Great Stay , Highly Recommend
Great stay .
Very welcome stay .The room was beautiful .
I would point out that the fridge was noisy so we had to unplug it ...but the room was lovely .
The breakfast was amazing and we would highly recommend it.

Miss. Donna Harris - 20th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Birthday Treat
I booked the West use Lighthouse as a surprise birthday present for my husband. It was an excellent choice, a quiet coastal spot but only a short distance from Cardiff and Newport, and lovely walks in the hills. our (Sleigh) room was spacious and comfortable, and sitting in the rooftop hot tub with the sea breeze in our hair was very relaxing. Tasty local produce for breakfast, and plenty of good restaurants nearby for dinner.I had no idea there was so much to do in South Wales, and we certainly hope to return.

Mrs. Judy Kane - 20th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Brilliant Stay
We had a wonderful stay at this place. The owner/host was wonderful. The kids loved it, the adults loved it. Our breakfast was \'bespoke\'. Totally unique experience. A special place.

Mr. Ben Kaplinsky - 6th Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Very Pleasant
We had a very pleasant stay at the Lighthouse. Owner was very friendly and made great breakfasts as well as being helpful in any way he could. Room was cosy, rustic, and very much what we expected. Very unique experience.

Mr. John Irving - 6th Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Great Lighthouse Experiance
Great location, very friendly proprietor, big breakfast. Add to this the real lighthouse feeling and character of the place and it\'s a great way to spend a night of two. The room we had was the biggest one, and it was really nice, I can imagine some of the others to be a bit more cramped - but it\'s a lighthouse! Not cheap - but you don\'t find one of these in most counties let alone towns.

Mr. James Sim - 4th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay In November 2016
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Lighthouse. We wanted something unique and that\'s exactly what we got. The breakfast was excellent quality food, superbly cooked. The host was friendly, welcoming and a very open and kind gentleman. The hot tub, tardis and darlek were added fun. Would defiantly recommend to others.

Mrs. Emma Littley - 17th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

One Night Stay On 3 November 2016
Unique and quirky accommodation. Lovely place to stay off the beaten track and with lovely views. Frank the owner is very pleasant and makes you feel so welcome. He does the best cooked breakfast. The private road to the Lighthouse could do with some work but it is very long so would probably cost a fortune. The Lighthouse itself could do with a little TLC but overall it is different, cosy and it did give us a most enjoyable stay. I would certainly recommend it to others.

Mr. GARETH JONES - 11th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Best Weekend Ever!
Excellent in every way.

Mr. Colin Thatcher - 7th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Like A Dream
Sleeping in a lighthouse: it was a dream that I\'ve had since many years.
Thanks to my wife, finally in those days this dream became reality.
And thanks at Frank, the owner, our short break in Wales was very nice, in a gorgeous scenary!
Hope to return as soon as possible!
Moreno & Antonella

Mr. Invernizzi Moreno - 6th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Weekend Break From Oxford
We had a great stay at the lighthouse. Frank was a superb host and made us very welcome, he also cooks up a mean full monty breakfast!
The lighthouse has bags of character and we\'all remember the hot tub sunset for years to come. We had a lovely trip to the Brecon becons on one day of our stay and Frank recommended a nice pub on our first evening. I\'m struggling to think of any negatives but if there was one: the electric shower in our room left something to be desired but this is easily forgiven.

Mr. andrew lewis - 5th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Recent Stay
The second time we have stayed at West Usk Lighthouse and it was FAB! A glorious setting, interesting room with a host of artefacts... Frank is the most welcoming host, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was fantastic. Throw in a good nights sleep, lovely morning walk with t he resident dog, Archie and I have to say it is one of the best!! Well be back! Thanks you.

Mr. Mike Hughes - 31st Oct, 2016
Verified Review

A Hidden Gem
My daughter and I had the most amazing time. A unique, quirky picturesque venue but with all the home comforts. The hosts make you feel so welcome, and nothing is too much trouble and an great breakfast awaits you in the morning. A special thank you has to go to Archie, the lighthouse dog, for making my daughters stay even more special. Thank you all, we will most definitely be back.

Mrs. Anita Smith - 26th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Super Stay!
Frank\'s hospitality made the weekend. Love how this quirky b&b is not a boutique hotel but rustic and just good fun. Hot tub, hearty breakfasts and comfy beds all welcome.

Mrs. Sarah Culley - 18th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

An Amazing Stay
Had an amazing stay, views were magnificent and was made to feel at home. Friendly atmosphere with a home from home feel.
Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended and will definitely be visiting again.
Views from the cabin room were amazing, with the chance to explore the lighthouse.

Miss. Lauren Smith - 15th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful!
Beautiful place! Our room was amazing. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Can\'t wait to visit again!

Mrs. Clare Wadeson - 3rd Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful Hidden Gem
We stayed a weekend and it felt like we\'ve been off for much longer.
Bit tricky to find but once we did we were left completely fascinated. We had a very warm welcome by Archie(dog) and Frank. The whole place is quirky and invites to explore the lighthouse with its amazing views. Our room had the most amazing views and was lovely decorated.
Frank recommended a lovely pub for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and very tasty with a great choice of cereals and cooked breakfast.
Location is great for all sorts of activities...walking, hiking, city sightseeing, shopping, cinema... something for everybody.
Thank you for such a wonderful weekend... and my love with lighthouses continues.

Miss. Peggy Sipeer - 27th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

The Stay Of All Stays
Randomly brilliant, this Light House stay was full of magic and surprises. We stayed in the Cabin, the smallest room, but we reckon secretly the best room for its views and cosiness... with a hot tub up top and a breakfast to die for down south along with panoramic surrounding in this Welsh village We would highly recommend.

Mr. Jeremy Hinds - 26th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

A Unique Experience
I loved this place partly because its a wonderful building with a great host, (and child friendly dog), but also because of the joy of seeing my daughter so excited at having the unique experience of staying in a lighthouse.

Mr. Matthew Scrivener - 30th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Quaint And Qurky!
We loved our stay at the lighthouse. It\'s a lovely drive down the gravel lane leading to the lighthouse where she sits beautifully on the shore. We stayed in the cabin room and as described it is small but has a beautiful sea view. We didn\'t want to leave in the evening as it was such a great relaxing location so we had a picnic on the upper deck and stayed to watch the sunset with a bottle of wine. Frank was fantastic and very welcoming and Archie the Border Collie won our hearts. Thank you for a special stay.

Mrs. Donna Tasker - 27th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
After completing the Pembrokeshire Coast Path we selected this place as a reward and a reward it was. The room was perfect, the breakfast exceptional but the mood in the lighthouse is something one has to see and feel for himself

Mr. Alexander Theiss - 26th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous Stay At The West Usk Lighthouse
What a GEM the West Usk Lighthouse is. Great quirky rooms (we stayed in the Cabin Room) with super Estuary views. Magical place to look around and stay in........West Usk Lighthouse is a wonderful B & B to stay in. The best and biggest breakfast as well. Thanks Frank, Lovely to visit.
Recommended to everyone.

Mr. Donald Wallington - 25th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Anniversary Break
Stayed for our 10th wedding Anniversary, 18th Aug, we stayed in room with waterbed. The lighthouse is such a lovely unique place to stay, the rooms are very well decorated and cosy, the whole lighthouse has a maritime memorabilia feel to it. We used the hot tub on the top deck and ordered champagne in our room which was a lovely touch. The views are fantastic, the breakfast was lovely and Frank, the owner a lovely friendly host, we will most certainly be returning, thank you Frank for a lovely stay at your amazing lighthouse xx

Mrs. amanda holland - 23rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

A Little Piece Of Heaven 💖
West Usk lighthouse has captured my heart! Truly a little piece of heaven - you can\'t fail to fall in love! Fabulous hosting from Frank and the quirky beauty of the lighthouse from the entrance to the rooms and the tardis and hot tub on the roof - what\'s not to love! Already planning my return visit!
100% recommend! X

Ms. Jen Mayes - 22nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Just What We Needed
My wife and i felt very welcome the moment we were greated at the door. The lighthouse is lovely and as expected in a very peaceful and quiet place. The beds were very comfortable and i had the best nights sleep I\'ve had in ages. It\'s a good place to meet some nice people as it is quite small again as expected, we met and spoke with a lovely American family over a hearty breakfast which was really nice. Will be going back again.

Mr. Robin Walker - 17th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Thanks Again!
We stayed here 24 years ago on our honeymoon and came back again this week, shouldn\'t have left it so long! It was as gorgeous as we remembered it and this time with a hot tub with amazing views. We didn\'t bother eating out, I didn\'t want to leave the place! So we just bought a nice picnic and ate it on a walk nearby, then spent the evening in the hot tub - just gorgeous! Thankyou so much again and we will hope to be back more often! Great breakfasts by the way, you won\'t need lunch!

Ms. wendy daniels - 11th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

The Sanctuary- Escaping The Pressures Of The Modern Day World!
My husband and I first came here for our mini-moon last August and quickly decided we wanted to return for our anniversary. Staying at West Usk is pure bliss. It is a haven, escaping the pressures and stress of the world. It is naturally stunning, gazing out to sea from the hot tub.Frank brings hospitality to a whole new level and delivers a hearty breakfast! Just perfection on every level, you must visit and we must visit again!

Mrs. Becky Davies - 8th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

21st Birthday Party At The West Usk Lighthouse
Booked all 4 rooms for a weekend break with family and friends for my daughters 21st Birthday. Not the normal B@B experience , it was much, much nicer.
Great location, comfy beds, welcoming hosts, Frank does the best breakfasts. Lots to do nearby in Cardiff or in the local area.
Made lots of use of the jacuzi and the roof top area. Will be going back.

Mr. Karl Asplin - 8th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Recommend This Special Location
Great seaview from our bed. Nice conversation during the delicious breakfast. Love your friendly dog and we would like to have your wooden call box ;-)

Mrs. Christine Henkel - 31st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Atmospheric Retreat With A Hearty Breakfast!
Three generations of family were captivated by this unique experience. The top of the lighthouse was a glorious place to watch the sunset. Hearty breakfasts and warm welcome only added to the experience.

Mrs. Hannah Gilbert - 28th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Peacefully Excellent
A one off experience to stop in a quirky first class b and b. The view from the light dome is amazing.First class breakfast and you get to meet the resident dog-just love it.

Mr. Clifford Roberts - 26th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Stunningly Quirky
Absolutely stunning, quirky place to stay. Watching the sun set in the hot tub with a glass of wine was amazing. Frank the owner can\'t do enough for you and his breakfasts are amazing. Would definitely recommend.

Mr. gareth carman - 25th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Brilliant Weekend
This was a birthday surprise for my wife. We stayed in the Principle Keepers room which has a waterbed and panoramic views of the Bristol Channel. We had a brilliant weekend in this lovely lighthouse, which has a unique charm and ambience. Used the hot tub while taking in the views. The hospitality of the owner, Frank, was second to none, making our stay just perfect. A final mention to Archie the dog who was a softee.

Mr. martyn baker - 19th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

As Great As The First Time!
This was our second visit to the lighthouse, our first coming some 7 years earlier. We cherish the location and I can say that it was as memorable as the first time. The hot tub, the peaceful surroundings and above all the hospitality of the host, Frank, who was clearly born to run the lighthouse.

Mustn\'t leave it another 7 years to stay there again!

Chris and Jo

Mr. Chris Backwith - 18th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect Day
stayed several times before and will return again! lovely place to stay and a fantastic breakfast!! we look forward to seeing Archie(the Dog) again!

Mr. Patrick Gough - 20th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Stay In A Beautiful Setting
The lighthouse looks amazing as you drive up & we were greeted in a friendly & welcoming way. The room was lovely & we had a great view over the estuary.

The hot tub is worth a go as you can see the tide coming in & out and its lovely & hot!!

The views from the top of the lighthouse are breathtaking

Mr. Steve Gray - 13th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Amazing!
Seriously this was the best weekend we have had away in ages! Really peaceful, beautiful surroundings and a stunning building. The room was lovely and Frank was the most welcoming and friendly host. He also cooks a mean breakfast to get you set up for the day. Loved it!

Miss. Steph Young - 13th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Quirky & Fabulous!
Had a great weekend! Frank is a great host and Archie (the dog) is a great walking companion. The room - the water bed- was very comfortable & had a great view. Breakfast was a good choice & freshly cooked.
Would definitely recommend, it was fabulous!

Ms. Maria Wilson - 31st May, 2016
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
fantastic accomodation great location.

Mrs. Diane Hill - 23rd May, 2016
Verified Review

Amazing
We had a wonderful stay. It is a very very relaxing place with amazing views and great hospitality. We will being returning in the future. Frank\'s breakfast are top notch

Mrs. Anna Freeman-Clarke - 1st May, 2016
Verified Review

Outstanding
Perfect easter weekend. Frank the owner was very informative . The whole place just brings a smile to your face. The kids loved Archie the dog , even took it for a 2hr walk on the Sunday . Breakfast was perfect . Thankyou

Mr. Jason Taylor - 29th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Brilliant Weekend In A Lovely Place
We stayed at The Lighthouse recently and found it to be warm, comfortable and homely. We booked all four bedrooms for Andrew’s 60th Birthday and had a really lovely weekend.
Frank was welcoming, friendly and really helpful. He makes a fantastic breakfast! Archie his dog was a total delight and we enjoyed taking him out during our walks along the coast.
We had a laugh trying out the hot tub and all the bedrooms were fully of character and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend this B &B and would happily go again.

Ms. Audrey Wright - 21st Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Unique Experience!
We have had a fantastic weekend at the West Usk lighthouse, unique and quirky accomodation, amazing location and Frank is very entertaining and knowledgable host, as well as an excellent breakfast chef. Our fellow guests were charming and we were very glad that we braved the hot tub.

Mrs. Nicki Finan - 21st Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful Place
What a wonderful night we spent here. Planned to go out for dinner but enjoyed the hot tub and water bed so much we brought a picnic back to the room. Owner is a lovely guy and breakfast was sumptuous.

Mr. Kelvin Skyrme - 11th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Something Different
Excellent weekend, very quirky, something different, we were made very welcome.
Frank your breakfast was brilliant, will definitely return in future.

Mrs. Pam Child - 26th Feb, 2016
Verified Review

Valentine\'s Day
Wonderful romantic relaxing time. You must not forget to use the hot tub

Mr. ANDREW HURRELL - 16th Feb, 2016
Verified Review

50th Birthday Stay
I booked this for my husbands 50th on the sly, he had no idea. The hot tub sold it for me plus and wanted to try out the water bed. We arrived but not before making the mistake of turning into Green lane. DO NOT follow sat nav into Green Lane, but travel a few hundred yards and you see a small sign on the right hand side of road pointing to a private road.
On arrival we were greeted by the manager who looks after the place if they\'re out. I\'m sorry, I forget his name! Super helpful hiding a bottle of Champagne in another rooms fridge for later. We were booked in for massages on arrival by June who is an astonishing 86yrs old!! June knows her stuff but if you want a real good Swedish or anything quite firm, June is more towards the Aromatherapy side as she\'s not got the strength to put her back into it but she was very good at my aromatherapy massage but I felt at £45 a pop it was a bit steep for a back neck and shoulders only. We were shown to the room prior to massages. The room was beautiful,bathroom nice and modern as is the bedroom but very nautical feel to it as to be expected.For ladies using hair care GHDs etc the sockets are right next to the mirror.The bed was so comfy, I slept like a log,which really surprised me as I am ultra fussy on my bed comfort. The pillows/quilt were so snuggly, the duvet was a Dorma, which was why I felt so comfortable!
The view from that room was amazing, totally peaceful, no noise, nothing, place to ourselves!
I went on a walk about and took tons of photos around the place, I even crept up the winding staircase to the very top inside. After we;d been to the local pub we spent 2 hours in the hot tub35c, heaven, raining but who cares. amazing...HUGE FRESH brekky next day. You will not be disappointed. Frank the owner was very helpful. His wife never appeared at all or said hello as she left on the Mon morning. If you want quirky, unusual with solitude, this is it. DO NOT expect a luxury hotel,it is a lighthouse!DO GO!

Mrs. Tracy Peart - 16th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous Weekend
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Lighthouse. From the warm greeting from Frank, to the delightfully unique bedroom, hearty breakfast and the lovely walk with Archie ( great dog ). We hope to go back soon.

Mr. Kenneth Smith - 14th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Delightful Stay
One of the most \'quirkiest\' places we\'ve had the pleasure to stay in. Most enjoyable two night stay - cosy and comfortable and great breakfasts. Could be better signposted though we overshot the entrance several times as did the taxi we had one evening! Great and fun place to stay thoroughly recommend it.

Mr. Brian Britten - 12th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Quirky, Friendly B&b
If you are looking for something a bit different, then this is for you. Totally quirky and extremely friendly. Amazing full English breakfast cooked to order every morning. The waterbed is awesome and the view is great too. You can get a taxi there from Newport station for about £10 to £12

Ms. Thea Turner - 5th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Delightfully Charming
What a lovely place, great views, comfy bed and fantastic breakfast. Coupled with friendly hosts (Frank and Archie, the dog), West Usk Lighthouse was the perfect location for a weekend birthday treat. Y Maerun (the pub a short drive down the road) served great food and we rounded off the evening with Champagne in the hot tub! I would wholeheartedly recommend staying here, perfect for the romantic in all of us,

Miss. REBECCA SKINNER - 7th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
An amazing place to stay. Warm, cosy, with fantastic views. The hot tub was an added bonus which we relaxed in. Lovely large breakfast set us up for the day and the owner Frank recommended things to do in the area when we asked him. So we had a great 2 night stay

Mrs. Sandra Nikandrou - 30th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Absolutely Fabulous
This place is gorgeous.Totally out of the way of the Urban hubbub.Beautiful views,fresh air and superb hospitality from the owners.Bet night\'s sleep in a seriously comfortable bed and room. They went out of their way to provide us with favourite breakfast items and I had the biggest breakfast ever known to mortal man. I have already rebooked for a longer stay next year. Fabulous.

Mr. Antony Skiller - 27th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect!
Wonderful rooms, beautiful view, and very friendly and helpful host. He is also willing and able to modify breakfast so that it is suitable for vegans. I would definitely return here if I ever went to Newport again. Nearest bus stop is 30-40 minutes walking, so I would recommend taking the bike or car here.

Mr. Benjamin Holmgren - 25th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Great Views And Friendly Host
We had a great stay at the West Usk Lighthouse. The views, hospitality, setting and the hot tub were great. Have already recommended to friends and family.

Mr. Owain Thomas - 24th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
Thank you for a wonderful stay in your lighthouse, a unique place to stay, the breakfast was delicious.

Mrs. Lynn Matthews - 19th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Exellent Quirky Stay!
We wanted a lighthouse experience and boy did we get it here! Such a different style to most lighthouses and fantastic views across the channel. So much history has been kept through the renovations - superb short break.

Mrs. Victoria Inman - 4th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Absolutely Wonderful Weekend
Stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary, which we spent on the roof in the hot tub! What could be better? Frank was wonderful host and very helpful, and when Archie the dog jumped in the car when we left we nearly took him home, he\'s such a character!

Mrs. Peta Reynolds - 4th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

What A Lovely Lovely Place
this is one of the loveliest, quirkiest, welcoming places I\'ve ever been. What a great idea to have one big breakfast table and introduce the guest to one another, we had such a laugh. thank you! best place to spend our 1st wedding anniversary.

Mrs. Maria Nettleship - 1st Jul, 2015
Verified Review

Evening With The Doctor
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lighthouse. Marvellous building, beautiful room and comfortable bed as well as an excellent breakfast.
We were looking for something special and were definitely not dissappointed.

Mr. Oliver Niclaus - 15th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Wonderful Silver Wedding Anniversary
This was a surprise anniversary present from my parents to us.It was an amazing place,we had a fab 2days.Franks hospitality was great and his breakfasts was the best we\'ve ever had .The hot tub was the icing on the cake .We would thoroughly recomend this place for peace and tranquility ,its heaven.

Mr. Janet Beard - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Quirky & Memorable, A Must Stay!
WOW! Talk about \"I can see the lighthouse!\" You\'re made to feel so welcome at this oh-so-special little place! Frank, the owner, is the perfect host (makes a breakfast to die for!), he\'s super friendly, a genuinely lovely man & full of information about the history of the lighthouse & places to eat & visit in the surrounding area. The accommodation here is wonderful, it\'s quirky with lots of special details that you simply won\'t find anywhere else... (ie, Daleks in the main foyer/Tardis, Hot Tub, BBQ & Bar Seating Area on the roof terrace/handy collection of DVDs to snuggle up with at night!); We had fantastic views of the Severn Estuary from our room & also the Lantern Room at the very top of this historic gem! West Usk lighthouse has been lovingly restored by Frank & he makes it a pleasure to stay here & share his labour of love. Will be back in the summer months to take full advantage of that fabulous barbie! Highly recommended! Thanks so much for a memorable stay!

Ms. Tracey Rea - 12th May, 2015
Verified Review

The West Usk Lighthouse Newport
The owner Frank definitely is the man for the job, nothing was too much trouble and with a genuine smile every time. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and the rooms all unique. If you are looking for perfection with the welcome and unique B&B then you have found it, however if you are looking for a pristine building with all mod cons, then remember it is a lighthouse and very old building with wear and tear signs throughout. That said, as a group, we found that it added to the character of the place. The hot tub on the roof is exactly what the doctor ordered.
Would go again.

Mrs. Linda Kerr-jones - 4th May, 2015
Verified Review

Peace And Relaxation
Having stayed at this Lighthouse, I thought it was amazing. So peaceful and quiet with only the birds to hear. Totaly relaxful and enjoyed every minute of it. Due to the late book-in time and early book-out, my only thought that like us if you only had one day , it wasnt too long a stay. I appreciate it is a B&B and you are supposed to go out and about but who would want to leave such a lovely and quirky place. Loved every minute of it, with great hospitality from Frank the owner.

Mrs. Wendy Beveridge - 28th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Overnight Stay At West Usk Lighthouse
We stayed over night in April in the room with the water bed, the room had great views, frank the owner made us very welcome. Fantastic experience, very unique, yes you could stay in a posh hotel for the same price, but you are contributing to the up keep of a grand old building, long may it continue

Mrs. Lynne Gwatkin - 28th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic Weekend
Had a lovely relaxing weekend. The setting is wonderful and Frank goes out of his way to make you so welcome. The family round the table feel to breakfasts is refreshing and enables guests to interract with each other whilst listening to Franks wonderful expiriences of life in the lighthouse. If you eat out for evening dinner we would recommend Junction 28 lovely restaurant 10 min drive away.

Mr. Mark Perry - 27th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Looking For Somewhere Different To Stay - You Won\'t Be Disappointed!
Took family here to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday - what a great place to stay! We loved the cabin room which had fantastic views from the raised bed where we saw the most magnificent sunrise. Frank was a brilliant host and makes an excellent breakfast. We can\'t wait to come back. Thank you Frank!

Mrs. Jill Whewell - 19th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay At West Usk Lighthouse
We really enjoyed our stay for 2 nights over Easter weekend. Frank the owener is a lovely guy, frienddly and helpful with suggestions as to places to visit during our visit. The lighthouse is well tucked away down a bumpy lane - and we enjoyed the peace and quiet, as well as a wonderful full cooked breakfast served at a very reasonable hour in the morning!. We booked nearby restaurants and cabs before our trip, as we weren\'t sure if we would have mobile reception. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here if you fancy something different.

Mrs. Cath Butler - 15th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
We were made very welcome from the start of our stay. Frank was eager to tell us all the history of the lighthouse which we found fascinating. He gave us the choice of 3 rooms, something I have never had before. Excellent holiday. Would love to return in the summer for a longer stay.

Mrs. Patricia Collins - 4th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Honeymoon Bliss!
The stay at West Usk Lighthouse was a present for my Husband for our Honeymoon.It was fabulous and quirky! As soon as you went through the front door you were greeted with a lovely smell of incense.It had a lovely homely feel.We had the cabin room which overlooked the estuary.It was so peaceful with an abundance of different birds and some wildlife.Frank the owner made us feel so welcome and his cooked breakfast was amazing! We would definately stay again!

Ms. Sarah Saunders - 27th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

The West Usk Lighthouse
We have just spent the weekend at the West Usk Lighthouse and have fallen in love with this fantastic place. From the warm greeting we had from Frank when we arrived to the delightful rooms, the fantastic views from all of the windows, the wonderful cooked breakfast and all of the trimmings. We can\'t wait to go back and take our family to experience what we have just experienced. Thank you Frank and Danielle for sharing your home with us.

Mrs. Annie Dixon - 23rd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect Destination For A Birthday Retreat
I took my girlfriend here for her 27th birthday. The lighthouse is located down a remote lane, where there is plenty of parking space. Frank called in the day to check if we needed directions. He and his son greeted us, then showed us around the Lighthouse. They recommended several places for dinner, we went to Y Maerun, about 10 mins drive away, the food was great.
There is a hot tub on the second viewing platform, which was amazing, we enjoyed the night view of lights across the estury, with complete silence and a bottle of champagne.
We stayed in the Waterbed Room, which was spacious, a lovely en suite, and the water bed, was heated and so comfortable, my girlfriend said \'it was like waking up in a cloud\'. The room was well equipped with tea and coffee facilities, fridge, towels etc. As well as a huge DVD collection if we wanted to make use of the huge TV screen.

The breakfast was fantastic, Frank was happy to cater to my girlfriends dietary requirements. The decor was authentic, not tacky, with snippets of history dotted around. The next day we walked along the Welsh Coast Path to The Lighthouse Inn, we planned on getting a coffee but it didn\'t open till 12. If you\'re staying for a few days that would be nice walk to get lunch. We then headed off to Cardiff, which was a 20minute drive.
Highly recommend staying here, especially if you like Dr Who, (the changing room for the hot tub is a Tardis), you could tie a stay in with a visit to the Dr Who experience in Cardiff Bay.

Mr. Christopher Rimmer - 23rd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

First Experiences
We travelled to the Lighthouse from London with my wife\'s sister and her husband. It was their first experience of Wales, staying in a lighthouse, sleeping on a waterbed and sitting in an outside hot tub. Brilliant !! We had a fantastic stay with marvellous hosts and we will be back again.

Mr. Eamon Mcgranaghan - 13th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Fabulous Location
A beautiful room with an amazing sea view. Although it was March we used the rooftop hot tub and enjoyed the TARDIS and Darlek!
Breakfast was fantastic!

Mr. Nick Morton - 12th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Amazing!!
Booked this on the internet for myself, my husband, my sister and her husband.
From start to finish, we all had a fantastic time. The welcome, the hospitality, the rooms, the breakfasts, the hot-tub, everything!
This is a fabulous place to stay and we cannot recommend it enough.
But for the fact that is was quite a way for us to travel, it was a perfect retreat.
If your looking to be spoilt in a quirky, unique place then this is definitely for you! This review will not let me click on the star rating but we all give it a 6!!!

Mr. Jason Kildare - 9th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Couldn\'t Have Picked A More Perfect Place!
I found West Usk on a whim and I thank God I did. Charming, beautiful and perfect for me and my mom as she has always wanted to stay overnight in a lighthouse. Our hosts were gracious and terribly helpful. Breakfast was a treat each morning and local recommendations were always at the ready. We felt most welcome! Our room was incredibly comfortable and my mother, who is visually impaired, felt much at ease here. I would go back in a heartbeat of fortune ever allows me a return trip! For someone who loves lighthouses and the sea, it was a dream come true. Add in the touch of Doctor Who and I felt I\'d died and gone to heaven. Full marks, hope to return.

Ms. Kate Grenci - 2nd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect Weekend With Amazing Hosts
This lighthouse is an adventure with brilliant views inland and across the estuary. We spent time with binoculars watching the boats and tide changes, and the sunset from the hot tub on the roof.
A delicious breakfast to set us up for the day, thank you.

Mr. John Harris - 22nd Feb, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely And Relaxing
Absolutely lovely stay. Beautiful place and very relaxing. Quite remote and you therefore need to drive to most places, although we did walk down the coast to a couple of pubs including The Lighthouse Inn which is the nearest pub. Frank the owner was very friendly and helpful.

Mrs. Jane Carre - 22nd Feb, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect!
I cannot express how impressed we were with the West Usk Lighthouse. From the warm welcome from Frank, to the romance of the delightful waterbed room, the fun of drinking champagne in the hot tub at sunset, & the amazing views, this lighthouse will not disappoint! Be warned the track leading to it is VERY bumpy, but do not let this put you off. I wish we had visited sooner. The hospitality was wonderful, & we can\'t wait to return!

Mrs. Nikki Poole - 17th Feb, 2015
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
Excellent hospitality, wonderful place to stay, comfortable, peaceful, romantic and unique.
Best place we\'ve stayed.

Mrs. Lisa Woods - 29th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

A Fantastic Lighthouse!
A fantastic experience, lovely accommodation which was so unusual. Very peaceful and felt fully recharged after just one night! Breakfast was great too! Recommend this to everyone!

Miss. ROSIE VINCENT - 19th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
Check in time (4pm) is a little late but that is a minor criticism of an otherwise fantastic B&B. One\'s expectations of a place are rarely matched by the reality of it and that is ture in this case but only in a positive way because the reality far exceeded the expectation. Frank was a warm, friendly and gregacious host. The room (the cabin) was quaint and cosy and afforded generous sunrises in the morning. This is a unique accommodation made even better by the friedliness of the owner and Archie the dog. We will definately be back. For a lover of lighthouses West Usk had a lot to live up to but did so, and more. Thanks for a great experience.

Mr. Zane Kirk - 18th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Christmas Present
I booked a weekend at west use lighthouse as a Christmas present for my husband. What a fabulous quirky place to spend a weekend. We were given a very warm welcome by frank the owner , our room \" the waterbed \" room was so pretty with fabulous uninterrupted views of the sea. The bed did take a bit of getting used to but added to the experience. Breakfast was great , huge choice of cereals, cooked breakfast and toast. Archie their dog was a great character who came for a lovely walk with us. We both hope to return to the lighthouse again and would certainly recommend it to others.

Mrs. Alison York - 12th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Great Weekend
We stayed for a night in this amazing lighthouse B&B. We enjoyed the hot tub and views, the owner Frank was very welcoming and friendly. Would not hesitate to return.

Mr. Rob Boulting - 12th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Unique Experience
We spent one night in the waterbed room which was charming. Our host, Frank, was accomplished in his hospitality and had a wealth of information which he was only too happy to share with us.
Breakfast was expertly served and plentiful with a good choice. A spellbinding experience.

A new larger sign on the main road would be very helpful as this B & B is too good to miss !

Mrs. Karen Donkin Donkin - 5th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic Experience
We stayed with our two sons (aged 15 & 10)What a fantastic experience. We had the waterbed and boys loved the cabin bed room. Great hospitality. Loved the hot tub. Enjoyed exploring the local Welsh area. Highly recommend.

Mrs. Sandy Sparks - 1st Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Magic!
I booked this B&B as a surprise for my partner\'s birthday, who had said he\'d always fancied staying in a lighthouse! As we pulled up on the Friday evening the Lighthouse looked so cosy and welcoming, we couldn\'t wait to get inside! We were given a very warm welcome by Frank, the owner, and shown where everything was.

We stayed in the water bed room which was very large and comfortable with a fridge in the room and stunning views across the water. The water bed was very comfortable, another first for us! As we were the only guests that weekend, we were able to have a nosy in all of the rooms. Our room was the best, as well as the cabin room which, although small, is extremely cosy and cute and you can watch the sunset from the raised bed which is magical.

We took advantage of the hot tub, another first for us, on both the Friday and the Saturday nights, after a hard day\'s shopping in Cardiff. We took a bottle of Prosecco up each night and the views from the hot tub are spectacular, we had never been in a hot tub before and can highly recommend it.

Breakfast each morning was delicious. We opted for a full English, cooked by Frank to order. We visited the Lighthouse pub for food which we didn\'t like - it was all frozen food. However, we did hear that the other restaurant \'Y Maeron\' was very good.

We enjoyed spending time with the resident pup, Archie, although this was not forced on us at all, but we love dogs!

We don\'t often revisit places as we both like to travel and try new places, however we have both said we would love to go back to the Lighthouse and possibly book it out, taking family with us as well. We loved it so much and want to share the experience.

We could both imagine how beautiful it must be when it\'s all done up for a wedding.

Very, very highly recommended and Frank is a lovely, friendly host.

Ms. Collette Gould - 22nd Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Beautiful Building And Surroundings
The owner was particularly friendly and welcoming. A great breakfast in the morning. The accommodation is quirky and unique. The rooms are large and the shower was excellent. We loved sitting in the hot tub in the dark (lovely and warm even in late November!)Our dog was very welcome although he struggled with the stairs so just bare this in mind if you have a large dog - they are hard to carry upstairs :)

Mrs. Naomi White - 1st Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly Hosts
A unique place in a great setting. The hot tub on the upper deck is a must.

Mr. Mark Dakin - 29th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Can\'t Wait To Go Back Again Soon.
Booked as surprise venue for first night of our honeymoon. Couldn\'t have been better. Amazing views, awesome hot tub, and the breakfast in the morning cooked to order was great. Looking forward to booking again soon!

Miss. Sally Weatherilt - 19th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend In Wales
We had a great time in unusual surroundings and it was a great base from which to explore.
Breakfast was great.

Mr. John Edgcumbe - 15th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Wow, What A Place!
I treated my wife to a stay in this fabulous place for our anniversary. It was everything, plus more, that is shown on the website! The peace and quiet, the beautifully decorated rooms and warm, friendly welcome from Frank the owner, made it perfect. The Rolls Royce trip to the local restaurant (thanks again Frank!) made it even more of an evening to remember. Champers in the hot tub at the top of the lighthouse looking up at the stars - just perfect. Oh, and the full english breakfast was VERY tasty too! Thank you again for a wonderful stay, which we\'ll never forget. We\'re already planning a family get together with you again! Wonderful.

Mr. Antony Marriott - 9th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Quirky Haven
We had such an enjoyable stay. The lighthouse was incredible. We visited for my mum\'s 60th and stayed in the water bed and family room, and ended up with the whole lighthouse to ourselves. In the evening we sat in the hot tub on the roof and watched the sun set.
In the morning we were cooked huge breakfasts and chatted away to the owner, who filled us in on the history of the building.
Seriously recommend, you will not be disappointed!

Miss. Nancy Page - 16th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Delightful Lighthouse
This is my fourth stay at the West Usk Lighthouse and again it was a great pleasure. Frank and Danielle provide a very friendly welcome and the famous full monty breakfast. The rooftop hot tub is a wonderful experience. Look forward to my next visit.

Mr. Eamon Mcgranaghan - 10th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Honeymoon Stay
We had a wonderful honeymoon break and the lighthouse was even better than we could have hoped for. Tranquil and idyllic a d had a wonderful massage too. The room was beautiful the food was great and franks hospitality was second to none. Will definitely return at some point (maybe for our anniversary lol) and would highly rec omens a visit to others....
Thank you so much for helping us to create memories x x

Ms. Haley Binns - 28th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Wonderful Experience
We stayed at West Usk lighthouse as a birthday treat for my husband, who happens to be a police officer and a Dr Who fan. We have two young children and we all, without exception had a fantastic time. The host, Frank, was so warm and friendly, we felt instantly at home from our arrival to our departure. The lighthouse itself has been lovingly restored and has some fabulous quirky aspects! The hot tub is great fun, great location, and the breakfast is so substantial no other meal will be required during the day!! A thoroughly amazing experience and I can't wait until we return!

Mrs. Caroline Wren - 18th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Superb.
Our daughter treated us to a night here for our 40 th wedding anniversary .She chose it because it was quirky and different , and knew we would appreciate that aspect . Quirky it certainly was. The location is beautiful with fabulous scenery , and we stayed in the double room with a water bed. The standard of accommodation is far higher than 3star, surpassed only by the charming family who own and run this establishment . The welcome upon arrival was warm and genuine , and throughout our short stay , nothing was too much trouble. Frank , the owner , cooked a stunning breakfast, and brought his own inimitable charm to the morning. Do not hesitate. Book your stay. You will not be disappointed .

Mrs. Louise Penny - 18th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Relaxing And Unforgettable Stay
We all had a fabulous time at the lighthouse, such a friendly and welcoming place. My partner, parents and myself all had a truly unforgettable experience and look forward to our return. First class!

Miss. Helen Mitchell - 17th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Amazing Romantic Unusual Place!
An amazing venue to celebrate a special occasion, ours being our 2nd wedding anniversary. So romantic and we were the only two people there apart from the caretaker! Four poster bed, hot tub to use for how ever long we wanted with views over the Severn Estuary, good nights sleep in a lovely comfortable bed, so peaceful and quiet, lovely full English breakfast the next morning. Couldn't fault it and will be recommending it to all our family and friends. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay. We will definitely be back!!

Mr. Les Brooking - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Fantastically Relaxing
We stopped in here for two nights, to break up the journey from London to my boyfriend's folks in Cornwall. We had high hopes for a converted lighthouse B&B and they weren't just met, they were exceeded. We stayed in the Cabin room, which was cosy and had amazing views over the bay from the bed. Frank was incredibly welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. He and Archie took great care of us. We'll be back. Hopefully sooner rather than later...

Mr. Alexander Smith - 4th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Amazing!
fantastic and unique place, lovely host great breakfast!

Ms. Jane Fraser - 1st Aug, 2014
Verified Review

A Must!!
We stayed for 1 night and wish we could of stayed longer! What a treasure ! This is a qurky delight! Rooms are lovely the welcome was very warm! The breakfast was AMAZING! We will definately be returning in the near future!!

Miss. Maxine Sewell - 30th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
Wow! What to say, my US friedd had a bucket list. Staying in a lighthouse and visiting Wales were two of the things she wanted to do. West Usk Lighthouse solved both and how!! Wonderful views, amazing rooms. She had the Waterbed room and I had the Four poster room. We arrived and were greeted by the lovely Frank who told us we were the only guests that night, so had the place to ourselves. Gloriously sunny, hot day so sitting on the terrace overlooking the receeding sea, with the sun going down and a nice breeze was perfect. Slept with the shutters open in bathroom and bedroom to create a lovely through draft. Frank's breakfast was fabulous and hearing him tell tales of his earlier life set us up for the day. We went outside to take final photos and Archie joined us (probably escaped, not sure if he was meant to be out!!). All he wanted was his tummy rubbed, he needs to grow into his paws, that are very big. Really friendly dog. Taxi arrived and our idyllic trip was over. Thankyou for a great stay.

Miss. Marion Collingwood - 28th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

50th Birthday Celebration
Fab stay, lovely to celebrate in hot tub on roof. Very relaxed and host very helpful. Many thanks x

Miss. Virginia Richley - 16th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Girls Weekend Retreat
We were £ gilrs who stayed back in January for a couple of nights for a good girlie catch-up and to celbrate a big birthday. We had a fab time at this unique location where the hosts were superb, breakfasts delicious, views amazing, hot tub devine and rooms lovely. Our hosts recommended 2 restaurants that were great and we would not hesitate to recommend this marvelous retreat.

Mrs. Tracy Puttock - 8th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Highly Recommended
Unusual and delightful setting, with lovely gracious proprietors.

Ms. Carol Mandel - 18th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Delightful Stay
Exactly as described, a wonderful experience in a quirky peaceful location with magnificent views. Breakfast sets you up for the day and is pretty yummy and the puppy great fun! The roof top has 360 degree views obviously and is a sun trap when taking a morning cuppa or evening glass of your choice! Recommend this to anyone

Mrs. Donna Davies - 18th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Honeymoon
Wow what a way to start our married life together. A perfect way to get away from it all in an totally unique location. The accommodation is comfortable and spacious and provides fantastic panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. The welcome and friendly, chilled atmosphere is amazing and use of the hot tub and treatments is thoroughly recommended.
We could not have asked for more or chosen better. Many thanks to Danielle, Frank and Sammy(dog)for a fantastic and memorable stay

Mr. Mark Spurgeon - 13th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Wonderful, Thank You!
This was the loveliest b&b I've ever stayed in. Beautiful, scenic, comfortable and quirky. Frank was a delightful host. I wish I could move in! Can't recommend highly enough.

Ms. Rosy Pendlebury - 27th May, 2014
Verified Review

Thank You Frank
Had a wonderful stay at your lighthouse celebrating our 33rd Anniversery.
The room (4 poster) was very comfortable especially the bed. We were blessed with 3 days of great weather and outstanding hospitality (and breakfasts) from Frank the owner.
Do stay here it is totally unique, quiet, peaceful and "different".
Thank you again
Nigel and Camilla

Mr. Nigel Cullum - 19th May, 2014
Verified Review

Unique Experience!
A wonderful one-night stay including surreal relaxation at 10pm in a hot tub next to a Tardis on the top deck of the lighthouse with a bottle of Champagne. Another tick off the 'Bucket List' and many thanks to Frank for his great hospitality. Expensive yes, but you're paying for a unique experience.

Mr. Michael Lucas - 5th May, 2014
Verified Review

Wow- The Best!!
Superb few days- so unique. The rooms are so clean and unusual with great views over the estuary.
Frank is the ultimate host and cooks the best breakfasts ever- nothing is too much trouble.
A glass of wine sitting in the hot tub is the perfect way to spend an hour or so.highly recommend.

Mrs. Julie Clark - 4th May, 2014
Verified Review

Fabulous Stay
We recently spent one night at the West Usk Lighthouse. We received a warm welcome and tour of the lighthouse which was interesting. Our room had a fabulous view and was great. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Dr. Marie Christopher - 28th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Relaxing
What a great place. A warm welcome and great breakfast. Our room with the water bed has super views over the water, as does the hot tub! If you want something different stay here. Utter peace. However the lighthouse is an old building and a B&B, not a 5 star hotel, so don't go with those expectations. We loved it for what it is and had a fantastic anniversary weekend. Thank you.

Mrs. Eira Griffiths - 1st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Good Stay
I had a lovely stay at the West Usk Lighthouse. I highly recommend the lighthouse, and will be returning.

Mrs. Samantha Coyne - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, great room, great breakfast with friendly hospitality. Will come back, Oh and definitely try the hot tub......

Mr. Gary Mather - 23rd Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Fantastic Weekend
Great place with fantastic staff. We enjoyed every moment, from the huge breakfast to the peace and restful moments, de-stressing in a fantastic place.

Mr. Javier Reguera Salgado - 18th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Sunny March At The Lighthouse
The West Usk Lighthouse is a fabulous place to stay and a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Principal Lightkeeper's room complete with water bed and had a memorable stay. Nothing better than lying in bed on a sunny Sunday morning with the window opening listening to the birds and the peace and quiet. Frank serves fabulous breakfasts - didn't eat again all day! A truly sensational stay and really didn't want to leave. Thank you for creating a lifelong memory!

Miss. Jill Coyle - 17th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Relaxing Break
We chose the West Usk Lighthouse on the recommendation of a friend and weren't disappointed. The location is beautiful with great views from the top of the lighthouse. Frank is an engaging and attentive host who cooks a mean breakfast. Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable (slight problem with the shower which was fixed by Frank). We thoroughly enjoyed the local pub too, which is a pleasant stroll away along the water front. An unusual building with great charm. We'd definitely do a return visit.

Dr. Meredith Patton - 17th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Stunning Place
As you travel down to the lighthouse from the track and it comes into view the sight really does take your breathe away. We stopped the car just to take it in for a few minutes. Inside didn't disappoint either from the comfortable bed and the views out to sea.The tv reception isn't great but Frank has a large library of DVD's to chose from so that might be worth bearing in mind if you have a particular film you want to take with you. We used the hot tub on a couple of occasions once at night under the stars with a glass of wine you can't get better than that! Take your walking boots as there is endless coastline to explore with a nice pub and a roaring fire the refresh yourself in before you return! Frank is a very gracious host and he cooks a brilliant breakfast! We will definitely be returning!

Mrs. Jane Carter - 24th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

My Birthday Treat!(and My Husband's)
Romantic, enchanting, one of a kind. The West Usk Lighthouse ticks all the boxes if you are looking for the perfect and unusual place to get away from it all. The accommodation in the beautifully restored lighthouse is full of character and charm, the area is stunning, the welcome warm and the breakfast delicious. Thanks for making us so welcome.

Mr. Nicholas Pugsley - 23rd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Big Birthday Weekend
We had a great stay in the lighthouse. Frank made us feel very welcome & cooked a fantastic breakfast!!We loved the hot tub & found the lighthouse to be fascinating. I thoroughly enjoyed my birthday celebrations. Thank you Frank.

Mr. Susan Handy - 17th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Cosy, Quirky, Friendly
Unique, a lovely building in an amazing location, friendly, genuine and very relaxing.
We loved the windswept location and yet cosy bedroom. A place to escape, and yet easy to reach by motorway.Bracing, historic and unforgettable. Go there!

Mr. Gerald Organ - 14th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
what can I say. This was my third visit and I love it here. Not just the hot tub, the Dalek, the lovely rooms, Frank's amazing breakfasts and the relaxed and welcoming hospitality but the wonderful light and the views over the Usk...... Its one of my favourite places.

Mrs. Christine O\'neill - 2nd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
we have stayed a few times before and will be back again - just wanted somehere special to enjoy our Anniversary and could not have chosen better - we would recommend seeing the day change to night while sat in the Hot Tub!

Mr. Patrick Gough - 16th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

A Charming Place With Best Owners!
Thank you very much for everything. The view was amazing, the place is lovely and Frank and Danielle are the most wonderful people you can have as hosts. Hope to come back in the future! Very best for the lighthouse and its lighthouse keepers!

Mr. Borja Ruiz Rodriguez - 12th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Great Trip
It was me and my girlfriends first holiday, we went on the 1st of January for a night. It was so lovely, nice hot tub with sea view, lovely cosy room. Great fun! Definitely will have to go again!

Mr. Conner Leahy - 5th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Perfection
Couldn't have wished for a more magical, special stay. Perfect location, gorgeous room && truly lovely and hospitable owner, Frank was fantastic.

Miss. Debbie Brown - 1st Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Perfect Stay
Stayed one night in the beautifully furnished waterbed room, did want two but was already booked. Most comfortable night's sleep ever! Fantastic views from window & attention to detail throughout the lighthouse along with a very friendly host. Want to revisit in the summer months & take in the scenery from the rooftop hot tub & bar.

Mr. Geoff Willis - 9th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

West Usk Lighthouse
We loved our stay at the lighthouse , children thought it was magical , loved the Tardis , hottub and even the shower! They enjoyed taking Sparky for a walk too. Frank made us feel very welcome and his breakfasts were great!

Mrs. Natalie Knowles - 30th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Outstanding
This was our 2nd year wedding anniversary the Usk lighthouse was the perfect setting lovely place and lovely owners may see you on our 3rd year anniversary Mr and Mrs Wood

Mr. Daniel Wood - 25th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Birthday Treat
excellent service, very friendly host, good quality accommodation, great breakfast. loved the spa bath on the roof, great place to end the day looking out over the Severn Estuary

Mr. Jeremy Scott - 16th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

October Stay
the lighthouse / location is amazing ,Frank made us feel really welcome and his breakfasts were a great way to start the day .The hot tub is a must , whatever the weather .Only regret we did not stay longer ,Will return

Mr. Lee Preece - 8th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

West Usk Lighthouse Weekend
What an unusual and quirky place to stay. Very friendly and brilliant for a weekend with a bit of a difference.

Mrs. Michele Thornhill - 25th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Fantastic Weekend
My wife and I had a fantastic weekend, Frank wasn't here but Julian who looked after us was great, showed us round, told us where everything was and cooked a great breakfast, he couldn't do enough for us. Chilling out in the lamp room and on the roof with a nice bottle of wine is a must. There is a good BBQ on the roof which is there for you to use, take your own charcoal and food and away you go, just clean up the mess after you. The hot tub was also great, no need to go anywhere once your here Hope to return next year with friends.

Mr. Mark Daniels - 23rd Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Perfect Weekend
Wonderful stay at the lighthouse . Julian was a great host , very welcoming and attentive and cooked a quality breakfast. Room was very comfortable with a great view. But the hot tub in the moonlight topped it all. Recommend this unique B and B

Mr. Michael Davis - 23rd Sep, 2013
Verified Review

A Great Break
A unique and lovely place. Frank the host was very welcoming and the cooked breakfasts are amazing.

Mrs. Debbie Magnus-watson - 28th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

What A Fantastic Place!
What a wonderful night we had at West Usk Lighthouse. Fantastic location, very warm, friendly welcome and the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. The views from the hot tub are spectacular! Would definitely visit here again and will be recommending it to our friends and family.

Mrs. Annette Kilpatrick - 15th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Newport is having its own Monopoly board game. Please vote for us on https://www.facebook.com/newportmonopoly. Thank you. All the best, Danielle & Frank.

Fabulous Time
The lighthouse and location is superb. The room was excellent, with some lovely quirky features (and a very comfy bed!). Frank's breakfasts as well as his general welcome and hospitality were fabulous. Will go again and recommend to all my friends and family. 5 stars, 10/10.

Mr. Steve Bone - 5th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Amazing All Around!
From the moment we arrived Frank made us feel very welcome. The room was fab, we stayed in the four poster bed and the breakfasts were brilliant. Was lovely to be able to use the hot tub as well. We can't wait to come back.

Mr. Daniel Ashworth-chandler - 31st Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Relaxing And Fun Stay
I stayed at the Lighthouse with my partner and another couple we had been travelling with. We had a wonderful stay; very relaxing and enjoyed all the memorabilia and Dr. Who related props about the place. Our host was great - helpful and interesting without being intrusive. Would definitely stay there again if we're in the area and would recommend to others.

Ms. Samantha Callaghan - 30th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

A Bucket List Must !
A fantastic experience and should be on everyones bucket list! Hospitality tremendous - never overbearing but advice for travelling around, good local places to eat etc on hand. Friendly, warm, welcoming and unique. The room had all the comforts plus stunning views. The lighthouse has been lovingly restored by Frank and his family and is a credit to them. Would recommend staying here to anyone - we will definitely go back !!

Ms. Sarah Dade - 30th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Truly Wonderful
West Usk Lighthouse is a truly wonderful place to stay: Unique, remote, romantic, and very comfortable. The breakfasts were generous and vegetarian options were available, even though we hadn't pre advised. Frank is a marvellous host, wonderfully in keeping with, and vital to, the character of the property. A totally unique and memorable stay. A car is advisable, though taxis are available for local pub dinners...

Mr. Tom Koenig - 29th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

A Unique Experience
If you're after something and somewhere memorable then the West Usk Lighthouse has got it. The welcome and hospitality from Frank was first class, and set us up for a wonderful stay. Our room (the Cabin Room) had a lovely view over the coast and channel, with some lovely quirky touches to the decor.
The views from the lamproom and from the hot tub are superb. Drinking wine in a hot tub, with the Bristol Channel laid out in front of you, a lighthouse lamproom towering above you, and a Tardis to the side of you is a surreal memory. A fantastic way to spend our wedding anniversary.

Mr. Ceri Harries - 18th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Amazing
We had a fab weekend and really loved it there. It was so relaxing and we left really chilled out. We will definitely be back!

Mrs. Michelle Peters - 2nd Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Our Experience Of Stay
Absolutely fabulous ticked all the boxes in terms of quirky, interesting, historical, comfortable, stunning views, a very different experience not to be missed. Exceptional customer service provided by frank made us feel most welcome we will definately return and recommend to others.

Mrs. Jane Bonehill - 17th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Usk Lighthouse
What a fabulous place for a B & B. Frank is a super host who made sure we had everything we needed. Hot tub on the roof definitely the added bonus - looking over the estuary at midnight and also early in the morning from the tub was fantastic. The water bed ensured a good nights sleep and a nice clean room with all accessories included - even the binoculars to check out the views. Loved it.

Mrs. Debs Bainton - 5th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Uniquely Perfect
So good we had written our tripadvisor rave review before we even got home! Thanks to Frank for a wonderful stay. The keepers room with waterbed is fantastic, spacious and has beautiful views. The roof terrace with hot tub and relaxation area is wonderful. I am already looking for the next special ocassion so I can return again!

Mr. Mark Mulligan - 31st May, 2013
Verified Review

Wonderful Escape...
I surprised my boyfriend with this trip for his birthday. I wanted to stay somewhere a bit different and was aware that while I am a bit more of a hippy my partner likes the finer things in life. This was the perfect place for both of us to have a wonderful time and get away from it all. I was debating between the cabin and waterbed room and I am glad I paid the little extra for the water bed room as it was very so tranquil and relaxing, the bed was so comfy and it had a lot more space. Looking forward to returning one day and will definitely never forget our romantic weekend.

Ms. Gemma Gutteridge - 1st May, 2013
Verified Review

A Memorable Experience
Beautiful building, unique in every sense. Lovely views in a very peaceful, rural setting, very welcoming and friendly owner with an equally friendly, loving dog who my son adored. Certainly a memorable experience.

Mrs. Lisa Street - 29th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Unique
A lovely and unique B&B that we will definitely recommend. A great host and a beautiful location although the surrounding area is a bit unusual. Great rooms, great view, great breakfast. We loved it!

Mrs. Susie Merelie - 18th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Somewhere Different!
This is a wonderful, quirky place to stay! We had the Cabin Room; from the very comfortable four poster bed we could look out over the Bristol Channel. Whether relaxing in the hot tub on the roof, looking out at the local birdlife from the lamproom, or chatting with the owner, Frank, over a generous freshly-cooked breakfast, this was a short break to remember! We shall be back and have already recommended it to several friends and family.

Dr. Fiona Davies - 17th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

West Usk Lighthouse
My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lighthouse. Wonderful atmosphere, very quiet and extremely relaxing. The owners have invested a lot of time and effort, to ensure that their guests have a great experience. We particularly loved the hot tub and the TARDIS. A fantastic way to spend my birthday and I wish I'd booked two nights instead of one!

Would like to stay again and can highly recommend.

Janet and Mike

Miss. Janet Brightman - 14th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Magnificant Experience
Very beautiful place, hearty welcome, splendid room (cabin room. To recommend strongly

Mr. Guy Buchler - 7th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

A Night Away From It All
We spent a wonderful night in the light house at the beginning of February. The welcome was warm and we really felt at home.

The location is fantastic and the lighthouse is magnificent. We'd recommend it to anyone who likes the unusual and the quirky.

Can't wait to visit again

Mr. Iwan Roberts - 18th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Valentines Stay 4 Poster Bedroom
Found this beautiful place as a surprise for my girlfriend on Valentines Day...it surpassed expectations by far and all the positive reviews were spot on! The Lighthouse has so much character from the scenic views to the bedroom and then the rooftop terrace equipped with a stunning hot tub. Frank is so friendly and welcoming and makes you feel right at home...not forgetting his cooked breakfast is top notch! Will definitely be going back but will check in earlier to make the most of the views and surrounding area. Thanks Frank! Made our Valentines Day one to remember :)

Mr. Tyrone Herbert - 15th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Looking For A Unique Getaway
Service was fantastic and place was definitely unique! Steps a bit hard to navigate with suitcase and room bit on small side, but beautifully furnished with an amazing shower. Breakfast fantastic and Sparky the lighthouse dog was lovely.

Mr. Adrian Kwan - 5th Jan, 2013
Verified Review

Enjoyable Christmas Get Away
Had an enjoyable time in the Usk Lighthouse, rooms were clean and tidy, breakfast was delicous and the hosting skills were a joy each morning over breakfast. With good advice on what to do and where to go in the area. Weather was awful, however staying in a lighthouse was a wonderful experience capped off with an eveing in the hot tub on top of the lighthouse overlooking the estuary during a storm.

Mr. Andrew Hawker - 4th Jan, 2013
Verified Review

Brilliant
We spent a night at the Lighthouse and it was absolutely perfect. The room was gorgeous and had everything that we needed including a great collection of DVD's whoich we watched after a meal at the Six Bells. The breakfast was superb and there were lots of great walks. WE will definately be back - many thanks.

Mr. Paul Venn - 29th Dec, 2012
Verified Review

Fantastic
Cant recommend enough to all. We were blessed with the weather and watched the sun come up from the hot tub each day.
Frank was a great host and the lighthouse was amazing.

Mr. Andrew Furber - 19th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Great Place
Such an idilic location, so close to Cardiff but so far away from everything! The massage, hot tub and bracing walk to the local pub were the highlights of our stay with the warm welcome, comfortable room, delicious breakfast making it a perfect weekend to re-charge the batteries.

Mrs. Kate Beaumont - 5th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

One Night Stay At The Lighthouse
Had a lovely stay, children had hot stone massages and facial. Frank makes a great breakfast with interesting conversation. Hot tub and Daleks- who could ask for more!

Mrs. Samantha Barlow - 31st Oct, 2012
Verified Review

A Wonderful Weekend
We stayed at the lighthouse as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday and had an absolutely fabulous time! The setting is second-to-none and so peaceful. We stayed in the waterbed room which was spacious, modern and very comfortable and has a beautiful sea view. We were able to make good use of the lovely roof terrace, including hotub! On our first night we arrived just in time to watch the sunset from the roof, which was very special. On our second day we had a walk with Sparky the lighthouse dog who is just gorgeous, he led the way of course and was a pleasure to walk with.

The owners were away during our stay so Julian was our host - he was very friendly, knowledgable of the local area, and made a great breakfast!

All in all we had an amazing weekend and I can't recommend the lighthouse highly enough

Miss. Lorna Smart - 23rd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Absolutely Perfect
We both simply loved this quirky lighthouse which we stayed at for our !st Anniversary. We wanted something different and memorable and this ticked all those boxes for us.

We stayed in the beautiful waterbed room and loved it, had a nosey at some of the other rooms too and they all looked fabulous.
Frank made us very welcome and cooked us a huge & wonderful breakfast & and when we asked, he told us all about his work and loving care that has been put into restoring and preserving the lighthouse .

We would definitely go back

Mr. Graham Lee - 26th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Holiday In Lighthouse
Had a wonderfully relaxing time in the lighthouse. A warm friendly welcome from Frank and his wife. The breakfast set you up for the day. Beautiful scenery and lots of places to visit nearby. Will definitely go back and stay again.

Mrs. Gwen Hewitt - 6th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Great Night
what an amazing place to stay, made to feel very welcome and had a great nights sleep

Mrs. Emily Ryan - 28th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Unique B&b
A unique and memorable place to stay. Frank was friendly and welcoming. We loved the building, the views, the location, the hot tub, and the dog joining us for a walk the following morning.

Ms. Helen Bancroft - 28th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Good Place To Stay.
We really enjoyed our stay at the West Usk Lighthouse as part of a surprise gift to my partner. I would highly recommend this place and would not hesitate to come back another time.

Mr. Helgi Joensen - 27th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Fabulous Stay
Wonderful location. Cabin room had the most amazing view. Frank and Danielle could not be more welcoming. Hot tub and roof garden was lovely. Breakfast - generous to say the least, best ever. Will definitely be staying again. thank you.

Miss. Maria Dwyer - 13th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Stunning
Have stayed here before, and just had to come back the next time we were around this part of the country.

Frank hasn't changed, the stay is as good as ever, the breakfast is brilliant!

The hot tub was a new addition to me and just adds to a brilliant experience.

The only problem to me is that Frank is such a nice guy to be around and talk to gthat it's actually difficult to leave on time if you have a schedule you need to stick to!

Not a bad thing though a all!

Thanks again, will be back

Mr. Ian Smith - 10th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Magical
Very unique place to stay with magical things to discover. Accommodation was cosy and comfortable. We will be visiting again, Frank was very approachable and cooked an excellent breakfast. I intend visiting with my young son next time, as hes a big fan of Dr Who and i loved the hot tub!!!!

Miss. Helen Goodwin - 10th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Extraordinary
Had a most enjoyable relaxing weekend. The peace and and tranquility just what we needed. Quirky and interesting. Breakfast fabulous.

Mrs. Mandy Parsons - 8th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Mandy. Much appreciated. Please go on Tripadvisor if you can. Will pass on your message to Frank.
All the best,
Danielle

Wonderful
Me, my husband and our two teenage daughters stayed four nights at this unusual, fantastic B&B. A Dalek in the entrance, a Tardis on the roof to change clothes before you jumped into the hot tub to relax and enjoy the view. A steady breakfast that kept you going till dinner. A tremendous hospitality and willingness to help from the owner Frank. He even lend us his car! The girls loved the Lighthouse, the surroundings ,the tide and of course the owners friendly dog Sparky. We will absolutely come back again.
Family Juhl from Sweden

Dr. Eva Juhl - 22nd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Fantastic Place
We all had a wonderful time staying at West USk Lighthouse as a surprise for my husband's 40th birthday. It really is a special place - quiet and peaceful . We were made to feel very welcome by the owner who was friendly,but also gave us space to enjoy ourselves.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants something a bit different.

Mrs. Jan Cashmore - 7th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
Having kept the lighthouse in mind, since it was featured on the Hotel Inspector, I was intrigued to book a surprise two night stay for my partner. I can confirm Frank & Sparky the dog did not disappoint! We stayed in the water bed room, and found the room, and rest of the lighthouse, to be clean, tidy and very comfortable. Frank was the perfect host, going out of his way to make all feel welcome and entertained, and making a superb breakfast. I would recommend the West Usk Lighthouse to anyone looking for an unusual break, something a little different, its not your average B&B! It has stunning views of the estuary, and a cosy and laid back atmosphere. We would be delighted to stay there again, and look forward to hopefully returning in the future.

Mr. Simon Mather - 3rd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

From Walsall
My girlfriend and I have just spent two fantastic days here, thank You Frank and Danielle for made everything just perfect, we felt ourselves such as home, or even more better :) and thanks for Sparky, the lovely dog as well :D
Really looking forward to visiting again.

Mr. Janos Parcsami - 29th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful Experience!
Such a wonderful experience! My wife and I stayed at the lighthouse for our anniversary. We have nothing but glowing recommendations for the venue 10 out 10, location great, we stayed in the waterbed room (never used one before - worked well), great room with view over the sea. 
Fantastic breakfasts - quality affair that set us up for the day
Great hosts that we felt very comfortable to sit down and be social with. Wasn't intentional we had a plan to go out and see sights. Having a coffee and a chat was very easy to do - there a story a two still left to hear, more importantly people whose company you can enjoy.

Mr. Brian O\'gilvie - 28th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Fabulous
We stayed at the lighthouse this last weekend, the weather was horrible to say the least, wind, rain, storms....however this place is a complete tranquil escape and in some ways the weather actually added to the experience...sitting in a hot tub on the roof, in a storm, amazing. Frank could not have made us more welcome, breakfast was fantastic! We stayed in the water bed room, fantastic experience. This is not a luxury place, but if you prefer a unique place to stay with history, mixed with quirky extras then this is the ultimate place to chill and escape. We ate at both the Lighthouse Inn and also The Elm Tree (Frank took us in the rolls!) Food was excellent at both. We hope to return.......

Mrs. Elizabeth Morelli - 18th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Hi
Hi Frank
Rebecca and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the lighthouse. The accommodation was great, quirky, clean and comfortable. The food at The Lighthouse Inn was ok but my steak was not great and we felt it was overpriced. We had a lovely day in Cardiff on Saturday too.
We hope to see you again and will definitely recommend you to our friends.
Regards
Rebecca and Derek

Mr. Derek Mcdermott - 11th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

We Enjoyed Our Stay At This Unique B&b
We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at West Usk Lighthouse. Frank was an excellent host and recommended some great places to eat and visit (St Fagans). The lamp room was very relaxing to sit and read a book. Good filling breakfast to get the day started - Thanks!

Mr. Brian Longman - 23rd May, 2012
Verified Review

Fantastic Weekend
I was taken on a surprise birthday weekend to the West Usk Lighthouse by my wife. What an experience! It's virtually impossible to describe the feel of the building in words, I recommend it and we truly got away from the hubbub of life for a coupleof days. Don't expect lavish, but it's very comfortable and delightfully quirky. The two of us sat in the hot tub on the terrace late one afternoon with a bottle of champagne and two happy hours passed in the blink of an eye.

Dr. Lynda Shaw - 17th May, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful Experience
We always thought that staying in a lighthouse would be a novelty and a fun thing to do. However our stay surpassed everything we expected. The lighthouse itself is beautiful and is in a very tranquil location. The owners of this magical B&B are lovely people and made us feel extremely welcome. The lighthouse maintains this fantastic homely feel which is like no other. Thank you West Usk lighthouse for a wonderful experience!

Mr. Gavin Hazell - 16th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Very Relaxing
We had a lovely relaxing stay at the lighthouse & would def return again. Frank made us feel very welcome & made us a fantastic breakfast! We loved Sparky the Lighthouse dog too! Thank you very much Neil & Lisa.

Miss. Lisa Townsend - 15th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Missing Sparky!
My partner and I had a fabulous three night stay at the lighthouse. We both enjoyed Frank's breakfasts and really appreciated the friendly atmosphere and the great advice on what to do and where to go in the local area. We also loved having Sparky the dog around and will have to come back to take him for a nice long walk. Can't recommend this place enough. Thanks.

Mr. Roman Bowden - 28th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Hotel
As I made my way along the the dark unmade road towards the Lighthouse the light almost beckoned me towards it. I felt like I was going back in time. The Hotel has kept many original features and is flooded with charactor. I was made to feel like one of the family as opposed to a guest and as a result had one of the most relaxing weekends of my life.
If you need to get away from it for a bit it's definitly the place to go.

Mr. Anthony Kingdon - 19th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful
We were so excited to be staying in a lighthouse, having read the positive reviews and looked at the photos I didn't think it could match the anticipation but it was even more beautiful, friendly and comfortable than we imagined.

The views were wonderful, we stayed in the Cabin room and to wake up with the green grey sea stretched across the horizon was magical. The lighthouse was so well looked after. The fittings and furnishings atmospheric, setting the scene with wooden boats and little lighthouses and sea shells on display. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and everything worked perfectly. There was a whole cabinet full of films that you could borrow from which was just one of the little thoughtful touches that made the place so welcoming.

And of course the hot tub was the icing on the cake. To sit at midnight on a cold January night, toastie warm in a hot tub overlooking the sea, stars and twinkling lights of Newport was an experience not to be missed.

Our host Frank was incredibly kind and helpful, and cooked the most fantastic breakfast. We caught the train so were worried about being too isolated but with a breakfast like that we didn't have to think about going out to find somewhere to eat until late in the day!

Even though it was January and the weather was a little rainy we did some walking. And I would recommend visiting this wonderful place whatever time of year or weather, not just for couples but anyone looking to find a little refuge in the busyness of day to day life. Definitely worth the trip, I was just sorry to go home!

Ms. Jennifer Anderson - 26th Jan, 2012
Verified Review

Brilliant Getaway
A definite 5 star rating the staff were very accommodating with my partners Celiac, making sure they had wheat and gluten free food at no extra cost.

The ability to sit in the light room with a drink relaxing was fantastic, rooms were well looked after and maintained.

We will be going again next year, well worth the experience, as well as being able to sit in the light room with a drink was brilliant.

Mr. Robert Plant - 12th Jan, 2012
Verified Review

Mongolian Yurt
What a wonderfully cosy experience. Even though the weather was horrendous, we slept well with a roaring fire and comfy bed. The welcome and breakfast were both as hearty as each other. Have told everybody we know about the place and recommended that they visit.

Mr. Richard Brown - 4th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

An Amazing Stay
Stayed at the West Usk lighthouse for one night and would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in the room with the waterbed and massager. The bed was incredibly comfortable but was upstaged by the view. The owners were so helpful and friendly and made a really nice breakfast. Will definitely go again.

Miss. Leane Mills - 1st Dec, 2011
Verified Review

Fantastic
West Usk Lighthouse exceeded all of my expectations. We stayed in the four poster room which, like the other rooms, was beautifully decorated and furnished. The hot tub on the roof was an added and very enjoyable bonus!
Frank could not have done more for us and the breakfast was delicious!
I would thoroughly recommend the lighthouse to anyone wanting to stay somewhere with a bit of character and charm.

Miss. Amber Davies - 21st Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Stayed in the Mongolian Yurt for one night and thoroughly enjoyed. It was something that little bit unique and was very cosy. It had a wood burning fire inside and this kept the inside very warm. Frank, the owner was very welcoming and nothing seemed like too much trouble. The lighthouse itself had loads of character and there was a hot tub outside on the veranda which we used and was lovely. Sitting in it on a blustery October evening, watching the sun go down with a glass of wine in hand was glorious.
Frank cooked a wonderful breakfast the next morning. Not your average cheap food either. It was all lovely quality (i.e. proper Welsh sausages, back bacon etc).
All in all, a great place to stay.

Miss. Sarah Hughes - 26th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Lighthouse Weekend
Had a lovely time helped by the weather and the dog Sparky.Hot tub brilliant.Aromotherapy was good with Wendy.
The disappointment for me was that Danielle is the hypnotherapist and I expressed an interest in having some hypnotherapy and yet we didn't see or meet danielle all weekend. You missed a trick because it could have been a bit more income for you.
Good news we have recommended the place to my brother-in-law who I believe will be booking in a couple of weeks. Frank is a good host and enjoyed talking to him. Hope to come again. glad i saw the hotel on 'Hotel Inspector' a few years ago.

Mrs. Caroline Bromberg - 3rd Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Charming And Unlike Any Other B&b - Wow!
We stayed at the West Usk Lighthouse on 24 and 25 September 2011, in a four poster room, with fantastic views. Frank was the perfect host: very welcoming, interesting to talk to and he ensured that we made the most out of our stay. Everything about the Lighthouse was to our satisfaction: the room was clean and bed extremely comfortable; breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choices comparable with any hotel.

The lighthouse itself is a wonderfully maintained building, with fantastic views across the estuary/ coast, across countryside and towards the hills. On the upper story, there is all-round, well designed and comfy outdoor seating, which provides 360 degree views of the area. There is a hot tub, which was very relaxing and certainly provided an unusual way to pass an hour admiring the fantastic scenery!

At the very top of the lighthouse, the lamp room provides a great space to relax, chat, read or just soak in more of the views.

Within a short walk, there is a pub which serves some of the best steak meals around... cooked perfectly on hot slate bricks at the table! We also stayed to listen to a band there!

We had a fantastic weekend and would definitely return here in the future. This is certainly one of the most unusual places we have ever stayed at. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have quirks and pluses - I saw inside three. There are rooms with four poster beds and another room has a water bed!

Mrs. Louise De-hayes - 26th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

West Usk
Loved the lighthouse and the room we stayed in - Principle Keeper's room - fabulous views & hale and hearty breakfast each morning. Sparkie the dog was an added bonus!

Mrs. Patricia Hussey - 17th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Yurt
We had an amazing stay at the Lighthouse, we stayed in the yurt for two nights and really enjoyed our time there. Frank was a brillant host and cooks a mean fry up. also with the pub just a short walk away makes eating and having a pint easy as there is no need to drive. I would happly recommend a stay there for any of our friends and do hope to stay again ourselfs. Cheers Frank, Happy days

Mr. Andrew Guy - 8th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Amazingly Interesting And Beautiful Place To Stay
This is a wonderfully unique hotel. It has a very inviting and quirky personality but also makes for a very nice, intimate and cosy stay.

It suited me and my partner. It seemed to function well for couples as well as families (judging from other guests).

The room was comfortable. And it was very nice relaxing on the rooftop hot-tub while gazing out on the rolling scenery.

The owner (Captain) and his 'crew' are very friendly and professional.

If you are in the South of Wales I would certainly recommend staying here.

Mr. Simon Picker - 21st Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Our Short Stay In August 2011
We stayed in the Yurt which was terrfifc fun for me the my two children, It was well equipped and the beds were very comfy. Quite an adventure to go to the loo in the middle of the night! The lighthouse is wonderful and we all enjoyed the tour given by Frank. The hoy tub overlooking the bay is truly relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed our dip. Sparky the lighthouse dog is very friendly and we loved having to visit us in the Yurt and walking with him. Brekfast is truly hearty and kept us going until tea time. Well worth a visit, you won`t be disappointed. Thank yo for a secong enjoyable stay. Rosemary Chloe and Daniel

Mrs. Rosemary Pike - 16th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Original And Great!
This was a charming place to stay. We stayed in the yurt, but the rooms looked good too. Excellent personal service, tasty breakfast and the yurt was one of the most relaxing and cosy places I have ever stayed. I'd also recommend the steak house above the pub a short walk away along the coast.

Ms. Jo Teage - 2nd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
The yurt is really the place to chill... Vicky's restaurant is the best around...

Fantastic B & B
Truly a memorable experience. Unique location, cosy rooms, very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, wonderful breakfast. Our kids loved it too - the miniature Daleks were the cherry on top ;-). Highly recommended.

Mr. Petri Home - 25th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Very Good
The accommodations were very comfortable, the location was excellent, and the food very good. The lighthouse itself was very interesting. The building is larger than it looks in the pictures and for lighthouse enthusiasts is a very interesting experience. We would recommend these accommodations to anyone with a sense of adventure and looking for a change from the normal hotel experience. We are members of a number of lighthouse enthusiasts clubs and have recommended this location to our fellow members in the United States.

Mr. Wayne Patrick - 3rd Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Stunning - Simply Stunning
I booked this as a surprise for my better half - a brief break away without the kids ... We will miss them ... But we will survive :-) We have been lucky enough to stay in some fantastic places .. So .. a touch apprehensive about staying in a lighthouse - we eventually found it and pulled up outside.

The welcome is second to none. Frank - who own the place with his wife - is a fantastic guy - the friendliest most enthusiastic person you could ever meet.

We stayed in the waterbed room. The views are stunning.. The decor is nautical and really fits .. and as for the waterbed .. well .. that doesn't disappoint either.

On Saturday night we dined at the lighthouse inn - a local pub which has a steak restaurant. This is no ordinary steak restaurant however, the steak is served seared only on hot lava rock slabs. You then cook the steak to your liking as you eat it. It's one of the nicest I have ever tasted.

This then would normally have made the evening on it's own, but, to top it all Frank dropped us off and picked us up in his pride and joy - a charming old Rolls Royce. Frank adds this extra for a modest fee - but it feels so so special. He even wears a chauffeurs cap. You have to do this!!!

Breakfast is wonderful. Home cooked fresh delicious and wholesome.

Apart from all this - there is a hot tub - a dalek in reception, rabbits running around outside, fresh sea air, and 360 degree views from the lamp room.

And all this ... For the price of an ordinary hotel.

Extraordinary, exhilarating, relaxing, charming, and fantastic value for money.

To those who complain about the drive .. If its good enough for the rolls its good enough for you !! How many lighthouses can you drive right up to?

Book the waterbed room .. And book the Rolls!

Downsides ... Only that it rained for 2 days ..

Oh and last but not least .. Sparky the lighthouse dog is sooooo friendly and a charmer.

Go for it!!!

Mr. Dave Jones - 31st May, 2011
Verified Review

May 2011
Once again a fabulous time had by all at this lovely location. The hospitality is friendly, very helpful and accommodating including Sparky the dog. Our friends were very impressed. Sorry about all the empty wine bottles we left and the noise we made ! ;)

Sherran Fitz-sawyerr - 23rd May, 2011
Verified Review

Best B&b We Have Ever Stayed In
OMG what a lovely place had a great time..... Did this for my wife's birthday and because after she gave me a daughter and she said it was the best birthday she has ever had .. we loved it so much were booking to go again soon

Mr. Iain Macleod - 27th Apr, 2011
Verified Review