warm and welcoming accommodation after a day in the rain. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay than the Rambler's Inn, and am very grateful to all.

Ms. Carolyn Kelly - 11th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Review
We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. Everything was really good - would go back

Mr David Scott - 10th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
A lovely escape to a beautiful part of the Peak District. Rooms cosy, clean and comfy beds. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Would definitely come again.

MRS GREEN - 10th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Ideal For Ramblers !
Stayed two nights with a group of friends, ahead of a 30K track from Glossop back to Edale.
Good points - Good beer & pub grub, and very helpful staff. Good atmosphere, and perfect location for access to any number of walks big or small in the Peak District.
Area for improvement - Rooms were comfortable, if a little basic and warm. The traditional Full English Breakfast was a bit on the small side though. Don't expect any responses to emails, it's much better to phone. Check the booking, since they made a mistake with mine, that they were able to rectify in time for our arrival. Had we just arrived, it would have been a nighmare.

Will Bromage - 4th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay Over
Everyone was very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. A great selection of ales and the breakfasts were really good. Great value and highly recommended, would definitely stay there again.

Steven Sullivan - 3rd Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Pub Accomodation Review
We stayed at The Rambler Inn having completed the Pennine Way; we had a very warm welcome, the bedroom and bathroom were excellent, staff were very helpful but food ordering was a little chaotic (our pudding didn't arrive!). However they were very apologetic and gave us a free meal!

Mrs. Joanna Armstrong - 30th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Welcome
felt very welcome and at home.
TV in room not tunned in to rugby so watched it downstairs in my PJ's.
Will go back.

Mrs. Denise Tonks - 21st Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Weekend
Had a lovely weekend, staff were pleasant and helpful, food was great, plentiful supply of tea with breakfast! Abundant supply of hot water for showers after day out walking, room was clean and very warm! Would come back for another weekend in future, many thanks to all.

Miss. Amanda Sherman - 4th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Rambler Review
Good food, good selection real ales and good clean accomodation with a really tasty full english!!

Miss. Viktoria Hellawell - 22nd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

A Saturday Night In The Peak District
We were looking for somewhere to stay near Castleton and found this Inn, having stayed at a disappointing B&B in Derwent, we were somewhat wary. But our stay was fabulous, everyone welcoming, friendly, doing their best to make us comfortable - lashings of hot water for a relaxing bath, sumptuous comfy beds - fun inside and outside the bar and such an efficient and delicious food - and at the end of it very good value for money - thank you Rambler Inn

Campbell - 21st Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Stopeover After Short Walking Holiday
A comfy bed and deep bath with lots of hot water were called for after our three days walking around Edale ... and that is what we got! Thank you

Laura Tatham - 18th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Father And Son
Comfortable room and good food served by pleasant staff. Convenient location for leaving car at Hayfield and walking over Kinderscout with return trip by a different route the following day.

Dave Pass - 17th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Great Location
Lovely hotel right in the heart of walking country. Very friendly helpful staff. Rooms clean & comfortable, bathroom on the small side but functional! Pleasant bar & restaurant area but food rather average.

Mrs. Beverley Brammer - 17th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Pennine Way Day Zero
I was made to feel very welcome.
The staff were all very friendly and hospitable. The House itself was very clean, comfortable and cosy. The food was excellent. I would definitely go back for a longer stay sometime.

Stephen Arnold - 11th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Friendly Service And A Comfortable Stay
We found the service friendly and efficient - especially the young female manager (Kim?) who seemed an exceptionally hardworking individual. The food was well cooked and offered excellent value for money. Breakfast too was of a high standard. One quibble - we found the real ale we tried - Timothy Taylors not to its usual standard and felt some attention in the cellar may be required. This did not spoil our visit.

Bob Clare - 8th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Highly Recommend
Lovely stay. Room a little small but suited me and my mother - was cosy, clean and well furnished. Staff very friendly and good choice of food and drinks. Excellent locatioon to train station and local walks. Enjoyed the experience

Claire Mcleod - 8th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Good Stay
Comfortable, friendly, well located for walking the pennine way.

Mrs. Clare Buis - 4th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Very Nice!
Staff was helpful, room was spacious and clean. Food was great. We had a great time.

Mr. George Lowell Tollefson - 4th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Rambler Inn Review
The rooms were clean and the breakfast was good while John, the manager, went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The only downsides were the price (at £80 a night) and some of the other staff (who sometimes seemed like they had other places they wanted to be). I would recommend this place to any one climbing or walking in the area.

Alan Campbell - 31st Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Father And Son
A very hospitable and comfortable hotel with good beer to boot

Mr. David Sumner - 30th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Third time i,ve stayed. The staff are really friendly and helpful,an enjoyable,cofortable stay. Hope to be back again next year !

Miss. Linda Bull - 27th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and the accommodation was absolutely fine. The room was quiet and clean, the bed was comfortable, the water was hot, the breakfast was freshly cooked and the evening meal was tasty. The minor disappointments were the packed lunch and the length of time it took for the evening meal to arrive but these would not put me off staying again if I was in the area. I enjoyed my stay.

Mrs. Hilary Pickles - 25th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Nice Hotel - Great Location - Food Needs Improving
Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent room with good views. Great location for hiking. Fast service at breakfast and dinner but dinner was pretty mediocre (I'd definitely stay again but would probably eat elsewhere).

Mr. Michael Wells - 15th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

A Lovely Weekend
The Rambler Inn has a homely feel to it. The rooms are spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Located within 5 minutes access to walking trails it was the ideal accommodation for our needs.

Would definitely stay there again.

Mr. Khuong Lac - 11th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

welcoming atmosphere and good service.Quiet, but lively, enjoyable stay. Lovely big bed and congratulations on the size of the towels

Dr. Owen Legg - 29th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Room, food, staff and surroundings fine.Only problem was that it took a long time to find a table for dinner-no space for residents!

Mr. Paul Stower - 28th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was smart, clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay very much. Food excellent too.

Mrs Kate Baker - 27th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
What more could you want? We wanted a country Inn close to Kinder Scout that provided good food, good beer and a lovely room. That's exactly what you get at The Rambler. Great hospitality, thank you all!

John Greenacre - 27th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Great Retreat
Excellent hotel set in buitiful peacful soroundings.Rooms are great with good light and very very comfortable beds.Room rates are vary fair.Staff are excellent and down to earth, bar has good selection of ales and whiskies.All in all I would highly recomend this place if your looking to get away from it all and that includes mobile phones,no phone signal here unless your on orange.

Crawford - 24th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Would Definitely Recommend
I stayed at the Rambler Inn with 2 friends in June 2011, the night before we set off on the Pennine Way. The Inn is in a great location with very comfortable accommodation, a high standard of food and a good selection of beers. The staff are very friendly too! Would definitely recommend!

Mr. Michael Clerkin - 20th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Good Visit
We both enjoyed our brief stay at The Rambler.The staff were friendly and accomodating. We were in room 4 and the twin beds were VERY comfortable.The breakfast was very good. We would stay again.

Chris Jones - 15th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

The Rambler Inn
Very welcoming and comfortable, practical for the muddy boot mob! Good food and range of ciders

Mr. Robert West - 14th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Superb
Great food and drink.
Extremely pleasant and helpful staff.
Comfy and clean rooms & bathrooms.
Would certainly stay there again.

Simon Fall-taylor - 13th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Hike
Ideal start of our hike...

Mr. Frank De Vocht - 7th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

A Great Place
Top staff, great food, damn fine ales and super panaramics and thats inside the pub! Wait till you step outside. . Wow

Mr. Tony Smith - 1st Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent Place To Stay
We stayed for two nights in May at the Ramblers Inn, and enjoyed the lovely hospitality, nice clean room, good meals, excellent service, and well suited for either walking along the hills, travelling by local train, or travelling to other local spots such as Matlock, Buxton and visiting Chatsworth Hall. Good Value will come back again.

Mr. Leslie Hopkins - 30th May, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay
We stayed for one night at the start of our Pennine way adventure and were made to feel very welcome, food was good, bed comfy, all we needed!

Leigh Fleming - 25th May, 2011
Verified Review

Welcoming And Friendly
Good place to stay at the start of our walking trip. Welcoming and friendly. Good breakfast

Mrs. Pauline Goodman - 23rd May, 2011
Verified Review

A Weekend Stay
A beautiful friendly pub with very friendly helpful staff who made our stay a pleasure.The room was very comfortable with a view of the hills.The food was excellent as was the range of ales.We came by train and Edale station is about 200m away . As you sit in the pub you can look up and down Hope Valley and admire the huge hills on both sides.A wonderful place as a base for trips in to the hills.

Mrs. Sara King - 23rd May, 2011
Verified Review

Great Welcome
I booked my friend and me into the Rambler the night before starting out on the Pennine Way. It could scarcely have been better. Warm welcome, decent grub, extremely comfortable room and bed. Very accommodating and attentive.

Mr De Lange - 13th May, 2011
Verified Review

My Stay
The food compares unfavourably with what is offered in equivalent establishments in France and Spain

Mr. Francis Jezierski - 22nd Apr, 2011
Verified Review