Definately Recommend To Stay!
We had a fantastic stay here, the owners went out of their way to help with anything, like a spare set of keys, and the room was large, comfortable and had everything you needed. Breakfasts were gorgeous with lots of fruit and choices of cooked breakfasts. Evening meal was really delicious, especially the vegetarian option. Loved the books in the lounge area especially the one with local Newlyn people!

Lysanne Wilson - 23rd Oct, 2017
Verified Review

The Smugglers
Decor a little tired, but homely. Very welcoming and friendly. Excellent service and the most delicious breakfast, overlooking Newlyn harbour. We only stayed one night but would go back, for sure.

David Watt - 14th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Visit Cornwall And English Friends
Lovely decorated room, like in a castel ( my home is my castel). No internet access in the room, only in the lounge.
Fine food.
Overwhelming view in the dining room onto the harbor.
Best of all was the kind service - thank you!

Niklaus Meyer - 11th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

First Class In Every Way.
My husband and I have just spent four nights at The Smugglers and this was our second visit this year. As always everything was spot-on, we enjoyed fabulous food, wonderful accommodation and to top it all we had a wonderful view of Newlyn harbour and the sea from our room. We hope to return early next year.

Hilary Thomas - 8th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

A Few Days Stay
The room was lovely, the location was great, ideal spot if travelling by foot, car or bus, walking distance to Penzance town centre and Mousehole. Barbara was very friendly and Stephen was very helpful and full of useful information, gave lots of suggestions on where to go etc. The food in The smugglers is great, we ate there one evening...fabulous!, There was a great variety of breakfasts, the smoked fish omelette is the best breakfast dish I have ever had. If we ever to stay in the area again, we would definitely stay here.

PAULA CORBETT - 6th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Comfortable Rooms And Good Food
The Smugglers is a smart restaurant with a few well appointed rooms, set in an excellent location. There is a first class breakfast with a wide choice of delicious dishes all prepared to a high standard. The welcome is friendly. Highly recommended.

henry mills - 1st Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Sunny Days In Newlyn
Dear Steven, dear Barbara,
we arrived Germany yesterday at the afternoon and had spent very good days in a beautiful room and have seen a lot of places. Thanks for the delicious lunch box.
Have a nice time.
Ernst + Ute Krämer

Mr. Ernst kraemer - 29th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Smugglers
We were only there one night but thoroughly enjoyed Steve and Barbara\'s hospitality
Room was clean and tidy, sumptuous breakfast,stunning morning views over the marina. Good to see Fair Trade tea and coffee used.
Very enjoyable stay.
Parking is off site a short distance away and you have to load your luggage directly off the street but this is to be expected in a seaside area built 200 years before cars were invented. A small price to pay for a unique experience.
Definitely recommend

Rodney Sharp - 26th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Our Stay At The Smugglers Sept. 2017
this was our second break at the Smugglers this year yet again we throughly enjoyed our stay. Our room The Forbes was beautiful, quiet with a lovely little area to sit outside. Everything was immaculately clean and all of our needs were catered for. The breakfast choice was outstanding with top quality produce. Stephen, Barbara and their staff excelled themselves in helping us to feel most welcome. just what we need a long earned rest and to be spoilt.. thank you so much...

Mr & Mrs Lane - 26th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Place To Stay
Really lovely room, spacious, clean and comfortable. We loved the freshly ground fairtrade coffee. Fabulous breakfasts, the best we had all week.

Tracey Forbes - 23rd Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Home From Home
We were made welcome on arrival despite arriving late. The accommodation was spacious, clean and adequately furnished. Breakfast was freshly cooked and catered for all tastes. The staff were friendly, considerate and interested in our wellbeing. This really was a home from home and I would highly recommend \"The Smugglers\" as a nice place to stay.

George Farr-Voller - 23rd Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Very Relaxing Stay
This was our 4th stay at the smugglers. Barbara and Steve as usual gave us a very warm welcome. We stayed in Forbes a wonderful, quiet well appointed en suite room. The breakfasts are superb, you won\'t need lunch and dinner in the evening is wonderful. Thank you both for looking after us so well. Lesley and david.

Mr & Mrs Seabrook - 20th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Smuggle This One - Its A Treasure.
Great hosts, superb breakfasts, book a meal in the restaurant if you get the opportunity, Stephen is a superb chef. Excellent room. Newlyn is a real working harbour with easy access to plenty of interesting places around the coast.

Eric Lee - 15th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Autumn Holiday
Great welcome by hosts.Very clean and comfortable accommodation.Great choice breakfast menu and cooked to perfection.Great
views from the dining room.

Jack Hough & Ethna Hough - 9th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Thank You For A Lovely Stay
I had a most comfortable and enjoyable stay recently. Nothing was too much trouble for Stephen and his staff, even going the extra mile to arrange for my daughter to put my favourite flowers in my room before my arrival as a birthday surprise and even allowing her with a guest to join me for my birthday breakfast. A small problem with the shower in my do suite was dealt with immediately, the room was very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Unfortunately I didn\'t get time to enjoy the verandah but it was very well designed. Breakfast was absolutely delicious...I was lucky enough to try four different dishes during my stay and Sarah was very pleasant and efficient. I would certainly recommend this establishment and stay there again.

Mrs. Lilian Coates - 8th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

4 Day Stay
Excellent - friendly staff great breakfast. Sarah and Steve gets special thanks. Gave great tips on places of interest.very clean and comfortable

Shabnam Alibhai - 2nd Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Smugglers Rest
Isuper stay . Staff were first class and the accommodation was excellent. Would highly recommend.

tony horsted - 23rd Aug, 2017
Verified Review

The Smugglers, Newlyn
Cosy accommodation in the town centre of Newlyn with harbour view near Penzance. We felt very welcome. Stephen and his family care a lot for their guests. Good advice for day trips. Excellent breakfast. Rooms very spacy and clean. Bus stop just around the corner. We definitely recommend this accommodation even for longer stays.

Oliver Pieper - 21st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Delizioso B&b
Thank you for your welcome and for the precious information about places to visit.
The smugglers is really nice and would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Ciao Stefano

STEFANO MUGNAINI - 11th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Smuggler\'s Resturant With Rooms ; Highly Recommend
Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Smuggler\'s ; friendly owners, clean, luxurious rooms and the food was superb

We highly recommend a visit here and we will definitely be back !!

Mark Gerbaldi - 8th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
Lovely spacious clean room. Breakfast was one of the best, very hot. Owners very friendly and helpful. A quality B & B at a decent price. Would definitely stay again.

John Dodson - 5th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

A Great Place To Eat And Stay ...
We\'ve been back to The Smugglers several times over the past few years to eat and to stay. You\'ll struggle to find a friendlier welcome, the rooms are spacious and well equipped .. the food is to die for !

Mr & Mrs Masding - 2nd Aug, 2017
Verified Review

A Peaceful Place
Enjoyed my two night stay. Lovely room overlooking a pretty courtyard garden where you can sit in good weather. Friendly and helpful hosts who provide good breakfasts.

JOSEPHINE FEMIA - 30th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Beautiful Clean Room
We stayed for one night in a room with a wonderful view over the harbour. Everything was spotless and appeared to have been recently redecorated. The people were friendly and helpful. As we had to leave early they made us a breakfast which was excellent.

Paul Bowdler - 30th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Little Gem
Quirky and quaint accommodation situated in beautifull surroundings overlooking ocean. Very friendly hosts and magnificent breakfasts. A \"little gem\".

John Allen - 27th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect Place For A Short Visit To Penzance/newlyn
We stayed to the Smugglers for 2 nights in July, lovely rooms, fab breakfast even umbrellas provided for a rainy Tuesday. Can\'t fault it at all. Short walk along the sea to Penzance, lots of lovely places to eat, (try the seafood tapas in Newlyn)...

Nicola Gibson - 18th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Smuggler\'s Inn. Barbara, owner and the face of the the establishment was an absolute delight to deal with, and breakfast with great choices were all delightfully prepared and presented. Our accommodations, the Harbour View room was tastefully decorated with a great view, with the only downside being the noisy seagulls early in the morning. Highly recommended.

Cupido Daniels - 18th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Superb Find
A great find. Excellent food, service, room and value.

David Fisher - 15th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect Weekend At The Smugglers
Just had the most perfect weekend in South West Cornwall. My elderly parents were down from London. We wanted somewhere within reasonable drive to Minack theatre. I almost came across the Smugglers by accident. It looked great from reviews and location but it was speaking to Barbara on the phone that sealed it for me, from that first conversation to the welcome on our arrival, the care and attention during our stay, the fantastic food, the views , the lovely light airy dining area and outside spaces, well appointed rooms. Faultless.

Rachel Andrews - 10th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Comfortable Stay
Very happy to have selected the Smugglers as our place to stay for a few nights in Newlyn. Well looked after by Barbara, who organised a parking permit (small charge) in advance for the harbour car park. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the dinner we had there on our first night as well.

Peter Wyld - 7th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful!!
Faultless from the start of our stay to the end. We couldn\'t have asked for better and Barbara and Steve were lovely and very helpful.The rooms were spotless and the breakfast was excellent.We shall definitely be returning.

Claudine Buckthorpe - 7th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Ideal Place To Stay In Newlyn
Really enjoyed staying at the Smugglers, Barbara is very welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely with everything we needed in there. Very tasty breakfast, would not hesitate to return if visiting the area again.

Mrs. Sharon Wilson - 28th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Great Stay At The Smugglers!
This was our first time in Penzance and upon arriving at the Smugglers we could not have felt more welcome.

Barbara took our bags to the room after giving us some handy tips on things to do in the afternoon which was greatly appreciated.

The room was excellent... Very spacious and clean with a relaxing decking area for us to sit out and enjoy the sun. The bed was big and comfy and made every day for us along with fresh towels being provided. Tea and coffee was topped up daily ready for us to enjoy first thing in the morning.

Breakfast is a must here. A great selection including cereal, a fried breakfast made with local produce and smoked salmon. Everything was cooked fresh to order and set us up nicely for the day ahead. Nice view over the harbour while we ate too.

All in all a great base next to the harbour (parking provided at £6.50 for the duration of the stay which was great value), and only a short stroll to the sea front (approximately 10-15 minutes). We felt very well looked after and will be returning soon!

Andrew Wright - 26th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Friendly Comfortable
Good location overlooking the harbour.
Very friendly hosts nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast and parking close by.

Mrs. Sandra Pond-Jones - 24th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

The Smugglers Is Delightful
I can honestly say I have never been treated so well at a b&b Barbara was so kind and welcoming nothing too much trouble I was getting married and she even stored my dress for me we ate in the restaurant one evening and it was delicious I had my two young nieces and lots of family Barbara was so good with the children and the food was top quality we had a brilliant evening we spent 4 nights here and loved every second the room was gorgeous with our own little terrace cleaned every day though it was already spotless and even our pyjamas popped under the pillow I cannot recommend the smugglers enough it\'s in a great location to explore penzance or the lovely mousehole if I was ever in that part of cornwall I wouldn\'t stay anywhere else room amazing food fantastic and Barbara was the nicest hostess ever stay here you will not be disappointed

Claire Dare - 19th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Massive Thanks
Thank you for a wonderful stay; The Smugglers was very comfortable, very clean and very friendly, in a wonderful location. The view at breakfast, and the breakfast itself was magnificent. We did extend our stay. Thanks, Barbara and Steve, all the best Malcolm and Linda

Malcolm Robinson - 18th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Had a really relaxing break,Barbara and Steve the owners, were very friendly, and welcoming.The food was suburb.and the views of Newlyn Harbour from the restaurant are stunning,if you are looking to visit Penzance,would really recommend the Smugglers for somewhere to stay.we are looking forward to going back there next year.

Raymond Stonnell - 12th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Stay
We stayed at the Smugglers in 2016 so this was our second time visiting fron liverpool.The rooms are beautifully decorated,spaciuos and spotlesss with lovely outside sitting areas.The breakfast is fantastic and most of all Barbara and Stephen who run the Smugglers are just so friendly and helpful.They can\'t do enough for you and made us feel so welcome.They even arranged parking at a very low price.The Smugglers is situated just a nice stroll away from the town (Penzance).Brilliant stay again.We would always stay here when visiting Cornwall.

Janette Bedson - 8th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Cornish Catch Up
I decided to suprise my dad with a visit. Knew of the Smugglers through local friends. Had also eaten there so had an idea it would be good. Well, good doesn\'t cover it! It\'s charm personified. The room was clean, comfortable and had all you could need, the evening meal we had was of a really high standard and delicious, the breakfast menu excellent and each dish we tried was superb - the friend I was with even declaring \"the full English is the best I\'ve tasted\" and she travels a lot! So far so excellent, then you factor in the view you get at breakfast and the genuinely warm welcome you receive and it makes for a place I didn\'t want to leave, will be back to and will highly recommend to my friends, colleagues and anyone else who will listen :). Thank you for a great stay!

Emma Glenn - 31st May, 2017
Verified Review

The Smugglers Short Break In May
A welcoming and very comfortable B&B which we would happily recommend to our friends and family. The rooms were good quality with extra finishing touches which were appreciated if not all used (ie coffee percolator in room with fresh milk available, boxes of tissues, bowl of sweets). Our only adverse comment would be that the comfortable bed was a little too hot under a very thick duvet in a heated room. Lovely midwinter but maybe needs thinning as the weather gets warmer. The food was excellent Thankyou Steve and service friendly and efficient thank you Barbara. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to come back one day.

Mr. Bruce Harding - 15th May, 2017
Verified Review

Cosy Rooms In Excellent Location
An excellent base for visiting the area or just to chill out and watch the boats in the harbour right outside the windows.
Our room was large, well furnished and with a good en-suite shower room. Beautifully decorated and immaculately cleaned. The weather didn\'t permit our use of the private courtyard garden which would have been a great place to sit and rest after a long day or while planning where to visit for the day.
Breakfast choices are many, the fall-back of full English being sufficient to only require tea and cake for lunch. While a limited evening menu, it caters for all tastes and largely features freshly caught Newlyn fish.
Service by the owners is friendly and informal, they are a mine of local information and can\'t do enough to help their guests.
I would rate this as one of my outstanding short breaks and I hope to re-visit in the future.

Mr. Chris Wagstaffe - 8th May, 2017
Verified Review

Rest From Business
The Smugglers is the perfect location to rest from business. The owner are the perfect hosts. We were spoiled completely. Thank you so much.

Kirstine Rossler - 8th May, 2017
Verified Review

Snugglers
Lovely stay, superb breakfasts. Great attention to detail.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable .

Mrs Salmon - 6th May, 2017
Verified Review

Few Days Break
Lovely old building but very modern facilities. Very comfortable room and well equipped. Shirley made us very welcome. The breakfast was superb - large choice on menu. Lovely view of working harbour from dining area. Don\'t be put off by surroundings remember this is a working area and it is central to so many places to visit. Great bus service from Penzance but walking very easy along coast path. Great place to stay. (Local cinema worth a visit also).

Edmund Driscoll - 28th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Smugglers Stay
From the moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Barbara, the owner and shown into our lovely cosy room. We stayed for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant with a group of friends on Saturday night. Food was excellent at dinner and also breakfast. Great place to stay and would certainly repeat the experience.

Ms. Heather Staff - 23rd Apr, 2017
Verified Review

An Unexpected Delight
This has to be one of the best guest houses I\'ve had the pleasure of staying in. Apart from the excellent hospitality, accommodation and breakfast, the view over Newlyn Harbour is inspiring, with St. Michael\'s Mount in the background. A perfect location for walks, public transport and access to explore further treasures of this Cornish coastline. My first visit was the previous bank holiday; this one being my second and certainly not be my last. I was very impressed by this guest house as I\'m sure you will be

Lindsay Wilson - 17th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Very Comfortable And Fantastic Host
We enjoyed our stay at the smugglers very much. Barbara is a fantastic host, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. The smugglers is in a good location for walking the south coast path, and there are some great places within easy walk in newlyn - the newlyn filmhouse, the tolcarne inn and mackerel sky. Highly recommended!

Harriet Ackland - 10th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Unbeatable!
A fantastic place to stay! - perfect in everyway! Super hosts! - food and facilities!
Planning to go there again!

John Fletcher - 6th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Place To Stay
If you are coming to Cornwall there is no better place to stay than here. It was without a doubt one of the nicest places we have stayed. The welcome was warm and the room was immaculate, Barbara gave us some really good tips and instead of using the car we got the bus and train to where we wanted to go it was so relaxing and we could have a drink with our meals instead of worrying about driving. The breakfast was amazing real orange juice not squash and the bacon and sausage was of the highest quality. Also there was plenty of milk/tea/coffee in the room not just 2 of each. We would like to thank them both for a truly amazing 3 days, and hopefully next year we will be back. Anne and Eric

Anne Machin - 24th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely
The location and room were both so very nice. The hosts were quite thoughtful in regards to how the rooms and breakfast were done.

AUDREY SHILLINGTON - 11th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Good Find
Great place to stay, lovely cosy, very clean room, with lots of tea coffee biscuits.
Comfy bed, fantastic breakfast and lovely friendly owner, nothing too much trouble.
Highly reccommended.

Stephanie Harnett - 8th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Two Night Stay
Good base to explore the Southern Cornish coastline. Very warm welcome from the hosts. Comfortable room and good selection at breakfast. Fine dining in the restaurant for evening meal and reasonably priced. Would definately return.

Kay Williams - 30th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Newlyn Holiday At The Smugglers
Friendly helpful Hosts with good advice on seeing the local area including travel arrangments.Very spacious and comfortable ensuite bedroom.Great breakfast menu with top quality food prepared and cooked to the highest standard.Dinner menu again excellent and to fine dining standard.Great view of Newlyn Harbour and Mounts Bay from the Dining Room.

Patrick Hough - 24th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

A Great Place To Stay
Without doubt the best place we have stayed in England. The welcome from Barbara and the food cooked by Steve are both superb. This was our third visit and we hope to come again.

Jeff Cordery - 22nd Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay At The Smugers
Barbara was simply a wonderful hostess for the entire duration of our stay and her partner Steve prepared the most delicious meals. The room and outside seating area provided the perfect getaway and jumping off place for the many attractions we visited in the area. I would stay again in an instant.

Mike Boyko - 21st Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Delightful Stay
The Smugglers provides great accommodation with access to a private courtyard. The rooms are very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The restaurant is excellent, Stephen is a very good chef, we ate dinner twice during our four night stay. We looked forward to breakfast each day, as there was a great choice and everything was beautifully presented. Barbara was a wonderful host and offered helpful advice on trips.

Paul Corrigan - 15th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Good Room Super Breakfast
My wife and I enjoyed our 3 night stay. A good value. Barbara and Steve were excellent hosts. Breakfast was wonderful.

Michael Gill - 15th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

What A Wonderful Place!
From the warm welcome to the large and very comfortable bedroom to the splendid breakfasts and delicious dinners, the Smugglers was a perfect place to stay and very well placed for great days out.

Alison Murray - 5th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Just Wonderful
we were made to feel very welcome and our room had everything we could want, comfortable bed, good quality bedding and furnishings and our own private little courtyard!---just perfect. the food was top notch--very special. we will be back.

Teresa Denning - 4th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous Find By The Se
We booked this based on location as attending a music festival nearby but what a find. Barbara is a first class host who is attentive without being overly fussy. We dined in the restaurant for two nights and the food was delicious, fish soup so good l had it on the second night. The menu is simple with well cooked local seasonal ingredients and beautifully presented. It is a busy local restaurant so best to book before your stay. Breakfast is also top quality and caters for every taste. The room was spotlessly clean, big comfortable bed and serviced daily, and beautifully presented. Only small criticism is noise between rooms, we could here next doors television word for word, and assume vice versa, which was tricky when we wanted an early night before a long drive home. Highly recommend.

Lynne Lynch - 31st Aug, 2016
Verified Review

The Smugglers, Newlyn, Excellent
The warmest of welcomes from Barbara and Steve. Excellent attention to detail, breakfast quality and choice superb.
Restaurant food sublime. Stayed for five nights.

Mr & Mrs Seabrook - 27th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Birthday Trip
Our visit to Newlyn was to attend a birthday party nearby. We booked the Smugglers for three nights and stayed in the Langley room. It spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped. Shower facilities excellent with large white fluffy towels.
We dined the first night at the Smugglers and the cuisine was superb. Our hosts Barbara and Steve were an absolute delight and nothing was too much trouble. Our breakfast meal was again superb and set us up for each day. We would highly recommend the Smugglers and look forward to our next stay there. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Mr. James Carter - 27th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Séjour
Bele chambre et trės bon breakfast , excellent accueil et service!

ALAIN DEMIRDJIAN - 11th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Satisfied
It is a pity that we did not have chance to have breakfast as we leave early. The room is very clean and tidy.

Zhengyu Wang - 9th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Fantastic!
What a brilliant find!
Our room was gorgeous. Very clean, and lots of little things that made our stay enjoyable (loved having the caffitere).

Barbara was so friendly and accomodating.

Only thing we would have liked would have been the option for a slightly later breakfast :)

Thanks for a fab stay!

Emma Hayles - 6th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent
This was a really lovely stay- great facilities, clean and incredibly helpful and friendly hosts. Fantastic breakfast too! Thank you.

Miss. Catherine Palmer - 5th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Just A Lovely Place To Stay On Penzance
Smugglers is a quaint place right on the waterfront. The rooms are well equipped , private and comfortable. Little extras such as shower caps are provided. The breakfast is delicious and Barbara and Steve are superb hosts. There is a local pub nearby and it is only 2 miles to Mousehole if you love a walk.

Terry Fenner - 29th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely B&b And Great Host
Our stay at the smugglers was perfect. Barbara, the owner and manager, is a wonderful host and the food in the restaurant is fantastic! They even give you real, ground coffee in your room which for us as coffee lovers was a nice surprise!

John Stanley - 26th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Fantastic
We would defiantly stay there again , could not fault our stay with the smugglers. Food was great and customer service second to none . We stayed only one night , but would love to have stayed longer

Dawn Deeley - 22nd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Smoking Policy
Hi Barbara
I hope you take this as a friendly \'heads up\' but ALL hotels restaurants & B&Bs are by law 100% smoke free which is why we picked your lovely building as a place with an outside courtyard to smoke in. Room, food & service are second to non but you might make clear the private courtyard is ALSO non smoking. I\'m sure this clarity will actually promote non smokers booking and avoid smokers disappointment. All the best.
Tim & Jacky

Mr. Tim. Welch - 13th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hi Tim and Jacky
Firstly let me say it was lovely to meet you both and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here. With regard to your comments on our smoking policy, we are fully aware of the laws regarding smoking on licensed premises, we do state on our website and on booking.com that we are a 100% smoke free property, you made the assumption that you would be allowed to smoke in the outside areas but if you had called ahead to check this I could have told you that our policy is completely smoke free and you could have chosen somewhere that better suited your needs. We do not have smoking in the courtyards as if a guest is enjoying their outside space and smoke is drifting across from another area then their enjoyment is impaired, we have to consider all our guests. Most places have smoking out the front of their property and we are no different. I hope this clarifies the matter for you.
Best Wishes
Barbara

Nothing Too Much Trouble
Large well appointed rooms with everything you\'ll need to hand. Hosts down to earth and charming, creating a positive and friendly atmosphere. Will definitely visit again when in the area.

Steve Hill - 12th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

A Gem Of A B&b
Two lovely days staying at The Smugglers before going on to the Scillies. Extremely handy for the harbour in Penzance. Wonderful meals in their restaurant, especially the locally caught fish dishes. Very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble.

Angela Geeson - 7th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderfull Place
Great location and friendly service coupled with superb food - highly recommended

Michael Austin - 30th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Best Accommodation In Cornwall!
We have been returning to The Smugglers for the last five years and cannot fault it. It\'s in a fabulous location on the harbour front, and ideal for going to The Minack theatre. Barbara and Steve make you feel so welcome, and the accommodation is perfect. Fabulous breakfasts and top class evening meals produced by Steve. Well worth the six-hour plus journey! Looking forward to next year.

Mrs. Janet Green - 24th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Great Stay
Had a great stay at the smugglers for 2 nights in the Langley room. Room was emaculate and furnishings excellent. Great choice in breakfast menu and cooking and presentation outstanding.WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place to anyone wanting good standard accomadation with pleasant owners. Make sure you take advantage of discounted parking permit that Barbara will offer you just before you travel.

Nilton Crane - 17th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Return After 45 Years!!
Brilliant hospitality superb stay great location
Good room everything you need after a train
Journey from Aberdeen !
Breakfast 5 star with the best view in the world
Barbara must have a masters degree in hospitality

Mr. Breffit - 15th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Exceptional Roomd
Surprisingly high standard of rooms not quite matched by the frint of house. Excellent welcome and service, great cooking. Wifi worked well and shower was great

Jerome Pugh - 29th May, 2016
Verified Review

Could Not Have Wished For Better
EXCELLENT (in capitals), room good as was food. Would recommend.

Mr & Mrs Ottaway - 25th May, 2016
Verified Review

A Great Few Days
We stayed at The Smugglers last weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Our room was very comfortable, hosts helpful and friendly. Breakfast was well cooked and presented, and the 1 evening meal we had was delicious. Newlyn is a lovely place to have as a base for exploring, and it\'s worth spending time meandering around the narrow streets and of course the harbour. Could go on!!

Mrs. Beryl Tudhope - 24th May, 2016
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Lovely room, superb food. Owners could not have been more helpful regarding requirement of early breakfast. It\'s just a pity that a seagull snatched one of the smoked salmon sandwiches out of our hands!

Chris Peters - 12th May, 2016
Verified Review

Holiday
The bed is very comfo,

JunRui He - 3rd May, 2016
Verified Review

Comfortable Start To Lejog
Stayed overnight prior to starting out end to end cycle. Very comfortable room and splendid breakfast to fuel us for the journey. Great secure storage for the bikes too! Excellent!

Simon Richards - 27th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Home From Home
We already know Barbara and Stephen from their excellent restaurant over the years, but this is the first time we have also stayed in their B&B. It is equally as good as the restaurant, in almost every way.If I had one personal quibble, it would only be the lack of either a blackout lining on the bedroom curtains or maybe some subsidiary blackout roller blinds behind them.The early Spring daylight into the bedroom woke me before six in the morning and I was not able to sleep after that. Clearly this will only trouble someone like myself who can only sleep in a darkened room.It will not bother a lot of people I am sure. However, everything else was so perfect, including the superb breakfast,I would still go back there every time in preference to anywhere else in the area.The entire place is also spotlessly clean and fresh, quiet at night and with amazing views across Newlyn Harbour and Mounts Bay from the breakfast room (which also becomes the restaurant in the evening).Five stars has to be a no brainer!

John Stanley - 18th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Newlyn Stay
A nice hotel with spacious and quite rooms. Friendly staff.
Great breakfast.

PS please do not send any E-mail

Thank You Michael

Mr. Michael Sumelius - 18th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
we were greeted with a warm and friendly manner, Barbara one of the owners couldn\'t do enough for us.
Our room was lovely and comfortable and had everything we needed.
We didn\'t eat in the restaurant as we had other commitments, but we did have breakfast the next morning which was delicious and plenty of it.
The views were great, the harbour right on the doorstep.
We would definitely return there again when we next visit newlyn.

MARIE BEARDMORE - 11th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Great Week-end
The room was beautifully decorated,comfortable,roomy clean and peaceful. The food was gorgeous very fresh tasty and again presented beautifully. Our hosts were very friendly helpful always available and if you wanted they could give you lots of information about the area. We had a very enjoyable relaxing week-end

Steve Venner - 19th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Great Time Away
We have just spent a lovely time in Newlyn, thanks mostly to Barbara and Steve. From the start even before we arrived the help began with parking. Then it just got better the room was fantastic and Barbara was so helpful both at the smugglers and with information about the area and people etc.Would go again.

Denise Potter - 3rd Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect
It was absolutely lovely. The spaciousness; the decor; the welcoming, friendly ambience and the walk in through the little courtyard to our individual area: a calm oasis. There is meticulous attention to detail; great professionalism with a gentle touch. Barbara\'s vibrant, knowledgeable personality is infectious and gives a desire to know more about the region. The coffee provided for the filter pot in or room was excellent and the compact walk in wardrobe with shelves, iron and board was an unexpected bonus. We slept very well in the king-size bed.

The food is a beautiful; skilfully balanced flavour and like everything about this visit never overstated. My husband worked his way down the breakfast menu - everything was so good.
Thank you.

Kathleen Hovland - 30th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Perfection
I congratulate myself on choosing do well. Smugglers B and B is a faultless experience.

Yvonne Parker - 26th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Comfortable, Well Situated Accommodation. Excellent Food.
Comfortable hotel. Owner very helpful. Food excellent (breakfast and evening meal) . Restaurant overlooks harbour. Good value. Well situated for visits to Mousehole, Penzance and St Michael\'s Mount. Only negative was absence of hotel car park. Parked 2 or 3 mins away, along a busy road (in a public car park). Possible to stop at hotel entrance for a short time to off-load cases.

David Shaw - 21st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Great Hospitality
Barbara and her Husband offer a warm welcome to all their guests and offer comfortable clean rooms with a delicious and varied breakfast menu . Thank you for your attention. Hospitality and friendly welcome.

Sharon O\\\'connor - 10th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

2 Day Stay
Very comfortable B@B ; great food en very kind owners.

Michel Panis - 23rd Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Two Nights At Langley Room
Lovely two nights stay. The room was very clean, large and comfortable. Barbara is a very kind person. Excellent breakfast!

Francesca Iori - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Enjoyable Visit
Spotlessly clean rooms, good facilites, warm and helpful welcome. Breakfast was lovley, with friendly and understanding service. Wish I had a chance to eat at the resturant for Dinner, but will next time. Parking is a pain and quite expensive but thats hardly the owners fault. Would stay again no questions asked.

Very pleasent and relaxing stay.

Gareth Williams

Gareth Williams - 13th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

More Then B&b
We stayed in the Deluxe Double Room -just great!

The restaurant serves very good local fish

The Owners are very nice

Rudolf Gisler - 8th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Come Hungry And Leave Very Satisfied!
had a fantastic time with superb food and very convivial hosts. our room was lovely with the small patio area to enjoy. really recommend a stay here and we may well return sometime in the future. many thanks

Ms. Diana Clewlow - 24th Jul, 2015
Verified Review

Great Stay!!
Only there for one night but owner was very nice and offered breakfast early but wasnt required.
Very nice room with cracking en-suite. Only thing i could suggest is a double hing on the wall mount for the tv, otherwise fantastic. Will stay again!!!

Jon Vicary - 29th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Stay At Smugglers Inn
Very friendly couple. Great room with everything you could wish for. Breakfast excellent. Very comfortable.

Roger Savatard - 23rd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Pre Scillonian Night
Barbara made us most welcome and a very comfortable room - spacious clean and all amenities you need !

Susan Rush - 22nd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

One Of The Best B&b\'s We Ever Had!
The Smugglers is an excellent place to stay. The owners are friendly, the rooms are very clean and the breakfasts are a good begin of the day. Also in the evening the restaurant serves very good food.

Johannes Niestadt - 19th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Very Comfortable & Excellent Service
We arrived quite late on the Friday evening in the rain & were greeted with a very warm welcome, we had Harley as our room which was spacious with a lovely big & very comfortable bed. The restaurant was busy & yet we were still accommodated, the food was superb & the service was fantastic. We only stayed the one night & thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, the only downside is the parking which is at a pay & display just down the street but approx £6 for 24 hours it isn\'t extortionate.

Pam Bailey - 16th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Night In Penzance
A very welcoming place to stay. Owners helpful in every way. Great views. Clean with all we required. Parking a challenge but pay and display a short walk away.

Raewyn Diprose - 13th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Great Host
Front of house Barbara was very pleasant and helpful Food good. Rooms immaculate(and we check because we were in the business for 18 yrs) However its not our usual beachfront location and pretty much nothing to do within walking distance. Local pubs are a bit grim. So accom 1st class Location lacks a bit.

Bryn Archer - 8th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Warm Welcome
We had a very warm welcome and a great 2 night stay at Smugglers.
And by the way... their vanilla icecream is FABULOUS !!!

Mr Stefan Nerinckx - 5th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Place For A Break
A brilliant weekend, accommodation superb, food excellent, my fiancee is lactose intolerant but Barbara and Steve went out of their way to make sure that she could eat a selection of food which makes a great change, they couldn\'t have been more helpful. We will be going back again later in the year for another break and look forward to it.

Alan Basey - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
We enjoyed an marvellous overnight stay on 16 May 2015, with excellent dinner and breakfast meals, and the accommodation was very comfortable and quiet. We would certainly recommend The Smugglers to family and friends. Many thanks to Stephen and Barbara Turner.

Nigel West - 28th May, 2015
Verified Review

Worth A Visit
Very comfortable, welcoming, and great breakfast. Easy to locate handy parking and lovely view if working fishing harbor

Donald Ross ALLEN - 27th May, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay!
Finding Smugglers was wonderful. We stayed for several nights enjoying a lovely well-equipped room (including real coffee and beautifully soft large towels - and reliable free wifi) and amazing breakfasts. We also had dinner there twice. The food was imaginative, beautifully cooked and presented, and really fresh. The owners went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. Very strongly recommended!

George Coombs - 23rd May, 2015
Verified Review

Sensational!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
One of our loveliest stays in Cornwall. The room was beautifully appointed and quite large. The dinner was gourmet with a view that could not be surpassed. And our host was gracious and generous. Don\'t miss this B and B.

Frederick Bates - 20th May, 2015
Verified Review

Thumbs Up
Only stayed for one night but loved the place. Made to feel at home by Barbara, owner, and the room was just right, spacious, comfy bed and a decent shower. Full English the next morning was spot on but there was a decent choice of other things. Definite stay if back to this neck of the woods.

Mr. Kevin Quant - 19th May, 2015
Verified Review

Frendly
Excellent food in a nice restaurant

Louis Boffa - 18th May, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely
The hospitality there is second to none, thanks to Barbara and Steve, we were made to feel at home as soon as we stepped through the front door. The room we had, Langley, is beautiful, very tastefully and comfortably furnished. The place is spotless and the three rooms all have their own outdoor seating in a very pretty sheltered garden.
The food is excellent and the restaurant overlooks the harbour with a wonderful veiw of Penzance and St Michael\'s Mount.

Philip Davies - 18th May, 2015
Verified Review

An Excellent Place To Stay
We were attending a concert at the Minack theatre and needed somewhere to stay close by - The Smugglers was ideal - 20 min taxi ride (arranged by Barbara). Room modern, clean and had everything we needed. Made very welcome from the minute we entered the B&B. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. We would thoroughly recommend The Smugglers.

Mr. Patrick Sexton - 18th May, 2015
Verified Review

Beautiful Room
We enjoyed our stay in The Smugglers, delicious Breakfast and helpful, friendly Hosts

Harald Blümel - 12th May, 2015
Verified Review

A Great Find
A good place to stay - great hosts - excellent food - very comfortable rooms.

Marion Greaseley - 5th May, 2015
Verified Review

Friendly, Extremely Comfortable And Good Chef!
We could not have been made to feel more welcome. Our every wish was fulfilled. Lovely front of house hostess,Barbara. The rooms were lovely and well-appointed.

Christina Thomas - 3rd May, 2015
Verified Review

Not A B&b - A 4* Hotel!
The Smugglers is a wonderful venue for a great meal and a sleepover. We stayed over for my husband\'s birthday and it proved a real treat. The standard of cleanliness is exceptional both in the rooms and the restaurant. The welcome is one of the warmest you will receive and the rooms are stunning. The restaurant menu is comprehensive and great value for money - as is the wine. We had a great stay and have no hesitation at all in recommending it. The only slight negative is that there is no car park but the nearest public parking is only a couple of minutes walk. We will definitely go back.

Debra Lockwood - 26th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely B&b With Magnificent View Of Newlyn Harbour From Restaurant
We stayed here for five nights in a lovely room with a private courtyard garden. Everything was excellent with a warm welcome from the hosts and beautifully cooked breakfasts. Newlyn is a very interesting working harbour and is a good location for touring the local area. Would not hestitate to recommend this establishment to anyone.

Carol Ross - 24th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect Bed And Breakfast
Was a lovely room with a great shower! The breakfast was excellent.
Out only grip was not knowing the restaurant was closed on Sun & Mon so scuppering our dining plans.
Would recommend and stay again!

Mr. Griff Wilkinson - 22nd Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Perfection.
Our stay was nothing less than perfect thanks to the excellent hospitality we received coupled with amazing food and a very beautiful and well looked after property,our accommodation was very comfortable and catered for all our needs as well as being very private,we could not fault the smugglers as it was perfect in every way . It was worth every penny of the very reasonable fee .Thank you to our Hosts for operating such a great business and being very welcoming and relaxing .We would love to come back as it was a great stay .

Mark Warden - 15th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
... a lovely room, secluded, quiet and spacious.

Room and bathroom well equipped. The only downside would be that the TV needs to be bigger as it is situated so far you cannot see it so well from the bed.

The owners greeted us on arrival and then simply left us to it - perfect!

would recommend this stay to anyone.

Jatinder Ghuman - 13th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Exceptional
Very friendly service from Barbara.
Room was very comfortable and clean.
Great breakfasts.

Stefania Addonisio - 7th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic!
Everything is excellent! Nice host, great location,beautiful decoration and really brilliant breakfast! Wish to stay again.

Jianyin Peng - 4th Apr, 2015
Verified Review