Nice And Clean
Nice and local for what we wanted rooms are clean and the ones in the cottage are really specious .we were visiting family in newton so its great for us we have stayed before

Mr. TERENCE TRAINER - 1st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Nice and local for what we wanted rooms are clean and the ones in the cottage are really specious .we were visiting family in newton so its great for us we have stayed before not quite 5 stars but its lovely and friendly

Mr. TERENCE TRAINER - 1st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Great Stay
Always a joy to stay here. Clean rooms, great food and friendly staff. What more could you want? Thats why we keep coming back. Thanks

Miss. Isabel Farrell - 16th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Great Stay
Great stay, lovely fresh cooked food. Clean room and helpful staff would recommend.

Mrs. Geraldene Farrall - 9th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Friendly Place
Great food, comfortable room, ideal!

Garry Calderwood - 20th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Value For Money
Don\'t expect the Hilton the accommodation is basic but it is clean and the staff were very friendly.
Definitely value for money

Mr. David Fyvie - 10th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Stay
Comfortable room nice cup of tea in the morning but shower not much good ROOM #4

Mr. STANLEY BROWN - 1st Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Always A Pleasure.
My stay was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Room was spotlessly clean as usual.
Will definitely stay there again as I have many times before.

Mr. DERMOT HESLOP - 20th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Wifes Birthday
Lovely freindly place in a nice part of town
Everything we needed for the night....would stay again....

Mr. Michael Morgan - 31st Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Midweek Break
It was our anniversery so at 4pm we decided to go and have a night away very spur of the moment. I googled local hotels i found The pied bull & booked. Arrived to a nice clean room good pub great atmosphere and lovely reasonable priced food. Well worth a stay reasonable room rates. We had a fab stay Thanks x

Miss. Alison Lee - 28th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Midweek Break
It was our anniversery so at 4pm we decided to go and have a night away very spur of the moment. I googled local hotels i found The pied bull & booked. Arrived to a nice clean room good pub great atmosphere and lovely reasonable priced food. Well worth a stay reasonable room rates. We had a fab stay Thanks x

Miss. Alison Lee - 28th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Very Pleased
I was very surprised by how big the rooms were and everything was great. We was in the cottage next to the pub. Thank you, I would recommend

Mr. Thomas Mason - 26th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Good Value
typical old property,with uneven floors and musty smell.bed and bedding were clean and comfortable

Mr. David Houghton - 17th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Very Good Value For Money
Food was excellent , had a lovely couple of days. Only one gripe would be they appear not not vacuum the rooms very often. Other than that it was great for the money.

Ms. Angela Goode - 25th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Will Certainly Stay Again
Having chose this purely due to being near by place i was visiting was impressed by freindly staff + service. Will be booking any future visits here for sure thank you for making my stay such a pleasure

Miss. Anita Stevens - 11th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Racing Trip
Good location for haydock racing very nice pub,great food and hospitality

Mr. jeff fedyk - 10th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Traditional Pub Accommodation
Very helpful staff and the most comfortable bed we have ever had.

Mr. PAUL CARLISLE - 29th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Haydock Stayover
Ourstay at the hotel was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful the food was excellent.

Mr. Michael Hinchliffe - 20th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Will Book Soon For Next Year
I am glad I have been able to give a review as I was going to anyway. I had an exhibition to attend in Haydock and travelled up from Suffolk via Southampton. The place is fantastic, great rooms, just what you need after a 400 mile driving day. A Comfortable clean bed, a nice hot shower and TV. The benefit of the accommodation is that although it is at a pub, it is not in the pub but next door in a little cottage annex. Food was great as well as the friendly staff. One of the up sides is that you can have a pint and not have to worry about driving back to the hotel, a very nice welcoming place to stay. I will definitely book again for next year.

Mr. Richard Chivers - 17th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Very Welcoming
Lovely place , friendly staff , room was clean and bed comfortable

Mrs. JACKIE WARBURTON - 31st May, 2016
Verified Review

Great Pub &accommodation
Nice pub. Good carvery. Stayed one night in the annexe. Good price-would stay here again for the races.

Ms. Wendy Davidson - 9th May, 2016
Verified Review

Sad Occassion - Nice Hotel
Up from Kent for a Funeral but the Hotel and Newton Le Willow made it bearable!

Mr. Edwin Harris - 22nd Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent
Stayed many times and have never been disappointed with either the accommodation and hospitality. Cant wait to return sometime in April.

Miss. Isabel Farrell - 28th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Good Stopover
ideal for business, clean comfortable room, good wifi, excellent food and service

Mrs. Miranda Davies - 6th Feb, 2016
Verified Review

Nice, No Nonsense
Reasonable and comfortable accomodation, well situated. Some evenings can be noisy because pub music from downstairs and fun on the streets does reach the rooms. If you\'re a foreign traveller you\'ll probably conisder that the price is a bit high but it is more or less a standard rate for UK. Food is good. Location is good. Staff are friendly enough. Parking and wifi are both available and free. Heavy fire doors and stairs are an inconvenience (no lift) so travel light.

Ms. Paula Highcock - 15th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Hotel
Great location, great staff, will hopefully be back again soon.

Mr. Steven Wilcock - 24th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Spot On
great pub, excellent friendly staff,breakfast very good.rooms very nice ,comfy bed thanks will def return.

Mr. David Murphy - 9th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Recent Stay
Staff were polite, helpful. Food and service excellent. Would certainly recommend.

Mrs. Lillian Molyneux - 31st Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Night Before The Wedding
I stayed at the pied bull with 3 of my friends the night before i got marrried as the church is just down the road, they were excellent in letting us have a late check out in the morning and reserving us a table to eat in the pub, and best of all is the breakfast, it was lovely and with unlimited toast and orange juice it was perfect, will def be staying here again in the future

Mr. David Kay - 24th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Wedding Weekend
Friendly staff warm welcome good breakfast would book again

Mr. John Bell - 3rd Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Pied Bull Review
Enjoyed our two nights at the Pied Bull Hotel. Staff very polite and helpful.Room was basic but clean. Would return.

Mr. Gordon McClure - 3rd Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Our Experience.
Our stay at the PB was more than satisfactory. The room was pleasant and clean,if a little old fashioned, the bed comfortable and the bathroom large and clean.
The staff were pleasant and obliging and anything mentioned was acted upon straight away.
The breakfast too was more than satisfactory and could be tailored to suit any individual requirements.
All in all I was happy with my bed and breakfast 2 night stay.

Mr. Andrew Lomas - 22nd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent
Large, clean rooms. Full English breakfast very tasty. Nice friendly staff. Pub food also very good. Would definitely stay there again when next in area.

Miss. Rachel Carbery - 15th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay.
Stayed many times and service has always been excellent. Looking forward to next visit.

Miss. Isabel Farrell - 27th May, 2015
Verified Review

Minor Problem Quickly Resolved
Very good room, clean and tidy. There was a problem with the lock on the room but the staff were really helpful and it was shanged within a couple of hours. Very good response!!

Mr. Wayne Dobson - 1st May, 2015
Verified Review

Welcoming And Friendly
I stayed overnight to be on time for a family funeral and arrived 2.5 hours late because of M62 accident which kept me stationary for well over an hour and then forced a diversion. I was warmly welcomed, settled in and had a very good and comfortable sleep in a clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was larger than my usual meal but I enjoyed it and again the staff were friendly and the service excellent. Not the Hilton but pretty good.

Mr. Cyril Roberts - 1st May, 2015
Verified Review

April 13th - 18th 2015 Visit
We stayed last week and had no problems at all at the Pied Bull.
Staff are friendly and helpfull; the rooms are comfortable and cleaned well.

Breakfasts were good and nothing was too much trouble foor the staff- who looked after us well.

Will stay there again, next time we are in the area.

Thank you.

Thank you

Mr. Ian Gunning - 21st Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Not Quite Perfect
Accommodation clean and well arranged. TV not easy to operate - tired zapper?
Breakfast quite something: well-cooked and generously substantial.
Unfortunate mistake with charging - refund requested.

Mr. Bill Halson - 6th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Stayed Whilst Working In The Area
Excellent value for money food good rooms were warm and clean. Hospitality very good made to feel welcome as soon as you set foot in the door. Would definitely go back.

Mr. Douglas Read - 4th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

An Ideal Location From Which To Visit The Northwest
We enjoyed 4 nights here,using the local station to travel to both Liverpool and Manchester. We loved both cities. Our room at the Pied Bull was spacious with a large em suite bathroom -very clean and comfortable. No frills but great value and with both bar food and other local eateries very convenient.

Mrs. Susanne Dadswell - 31st Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Friendly
Albeit the hotel is in need of refurbishment it was clean, tidy; staff were very helpful/friendly and the bar was popular.

Mr. James Hardy - 25th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent
Outstanding all round will be staying again

Miss. Sian Evans - 1st Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Fab As Always
Always stay here when passing through Newton. Whole place is fab, bar, restaurant, staff and rooms.
Fresh comfy bed, spotless.
Thanks guys, see next time.

Mrs. Amanda Hughes - 19th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Stay At Pied Bull
nice stop at well placed hotel , didn`t enjoy the breakfast as much as last time

Mr. John Sephton - 23rd Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
Very nice room, very reasonable, will be back

Mr. Philip Lawrence - 7th Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Great Stay
Have stayed many times and have never had a bad experience. Great food, great accommodation and fantastic staff.

Miss. Isabel Farrell - 26th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Our Stay
another great stay at the pied bull nice breakfast close to other pubs and shops enjoyed our stay thank you

Mr. Sephton Sephton - 22nd Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Nice Place
Enjoyed my stay,bar good , room big and clean, excellent breakfast

Mr. Peter Haynes - 12th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Pied Bull
Good beer, good food, good room. Very well located for Haydock Park racecourse. I will use this facility if I visit this part of the country in the future.

Mr. Jeff Fedyk - 10th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Good Time
We stayed at The Pied Bull Hotel overnight. We would like to say the rooms were more than adequate and clean, The pub was great. We had two full English breakfasts and they were both delicious. Lastly the staff were very accommodating and helpful. We will certainly stay there again. Thankyou.

Mrs. Denise Saxton - 8th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay!
You are welcome only just seen your email been so busy! It was great, thank you. Enjoyed it. Friendly staff and manager. And good food too! Very helpful. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant. Marilyn (Debbie)

Mrs. Marilyn Partridge - 7th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Pied Bull
I enjoyed my stay at the pied bull and would go back again.

Mr. Neil Guild - 25th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

23rd August 2014
We stayed at this venue for a single night while attending a family party that also took place in the Pied Bull Restaurant. The room was a tad basic but clean and tidy. We slept fine and enjoyed the full English breakfast in the morning. They do excellent 'Cheesey Chips' in the bar.

Mr. Ray Baxter - 25th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Pied Bull Hotel
Last minute booking and on arrival there'd been a mix up and we didn't have a room. Really nice guy called Kevin helped us out and we we're given an upper floor room which was perfectly acceptable.
If you're going to Haydock races you should consider this place!!!!

Mr. Mike Bates - 13th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

First Class
Stayed here before and the service and standard of accomodation is always first class.

Miss. Isabel Farrell - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Jessie J
Nice clean and friendly, would use this hotel again

Mrs. Elizabeth Bowers - 10th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

July Visit
Food as always to a high standard both at evening and breakfast , and a good nights sleep what more do you need

Mr. Derek Smith - 8th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

I Day Stopover
we had a great stay at the hotel ,staff were polite and helpful look forward to going back

Mr. John Sephton - 4th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Well Done
Food always to a high standard with staff that are pleasant and always happy to help both in the evening and at breakfast. Well done.

Mr. Derek Smith - 31st Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Good Nights Sleep
stayed overnight after a long day in Liverpool. excellent location, rooms tidy and clean, bed comfy

Mrs. Victoria Kennedy - 28th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent!
First time we have stayed here, but will be coming back. We were made welcome from the moment we arrived. The breakfast was excellent. We came over for the Races and will be booking to stay here again in the near future.

Mrs. Lindsey Hepworth - 14th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
We travelled to stay in the Pied Bull as we were going to Royal Birkdal on the Sunday. We found the hotel on a search engine and we liked the look of the Hotel. It was a lovely hotel, very friendly and we had a meal, which was beautifully prepared and we enjoyed it very much. The room was very comfortable. We will stay here again.

Mrs. Diana Parker - 14th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Pleasant Stay At Pied Bull
The room was clean tidy and welcoming.the staff were very friendly and i would definately stay here again. maybe extend check out time by an hour if possible

Mr. Anthony Rogan - 6th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Racing
Nice and clean: Good Service: Correct price: I've been several times before and would go again.

Mr. Simon Hall - 23rd Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Arrived in the evening and was pleasantly greeted by staff. The room was clean and well prepared with all your guest house essentials. Well priced and would come again.
Recommended!

Mr. Michael Brozio - 10th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly And Good Value
Had a nice stay at The Pied Bull, the staff were friendly and it was good value for money. The breakfast was amazing quality.

Mr. Warren Preece - 1st Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Rfl Stay.
En suite accomodation was good. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Good real ales at the bar. I would stay again here, weekend worth the money.

Mr. Joseph Stokes - 23rd May, 2014
Verified Review

Accommodation
We found the rooms clean and tidy and the staff very friendly. However the room was too light through the curtains in the mornings and the pillows were very uncomfortable.
There was no sign to hang on the outside of the door, so the first morning the chamber maid knocked but immediately unlocked the door and walked in, waking me. The second morning, I was woken to knocking on the door and when I called out, the lady asked me if we needed anything. I would have appreciated a lie-in on both those days!
The pub is great and we have eaten there before so I would recommend the food.

Mrs. Andree Conroy - 20th May, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Stay
Thoroughly enjoyed the weekend stay which was a very busy one for the hotel due to the grand national being on nearby.
Would stay again.

Mr. Andrew Kerr - 7th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Stay
Really nice stay, pleasant staff & very spacious room.

Thank you

Miss. Julie Herbert - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly,good Experience
Very nice pub,good food. The room we had was adequate,however the bathroom was in need of an update,carpet in a bathroom a definite no no! Overall a good experience.

Mrs. Pamela Boulton - 16th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Many thanks for the review of your stay with us this week. We really appreciate your comments and feedback.
Having already replaced carpets that were in any of the other bathrooms with more appropriate solid floor coverings, the final one for Room 4 (where you were staying) is actually scheduled to be done next week.
Many of the bathrooms have already undergone full upgrades/refurbishments, but we have only been able to deal with these on a prioritised/need basis as and when funds have allowed, since we are only a small independent business with limited resources.
We are however pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and look forward to maybe welcoming you back at a future date.

Kind regards

Kevin Jennison
Proprietor

Very Happy
Clean and tidy, with friendly staff, from the cleaners, to the bar staff. Nice spot to stay with a great breakfast. Bar meals also good after a days work.
Thank you all

Mr. Charles Kinnear - 10th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Consistently Good
Stayed here once before (in the annexe). Staff are very friendly and helpful. This time my room was above the pub but it was still very quiet at night.

Mr. John Flynn - 6th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Good
Great food, nice room especially the bathroom, convenient location, would stay again.

Mrs. Lesley Rowlands - 4th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Looking Forward To Our Next Stay.
While we knew the facilities are somewhat dated, the staff made our stay very enjoyable and very comfortable. Good value for the money. Pub food was excellent. Also located conveniently to rail and bus service to the area. We will definitely be back.

Mr. John Pehlke - 22nd Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Basic But Clean
very basic but clean and friendly staff value for money and food was very good

Mrs. Lilian Potter - 21st Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Good - Will Definitely Return
Off road parking, warm welcome, accommodation good and quiet at night. Accommodation accessible (securely with key) without going through the hotel bar/restaurant. Didn't get to try the cooked breakfast as needed to leave early.
Excellent value and will definitely return.

Mr. John Flynn - 7th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Mrs Preedy
i would like to say thank you to the pied bull hotel it a very nice place to stay and i will stay there again when i am up to see my famliy again . the meals are very good as well the rooms wear nice and clean thank you again

Mrs. Mary Preedy - 20th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

It Is A Good Hotel
I stayed there several times and it is a very good hotel! :)

Mr. Gabriella Palfy - 21st Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Comfortable And Convenient
The Pied Bull is very conveniently situated, close to the train station, buses, and the motorway network. There is a roomy car park with cctv .As well as the good bar food at PB, there are other eating options on the High Street. The staff are always very friendly and welcoming, the rooms clean and comfortable with free wifi. A few more breakfast options would be good eg fresh fruit, yoghurt, herbal tea.

Mrs. Pauline Garfield - 15th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

5*
excellent hotel, and very friendly staff.

Mr. Danny Newns - 9th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Pied Bull Stay
I found the staff to be friendly and the room was more than adequate for my needs. The only down side was the room floor was not hoovered, apart from that I also must congratulate the chef for the meals that I had, they were really filling and also tasted good. I would not hesitate in encouraging my friends and colleagues to stay here, so much so that I am staying again for another couple of nights. Keep up the good work.

Mr. Robert Mcgettigan - 9th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

B&b
Comfortable bed clean and tidy room, bed made daily.

Mr. Stephen Drinkwater - 24th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Our Stay
we enjoyed our stay, although the walls a little thin, it can't be helped, bed was comfortable,the bath towels were a good size i like to beable to wrap them right around me, personally i like my room to be quite dark which this room wasn't because off the street lighting.The pub was lively when we arrived, and when we came back in at night, would loved to have tried the food because it smelt lovely, maybe next time we stay.

Mr. Elaine Woodward - 25th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
We would like to thank the staff for looking after us. We stayed in the cottage & the room was a generous size & had a large en-suite. It was very clean & the bed was very comfortable. We had lunch & breakfast & the food was really good.

Mr. John Bell - 17th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Stu
stayed 1 night after a racing trip rooms very spacious and comfortable I would return again

Mr. Stuart Cunningham - 15th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
Our 5th visit and its brilliant. Thats why we keep coming back. Great food, great staff, great accomodation, great value.

Miss. Isabel Farrell - 10th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Good Value
The hotel is well located for the railway to Liverpool or Manchester and has lots of parking. We had a very comfortable stay. The breakfast was excellent and there is a good choice of food in the evenings. The room was warm and cosy and adequate for our stay. I would recommend it to a friend. It was good value for money too.

Mrs. Susan Jennings - 26th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Good Choice
Stayed for 2 nights,room was really good,nice and clean, Bar food was great and the cooked breakfast even better.Staff were friendly and the whole place is a credit to the owner. Will stay again when I am in the area.

Mr. Peter Turner - 14th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Good Stay
Enjoyed the room,food and the hotel ambience

Mr. John Breen - 6th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Pied Bull, Newton
No complaints. Excellent value. Nice pub with decent beer. Good breakfast. If ever I need to stay in Newton again I will certainly stay at the Pied Bull

Mr. Peter Rhodes - 2nd Dec, 2012
Verified Review

Canon
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet during the night and both breakfast and lunch were very good.

Mr. Cyril Roberts - 22nd Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Odd
Hotel was fine for the price. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was however a little odd, Looked good but everything tasted ODD!!

Mr. Gary Taylor - 18th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Good
Simple accomidation over an excellent pub with very good food, helpful and professional staff and management. I stay her 2 or 3 days a week while working in the area

Mr. Ian Mullen - 14th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Newton Nice
Right price, right location - friendly village, good beer and a quiz night to boot. A recommended stay

Mr. James Brown - 23rd Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Mike Mccarthy
I enjoyed my stay with you the room and staff was excellent.

Mr. Mike Mccarthy - 18th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Christening
We have stayed at the Pied Bull Hotel before and were happy with both of our stays. It is a very friendly service with everything you need. I would reccommend to a friend.

We reccently had our baby's Christening here. Again, the service was friendly. The buffet was excellent! A great day was had by all.

Mrs. Louise Astle - 1st Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Great Weekend
great hotel friendly staff very accommodating will stay there again when in Newton

Mr. James Dulson - 9th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Accomodation
we enjoyed our stay with you the rooms and service were excellent we will stay again if we need to be in the area

Mr. Peter Knight - 16th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Outstanding Stay
Thank you for a very well run place. Its was all i needed and more.The staff were very pleasent, and very helpful. The accommadation was good and in a very clean state. Lovely place and i will be back in the future. Thanku

Mr. Dominic Hagans - 16th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Very Good
A warm welcome,good rooms and VERY good food all the staff are happy .
We will be back time and time again.
Thankyou all

Mr. Patrick Smith - 11th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Good Value - Nice Food
Good value, clean and friendly.
Pub food was excellent - portions could be smaller to make prices cheaper, because there was far too much served even for the largest of appetites!

Ms. Paula Mary Highcock - 5th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Pretty Much Flawless!
An enjoyable stay. Friendly staff, very clean rooms and facilities. Wi-fi available which is useful. Lovely location and very close to corner shop, chemsist, pubs, and the train station. I have stayed there a few times before and will be staying again some time in the new year. Best of all, good rates! There is also a competing hotel just around the corner which I have also stayed at and it was the complete opposite of The Pied Bull so I would stay here every time, no question about it. If there is any downside at all, it would be that (personally) I think the breakfast is overpriced, but each to their own.

Miss. Ruth Owen - 13th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Our Stay At The Pied Bull
We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Pied Bull, your staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean, bright, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and overall we enjoyed our stay with you. Kind regards Barbara and Tommy

Mrs. Barbara Edge - 11th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Pied Bull Hotel
On the plus side, the owners are very friendly and willing to assist. The food is very good and reasonably priced. The room was fine. By no means luxurious, but for a 3-star hotel perfectly adequate.

The main negative was very poor internet connection. The signal was weak and the connection speed was slow. One day I couldn't connect from my room or the bar. The staff allowed me to use the meeting room, where I finally managed to get a connection. The second day I was able to connect from my room. I was unable to get a connection on my iPod at all.

Another problem was the duvet was very short. I am of average height (5' 10") but the duvet did not cover my feet.

Mr. Nigel Smith - 8th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
On arrival I was shown to my room which was adjacent to the beer garden and smoking area. First impressions I thought this is not too good and expected to be awake most of the night due to saturday night noise. I had food and drink in the pub which was nice, then I went back to my room. The room was nicely furnished with ensuite. I had a good night sleep which was followed by a nice breakfast and friendly staff. Price was on the top side and goes to show you shouldnt go on first impressions as my stay was okay.
Only down side to room was it had two windows looking onto the beer garden so you were like a goldfish in a fishtank unless you closed the curtains and put light on.

Mr. Mark Scott - 10th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

July 2011 Visit
We had a wonderful experience visiting family in Newton le Willows and staying at The Pied Bull. We had three rooms in the cottage. Rooms were neat and clean and with recently refurbished bathrooms which were very nice. Plenty of towels and nice toiletries, and the staff was great with all of our coming and going! THey have a lovely garden area to sit out in and visit and the breakfasts were done to order and lovely. Great Place!

Mrs. Cynthia Baird - 3rd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
Good food, warm welcome, comfy and clean, good rates and quaint accommodation

Mr. David Evans - 6th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Overnight Stay On 11/6/11
Room was excellent - clean, fairly spacious and beds comfortable. Only one minor complaint was position of TV in relation to beds. Wouldn't have been such a big issue but wanted to see F1 practice. We weren't very hungry so did not have much breakfast but what we had was lovely.

Superb value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Mr. William Calderwood - 18th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Bonza [australian For Great]
Lovely quiet room.Nicely furnished and you have a good cleaner but you must remove the shower waste cover and clean the filter under it on a regular basis or you will have an overflow into bathroom and lounge.

Mr. Barry Haslam - 1st Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Very Good
value for money great food pleasant staff

Mrs. Julia Welch - 18th May, 2011
Verified Review

Raceing
thanks for another loverly stay nice clean rooms lovely food staff very polite see you next year

Mr. Paul Hargreaves - 27th Apr, 2011
Verified Review