Perfect B&b
Excellent 2 night stay at the Belfry. Interesting old building yet very modern and stylish rooms with excellent bathrooms ensure. Very comfortable bed. Very quiet despite being on the A30. Delicious breakfast. Good location for exploring East Devon and W. Dorset. Easy drive to Lyme Regis. Good pubs not far away.

Angela Goldfinch - 17th May, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Comfy Cosy Hotel And Friendly Helpful Staff
Beautiful room, well equipped and lovely clean fresh luxury bedding. The owners were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. Little touches like the complimentary juice bar and pillow spritz made the stay extra special.

Mr. Chris Holmes - 8th May, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic
Beautiful .... Lovely place ..., couldn\'t recommend highly enough ... The Belfry has thought of everything down to the last detail 😃

Allison Leigh Hitchinson - 30th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

An Ideal Stopover
A lovely location in itself but also an ideal stop off point if you are travelling further west. Easy parking also.

Gary Ryan - 29th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

1st April 2017 Stay
Very nice stay,the room was lovely and staff were very friendly.

The only negative point i would say is there website needs to be updated as it states there is a pub the yarcombe inn across the road but when we stayed this pub had been closed for 3 tears or so which was a bit disapointing.

Clare Walkey - 3rd Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Little Gem
A warm and friendly welcome ia awaiting you at this little gem of a Hotel.
The rooms are cozy and comfortable. Just right for a little R&R.
The hilight for me was breakfast. Lots of choice and the best allegen friendly menu I\'ve come across. Fabulous.

Miss. Miranda Strong - 15th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Great Find
Super location,charming hosts, great breakfast and first class service! What more could you ask for. Would recommend to anyone. Will definitely be back.

Martin Rogers - 22nd Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent All Round!
Beautiful, comfortable and absolutely spotless room which had everything you would need, including poetry anthology by the poet the room was named after! Bathroom (including power shower) was fab. The breakfast was one of the best we\'ve ever had. Great location too. Really can\'t fault The Belfry. Highly recommended.

Zoe Griffiths - 3rd Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Homely Retreat
Fantastic cosy room with beautiful surrounding view. Breakfast was delicious and everything we could have hoped for. Would definitely stay here again if we ever return!

Miss. Nichola Jones - 29th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Enjoyable Weekend
A very enjoyable weekend was to be had at this comfortable establishment, helped with the pleasant owners.

ANTHONY BADHAM - 12th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Beautiful, Comfortable B And B
Lovely period building with spacious, comfortable rooms that are beautifully appointed with everything a visitor could possibly need. Great breakfasts.

Clare Coleman - 19th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

It Is All Good
Lots of great touches like the drink selection, access to a fridge (not used), great breakfast, warm and friendly hosts. Loved the room with the arched windows

Marian Martin - 6th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

A Home Away From Home
Extremely welcoming and kind hosts in Neil and Sarah-Jane. The food here was amazing - fresh and locally produced.

The accommodation at The Belfry was very clean and very comfortable - nice firm beds and plumped up pillows! The faint sound of the nearby church bells was very soothing (excellent double glazing).

Paula Lewis - 26th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

A Home Away From Home
Extremely welcoming and kind hosts in Neil and Sarah-Jane. The food here was amazing - fresh and locally produced.

The accommodation at The Belfry was very clean and very comfortable - nice firm beds and plumped up pillows! The faint sound of the nearby church bells was very soothing (excellent double glazing).

Paula Lewis - 26th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Stayed as a group of ten at the belfry for a get together and walking weekend. Great accommodation, owners couldn\'t do more for us,very welcoming. Fantastic roast Saturday night in our own dining area. Lovely breakfast and comfy rooms and beds. Coupled with good walking countryside made for a perfect weekend.

Antony Stonell - 17th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Thank You
Although only staying for the one night we were welcomed warmly and could not have asked for a more friendly place to stopover. Hopefully we shall return.

Christopher Baldwin - 9th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent B&b
We stayed one night at the Belfry and were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom of a high standard, the breakfast delicious and the hosts very welcoming. Have no hesitation in recommending this b&b very highly.

Catherine Hamilton - 18th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

The Belfry At Yarcombe
I doubt if you\'d find a more comfortable and pleasant place to stay. The owners have made a lovely homely business which is built upon quality, friendliness and style. I would recommend to anyone.

Paul Price - 23rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Amazing As Always
the rooms are always clean and the beds so so comfy,the food dinner and breakfast the best, better than any where I have ever eaten. We go back every year....We love it

Mrs. Nicola Williams - 22nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Superb Find ...
What a wonderful place to stay - the rooms were beautifully appointed , the food superb but for us and our friends the factor that added that \'excellency\' star was the quality of the welcome and throughout the level of service from the owners - a real pleasure to stay at The Belfry

Elizabeth Laker - 19th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Little Hotel
Lovely little hotel, very nice room with lots of nice touches and thoughtful additions
and a cracking breakfast

Simon Peniston-Bird - 18th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Comfort Away From Home
This is the second time I\'ve stayed at The Belfry. Both experiences have been excellent, warm welcome, very comfortable room with lovely attention to detail, and a lovely breakfast from local ingredients. A welcoming and comfortable stay.

Richard Miller - 18th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Delightful
A charming little place, full of character and hospitality. A little out of town but a lovely drive through beautiful countryside so not a problem. I\'d definitely stay there again if I happen to visit the area in the future.

NADIA PHILLIPS - 17th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Accommodation!
We could not recommend The Belfry more highly. The room was well equipped, stylish and spacious. The stained glass window added to the ambience. Food was excellent and plentiful and our hosts were friendly and helpful.

Gerry Griffith - 3rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect
We had a marvellous stay at the Belfry ,a warm and friendly welcoming ,beautiful room with such a complete and delicious welcome tea tray (cold drinks in a fridge ,tea ,coffee ,sweets and biscuits )the village was very quiet ,beautiful view overlooking the countryside .Our hosts were so nice and ready to advice us excellent adresses to have dinner ( the tavern and the gastronomical pub ),great help to find the places to go
Breakfast was excellent,complete and delicous ,we will return with pleasure

Ms. Marie Claude Parmentelot - 2nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Blissful Break
I cannot rate this establishment highly enough. From the warm welcome, friendly advice on where to eat......foolishly I had overlooked the necessity to book a meal at the Belfry in advance....I will remember that next time. Room was large and very comfortable with high quality toiletries; even a pillow spritzer! Could not have asked for a single other thing. Thank you!

Lorna Garfoot - 31st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
The Belfry was a wonderful place to stay for the night. The hosts were welcoming, the room comfortable, and both the Dinner and Breakfast superb - what more could you ask for?

Steve Bedborough - 30th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Warm welcome, very comfortable room, excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Richard Miller - 28th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Comfortable, Easy To Get To, Beautiful Views
Very comfortable room and lovely shower room. Best value room I found in an expensive area. Friendly reception and helpful staff. Absolutely beautiful area. Good parking

Lisa Carlisle - 25th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Attention To Details
Enjoyed my stay. Will recommend

Simon Schwartz - 21st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Attended a wedding so stayed overnight ....Wow!! what a treasure this place is. Stayed in the Tennyson ...Beautiful large stained glass window,the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The extras that are not only in your room but throughout the building are so thoughtful .....It was lovely.
I emailed Sarah to ask If we could book in much earlier to enable us to change for a wedding...This was no problem for her,she had both rooms ready
Lastly the breakfast ....Its the best breakfast I have ever had....all local ingredients, the sausages are fantastic. Neil and Sarah are a great team....always smiling and helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Mrs. Brenda Davis - 18th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent
A beautiful setting and building overall. The whole ambiance was delightful. I particularly appreciated all the L\'Occitane products in the room!

Sandra Dalziel - 15th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay, Fabulous Food
Lovely room. Very clean. Food was really good. Friendly welcome.

Linzi Walton - 11th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Very Comfortable
Well converted historic building in middle of nowhere.
Friendly host.
Just passing through

Timothy Jenkins - 9th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

1 Night Stay
Although I stayed for only 1 night on my way down to Cornwall I thoroughly enjoyed it.The room was spacious and comfortable with the extra thoughtful touches - like biscuits and a dressing gown; Breakfast was excellent. All in all a 5 star experience.

Gayle Bell - 23rd Jun, 2016
Verified Review

A Hidden Gem In The Devon Countryside
Nothing was too much trouble for the owner to ensure we had a memorable and comfortable stay in this little haven. All the facilities were well appointed and there was plenty of tea/coffee/chocolate available in the room as well as free fruit juices.
Our stay was beautifully capped by the \'Belfry\' breakfast which was superb.
Unfortunately we only needed a one night stopover but hope to return soon for a longer stay and would highly recommend.

Christopher Hipkins - 17th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

A Home From Home Experience
Staying at The Belfry is a real home from home experience. Set in a peaceful location you will find a friendly welcome and well appointed rooms with comfortable beds. I have not been lucky enough to experience the restaurant but if the full English breakfast on offer here is anything to judge by, it will be good.

Christopher Ford - 17th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Fantastic Place To Stay
I had a very comfortable nights sleep and the breakfast was excellent.
Beautifully run family business. I would definitely be staying there again when I am working in the area.

Aycan Imren-Black - 16th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Nice Stay
Pleasant stay in a clean and tidy old school house. Breakfast very nice. Owners very helpful. Lovely view.

Diane Gilbert - 15th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

What You Want ....done Well
A warm welcome, a good nights sleep, a great breakfast.....and most importantly really good coffee....recommended.

Tim Barker - 2nd Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Overnight
excellent well presented accomadation friendly atmosphere and excellent breakfast

Peter Hutton - 30th May, 2016
Verified Review

A Welcome Change From Corporate Hotels
We stayed here for just the one night to help celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose The Belfry because of other positive reviews and particularly the food reviews in the restaurant, we were not disappointed. Both the evening meal and the fantastic breakfast were very much up to standard and the welcome and service far exceeded that given by other more corporate hotels, friendly and smooth but not rushed. No doubt we shall return.

Mr. Graham Woodage - 26th May, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Hotel And Amazing Breakfast!
We stayed at The Belfry to attend an evening wedding reception in Stockland. The hotel is excellent, very homely and has everything you need. It has a lot of charm and character and felt like home from home. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and it was a shame we were not there for dinner too! I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and Sarah-Jane and Neil are excellent hosts! Thank you!

Tina D\\\'Souza - 9th May, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Quirky Place
Stayed overnight in this B & B and loved the special characterful room and setting. Just great place and nice hosts, though road was a tad noisy from early on due to road works traffic. Great place and highly commended.

Paul Cartledge - 5th May, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent B&b With Friendly Service
A really friendly B&B with excellent facilities and comfortable beds. I would highly recommend

Paul Fox - 25th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
Extremely comfy room and a great cooked breakfast.

Dean Rowan - 23rd Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Food And Accoommodation
Excellent food and accommodation with nice touches, make sure you book for dinner, best meal we have had, it made our wedding anniversay special. Thank you

Mrs. Jessica Bundy - 18th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Beautiful Experience
Refined and highest quality spacious bedroms in beautiful country home. Access to living room, spacious dining area, and free juices, etc., at will. Great varied breakfast cooked to order. Hosts couldn\'t be nicer. Parking free and easy access.

Daryl May - 12th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

The Belfry, Yarcombe
Excellent stay. Warm, comfortable, friendly. Minor attention to the veggie breakfast would make it perfect! Highly recommended.

Mr. Michael Clifford - 4th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful!
A lovely welcome on arrival and everything was of a very high standard. Superb food and service. Really nice touches in the bedrooms such as a sleep mist, high quality toiletries and an extremely comfortable bed.

Mary Fugler - 2nd Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful
Loved it here and will definately go back

Beverley Britten - 21st Mar, 2016
Verified Review

28th November 2015
What a find this amazing place was, and an unforgettable dinner. Didn\'t realize Sarah Jane had some experience at our other favourite stay Le Manoir. Watch out Raymond she is every bit as good, if not better!
A really special place and we can\'t wait to return.

Mrs. simonetta nutt - 30th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

What A Delightful Place
We found the Belfry purely by chance and had a delightful stay on our way down to Devon. Lovely warm and clean room, an excellent dinner and a great breakfast, all served up by the lovely friendly owners. What more could you ask for?

Simon Ellison - 22nd Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely
One restful nights stay. Really comfy bed. Lovely & quiet, and really nice touches throughout.

Ms. Dilys Wilde - 20th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Hidden Gem
A flying visit so didn\'t get to sample the evening food menu but will return if we are in the area again.

Pat Fereday - 10th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Lovely hotel full of character, and little extras that make a special place. Fantastic breakfast and great hosts. I highly recommend it .

DAVID TREMAYNE - 31st Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Hotel With Amazing Owners
This hotel is comfortable, has lovely rooms with all the mod cons one would expect in a highly rated hotel. The owners are welcoming and do everything to ensure that the stay is perfect. Totally recommend this hotel
Geoff

Geoff King - 16th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you so much for your lovely review Geoff, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Belfry Delight
Amazing place, I keep returning!
Wonderful, caring hosts, everything you might need during a stay away, real attention to detail. The most comfortable beds and pillows, I sleep like a log whilst here!
Breakfast is the icing on the cake, thoroughly recommend this little gem!

RACHAEL CARR - 16th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Short Stay
what a lovely clean hotel. Our hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was very good .we would recommend it.

Mrs. stella brown - 26th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

A Very Warm Welcome
Although we only had a one night stay, we were warmly received and had a very warm welcome. The breakfast was delicious. Keep up the good work.

Fiona Anaman - 6th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely
Most comfortable bed I\'ve ever slept in. Lovely food and wonderful views. What more could you want. Thank you

John David - 5th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Belfry At Yarcombe
We had a wonderful stay, and Neil and Sarah-Jane were at pains to ensure everything was perfect. We slept soundly in a very comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, excellent food, and above all, great friendliness. Would recommend the Belfry to others unreservedly.

Mr. Allan Taylor - 31st Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Great Stay
Fantastic hosts, loverly clean tidy rooms, they have gone into great detail to make sure you have a great stay. Good breakfast.

Caroline Nelson - 24th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

An Excellent B&b With Great Food.
A very comfortable one night stay on our way to a funeral at East Devon Crematorium (less than 30 minutes away). Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Only minor disappointment was that the room did not have a bath, which my wife prefers, despite the fact that the website indicated that the room we booked did have (but it did have a great shower).

John Shaw - 23rd Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic, Peaceful And Easy
I stayed in the wordsworth room which was beautiful.
The whole place is in a beautiful old church style building and is clean, comfortable and welcoming.
Lovely and quite with great wifi making it great for a business trip.

I will be returning

Mr. chris singleton - 20th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Overnight Stop
Could not fault this B&B, the food was amazing. Sarah-Jane and Neil have been excellent Hosts. Would warmly recommend this well run hotel.

Mr. Gerard Feraille - 18th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Belfry
Friendly, excellent service and standard. Nice setting, comfortable rooms with nice touches, all in all i would recommend ..

Elizabeth Stoodley - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
My stay at the belfry was warming extremely comfortable and very enjoyable I want hundred percent would stay here again and recommend to all my family and friends

Graham Bridge - 7th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

A Two Night Mid Week Break
We stayed in the Byron Suite for two nights. The food is excellent and would recommend for a short reviving recharge of your batteries. Close to the Jurassic Coast with all that has to offer.

Pamela Williams - 1st Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Stay At The Belfry
Beautiful building and tasteful rooms with nice touches such as posh toiletries and tea/coffee, plus fresh milk. Shame we couldn\'t eat in the restaurant but had lovely meal at local pub (The Candlelight Inn). Very nice breakfast. Would stay again if in area.

Mrs. Sarah Milne - 27th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic Stay
Although I was only there a short while, the Belfry at Yarcombe is one of the best places I\'ve stayed at.
Beautiful setting, tremendous rooms and facilities topped off by a delicious breakfast!
I will return!

Joe Holland - 24th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Kenneth\'s 80th Birthday
Excellent food and drink in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Our hosts - Sarah Jane and Neill - did everything to make our stay very enjoyable. The whole family loved their stay.

Mr Kenneth Donald - 17th May, 2015
Verified Review

Amazing
Fabulous food, fabulous rooms, fabulous hosts, what is not to love, we go back year after year.

Mr. Trevor Williams - 28th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
My wife and I, along with my Son and his Girlfriend had a wonderful stay at your hotel en-route to the Poole ferry, Our rooms were really beautiful and we were treated to a hearty breakfast from local farms. The owners were very welcoming and we appreciated all the small touches in the room

Mr. PETER HOBBS - 9th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Easter 2015
stayed 2 nights B&B and dined each evening as well. Welcome was warm and friendly with accommodation and facilities good. The food both in the evening and at breakfast was perfect as a result of the tireless efforts of our hosts. I wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Richard Love - 7th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

A Relaxing Weekend At The Belfry At Yarcombe
A chance find - and what a treat! I was fortunate to book dinner on Friday. Sarah-Jane is, quite simply, a brilliant, creative cook. The food was wonderful - definitely worthy of a star. The service was excellent - attentive but not intrusive, the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for years, the room was cosy and well equipped, and the surrounding area beautiful. I can\'t wait to return. Thank you Sarah-Jane and Neil.

Ms. Val Jones - 4th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

40th Birthday Treat
My Mother booked this weekend for my husband and I as a birthday treat. On arrival we were greeted by the owner. The Keats room was lovely, but what made the weekend for us was the fabulous food and the service. We would definitely recommend and would love to go back another time. Laura & John Thank you.

Laura Power - 3rd Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic Stay
We truly enjoyed the stay at the Belfry for a couple of days. The bed was very comfortable and even though the Inn was full our room was absolutely quiet. The breakfasts and dinner were outstanding. Special thanks to Neil and Sarah Jane for their friendly hospitality and helpful tips about the area. We would definitely come back.

Mr. Adrian DeCoo - 1st Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Welcoming
Very comfortable and cosy room, very welcoming owners and a lovely breakfast.

Mrs Welch - 30th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Simply Outstanding.
Once again Sarah-Jane and Neil prove to be the perfect hosts. The newly refurbished Keats was very well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable.
The food was up to the usual excellent standard we have become accustomed to. The goat\'s cheese tart delicious enough to make me consider a vegetarian diet except I would miss out on the full Belfry breakfast!
We look forward to our return visit(s) later in the year.

Geoff Morrison - 15th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Happy, Happy, Happy....
A warm welcome, a gorgeous room that was beautifully decorated and bright, clean and stylish. All my requirements were met however if I has needed anything else I feel the owners would have happily obliged. The food was outstanding, beautifully cooked and mouthwatering flavours and a work of art to indulge the senses. I would recommend a stay here, and although my room was near a road and opposite a church neither of these things interrupted my sleep and I\'m usually a light sleeper.
I had an amazing stay and wouldn\'t hesitate to stay here again if I was in the area. A big thank you.

Miss. Pamela Jenkins - 9th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

First Class
Amazingly enthusiastic and committed hosts who succeed wholeheartedly in ensuring that their guests enjoy their stay at the Belfry. The attention to details in the room was beyond expectation and it felt like a home from home. The evening meal was prepared and presented with a passion and excellent value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will most certainly be returning at the first opportunity.

Mrs Eborall - 6th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you very much for your lovely review - we look forward to seeing you again when next in need of some Belfry prepared Duck for dinner!!

Fantastic Stay
Just got back from staying at the belfry.had a lovely 3 nights there.our hosts were lovely.neil and sarah jane can\'t do enough for you.our room was (the byron) was spotlessly clean everything you needed (and more) was there.food was fantastic.michelin star quality.breakfast was very good.locally scourced ingredients is always a plus dfor us as we are passionate about our food and where it comes from,will definatley be back for more.

Mr Matthews - 16th Feb, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
The welcome at The Belfry was warm and friendly. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was fabulous! Large, comfortable, good bedding and cosy.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

Mary Dilnot - 10th Feb, 2015
Verified Review

Stay
Good food, good bed, lovely room,nice people.Great Stay.

Mr Roy Porter - 2nd Feb, 2015
Verified Review

A Treat For Mum
We arrived late to a warm welcome, nothing too much trouble! Room was cosy and warm. Great nights sleep! Ensuite lovely and clean and fresh. Breakfast to die for! Can\'t say a bad word about The Belfry and cannot wait to return! Many, many thanks!

Hollie Salter-Hendry - 31st Jan, 2015
Verified Review

N Excellent Weekend
A comfortable room (especially the bed) in an interesting historic building, with excellent food and friendly staff - we can thoroughly recommend this venue.

Margaret Foster - 26th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Relaxing
A comfortable retreat where a warm welcome awaits weary travellers!

Mrs. Sharon Monks - 25th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

My Great Experience
A real gem. Great hosts so helpful recommending a great local restaurant. Fantastic comfy bed with quality bedding and l\'occitane products in the great bathroom .. A real treat!

Paul Potts - 12th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Hosts And A Gem Of A Stay
Neil and Sarah-Jane are fabulous hosts. Welcoming, friendly, attentive - but have that rare knack of getting all of that just right and not being over the top.
Yarcombe is easy to find, and a lovely little village. The Belfry is a characterful building which has been well transformed. We stayed in two rooms, Tennyson & Wordsworth. Both well appointed and comfortable. Excellent showers. Wonderful views from both.
Breakfast was great. WiFi strong and quick.
Will definitely be staying here again.

Mr. Gavin Wilson - 2nd Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful New Years Eve
My partner and I were looking for a quiet relaxing away from it all NYE and that\'s what we got.........with the added bonus of fantastic food, great hosts and a fabulous bed.
Sarah-Jane and Neil really know how to look after their guests! Highly recommended to all

Mrs. Joanne Windeatt - 1st Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely
Had an excellent nights stay. Beautiful room, very modern bathroom and very comfy bed. The hosts were very welcoming and enjoyed a wholesome breakfast.

I cannot fault this, and thanks for the extra special touches.

Michael

Mr. Michael North - 29th Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Great Night\'s Sleep
Sad to say we only spent 1 night while visitng family but it was the best night\'s sleep I can remember. Wife loved the power shower and the breakfast was excellent. Lounge was very tastefully decked out for christmas and the hosts were very welcoming. It will be the first place we try when in the area again.

Mr. Richard Giles - 28th Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend At The Belfry
The Belfry is really warm and welcoming. Neil and Sarah Jane made us very welcome, the room had everything we needed and breakfast was absolutely outstanding. I would highly recommend The Belfry

Roger Rawlinson - 24th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

A Marvellous Find
Well, this is the seventh year that my friend, Ann and I have been coming to this little retreat. This gorgeous place has been run by Neil and Sarah Jane who have found the right balance of providing a historic place to relax with modern luxuries and food to die for. They are a lovely couple that cannot do enough for you and all I suggest is that you just try this place once and like me, you\'ll be wanting to come back again.

Mr. Howard Galletly - 16th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

A Special Place
I spent one night here in November, breaking a long drive across the country. It was an excellent choice and good value for the price. Quiet location, comfortable room and sitting room, excellent restaurant (catering ably for my vegan diet). The ground floor bedroom was fine for a single night. I\'d choose an upper room if I was staying longer - which I might another time.

Ms. Lesley Hale - 14th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Favourite Honiton Hotel
Love it here, my new home from home with everything from flannels to beautiful L\'Occitane to use it is like being on a mini spa break! Then there are the fabulous \"full belfry\" breakfasts with very good coffee and home made preserves. Dinner is a treat with amazing french style patisserie desserts with home made ice cream. See you soon!!

Mrs. Dolly Edmonds - 13th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

The Belfry At Yarcombe
Recently stayed at the Belfry, a brilliant place to stay.Far exceeded our expectations. Lots of personal touches, lovely welcome, best cooked breakfast ever.

DIANE JONES - 9th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Friendly Little Hotel
This is a very charming hotel with really friendly owners. We had a lovely room with a big stained glass window in it and a huge and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was amazing and they even had gluten free sausages,bread and soya milk and everything is done and cooked by the owners.

Mrs. Vivvy Butler Butler - 6th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

The Belfry At Yarcombe
A chance stop en-route to Cornwall but we thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at The Belfry. The facilities, hospitality and breakfast were all excellent. Our only regret is that we didn\'t make a reservation for an evening meal so we\'ll have to return one day!

Mrs. Mair Jones - 30th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Superb Stay
We had an overnight stay at The Belfry and it was superb. The rooms were perfect and the food was excellent.

LINDA AILLES - 28th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Friendly and helpful hosts, Clean spacious room, comfy bed, and fab breakfast = lovely stay, thank you

Beverley Atkin - 28th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Short Journey Break
The Belfry was an excellent short drop off on a journey West. Welcoming, friendly hosts, comfortable accommodation & delicious food.

Paul Bird - 26th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Just Wonderful
Spent 2 nights with Dinner on the first night - more than excelled our expectations and Sarah Jane and Neil are perfect hosts - we\'ll be back !!!

Mrs. Claire Bloor - 19th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Wow!
A little gem in the English countryside.

Mr. Adrian Geeves - 19th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

A Devonshire Delight!
I stopped overnight at the Belfry at Yarcombe on my annual visit to the West Country, this was my 3rd visit and I wasn\'t disappointed. Each of the rooms are named after a famous poet and my room for the night was the Tennyson, a very comfortable room which boast a magnificent stained glass window and a recently updated bathroom. The evening meal was fabulous, Sarah-Jane is a very talented cook and produced a meal which would not disgrace a top restaurant. A really fabulous place to stay, but shhhh don\'t tell everyone!

Mr. Tony Morgan - 14th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Mini Break
The owners of the Belfy are extremely warm and welcoming. Food was amazing, the room was comfortable, cosy and filled with L\'Occitane toiletries & a fluffy white dressing gown. Had a very relaxing stay.

Miss. Lisa Caddy - 10th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Place
Peaceful, comfortable, accommodation with attentive hosts and such great attention to every detail to make the stay relaxing. Delicious food.

Helen Clarke - 3rd Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Quality B&b
Excellent, very well run B&B, we received a warm welcome from the owners and stayed in good room with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was also very good with a wide choice and served very efficiently .We also ate here in the evening and enjoyed our meal , would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

Mr. Andrew Brundle - 30th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

B&b Stop Over
Just the ticket for stunning views, a delicious dinner and a comfortable bed.

Mrs. Jane Mellor - 28th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Wonderful Experiance
I had the joy of staying again at the Belfry and as usual I received such a warm welcome, great room with a very comfortable bed, lots of extras to make me feel at home and then graced with lovely a breakfast this morning. I always feel refreshed and energised after staying here. I'can't wait till the next time!

Rita Holme - 27th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

The Belfry
Very comfortable hotel. Missed evening meal as restaurant not open on Sunday evenings but had a fantastic breakfast this morning. 'The Full Belfry' which I would heartilt recommend. All locally sourced produce.

Barrie Elliott - 25th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent B& B
warm welcome with coffee and homemade cake. Clean and comfortable room with quality toiletries,bottles of water, oj and apple juice and loads of tea and coffee available. we also had the meal which was super. Highly recommended.

Mrs. Loretta Mclaughlin - 18th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Very Pleasant Stay
The Belfry has a lovely atmosphere. The service is friendly with a personal touch. On arrival we were offered tea and cake and made to feel very welcome. Although it lies on the A30 the village is very quiet and picturesque. From our room we had great views of the church, thatched roofed pub and rolling hills beyond. Very pleasant stay. Excellent breakfast too.

Trish Harding - 17th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Wedding Party .
Perfect location for a peaceful stay in Devon .
We were with a wedding party and the whole stay was second to none .the rooms are comfortable and yet quirky .
The wedding meal was superb .compliments to the owner chef .
All in all a wonderful stay .would recommend this hotel to anyone .

Mrs. Julie Witcomb - 16th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

August 2014
A delightful two night stay in a most comfortable room with beautiful views. The food was first class and our hosts could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one. My wife's dietary requirements were met fully. Will definitely stay again

Mr. David Bradley - 15th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Wonderful Hospitality
Such a hospitable welcome with tea and cake in the sunshine. Could not have had a friendlier stay. The restaurant is an amazing idea where you request your meal ahead and Sarah sources and cooks it. And our breakfast was delicious.

Anthony Dewhurst - 14th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

First Class
Everything about our stay here was lovely, so many thoughtful extras, a beautiful room full of character, a very comfy bed, super shower, luxury toiletries provided,the electric fan was most welcome. The evening meal was outstanding, as good as any top restaurant, an excellent wine list, very attentive service throughout. Homemade jam at breakfast! and such friendly owners. A real gem.

Rosemary Yorke - Johnson - 12th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Hidden Gem
Nice little place with very friendly and accommodating staff.

Mike Henderson - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Environment
Charming accommodation in a small peaceful rural setting with stone cottages, lovely gardens and good walks. The breakfast at The Belfry and attention and welcome of the owners especially good.

Maudie Vanden Berghe - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Environment
Charming accommodation in a small peaceful rural setting with stone cottages, lovely gardens and good walks. The breakfast at The Belfry and attention and welcome of the owners especially good.

Maudie Vanden Berghe - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Environment
Charming accommodation in a small peaceful rural setting with stone cottages, lovely gardens and good walks. The breakfast at The Belfry and attention and welcome of the owners especially good.

Maudie Vanden Berghe - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

B&b
A pleasurable stay, all the accommodation was beautifully kept and the final little attention to detail in the room made our too a short stay very enjoyable.
It was nice to see that the room was equipped with everything you needed, could not fault the accommodation at all, will return for a longer stay next year.

Mr. Alan R Kemp - 8th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Short Break
Excellent food and a great welcome in this small well appointed hotel. Bedroom had everything one would need and a large very comfortable bed

Kenneth Donald - 25th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Absolutely Superb
Cannot find fault with The Belfry. Lovely large room superbly appointed with great finishing touches and little extras like high quality toiletries, fan and amazing breakfast to wake up to. Would have no problem recommending this to anyone.

James Armstrong - 23rd Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Hotel Par Excellance !!
We had a great two nights at The Belfry.
Very friendly and comfortable.
Our dinner was the best we had during our two weeks tour of the West Country and the breakfasts were superb.
Well done.
Simon and Julia from Aberdeen

Simon Russell - 18th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our over noght stay. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent.
Sarah Jayne and Neil made us feel extremely welcome and if we are in the area again we would have no hesitation in booking again

Mrs. Carol Clayden - 16th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Charming
Wonderful food in a cosy setting

Geoff Roy - 14th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

The Belfry At Yarcombe
A lovely, peaceful, easy going place to stay in the most beautiful countryside. A very warm welcome (tea and cake)on the first day and the charm of the place continued throughout with the adorable Phil and Denise on hand for friendly chat, local advice and great breakfasts. A great place to stay to tour the area and sample the local places to eat nearby. Well recommended.

Mrs. Christine Mcfadzean - 5th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay Once Again
Our second stay at the Belfry and it's still a lovely stop-off for a short/overnight break. The owners informed us they'd be away this time, but their holiday cover took care of us very well and still provided coffee+cake in the afternoon and a great breakfast the next morning. We knew we wouldn't be able to eat dinner in the restaurant though, so booked a table at the Yarcombe Inn opposite: We'd eaten there previously too and the welcome and food were as good as ever, but it was very quiet for a Saturday night and it's hard to imagine that this community inn (run by volunteers) will be able to survive another year without a significant injection of cash - which would be a great loss as we feel the two establishments compliment each other so well. Otherwise, we had a great weekend.

Mr. Tim Reynolds - 30th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent!
What a beautiful, tranquil setting for such a lovely place to stay. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, the room amazing and the food excellent.
I will definitely be staying here again.

Patrick Higney - 28th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Hosts
Room comfy and clean, quiet location, breakfast yummy with good choice of food. Nice little extra's
Very pleasant stay.

Joanna Ball - 6th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Stay Here!!!
Sarah-Jane and Neil are perfect hosts! Nothing is too much trouble and the food is excellent. Lovely setting with a real homely feel...you won't be dissapointed if you say! Make sure you dine here during your stay, the food is top quality...try the Tiramisu Baked Alaska...it's unbelievably good!!!

John Bufton - 30th May, 2014
Verified Review

Benitichell
We had a lovely overnight stay at the Belfry.
Every effort was made to ensure our stay was friendly and comfortable. Despite the historic building the room was furnished in a sympathetically contemporary way with a host of high end room extras.
Lovely comfy bed and a great breakfast set us on our way.
A great effort made and appreciated.

Mrs. Clare Coleman - 29th May, 2014
Verified Review

Great Gluten Free Food
Very enjoyable stay. Lovely food and fantastic to find such care taken with gluten free food.

Mrs. Tracey Butler - 25th May, 2014
Verified Review

A Great Place To Stay
Just a lovely place for a relaxing stay - friendly and welcoming, attention to detail and extremely comfortable.

Mrs. Linda Cooke - 25th May, 2014
Verified Review

Dorset Haven
We've just returned from a lovely weekend at The Belfry. Gorgeous location, scrummy food and happy hosts.

Susan Carr - 20th May, 2014
Verified Review

Perfection
A lovely room in an interesting building. Wonderful evening meal (best duck I have ever tasted - cooked to perfection) and breakfast. But best of all are the wonderful owners who made our ( too short) stay feel like we were with friends rather than in a hotel - heartily recommend!

Sam Smith - 18th May, 2014
Verified Review

Warm And Friendly Welcome
The Belfry at Yarcombe always offers a warm and friendly welcome whilst at the same time providing excellent value for money...

Mr. Tony Harrison - 16th May, 2014
Verified Review

Superb
From the warm welcome of tea and home made cake to the excellent room and outstanding meal and breakfast we had a great stay. Sarah Jane and Neil are excellent hosts who could not have done more to make us feel at home. We booked on recommendation and the Belfry lived up to its billing. We'll certainly recommend ourselves and are already planning when we can return!!

Mr. Gareth Jones - 12th May, 2014
Verified Review

Fab Stay!
The Belfry is a hidden gem tucked away in the beautiful village of Yarcombe. Here you will find all the comforts of home with some added luxuries. We stayed in Coleridgeroom which was spacious, had a wonderfully comfortable super king size bed, top drawer toiletries and an extensive tea tray. The food was simply delicious and I would definitely advise travellers to book in for the evening meal (you need to advise menu choices in advance). you won't be disappointed. Gourmet standard cooking and all diets are genuinely catered for including strict celiacs. A hugely enjoyable stay.

Dr. Mary Kellett - 12th May, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend
Fantastic place and food amazing. Lovely hospitality

Pauline Reilly - 5th May, 2014
Verified Review

Great Stay
Great food, very comfy rooms, good value for money and lovely hosts. We will be back for sure.

Mrs. Ann Hutchins - 29th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

One Of The Best Hotels
Apart from the outstanding beauty of the area where this amazing historic hotel sits, the hotel it's self was, friendly, clean, breakfasts were 10/10, sadly didn't sample the evening meals that we will do again when we visit again, we would recommend this hotel to friends and family, and will 100% stay there again.

Kirstie Smith - 29th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

I'll Be Back!!
Lovely accommodating hosts that made you feel very welcome. Fabulous room with very comfortable bed! Very tasty breakfast with local ingredients - will definitely be back!!

Simon Hunt - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Experience
A lovely place with exceptional attention to detail. The rooms are lovely as was the breakfast made will local produce. I recommend the Rhubarb and Ginger jam especially. A very warm welcome and service was brilliant, a real gem of a hotel, we will be back.

Mr. Steven Murphy - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Food And Great Hosts
We booked the Belfry following a recommendation in a Coeliac forum. As suggested the food was excellent, my partner saying it was the best meal she'd had since she was diagnosed. My (non gluten-free) meal was very good too. Sarah-Jane and Neil are friendly annd attentive hosts. Excellent all round!

Dr. Tristan Elkin - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay!!
Lots of character. Very cosy. Most excellent breakfast. Friendly and welcoming proprietors. We will be back!!

Barry Wiles - 21st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Single Night
Needing just an overnight stop in the area I booked early into the Coleridge room. I enjoyed a cup of tea on the patio area overlooking the hills when I arrived mid afternoon. It was pleasantly warm early spring with unbroken sunshine and that summed up the stay! I never ate in the restaurant but it was clearly popular and the Full Belfry breakfast was very tasty. Very pleasant hosts, wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Mr. Trevor Swift - 19th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Not Just A Ridiculously Comfy Bed!
Right from the lovely welcome, we knew this was going to be a lovely stay. We chose this venue based on the face they advertise they cater for coeliacs (and what a good job they do!) We only stayed one night but could easily have stayed a week. I was offered gluten free home made cake the minute I arrived. The room has many fabulous extras - poetry, fan, heater, hot water bottle, complimentary juice etc - all made it even more special. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and had the most amazing steak, chips and gluten free pastry in the dessert was AMAZING. And the breakfast - perfect! Nothing to complain about at all, except perhaps that we couldn't take that ridiculously comfy bed home with us!! Thank you for a fab stay, we'll be back... just make sure the ketchup is ready for us!

Mr. Paul Marsh - 16th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Great Stay
Superb comfy bed, fab toiletries, owners lovely and friendly. Breakfast choice superb and freshly cooked. All round brilliant stay.

Amanda Bruce - 4th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

An Idyllic Little Break
The hotel provided a marvellous break for us, in idyllic countryside. The room was marvellous with its lovely old stained glass window. The service was welcoming, smooth and professional - The food heavenly ! - We'll be back !

Mrs. Marilyn Barton - 1st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

"doesn't Get Any Better That The Belfry"
If you want to be very well looked after by people who really care about your well being then the Belfry is for you! Sarah-Jane and Neil are lovely hosts and nothing is too much trouble, every detail has been thought of to make your stay as nice and relaxing as possible.
The food is fantastic and If you dine with them you won't be disappointed...best desert I have ever had!!
Neil and Sarah-Jane are really nice people who are very good at what they do, which all ads up to a top notch stay in a beautiful part of the country...and long may they continue to do it!!

John Bufton - 28th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you ever so much for your super review, they are always such a delight and very gratefully received. Look forward to seeing you again in May!!, Best Wishes, Sarah-Jane

Superb
Beautiful room with wonderful hosts -
and the breakfast was excellent
Can't wait to go back

Karen Powell - 11th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Great Choice
Great location, hospitable hosts, delicious food and exceptionally comfortable sleep. Highly recommended.

Giusi Fanone - 9th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Hideaway
The Belfry is easy to find on the side of the A30 in the village of Yarcombe.Surprisingly, the A30 is not a noisy main road; the traffic is intermittent.
When you arrive, the welcome is extremely warm and friendly and you may find some of the villagers meeting for tea and cakes.
The Belfry is ideally located for visiting Chard (The Stringfellow Museum) and Honiton (antique shops) as well as exporing the Blackdown Hills to the north.
When you have finished exploring, return to your clean and comfortable room for a rest before dinner. The food is good home cooking and is excellent.
What more can you ask for in a quiet weekend break; "thumbs up"!!

Robin Muir - 6th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

A+++++
We enjoyed are stay very much. With in a few minutes of arriving we were served tea and cake. Lovely hosts, room and brilliant food.

David Hugill - 17th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back again, Best wishes, Sarah-Jane

Perfect In Every Way.
Well what can I say, from the moment we stepped in the door of the Belfry, Sarah-Jane and Neil gave us the warmest of welcome's. After dropping our suitcase in our room, a pot of fresh coffee and homemade cake awaited us in the comfortable lounge, where we were also able to chill watching the Rugby.
The evening was perfect, with Sarah-Jane's care, attention and cooking flair being shown with every course, and presented to us by Neil who chatted and made everyone feel so welcome.
After a lovely nights sleep, we completed our stay with the best cooked breakfast, we've both had in ages.
The Belfry is a Jewel in Devon and a must for anyone looking for peace and tranquility.
Phil and I look forward to returning soon with our friends.

Vivienne Griffin - 9th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Vivienne and Phil So much for such a lovely review which are always wonderful to receive - we look forward to see you again and hosting your get together with friends. Best Wishes, Sarah-Jane

Review 22.01.14
Very welcoming and a nice change from the corporate hotel chains.
if you want a quiet night this place is perfect.

Paul Ogiliev - 23rd Jan, 2014
Verified Review

A Lovely Place To Stay
A really cosy B&B with lovely thoughtful touches. Breakfast was perfect! I would definitely recommend and return.

Thank you!

Sophie Richards - 9th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

4 Jan 2014
A welcome retreat heading back from Plymouth.
Very friendly hosts, nice rooms, great dinner and breakfast. Lots of local ingredients.
Recommended!
Paul and Di

Mr. Paul Morris - 6th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Paul and Di, best wishes

Lovely
It makes a wonderful change staying somewhere with some character and where the owners have taken time to think about their guests needs. First class stay, beds really comfortable, well laid out and a sofa. Brilliant breakfast, one of the best we have bad in years. Will stay again for sure.

Tim Bittleston - 4th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Mr Bittleston - we always appreciate lovely feedback, best wishes,

Two Cosy Nights Two Brilliant Breakfasts
Dear Sarah-Jane & Neil
Your 'haven' is one of the most delightful places I have ever visited/stayed during my travels (UK, USA, NZ, Australia & South Korea are my most frequent destinations). Sarah-Jane comes across as a kind, caring, attentive, helpful and artistic person; full of warmth and interest. Neil is the wonderful adjunct to the lady of the house: in this instance adjunct refers to Neil being a superb auxiliary, not a subordinate. As a couple you are definitely achieving the aims declared on your website.
I have friends in all of the countries mentioned above and when I learn of their next intention to visit England I will be recommending your delightful home as an excellent overnight stay (or more if circumstances permit) in the West Country.
As you may remember, my plans during the relatively brief re-encounter with Albion and "Devon, Glorious Devon", in November 2013, were compromised by a period of over 24 hours in the care of the NHS. Your generous and kind cooperation with a change of my booking, was both welcome and re-assuring. The loss of my Laptop Bag in South Korea had left me feeling vulnerable. The medical problems worsened that sense. Your polite agreement to a change of dates was just the boost I needed. Thank you both again!
I wish you continued success with your venture in Yarcombe and continuing GOOD HEALTH for Sarah-Jane.
Yours Sincerely Peter A Hirst - 12th to 14th November 2013.
P.S. I am well and presently in South Korea. The new laptop, purchased at Currys in Taunton (suggested by you) is working well but sadly uses the newest MicroSoft operating system, Windows 8. I dislike it and wish that I still had my very agreeable Windows 7.
P.P.S. In your presentation of "About Us" & "Your Hosts" there are two minor anomalies.
1. In the first sentence you use the past participle of the verb 'to run'. The 'ran' should be replaced with 'run'. Indeed may I be so bold as to propose that the last section of that quite lengthy sentence be amended to read as follows:-
"... a relaxing haven, attentively run with high attention to detail."
2. Towards the end of your introduction you use 'en mass' which is correctly applied as 'en masse', another excellent French term so readily adopted by we English. Those attentions to detail are important, as you earlier stress. PAH

Peter Hirst - 5th Dec, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you ever so much Peter for your wonderful and kind review, we really enjoyed you staying with us and are so pleased to learn your journey home was less eventful than your arrival here and you arrived safely back. So hope you are beginning to like Windows 8 but I know what you mean!. With very best wishes, Sarah-Jane

The Belfry
We had an excellent stay at the Belfry with very comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. Only disappointment was the night we stayed - Tuesday - they were closed for Dinner. Good excuse for going back another day!!

Mr. David Binks - 7th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Home From Home
.wonderful stay in this excellent hotel, all needs catered for. The beds and rooms are comfortable and the breakfasts superb.
This makes a great stopover between London and the far west, conveniently positioned just off the A30.

Miss. Katherine Baxter - 6th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Weekend Treat
Such a lovely cosy welcoming hotel. Sarah Jane & Neil were very attentive, our every need was catered for. We ate at the Belfry on our first evening the food was delicious using local produce, washed down with local beer!

The Belfry was in a great location with a pub just across the road and Lyme Regis only a short drive away. All in all a great weekend.
We will return.

Jessica Wilkinson - 21st Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Warm And Welcoming
I enjoyed a fantastic stop over on a long journey home and the Belfry was a welcome retreat. I was greeted with coffee and home made cake in the lounge which was first class. The stay was extremely comfortable, lovely and quiet location and the room had everything a more. The breakfast the next morning was the best I have tasted. The menu was fantatsic and IO would love to have worked my way through all the locally sourced food. I would highly recommend The Belfry to everyone. Lovely location, lovely building, lovely rooms and lovely hosts. I only wish I could have stayed longer and explored the surrounding area.

Daniel Bedocs - 9th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Wordsworth At The Belfry
The Belfry is a lovely B&B. I stayed in Wordsworth which was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Only stayed one night on the way to Cornwall, I didn't have dinner but the breakfast was superbly cooked and nicely presented and totally delicious.

Miss. Carole Ness - 4th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Great Find
Lovely little place. Comfy room. Great welcome. Amazing food.

Mrs. Joanna Kington - 24th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

En Route
Great stay, very attentive, good food, very comfortable. Second visit. Relaxing.

Mr. Richard Cox - 19th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Great Find
Stayed here overnight as I attended a family party nearby. What a lovely find. Really enjoyed the in room luxuries. Will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Ms. Julianne Shaw - 16th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Delightful
Very convenient, beautifully and efficiently run. The Belfry offers everything one needs. Delicious breakfast.

Mrs. Sarah Chenevix Trench - 15th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

A Great Find!
We came across The Belfry through the crossed grain magazine issued by coeliac uk. Finding somewhere special for our first anniversary that catered for a gluten free diet was proving to be a nightmare, but the lure of a full English breakfast and a tantalising evening menu meant we soon booked-and we weren't disappointed! Our room (Wordsworth) was very clean, lovely comfortable bed and good sized ensuite, lovely view across the fields to the village church. Neil and Sarah-Jane really made us feel at home, even providing tea and cake on the terrace when we arrived! The food was fabulous both at breakfast and dinner, it was a real shame we couldn't have stayed longer!
We look forward to visiting again soon.

Mrs. Tracey Kisbee - 5th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Our Stay
Sarah-Jane and Neil run a friendly clean well positioned hotel .Their service is excellent and Sarah – Jane is a very good chef . The rooms are very well presented and individually designed .All in all very good place to stay.

Mr. Brian Elliott - 4th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Brilliant
Its home from home, we love it. Second time we have stayed, and we will still go back.

Made to feel very welcome, its a lovely location, the food is exceptional, and the service is brilliant.

Mrs. Faye Pasquet - 28th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Fantastic Again
We have a weekend away each year to chill out and relax, until 2010, we went to a different hotel each year until we discovered the Belfry at Yarcombe, now we come back every year (sometimes more) for the wonderful hospitality of our hosts Sarah Jane and Neil, and for the truly amazing food, the quality of which is second to none, I cannot rate our stays each year highly enough

Mrs. Nicola Williams - 26th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

B & B
perfect break at the belfry, great bed, food and the hosts where brilliant.

Mrs. Joyce Davis - 15th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

The Old Belfry Yarcombe
Thoroughly enjoyable stay in a beautifully renovated old school building. The food, hospitality and very comfortable rooms ensured that I would recommend the Old Belfry to friends and family and would definitely return again

Ms. Anita Etheridge - 6th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Long Weekend Escape
As always, such a warm welcome from Sarah Jane & Neil, wonderfully comfortable room, delicious food and drink - can't fault it! Enjoyed a perfect, relaxed break, really super. Looking forward to when we can next visit.

Mrs. Chrissie Ayton - 2nd Aug, 2013
Verified Review

The Belfry - Yarcombe
Lovely place to stay, run by two very lovely people with a passion for there business second to none

Mr. Philip Peel - 26th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

3 Day Break
The Coleridge room was excellent with a big comfortable bed and views over the Blackdown Hills. The hosts Sarah-Jane and Neil were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The food all cooked by Sarah-Jane herself was of a very high standard. All in all The Belfry is a real Devon gem.

Mr. David Colvill - 28th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
We enjoyed our stay at the Belfry. Lovely room with wonderful views. Very clean and comfortable. Hosts were very friendly. Loved the cake and tea on arrival. Overall a very relaxing stay with lots of thoughtful attention to detail from hosts. Would love to return.

Mrs. Natalie Wright - 19th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

.
We really enjoyed our stay, especially as we didn't have to worry about whether or not the food was suitable for a coeliac.

Mrs. Stephanie Jackson - 31st May, 2013
Verified Review

Stay Over
Lovely room, excellent food and friendly owners who could not do enough for us even though we were only staying one night on our way to Cornwall. Would recommend to our friends and family. Five star although we would recommend that the shower control be looked at for easier use

Mr. Geoffrey Bradley - 13th May, 2013
Verified Review

Superb!
Everything was excellent, from the welcome to the delicious meals (best poached eggs I've ever had) but the best of all was the bed and pillows - absolute bliss, the best night's sleep I've had in years.

Mr. Geoff Goy - 9th May, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Accommodation
Friendly, welcoming and attention to detail sums up my stay.
Little touches like fresh orange juice and fresh milk make the difference. the breakfast was superb - freshly cooked and with local ingredients. makes working away from home almost enjoyable but don't tell my wife:)

Mr. Keith Goodfellow - 3rd May, 2013
Verified Review

Relaxing Place
The Belfry is a wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed the peace and tranquillity and we were made to feel at home as soon as we stepped in by our friendly hosts. The food, both dinner and breakfast was excellent. The attention to detail made our stay special.

Mr. Mick Michaelides - 2nd May, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Base For Exploring East Devon & Somerset
Two nights bed & breakfast at The Belfry (19th & 20th April 2013). Also included one evening dinner. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable - the gothic stained glass windows simply added to the overall charm. The en-suite shower room (newly re-fitted) was very well equipped. Initial fears about road noise from the adjacent A30 proved groundless. The breakfasts were very good with a good choice of tasty, individually cooked food. The dinner was truly exceptional - mainly locally sourced ingredients beautifully cooked and well presented by Sarah-Jane. Neil is a splendid host with just the right balance of efficiency and friendliness. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience - I'll definitely be back.

Mr. Michael Edwards - 22nd Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you ever so much Mr Edwards, we really look forward to seeing you again in the Autumn - hope you have a great time on the water this Summer, Best Wishes, Sarah-Jane

Why Look Any Where Else?
We only needed a place to stay for 1 night and so glad we chose The Belfry. A warm and comfortable hotel, with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Rooms full of character with a really comfortable bed,crisp white sheets and good quality toiletries included. A fabulous breakfast too. Why look anywhere else? Ruth and Charlie, Fife

Mrs. Ruth Mathie - 27th Mar, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you very much for your lovely review - sorry I didn't get to meet you - hopefully next time...With best wishes, Sarah-Jane

Value For Money
Very comfortable and relaxing.
Breakfast excellent.

Mr. Paul Newnham - 28th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

My Stay
Lovely room with big comfy bed. Lovely lady worked there. Good bteakfast!

Mr. Jake Kelly - 27th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

A Belfry Stopover
My wife, daughter and I stayed for one night in February on our way back from friends in Devon. We also booked to eat at the Belfry. The hospitality and food were both excellent and we would definitely recommend the Belfry for anyone wanting a very comfortable stay in the Honiton area.

Mr. Richard Lyon - 22nd Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely Relaxing Stay
We arrived at the Belfry to a tidy, clean and welcoming room shown to us by Sarah-Jane. We instantly felt at home with the comfy bed, luxurious toletries and tea, coffee and juice available. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and we had a wide choice to choose from, all cooked to order. We could not have asked for more from our romantic weekend trip away!

Miss. Katharine Adlard - 18th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

The Belfry Rooms
Very comfortable indeed, with a very good selection for breakfast.
Recommended place to stay

Mr. Paul Newnham - 1st Feb, 2013
Verified Review

A Hidden Gem
Have stayed now 4 or 5 times on business trips down to the south west. This place is a hidden gem...lovely rooms and beds that are scrupuously clean plus a great evening meal and fantastic breakfast. Myself and my colleagues now engineer our trips away so that we can stay here when we can. Great community pub over the road that has some really decent real ales on offer.

Mr. Darren Cruice - 30th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Very Good
Excellent. Breakfast was great and the Yarcombe Inn over the road is a great place for dinner and a pint.

Mr. Timothy Rideout - 10th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Hidden Joy
We booked the Belfry for a one night stopover and wished we had longer. The owners have thought hard about the little touches that make guests feel comfortable and welcome. The guest book oozes praise from past visitors. The whole experience was a joy and the breakfast was the best we have had anywhere. We are already planning a longer stay in the spring.

Mr. Ivan Hingley - 29th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely Stay In The Country Side
Nice, pleasant, warmful with a personal touch. For the ones who love places with a great views and history this is surely the one. We enjoyed the views from our room and from the short walk through the village. Unfortunately, we are on our way to our next stay. Otherwise we would certainly have enjoyed the great sceneries in the country side.

Edwin Tan - 11th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Belfry
Warm welcome with tea and delicious home made cake. Lovely comfortable room with bathroom luxuries thrown in. Next time will book in for dinner as delicious smells from kitchen. Fab breakfast.

Mrs. Lynne Wilson - 5th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

One Night Stay
We were in transit so only wanted a warm quiet room for one night and some decent food. The room was fine and the bath robe welcome (perhaps slippers in future?). We were pleased to see a bath but the shower curtain arrangements could do with a rethink and we were happy with all the other facilities. The food was better than decent, indeed it was excellent. Thank you.

Mr. Duncan Thomas - 30th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

A Great Place
A very nice place to stay. The Belfry sits in the tiny picturesque village of Yarcombe and they complement each other perfectly. We found it a gentle, soothing experience
that combined the best of British hospitality and grace.
Fully recommended

John Healey - 18th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Outstanding!!
This was our third visit to The Belfry in just over a year - we absolutely love it! Attentive, welcoming but not intrusive hosts, plush bedrooms with the most comfortable beds and linens, superb attention to detail in the rooms and the rest of the hotel, such as the guest fridge with fresh milk & selection of juices, along with the luxurious toiletries. As for the food, well, it beats many Michelin-starred restaurants, hands down. It is flavoursome, care has been taken with presentation and the quality and freshness of the foods has never faltered during any of our visits. We already rave about The Belfry to our friends & family and although we have only just returned from our recent stay, we are already trying to plan when we can next visit. Truly wonderful!

Steph Luke - 13th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
This is our second stay at The Belfry and once again everything has been excellent. Both Sarah Jayne & Neil are such lovely hosts and very attentive to your needs. A lovely pot of tea and cake on the patio when we arrived after a long journey was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. Dinner once again was delicious and Sarah has surpassed herself as a chef and would put some posh restaurants to shame, with Neil making a very attentive maitre de! We stayed in the Coleridge room with the most enormous comfortable bed with everything you need provided and only wish our stay could have been longer. Well done to both Sarah Jayne & Neil for making such a relaxing lovely place to stay & hope to see you next year.

Mrs. Michele Mackrell - 10th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Good Night Sleep
We spent one night in a very good bed and had a lovely nights sleep followed by a super breakfast with real toast!

Raymond Stanton - 10th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful
Yarcombe is a magical village clasped in a bend of the A30 as it crawls towards the A303. In Yarcombe the A30 is obsolete and beautiful but still dangerous enough to be treated with respect, like a pet snake. Right in the apex of the bend is the old school. When I first went to Yarcombe it wasn't the old school; it was the school. After that it was a health club with a sauna. Then it became a small hotel and the restaurant in that first incarnation was in the sauna room with the pine panelling still on the walls. Now it is a real hotel with no overtones of historic weirdness apart from the windows being cut off halfway up to put a top floor in.

Our room was named after Shelley I don't know why. Maybe The Buzzcocks stayed there once. The welcome, I have come to learn, counts for nearly everything with me these days and we were welcomed gorgeously. The room was warm and airy and comfy and the products were delicious. Drinks were plentiful and generous, the television worked and after dinner England won 5-0 with three of the goals scored by players who once upon a time played for West Ham.

As soon as I'd put my bag on the floor I was out across the dangerous snake to the Yarcombe Inn now a community pub with excellent beer and - a bit later - top nosh. (We could have eaten at the hotel but weren't sure what time we'd arrive so we made no commitment.)

After the football, I read in the lounge until bedtime and Islept soundly. I loved the patterns of headlights running across the ceiling. There weren't many cars. Three, I think. Breakfast was tasty and healthy and elegant and Brian Matthew was on the radio like it really was 1965. When we came out a blue Ford Anglia climbed the hill.

Mr. Philip Rush - 9th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect
Warm welcome,delicious breakfast with a great choice ,lovely comfortable bedrooms what more do you need. Well little.extras that made our 1night stay so memorable.l,Occitane products inc pillow spray to help you sleep , fresh milk , orange and choice of tea to help yourself to take to your room. Info on where to have dinner .Candleliight inn was recommended and well worth the visit. Sarah Jane and Neil are great hosts in a well run establishment and we will return and hopefully stay for dinner next time..

Mary Tyler - 7th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Rural Heaven
Sarah-Jane and Neil run The Belfry in a manner that larger hotels could learn from. So friendly and approachable, they give you the feeling that you are the most important people in their world.
The Full Belfry breakfast is simply unbeatable!
The Belfry itself is extremely comfortable and tranquil. It is wonderful to see buildings that are no longer required for their original purpose (school) being converted and used so successfully for another.
To paraphrase Arnie - "We'll be back!"

Beryl Morrison - 4th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Belfry Bliss
Excellent food, service, accommodation and nothing was too much. The menu was brilliant and the food was best we have ever eaten.

Mrs. Sandra San Vicente - 3rd Sep, 2012
Verified Review

The Belfry
An enjoyable and relaxing stay. Our hosts were warm and welcoming; we felt so comfortable it was like we were at home but with the added bonus of fabulous food prepared by someone else! We would highly recommend The Belfry and look forward to visiting again soon.

Mrs. Lucy Mcmanus - 2nd Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Overnighter
Only one night spent at the Belfry but very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was local fare and very tasty. The hospitality was very welcoming. Would certainly stay again.

Jacqui Fowkes - 22nd Aug, 2012
Verified Review

' Idyllic'
From the chocolate cake and tea within minutes of our arrival to our departure unfortunately the next day it was 'idyllic'. Keats Room with its view over the church and Yarcombe Inn is delightful and the toiletries, bedlinen, towels and dressing gowns were a joy. Our breakfast was excellent cooked by Neil as Sarah-Jane was away and we unfortunately arrived the day when evening meal was not available but a short drive to nearby pub was no problem. Wish we could have stayed longer but we certainly intend to visit again and enjoy being pampered. Sheila and Peter.

Mr. Peter Butterworth - 8th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Married
excellent accommodation, good breakfast, lovely room and really friendly hosts

PETER BEDFORD - 8th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Superb Place To Stay
Sarah-Jane and neil are the best hosts you could wish for, the belfry is the best you would wish for, the food is the best you could wish for. If only all the hotels were like this that we stay at we would be so happy. Thanks again Sarah-Jane and Neil and we will see you soon.

Mike Wheeler - 1st Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you so much for your kind review, best wishes, Sarah-Jane

Little Gem
This is our second time at the Belfry and it won't be the last.It's small and friendly with excellent food and some very nice personal details...run by a genuinely lovely couple...what more could you want?

Mrs. Sarah Batterbury - 23rd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Yes Please
Yes please lets have mpore like the Belfrey. We arrived and were welcolmed no question our bag was taken upstairs. Dinner we booked in advance was high in expectation but the Belfrey exceeded our expectation by a long way. We invited family along for breakfast no trouble sir arrived and an hour or so later all were completely satisfied. Great hotel great service great food and a fantastic bed - what more could a mature couple ask for.

J&S G

Mr. John Gray - 23rd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Beautiful Belfry
LOVELY RELAXING BREAK IN FRIENDLY COMFORTABLE SMALL HOTEL.LOVELY ROOMS AND DELICIOUS BREAKFAST.WARM WELCOME BY SARAH-JANE AND NEIL.WILL DEF RECOMMEND AND HOPE TO BE BACK SOON.

Victoria Smith - 7th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend Stay
Sarah-Jane and Neil were very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was of a high standard. My partner is gluten & dairy intolerant but it made absolutely no difference as Sarah-Jane's excellent culinary skills meant that she was able to choose any item from the menu (including sausages & toast at breakfast!). Would definitely recommend.

Mr. Peter Woollard - 1st Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay
We stayed at on the 15th June, and had a very enjoyable evening with very food and wine in there dining rooms. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if ever in the area.

Mr. Andre Murrell - 28th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Shhh Don't Tell Anyone But This Is A Real Gem Of A Place, Mum's The Word!
Really enjoyed my stay at the Belfry, they really made me feel at home. The hotel is very comfortable and the food was first class. I loved the little extra touches especially the vintage cider sorbet! It made a really nice stop over for my journey down to Cornwall and a nice change from blasting down the M5. I would definately recommend the Belfry and look forward to returning next time I visit the West Country! Thank you Tony

Anthony Morgan - 25th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Tony - Thank you so much for your kind review - we really look forward to seeing you on your return journey in this direction. Very best wishes, S-J

One Night Stay
The first positive impression was given by the very friendly and informative lady of the Belfry. Every consideration was given to our Gluten Free food needs and the pre arranged meal in the relaxed restaurant was very good indeed. Likewise the well cooked breakfast. It is very hard to be critical perhaps some slightly tired aspects in the room but overall good value and worth a revisit when in that part of the country. Easy to recommend.

Rob Parks - 21st Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Short Getaway
Chose the Belfry for its location and the attractive look to the rooms. Everything lived up to our expectations. Clean comfortable room, great hospitality and a delicious breakfast. No hesitation reccomending this place to anyone looking for somewhere nice to stay and representing great value

Mr. Allan Mackinnon - 20th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Very Comfy And Delicious Food,
We enjoyed our stay at this high end B&B. We were trested to tea and cake on our arrival and enjoyed a delicious three course meal in the intimate restaurant. The room was very comfy and had everything we needed. Sarah-Jane and Neil made us feel very welcome.

Susan Brennan - 19th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

The Belfry At Yarcombe
Very nice accommodation ,first class meal and we were made very welcome by the owners even though we only stayed one night

Mr. David Heyes - 18th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Great Welcome
Fabulous welcome with tea and cake. We stayed in Keats and the room was spotless with the most wonderful comfortable bed. Breakfast was lovely and served with a smile. One slight let down was the bathroom in Keats. The decor is tired and the shower is the worst I've used in a long time. I would definately visit again and would encourage others to do the same.

Nicola Capindale - 12th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Very Well Looked After
Wonderful break
We were very well looked after food was wonderful

Mrs. Lorraine Black - 12th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

First Holiday @ The Belfry
An amazing find & Coeliac heaven too! Wonderful warm welcome from the owners for whom nothing was too much trouble. A home from home. Accommodation, food & attention to detail was out of this world. Will be back.

Miss. Angela Fowler - 12th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
We only stayed one night, we would haved loved to stay longer.We had warm welcome with tea and cake.The room was good with a really comfortable bed. We had an evening meal and it was wonderful. The building is a converted school and has been converted to keep the charm of the old school. We would highly recommend The Belfry and hope to stay there again in the future.

Bernie Brewster - 11th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
Excellent! Was on a course at Rivercottage the next day, the Belfry is only 20/25 mins away. Great rooms, perfect breakfast and fantastic hosts.

Mrs. Linda Dymott - 11th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

The Belfry At Yarcombe
Nice small hotel. Very hospitable and welcomoming owners. Excellent food. Very comfortable bed! Enjoyed our stay very much.

Elizabeth Gwynn - 10th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Last Minute Escape
What a cracking find!! A last minute decision to escape for a couple of nights led us to the Belfry. We booked online just the afternoon before and arrived pretty fresh after just a few short hours from Kent. Owners Neil & Sarah Jane made us both very welcome with afternoon tea & some beautiful home baked cake following a very relaxed intro to our room. The bed was MASSIVE, the room was spotless,& the whole feel of the place was just right. Our breakfasts the following morning were a true testament to Sarah's cooking, and a day in the local village of 'Beer' lay prelude to evening dinner back at the Belfry, again showing just how things 'should' be done to make a meal and evening one not to forget. This girl CAN COOK!!, and with Neil's hospitality, and both of their hard work, they deserve the ongoing success in running this little definate return!

Sandra Hauraki - 7th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Hotel Stay
Excellent hotel, food superb, owned by a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome.Our stay here rounded off the celebrations for my wifes birthday and a bonus is the quaint village pub across the road.Would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Mr. David Peel - 28th May, 2012
Verified Review

A Fantastic Corner Of The World
Sadly my stay at the Belfry was too short! A most warm welcome and everything considered for a very luxurious stay. Fantastic breakfast - having read the fabulous comments of other guests I will most definitely return to enjoy some wonderful food and further stay with Neil and Sarah-Jane when next in the area.

Mr. Scott Edwards - 25th May, 2012
Verified Review

Very Nice Stay.
Neil & Sarah-Jane work exceptionally hard to ensure their guests' comfort. The dinner was excellent.

Chris Doyle - 15th May, 2012
Verified Review

Review Of Both Food And Sleep
The food served in the dining room both for dinner and at breakfast is divine. All comforts are catered for in the bedroom.

Mrs. Cecilia Morrison - 14th May, 2012
Verified Review

One Night Break
Good welcome and much appreciated tray of tea, coffee and lemon cake on arrival. Room clean with thoughtful extras eg. sweets, dressing gowns, small but room for comfortsable sofa. Very good breakfast.

Mr. Michael Badcock - 9th May, 2012
Verified Review

Just What I Needed
Many thanks to the hosts at the Belfry Yarcombe for a very comfortable stay, it was exactly the environment i needed after traveling down from the midlands for an evening meeting in Honiton. A very comfortable bed and a brilliant breakfast to kick start mu morningt. Many thanks

Mrs. Helen Brookes - 3rd May, 2012
Verified Review

Home-from-home
We stayed for just one night at The Belfry and can't recommend it highly enough. The welcome was instantly friendly and warm. Tea and cake appeared within minutes. Our room was very well provisioned indeed, thoughtfully equipped, comfortable and clean. The dinner we had was absolutely excellent, a splendid menu from which to choose, beautifully cooked and presented. Breakfast next morning was, again, excellent. A delightful place to stay, greatly relaxing for us and memorable. Thank you.
Dr B. R. & Dr R.M. Hazel

Ruth Hazel - 2nd May, 2012
Verified Review

April Getaway
We had a really good stay at ate Belfry. Everything we needed was provided - no need to ask for anything. Breakfast was great and of the best quality. The evening meal we ate on one of the evenings we stayed was thoroughly enjoyable and of a high standard. The pub over the raps is also really friendly.

Mr. Richard Moody - 30th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

A Great Short Break
We decided on a short break in Devon and luckily found this beautiful small hotel on the internet. Lots of unusual touches helped to make our stay memorable. The welcoming and hard-working owners produced excellent breakfasts and we were very sorry not to have been able to sample their evening meals. A lovely location with superb views made sure we had a great break despite the weather!

Mr. Alan Nicholls - 19th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Warm Welcome In The Hillside
Just back from a delightful weekend at The Belfry. It's a charming hotel in a wonderful position in the Blackdown Hills. We had a very warm welcome from Neil with tea and homemade cake but had to leave room for Sarah Jane's excellent evening meal - her cooking is to die for! Our room was clean and comfortable with lovely views. A lovely place to stay.

Mrs. Diana Hollingsworth - 18th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

A Little Gem
This little boutique hotel is a great little find. We had booked 3 bedrooms and each had real character with beautiful period features including lovely decoration and fantastic comfy beds.

Breakfast was truly superb seated in a lovely homely dining area. Above all the couple that own and run the hotel were charming and attentive - highly recommended.

Mr. Steven Higgins - 9th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
Neil & Sarah-Jane were very nice people, we were met by Neil and offered tea / coffee & cake before being shown to our room. Unfortunately it was not the one we booked due to a burst pipe in the bathroom. The room we were given (Keats) was very nice with lived up to the description. As it was a Tuesday the restaurant was closed (which we knew before booking) so we ate in the pub, The Yarcombe Arms, immediately opposite. While the pub is quaint and rustic, the food was excellent and extremely good value for money. Many option for breakfast but we opted for the traditional hot English which was very tasty and well cooked by Sarah-Jane. All in all a great place and one we will stay in again when in the area.

Michael Stevenson - 1st Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect
Have stayed here several times for work, lovely clean rooms with lots of little nice touchs. Amazing comfy beds that make me not want to get up.

Mr. Stephen Godfrey - 31st Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Great Hotel !!!!!!
Great Hotel, Sarah will sorth out the Wireless, then will be perfect.
Great Breakfast, and Service
Thanks you so much great stay, will come back and stay if in the area

Mr. David Payne - 29th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

The Belfry
I had a most pleasant stay at the Belfry - Sarah-Jane and Neil are excellent hosts and deserve recognition for the personable service that they offer.

Mike Cook - 26th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Always Lovely To Stay Here...
This is my second visit to the Belfry only this time we arrived on a Sunday evening to be welcomed by homemade cake and a very welcome pot of tea! Lovely to see Neil again, who tucked us up in the lounge with our treat and the remote control for the telly ;-) Rooms great, spacious and with very comfy beds. Breakfast the usual high quality fare...

Miss. Sarah Faulkner - 20th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Don't Hesitate
Not only does the couple who own it make you feel like you are special, for a B&B it almost feels like a very well organised hotel. All is very clean, the room we had is lovely decorated. They just have that extra "something" that makes you feel like you are very welcome. Excellent breakfast as well. Some B&Bs can be dodgy, this one isn't.

Alan Stead - 19th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Stayed before will stay AGain, lovely location, very warm welcome, breakfast is The best I have had.

Mr. James Porter - 15th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Gem Of A B&b
We stayed here for a couple of nights in March. Our second stay at the Belfry in the last few years didn't disappoint. Neil and Sarah-Jane are fantastic hosts whose attention to detail make your stay that bit special. The Coleridge room is beautiful. Sarah-Jane is an amazing chef so make sure you eat at their restaurant during your stay.

Mrs. Hazel Clark - 13th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

The Belfry
we had a lovely couple of days at the belfry, lovely room and wonderful breakfasts. everything you could think of in our room from tea/coffee to shampoo etc, wonderful location and super view over the valley. thank you margaret and pete. plymouth

Mrs. Margaret Francis - 27th Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Belfy - Delightful
The Belfy was clean and very welcoming. The food was wonderful and such a delight to get a lovely gluten-free breakfast. Helpful staff. would definitely recommend the Belfy.

Mrs. May Brown - 11th Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Just Lovely...
What a lovely B&B - fab beds, toiletries and the breakfast was just amazing. Wonderful spot, quiet and picturesque. Just about to book a return visit!

Miss. Sarah Faulkner - 9th Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Welcoming And Relaxing
We decided to take an overnight stay with dinner, as a birthday treat for my wife and it was an excellent idea.

Very warm welcome; extremely good food - portions VERY generous; lovely room with the most comfortable bed; great breakfast.

This establishment is small, but packed full of quality. We will definitely be visiting again.

Mr. Mike Toop - 24th Jan, 2012
Verified Review

Charming
Lovely little hotel with great food. Excellent customer service and a real retreat from the rat race.

Miss. Leah Swarbrick - 19th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent Quality
We had a lovely time.
It was very welcoming.
The food was good.
The room was good.
The pub opposite was good.
The local countryside was good.

Mr. James Steeds - 15th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

Great Little B&b
We had a really lovely stay at the Belfry. Very warm welcome from the owners with a tray of tea and coffee and selection of homemade cake that was delicious served in lounge. Rooms very nice, clean and comfy after good night sleep served a delicious breakfast, would definitely recommend and would come back really lovely stay.

Mrs. Clare Ewing - 14th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Many Happy Returns !
First visited 36 years ago and on our third visit to the Belfry. The current owners have maintained the high standards and tradition of the hotel for fine food and excellent accomodation. The showers have even improved and glad to say the beds have grown along with us ! Keep up the good work.

Dr. James Robertson - 13th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Pot Of Gold
Fantastic stay, superb hosts, incredible food and comfy beds- what a find !

Mrs. Lynn Youé - 5th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you so much fo your kind review - they always help fuel more bookings which go towards our continual reinvestment into The Belfry so a huge Thank you!

Excellent As Usual : - )
We recently stayed again in the Tennyson Room at The Belfry & everything was excellent as usual with a lovely comfortable room & great breakfast. We also had a 3 course Evening Meal with super food including perfect steaks. Sarah-Jane & Neil were excellent hosts & of course we will be returning plus thank you again XXX ps/ Great location too as Yarcombe in Devon is just off the A303

Mr. Brian Wilson - 4th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Although I had seen pictures of the hotel on the internet nothing could match the splendour and magnificence of actually being here. This was matched by the welcome from Sarah-Jane and Neil where nothing is too much trouble. They are rightly proud of what they have created and the breakfast that is provided in the morning is superb and sets you up for the day. Comfortable rooms and attention to detail made this a wonderful break and I would recommend this to all my friends without hesitation

Mr. Kevin Jones - 3rd Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Delightful
We had an absolutely delightful stay at The Belfry from the minute we arrived. Our room was beautiful and the bed super comfy, the evening meal was delicious and breakfast lovely too. We will definitely return next time we're down this way.

Mrs. Angela Ward - 24th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Highly Recommended
Friendly welcome. Clean comfortable rooms. Excellent food cooked personally by Sarah Jane. Neil and sarah Jane really care about their customers.

Mr. Des Barry - 19th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

A Gem Of A Find!
This was a very fortunate find when travelling on business to an unfamiliar part of the country. The room was beautifully decorated and the accommodation in general was welcoming and very well looked after. Wonderful, friendly service and I was especially impressed with the fantastic breakfast choice for a gluten-free diet!

Ms. Elizabeth Fowkes - 7th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Faultless - As Usual
Returned for our 3rd stay on 19th August - managed to book the Coleridge room at last!
Sarah-Jane and Neil are perfect hosts at this wonderful little hotel and the whole restaurant experience is second to none. We will be back

Mr. Peter Miles - 26th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Top Marks
Five Star accomodation, Neil and Sarah-Jane are warm, friendly and very helpful we have now stayed with them twice and will certainly be staying again in the future

Mrs. Jackie Holdsworth - 23rd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Our Stay
I would like to thank you for the very warm & friendly welcome and I wish we could have stayed for a little bit longer. Hope to be back soon.

Mr. Eero Joe - 23rd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

B&b Visit
Extremely comfortable even though our room was small, and clearly a good deal of thought had gone into providing us with everything we might need. I imagine it might be a chilly room in the winter as the extremely pretty old stained glass window was slightly damaged. Nice to have decent shampoo/bath stuff provided instead of usual cheap horrors. Delicious home made ginger cake upon arrival at teatime and especially nice bacon for breakfast. We had booked in for B&B as we were going to a party nearby but v tempting smells came from the kitchen so I imagine supper would have been worth trying. Very friendly and a very nice B&B.

Mrs. Marguerita Hoffnung - 15th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Thanks A Lot
Lovely village. Perfect accomodation in the Belfry. warm and very helpfull reception. Though our short stay we keep a very good souvenir. Thanks a lot!

Mr. Michiels Jean-paul - 9th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

A Night At The Belfry
we had a great stay with you and thoroughly enjoyed the room ,the breakfast and your hospitality.We would certainly come again.Thank you.

Mr. ALAN WHITLEY - 8th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
We are Germans and stayed at the BELFRY for 3 nights. It was a recommendation from other friends of us and we can say: it was absolutly wonderful! We used that place as a base for exploring South Devon and found a very friendly owners couple, who made us a really warm welcome. Our room was nice and special with this colourful window in the old school house. All was handsome and convenient or also special with this wonderful l'Occitane products in the bathroom.
As an additional wonderful surprise we enjoyed very much the two dinners made by Sarah-Jane in a perfect way. Absolutly worth to try!!!
Best wishes from Germany from
Ulrike & Charly

Dr. Karl Günter Bauer - 31st Jul, 2011
Verified Review

A Short But Sweet Stay
A Lovely village and a lovely place to stay.
Clean,light and very comfortable.
The welcome was warm and the breakfast very tasty.

Mr. Andrew Bestley - 15th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Wordsworth
Had a good night's sleep. The bed was comfortable, nice touches such as fresh milk for the coffee/tea and juice available, and biscuits. The Belfry full breakfast was superb.

Mrs. Lorraine Nottley - 30th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Very nice stay and excellent food

Mr. Gerard Piket - 27th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Great Attention To Detail
Had a really relaxing overnighter at the Belfry, and a lovely breakfast - will go back to enjoy dinner there as well when we can! The bed was really comfortable, our welcome was warm and helpful, and those little details (real coffee in the room! Good fair trade tea! L'Occitane toiletries) made it really special. Thanks!

Susan Eley - 7th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Our Stay
Accomodation was as described. Disappointed not to be able to get a meal on the evening of our arrival, not sure why you would need to give 24 hours notice for a meal for two in a restaurant based in a hotel.

Miss. Catriona Johnson - 6th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
We had three nights at the Belfry and had a wonderful time. We were made to feel welcome.
The room was clean and the breakfast's were the best we have had in any B&B. We will recommend the Belfry to our friends.

Mr. STEPHEN SMITH - 4th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

An Enjoyable Stay
Stayed one night only, and found the Belfry to be very comfortable and good food. Owners are very welcoming. Have a drink before or after dinner at the commuity run Yarcombe Inn just across the road - equally warm and friendly!

Mr. Roger Mills - 30th May, 2011
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
We had a great room, had everything you could want in it. The hospitality was fantastic, lemon cake and coffee on arrival and a wonderful breakfast. Pub accross the road great for food as well

Mrs. Elaine Hamilton - 22nd May, 2011
Verified Review

Hidden Gem
LOVELY 2 NIGHT STAY, WITH ADDED TOUCHES. FABULOUS FOOD GREAT FOR MY GLUTEN/DAIRY FREE DIET. COLERIDGE LOVELY ROOM WITH A VIEW OVERLOOKING THE VALLEY BELOW. HOPE TO VISIT AGAIN IN THE FUTURE.

Mr. James Hiill - 19th May, 2011
Verified Review

A Lovely Secret In A Beautiful Location
The Belfry has always given a me what I have always wanted. Quiet, top class service and a view to relax with. From a business point of it is in a great location when traveling across the South west of England with good WiFi access to work with. Rooms are of a high standard and very clean. The food is excellent and the breakfast second to none. The hosts have always been welcoming and make the Belfry what it is. I would and do recommend this place to all. I make it my hotel of choice in this area. Wish I could find others of the same standard and price in other areas.

Mr. Tim Corbett - 18th May, 2011
Verified Review

The Belfry@yarcombe
We had a very warm welcome, our room was very clean and well equiped.T he bed was ultra comfortable, we both had a good nights sleep.
As usual a superb evening meal, we always feel relaxed and ready to resume our journey.Thank-you both again Sarah and Neil
We will see you both in the near future,take care. Best Wishes Nadeen &Peter.

Ms. Nadeen Kriszyk - 16th May, 2011
Verified Review

'ding Dong'
Comfortable rooms - however the best experience of the stay was the food. Bothe evening meal and breakfasts were great. The convenience of the oomunity Pub across the road allows you also to have the capability of getting out without needing the car

Mr. Philip Cooper - 14th May, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay At The Belfry
Thanks again for a wonderful stay, always so friendly and relaxing, one of our favourite places! Looking forward to the next time!

Mrs. Chrissie Ayton - 12th May, 2011
Verified Review

Brilliant Beds!
well, that's what stands out especially. Stayed in a good sized room, usual bathroom without window and odd shower, but bedroom was great size and arch window, and that sumptious, warm, delightful bed.

Dr. David Pao - 8th May, 2011
Verified Review