Lovely Country Inn
This was our second stay at Brook house Inn and we will be back as soon as we can spare the time. THe location is perfect, in a beautiful and unspolit Lakeland valley. It is convenient for a wide range of walks, from the major high fells to lovely low level valley walks.
We had a spacious and comfortable room with all facilities. Food is excellent , and there is a cosy and pleasant bar. THe staff are friendly and welcoming.

Dr. Philippa Browning - 9th Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Winter Break
Large clean room with modern bathroom. Food and drink excellent and very friendly and helpful staff. Great position in a beautiful valley.

Mr. kevin wright - 3rd Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Winter Break
Large clean room with modern bathroom. Food and drink excellent and very friendly and helpful staff. Great position in a beautiful valley.

Mr. kevin wright - 3rd Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Late November Weekend Break
Lovely short break. Friendly and accommodating staff. So nice to have breakfast next to a log fire, and on return from a days frosty walk in Eskdale. Great food. Would definitley stay again :)

Mr. Jonathan Taylor - 28th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

A Warm Welcome Amidst The Frosty Fells
Brook House Inn is set in thousands of acres of beautiful & unspoilt countryside, with fantastic walking access to some of the highest peaks in England.

I chose to come here for the natural beauty & peace offered in the area, but my week-long break was made even more special by the wonderful hospitality I received at the inn.

As soon as I arrived I felt like one of the locals & quickly fell into conversation with the staff present that evening. This helped me unwind immediately after my six hour drive.

After being shown to my room, I went downstairs & enjoyed some wonderful food, local beer, and a bottle of wine, before settling in for a peaceful night\'s sleep.

I was up for breakfast, which is available from 8-9am, & everything is catered for. I am vegetarian & was very happy that there is plenty available, along with many dishes for meat eaters. Continental breakfast options are also available. The diversity of food continues into the daytime & evening menus too, so there are no shortage of options for any dietary requirement (GF & vegan options are available too).

There is plenty within easy reach, although the weather was something to contend with at this time of year. The snows had fallen early, so the peaks were beautiful, but quite treacherous in icy areas - correct walking (and climbing) attire is highly recommended.

The inn itself is not particularly hard to get to when the weather is okay, but some of the roads can ice up pretty easily & become almost impassable. Please do bear this in mind!

As I say, I was looking for peace & found it in abundance. All of the staff had plenty of time for me, I had a good chat with pretty much everyone and found them all to be warm and welcoming, polite & friendly. The service I received was impeccable, in every aspect of my stay. I met pretty much everyone that worked there & I\'m happy to say that their company was a pleasure.

I will definitely be back next year, but this time my wife will be in tow..

Mr. Steven Steel - 27th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

October Anniversary
We had a wonderful time! Gold & blue skies, walks by the river and to the lovely old church, a very comfortable room with amazing views and super food! We both loved the main fish medley & I inhaled the scallops - so tasty!; my husband loved the pudding and his starter - pear& Stilton medley. And the wine & whisky. It was perfect. The staff were funny, kind and attentive. Special praise for Dougie who works well under pressure and managed a flattering photo of the pair of us( despite instructions to make us look 20 years younger & 40lbs lighter!) We will be back - in the New Year hopefully.

Mrs Maureen Hunter - 30th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Short Break
Excellent room - spacious and comfortable. Food was very good and the service superb.
Ideally located for walking and the Ravenglass railway

Mr. Eric Holmes - 28th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
A lovely stay at Brook House Inn. Warm and welcoming by the staff especially as delayed by traffic and getting there much later than anticipated. A lovely meal and comfortable bed and clean room.
The outlook from the window was amazing.
Thank you.

Mrs. Margaret Oliver - 27th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Lake Break October 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you. We were impressed by the standard of accommodation, warmth of welcome and the delicious food. We very much look forward to another stay with you.

Mrs. Valerie Woods - 26th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Another Great Stay.
Once again I had an excellent time at Brook House - excellent food, a comfortable room and friendly and helpful staff.

Mr. ROBERT HASLAM - 22nd Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Walking In The Lakes
Good facilities for walkers in a superb area although drying room might be more efficient. Friendly staff. good food & bar. Bedrooms grand although I would prefer a stronger bed-side light. much improved from 30 years previous.

Peter Jackson - 18th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Good
bedroom: very well appointed & comfortable
food:very good
service:staff very helpful & frinedly

Mr. Stephen & Gill Pennells - 18th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Balm To The Soul!
As a group of walkers, we received a warm welcome and the staff were very helpful as l had managed to come without my purse! The rooms were clean and quiet and a good size and the food was excellent ( l had fresh trout). Would strongly recommend.

Ms. Rosemary Pitt - 12th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Just Gets Better
Each time I have stayed at Brook House they have upped their game even further. By now it would take at least a couple of months to sample all their selection of malt whiskies. The cuisine is imaginative and varied using top quality ingredients, and the portions are generous. What never changes, of course, are the peaceful location, the friendly and efficient staff, the comfortable accommodation and the relaxed vibe.

Nichols Haas - 30th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
I have stayed at Brook House before and my expectations were not let down. My room was simply but well furnished, it and en suite were clean and tidy. The beer very good and food excellent. The staff and \"mine hosts\" all very friendly. Even the weather was good. All in all a most enjoyable stay.

Mr. William Young - 26th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Septemberweekend
Great stay, nice bar, good food. And the landscape is stunning.

Mr. Ola Klockar - 14th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
This was my 2nd stay at the brook house and was as happy with this visit as my 1st, I found the staff to be pleasant and welcoming and would definitely stay here again. The food was delicious. I took my family there for a meal and all of us thought the food and service was really good.

Miss. Kathryn Lee - 10th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Long Weekend
Despite indifferent weather the management and staff at the Brook House gave their usual friendly and efficient service. Food and drink top notch so a great weekend was had by all.

Mr. Philip Curwen - 6th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Very Well Looked After By Some Very Nice People!
My heading says it all. We last stayed here quite a few years ago and were keen to return. We were not disappointed by anything, as the rooms were fine, the food and victuals even finer and the staff looked after us very well. A good bunch of people who work well as a team, clearly enjoy what they do and were always very friendly and helpful in a relaxed way, to the extent that it was not a problem for them to prepare 8 cold platters for us at short notice after our unexpected late return following a - ahem - slight map reading error led us into the wrong valley! The cooked food was very good and the impromptu Ploughman\'s with 4 different cheeses being the best I have had in a long time. Will definitely book again when we next return to Eskdale.

Mr. Mark Robinson - 5th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Thank You All !
This is an excellent address ! First the warmth of the hotel staff throughout our three day stay. Leslie went out of her way to collect us late at night from Holmbrook. We appreciated the meal that had been kept ready for us . The beer too ! The bedroom was perfect, spacious and comfortable with a well equipped bathroom. Everything you could wish for .an efficient drying room available to all guests is a real plus. We\'d love to come back and send all the team a big thankyou

Gibson/Warren - 1st Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Welcoming B&b
welcoming and very friendly staff. Our bedroom was comfortable, roomy and had superb views- best room we\'ve stayed in at BH to date but we were very disappointed with the shower and wished there had been more rails and shelves in bathroom for storage.

Sheena Alsford - 30th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

A Wonderful Lake District Pub & B&b
I\'ve just returned from 3 nights at the Brook House Inn. A fantastic away-from-it all location, great food, good beer,good atmosphere, comfortable bed, good shower & a boot drying room. 100% satisfied - thanks!

Dr. AJC Cook - 25th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Boy Did It Rain!
Three day stay in the lovely Brook House. Late arriving - no problem. Rained for 12 hours+ over night - no problem. Fabulous low level walks near to impressive river and falls. Excellent evening meal with friendly helpful staff all the way through. Could just do with darker curtains for my light sleeping husband. Thank you everyone.

undefined Dawn Wardell - 24th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Eskdale Weekend For 10th Wedding Anniversary
We had an excellent weekend despite the typical Lakeland weather on Saturday. The \"Ratty\" was a good option as always. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the beer and food was good.
And Burnley beat Liverpool!

Mr. Howard Smith - 22nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Quiet And Relaxing
I have stayed several times in the last couple of months.A remote and tranquil location. Great for getting away from it all and unwinding after a days work.
Good accommodation, excellent food and friendly staff.

Mike Mortby - 18th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Warm And Welcoming
The room was very clean and comfortable the staff were very warm and friendly and the food was delicious. Would definitely stay again.

Patricia Crowther - 15th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Brilliant As Always
Weve been coming here for 20 years.Good food good location

Mr & Mrs Barnes - 10th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

A First Class Stay
From the first time that I rang the Inn the service was excellent. Everyone was very efficient and friendly. The food and accommodation were both first class. All of my group of sixteen enjoyed their time there very much and we would not hesitate to return.

Mr David Last - 8th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Welcome For Walkers
A really great place to stay - my friend and I were walking and arrived damp and tired, and were made to feel welcome from the start.
The staff couldn\'t be more helpful. Very traditional Lakes Inn and with seriously wonderful food!

Ms. Janette McCulloch - 7th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
Greeted with warmth and humour, excellent food, huge portions; all staff very kind and friendly.

Julie Hoehn - 3rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Hidden Gem
Stopped at the Brook House Inn for a wedding. Hotel is clean, friendly staff, comfortable rooms with great views. Food was good. Highly recommended.

Paul Watson - 2nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Great Location
Had a great stay for a wedding in the nearby church. Staff very friendly and accommodating, drink was great and if you\'re a whisky lover you\'ll be in heaven in this place!

Kevin Johnston - 1st Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Pete And Sheila 30th Pearl Anniversary Celebration
Thank you for a great break. Lovely location, great food and happy memories.

Mrs. Sheila Williams - 30th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Stay At The Brook House Inn
Really lovely stay, great food and first class service, lady who checked us in, gave us directions to get up Sacfel pike, and served us for dinner was really lovely, helpful and professional.

Ms. Janine Watson - 29th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Absolutely Charming Inn
There are not many places that I would describe as absolutely charming, but the Brook House Inn most definitely is.From the moment I phoned to make a booking, to the minute I checked out, I only ever encountered smiling, friendly staff who also seemed to very much enjoy being there. My room had beautiful views over open countryside and at night there was the sound of ....total silence. A perfect night\'s sleep. The food here is wonderful - great menu, beautifully presented dishes, all in a relaxed and very authentic country inn atmosphere. My family (2 adults and 2 young children) joined me one day for lunch and the following evening for dinner and everyone received a warm welcome. The young gentleman behind the bar even remembered exactly what everyone had had to drink the previous day! This place is really very special and also offers excellent value for money. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my stay and would happily recommend the Brook House Inn to anyone.

Daphne Leach - 29th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Another Wonderful Break.
We have just returned from Boot in the Lake District having stayed at the Brookhouse Inn which we have done frequently over the last 8 years or so. The owners and staff are wonderful and still as friendly and welcoming as the first time. The rooms are quaint and comfortable and the views are fantastic. Food is excellent and the beers are spot on. So if you are looking for a quiet and tranquil setting in a beautiful valley then this is the place. You will not be disappointed.

Mr & Mrs Anderton - 22nd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Two Night Stay 9th/10th July 2016
Great place to stay! Room was great, food fantastic,staff were very helpful,cheery and on the ball.Had various local Ales.Great area for walking and photography. Will be back!

Mr. Stewart Crawford - 22nd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
We have eaten at the Inn several times on day trips & decided to have a mini break there as a treat. We enjoyed it so much that we \'ll definitely go back. Comfortable, helpful, great setting & enjoyed the food. The lamb was delicious!! Thanks!

Mrs. Maureen Hunter - 21st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Great Weekend Away
Went walking with 3 friends, weather could have been kinder, but hey this is England. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts great. We eat in on both evenings and all enjoyed what we were served, if anything we got too much food. The bar had a good selection of beers etc. in a good location for numerous walks. Would recommend for a weekend

Mr. James Reeve - 4th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House
Warm and clean with friendly staff.

Mr. David Mcdiarmid - 30th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Food In Eskdale
We spent four days at Brook House Inn, walking in the upper Eskdale valley. The staff were all welcoming and helpful. The bed was large and comfortable - though the room could have better reading lights. Food was a high point, with delicious home made blackcurrant jam, a good range of local ingredients, and efficient service for our party of ten.

Dr. Rob Hull - 23rd Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Lake District Visit
An excellent place to stay and use as base to walk and climb. Good food/beer and all the staff very friendly nothing is too much trouble. We will be there again next year.
Regards
Paul, Steven & Ken

Paul Benson - 19th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
I stayed 1 night for a walking break with friends.
I was greeted very warmly & found all the staff very friendly.
Had a lovely en suite room overlooking a field of sheep, had early wake up call by baaing of lambs!
Great walks in local area.
Jane

Jane Pilgrim - 17th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

B&b And Evening Meal
Booking process good.
Rooms ready and clean - we were pleased to be able to check in early, thank you.
Breakfast and evening meal good but we found the service in the restaurant very slow particularly for dinner, slow to take orders, slow to serve. Packed lunches excellent, thank you.

Ms Barbara Crompton - 16th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Location And Excellent Facilities
In the middle of a Lakeland round walking holiday this was an ideal stop. Great shower/bath to ease tired legs and lovely food and ales in the pub/restaurant. Proper boot and wet clothing room so nice dry boots to start the next day. Fantastic location so definitely coming back here.

Miss. Rosaline Hayes - 7th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

2100
More than happy , decent food and drink and comfortbale rooms

Mr. Michael Straker - 6th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Friendly, Welcoming, And The Food Is Fabulous
I had a lovely time here, couldn\'t have been better. All the staff were ever so friendly, thoughtful and welcoming. The view from the room was wonderful. And oh, the food, was just superb. Thank you!

Miss. Anne Willie - 4th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful
We were a family group of 5 adults. We went over the May bank holiday. The rooms were light and airy with great views acroos Eskdale, even when sitting on the loo!!. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was varied and delicious if somewhat generous portions. Highly recommend

Mrs. M Gardner - 2nd Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Happy Days
If you want to stay in the western side of the Lakes then this is the place to stay. A family run Inn with great staff,food,bar and atmosphere. Go for it!!

Mr Hendry - 1st Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Superb Inn!
I loved staying in the Brook House Inn. All staff were super friendly. The food in the bar was excellent and just what I needed after a day of hiking and running. I will definitely recommend your place!

Peter Flew - 31st May, 2016
Verified Review

May Bank Holiday
A return visit to our favourite pub in the western lakes. Food and beer excellent and the staff engaging and friendly as usual. Location superb from a walking point of view and luckily we had superb weather - in a word great.

Mr. Philip Curwen - 31st May, 2016
Verified Review

April Stay At Brook House
Enjoyed our stay as always - warm welcome, great food & valley as beautiful as ever.
Thanks

Mr. Jeremy Cooper - 8th May, 2016
Verified Review

May
Five of us stayed for a four day walking break. First visit to the Brook House Inn and all of us were in agreement that it provided the perfect base for walking in Eskdale. Good sized rooms, plenty of hot water, great food choice from the excellent chef. The staff were brilliant, very friendly, helpful and cheerful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

Mr D Dennison - 4th May, 2016
Verified Review

3 Night Stay
A small group of us old guys stayed at the Brook House, couldn\'t have been more welcoming, food, service and rooms all excellent value, would definitely stay again.
Only improvement I would suggest is to make the drying room more efficient.
Thanks anyway for your hospitality, not commonly found in tourist areas in UK

Peter Clayfield - 4th May, 2016
Verified Review

Walking In Eskdale
An excellent base for walking in Eskdale. Also excellent food and beer. Log fire in the bar. Quiet fell view room. Well worth a visit.

Mr. Andrew Tait - 1st May, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous Eskdale
We walked here from the Langdale.Valley avoiding the weekend crowds in the southern Lakes. Arriving at Brook House was like returning home, a warm welcome and excellent food and drink.

Mr. Adrian Varley - 28th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Walkers\' Weekend
We were a group of 9 all male, quite \'mature\'walkers. We had 5 rooms all very comfortable. Breakfast and evening meals were very good with a wide choice and variety. Most impressive was the friendly and efficient staff who quietly satisfied any requests and made us feel welcomed. Beer a slightly disappointing choice but a wide selection of whiskies. Overall excellent value at reasonable price.

Roger Fieldhouse - 25th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Basil Brush
Lovely pub full of unspoilt character, excellent food and beer. Beautiful scenery and superb silence. Try this place for a completely relaxing no hassle break.

Mrs. Carolyn Robinson - 15th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House April 2016
warm and friendly welcome - excellent meals - impressive range of real ales and whiskies.

Mr. Tony Breakell - 11th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Boot Revisited
This is a very comfortable Inn with attentive staff. The food, in particular, cannot be faulted with an excellent choice and generous helpings. Pity is has no control over the elements! NB Muncaster Castle is closed Saturdays, so no refuge from the rain.

Mrs. Patricia Holman - 5th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Comfortable Weekend
Just spent a weekend at the Brook House to support a new fell race in Eskdale. Very comfortable hotel, good food and welcoming and obliging staff. We look forward to staying there again in the not too distant future.

Mrs. Margaret Chippendale - 4th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Very Comfortable Stay In A Truly Beautiful Location
Thank you for our stay with you over the Easter weekend. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious (particularly the local eggs and homemade marmalade!) and the staff were in all cases friendly and helpful.

Jennings - 29th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

The Innstep Team - March 2016
A very large vote of thanks from all our walking party who stayed with you last week. Your hospitality, good food, comfortable rooms and cheerful welcome are recommended to all (even the weather was brilliant).

Mr Emmet - 20th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Walkers Heaven And Haven
Comfortable clean and peaceful rooms, good food and beer, great whisky.
The surroundings and location are the star of the show here with Brook House being a great place to come back to after a day making the most of them.

Mr Chris Dale - 27th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

A Cosy Winter Retreat
I stayed for three nights when the temperature during the day and night was below freezing, after days spent on the snow covered hills it was a delight to return to the warmth of the building and the welcome.

Mr. David Mcdiarmid - 22nd Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
Fantastic hotel,pleasant friendly,helpful staff. Food excellent. Spent a lovely new year there.

Mr & Mrs Thompson - 3rd Jan, 2016
Verified Review

A Good Old Comfortable Traditionnal Lakeland Nn
Excellent in every way. A warm welcome,efficient friendly staff. Log fires burning all day.superb choice of beers in the cosy bar. Interesting choice of gorgeous food. Top marks for cleanlines. Thanks to all for a delightful 3 day stay. By the way PERFECt poached egg at breakfast. Thanks chefs! Will return

Pauline Hartley - 31st Dec, 2015
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Lovely location, good food, comfy bed, warm welcome and nice views. Yhe shower was rather underwhelming.

Chrissy Barclay - 24th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent (as Always)
This is actually the best \'restaurant\' in the Lakes. excellent beer and wine, pleasant and helpful staff and comfy rooms. What more do you want? Well they asked when I booked if I had any extra requests - so I asked for a special draught beer - and guess what they had got it in. It felt like it was just for me. Give the Brook House a try. You\'ll love it.

Mr. Peter Austin - 19th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Weekend
Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here despite the weather. Staff were very polite & friendly & couldn\'t do enough for us.It was particularly nice that a table was reserved for us on Saturday night even though we hadn\'t asked! Food was better than restaurant quality & the local beers nice to wash it down with! We look forward to visiting again.

Mr. Graham Kaylow - 8th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

November Walking Weekend
A really well run establishment, providing for our needs perfectly! Comfortable, clean bedrooms. Boot cleaning and drying room facilities. Good bar atmosphere; warm and welcoming. Quality food, beer and whisky. Friendly, attentive staff available throughout the day.

Ian Hardy - 23rd Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Len\'s Memorial Trip
second visit as a group. excellent beer, food and service. would certainly recommend.

Geoff Perry - 18th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Superb!
Fantastic food,, excellent customer service and comfortable room.

Mr. Matthew Callister - 5th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Very Good
Very good, friendly and helpful. Will return

Simon Epton - 2nd Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Stay At Brookhouse
fantastic short break,a belated joint 50+60th birthday treat for myself and hubby,room great food even better,cant wait to return hopefully next year,highly recommend brookhouse to anyone wanting to visit lakes. 5 stars

Mrs Angela Thompson - 31st Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Place To Stay
Extremely enjoyable stay. Very comfortable room and our little ones enjoyed the bunk beds. Food was amazing. Lovely cooked breakfasts and an extensive evening menu. Staff were really helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to returning sometime soon!

Mrs. Joanne Reid - 29th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

50th Birthday Holiday In Beautiful Boot
We had a wonderful holiday in the gorgeous Lake District, stayed for 7 nights in the Brook House, amazing food and was one of the highlights each day following our long walks. Staff couldn\'t do enough for us and made us smile. The room was basic but lovely and had an amazing bath, which again was most welcome at the end of each day. We didn\'t want to come home and can\'t wait to go back.

Mr And Mrs Brown - 26th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Great Fellwalking Base.
Very impressed by staff, efficient, friendly & helpful. No problem when we had to cancel one of our six visitors.

John Machin - 1st Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
Nice and Friendly Staff, the restaurant
Serves good menu\'s, all fresh and tastefull. Wine is good. Nice room with Bath. Was a pleasure to stay. Will come back.

Rob Ruijter - 17th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
Great Hotel, Great Food, Great Staff, Wonderful Walking. See you next year

Mr & Mrs David Smith - 3rd Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Accomodation
Very friendly and efficient as always

Mr Lumb - 1st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

The Brook House Inn!
What a find for spur of the moment few days away! - a warm welcome from the staff and excellent accommodation in a quiet, beautiful setting. Fantastic views from room 8 and the restaurant offered great food, nothing was too much trouble. Good walking for all types, no need for the car once you arrive! We will certainly return.

Mrs. Sharon Warren - 31st Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Our Stay With You
Brook House Inn is a lovely place in a gorgeous spot. Food and drinks excellent.
Staff great fun. The bed however for my taste was very firm! Can\'t wait to go back!

Gordon Totterdell - 27th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

50th Birthday Celebration Stay
I stayed for my 50th Birthday celebration, the food with 20 people sat down was just as excellent as when I ate on subsequent evenings with just two friends. The room I had was really comfortable, the water hot for a lovely long bath at the end of a day\'s walking, the atmosphere for my special celebration was fab, the service great and the staff all really friendly and helpful. I couldn\'t have asked for a better place to stay.

Jenny Ogden - 25th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Eskdale
What a lovely weekend. We parked the car and didnt use it during our three night stay. A warm welcome, great food (evening meals and breakfasts), room 5 was very comfortable with a lovely view from the window. Fabulous, peaceful fell walks from the door.

Mrs. Sheila Williams - 20th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Relaxing Break
We really enjoyed our stay at the Brook House Inn. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. We will stay there again the next time we\'re in Boot.

Mrs Duckworth - 19th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Great Little Place In A Stunning Location
My partner and I stayed at Brook House Inn as a base for our walk up Scafell Pike, it was perfect, when I phoned to say we would be arriving late in the evening they offered to put some food aside despite meal service being long over, everyone was very friendly, the bed was super comfy and frankly the eggs at breakfast are simply the best ever, all the food was superbly presented and delicious, the views from the room are lovely and the silence makes for a great nights sleep, The Brook House Inn represents great value for money and if you have to drive over Hardknott pass in the dark and fog to get therelike we did you will find a wide choice of malt whiskies to steady your nerves, well my girlfriend did anyway, I enjoyed a couple of delicious local beers instead.

Mr J Rose - 19th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Thank You
My visit to Brook House Inn was a great success, with a lovely room and great service.

Mrs. Tessa Everett - 15th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Relaxing Stay
Food excellent. Maybe a bit more variety from day to day might be only criticism. Accommodation very comfortable including room service and being only a small hotel a very personal service. Even a clock radio in the room. Of course the setting is idyllic. One of my favourites throughout the UK.

Mr. David Tomison - 9th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Great Food
A very comfortable stay with helpful friendly staff and good food.We loved the fish dishes and the breakfasts where very good also,especially the homemade marmalade.We will be back next year.!

Mrs Jane Ridings - 5th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Highly Recommended!
Great place to stay. Excellent service, location, food and beer. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

Mr. Gary Plant - 3rd Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Once again our party of 10 enjoyed a fantastic stay. The food and drink was excellent and the staff, old and new, were friendly and lots of fun.

Mr. Philip Curwen - 29th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Walking Holiday
Stayed one night whilst walking in the area and was very happy with all aspects of my stay

Mr. Roger Elliot - 27th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
Had a fabulous 3 days, nice room, good food, lovely people and loads of peace and quiet. Having some steam trains nearby didn\'t hurt either.

Mr & Mrs Langlands - 26th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Extremely comfortable room. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice.
Highly recommended

Mrs Anthea Taylor - 23rd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again

Excellent Food
Stayed with my husband and daughter for 2 nights so we could climb Jake\'s Rake. Lovely comfortable beds and nice to come back to a bath! Excellent food (evening and breakfast) and as for the 175 malt whiskies!! Will definately be back.

Janet Ives - 23rd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. There may even be more whiskies next time!

Excellent Friendly Service
Just returned from a long weekend at Brook House. Excellent and friendly service.

Mr. Andrew Healey - 16th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Home From Home.
I have stayed at Brook House a few times now, I have always been made to feel welcome; I have been comfortable, well looked after, well fed have enjoyed the beer immensely!
This hotel feels like coming home, and I shall be staying here well into the future.

Mr. David Mcdiarmid - 12th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent In Every Way.
Warm welcome, comfortable room, nice food, nice beer, a hot bath at the end of a days walking. What more could one ask for?

Dr. Richard Josephy - 12th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Fantastic Place To Stay
Have stayed here a few times and love the place. Food is really good and such value for money. Rooms are comfortable and clean as a whistle

Mrs Pat Doyle - 8th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Family Run Hotel
It always a pleasure to visit the Brook House. The meals are marvellous, all freshly cooked and a really varied menu. The staff service was excellent. Friendly but highly professional. The room was scrupulously clean with lovely fkuffy towels in our ensuite bsthroom. We will most definitely revisit. Hopefully sooner rsther than later.3

Mrs Francine Haines - 4th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Weekend Stay At Brookhouse Inn
Lovely 2 night stay. Good size, clean and comfortable rooms. Great food with lots of menu choices. All of the staff are helpful. I am Gluten and Dairy intolerant and was well catered for. Will definitely stay again.

Mr Collins - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Stay At The Brook House Inn
The staff , food and acommerdation was first class , we will be staying again soon , thank you

Mr Mrs Sparks - 28th May, 2015
Verified Review

Just Fine.
Very pleasant hotel. Nice and considerate people, fine rooms, excellent food. Too bad we didn\'t have time to sample all the types of beer and whisky.
And the view is just lovely, with sheep that you can just hear bleating when waking up.

Mr. Meindert Bekker - 21st May, 2015
Verified Review

A Special Place
Wanted somewhere to celebrate a \"significant\" birthday.in This was perfect - good food, comfortable room, peaceful surroundings lovely people. Ideally situated for walking,and travelling on the narrow gauge railway.

Mrs. Patricia Else - 14th May, 2015
Verified Review

A Warm Welcome Awaits You At The Brook House Inn
We have just returned home from a fantastic stay. We highly recommend this lovely Lakeland Inn. Fantastic food, spotless, comfortable room and friendly staff. A relaxing break. We will be back.

Mr Martin - 11th May, 2015
Verified Review

Rollinson Ramble 2015
Always a friendly welcome. Excellent food. Well appointed hotel with a good buzz.

Mr and Mrs Trohear - 11th May, 2015
Verified Review

Welcoming Hotel
As a group of elderly pals this was our third annual stay at the Brookhouse and we have already booked for next year.

Lovely attentive friendly staff who are always ready to help and make the stay special.

The rooms are basic but clean and a low level of noise.

Poor WFi in rooms but better in downstairs lounge.

Our party of 14 were seated together in a nicely decorated dining room. Excellent menu and hood selection of specials on a blackboard. Food was served quickly to everyone.

Without exception everyone thoroughly enjoyed all meals and the hearty breakfast from an extensive menu was a great start to a busy day.

We all look forward to our return in 2016.

Mr & Mrs Richard Lewis - 11th May, 2015
Verified Review

Brilliant Brook House
We have just enjoyed another brilliant weekend at the Brook House. This was our sixth visit and each one has been really enjoyable. That could be because of the warmth of the welcome, the excellent range of local, well kept real ales, ciders, perry and malt whiskies or it could be the great food served at breakfast ( you should sample the Cumberland sausage!) and in the evening when there are real specials to augment the wide-ranging menu. Hard to find fault with it - even the hard-working staff seem to enjoy being there. Looking forward to our next visit.

Mr & Mrs Brian Lee - 11th May, 2015
Verified Review

First Anniversary
We have stayed at Brook House on a number of occasions. This was particularly special as it was to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. As always, we had a fabulous stay. We really do like Brook House!

Mr. Mike Pearce - 30th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Easter Break
Perfect Position, Accommodation, Food and service.

Mr Ian Palin - 20th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Inn In Beatiful Valley
The Inn has a fantastic location in the heart of Eskdale, with many long and short walks starting from the door. Also very handy for steam railway. The room was clean and comfortable, food was excellent, staff were friendly.

Philippa Browning - 14th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Mid-week Break At Brook House Inn, Cumbria.
A very friendly welcome from pleasant and efficient staff.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and well maintained.
Excellent food served in the bar with very interesting tables. 2 other dining areas away from the bar, including a restaurant/breakfast room.
Good choice of beers and wine plus an outstanding selection of whiskys.
We would certainly consider staying at the Brook House again.

Mr Whitelaw - 5th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

A Peaceful Haven In Stunning Countryside.
Brook House is in an idyllic situation, the surrounding countryside and mountains are beautiful. To find an inn which provides such good food, splendid beer, comfortable and well appointed rooms, all the facilities that walkers need and such professional,welcoming staff in these surroundings is unique.

Mr. David McDiarmid - 3rd Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Walker
Very comfortable after a long days walking.

Mr. Chris Traynier - 29th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Very Comfortable Hotel In Superb Location
My friend and I had a twin room at this hotel for 3 nights last week and were very impressed.

The beds were very comfortable (for a change - most hotel beds are like sleeping on the floor!) and the rooms were warm and cosy. Sleeping here is very quiet as it is a lovely old building with proper thickness walls and doors - none of the door-slamming you normally get in hotels.

There is an open fire in the main bar which is very welcome of an evening when you\'re tired from the hills.

The food is superb - great range of choice, especially for vegetarians (e.g. me) - my meat-eating friend was happy with his food too.

The hotel is in a great walking area with walks ranging from flat and easy to the 2nd highest mountain in England on the doorstep. The car had a good rest while we were there as we didn\'t need it. The La\'al Ratty narrowgauge railway is just down the road too.

We definitely plan to stay again soon...

Carol Oliver - 23rd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Getaway
A wonderful relaxing stay in beautiful, comfortable surroundings. The food was fantastic and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be back.

Mrs. Alison Marsh - 23rd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Spring Break In Boot
A perfect base for walking in beautiful Eskdale. Rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. Beer isn\'t bad either.

Will Mason - 17th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Walking The Final Wainwright
We have stayed at Brook House several times and have never been disappointed, very friendly, good food, excellent sevice and well appointed comfortable rooms.

Mr Armstrong - 11th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Winter Weekend Break
Great location, friendly and homely accommodation, very good food, excellent beer. We had a very nice weekend. My only quibble - and it\'s one I have with most hotels - is disturbed sleep due to overheating due to matress protector!

Chris Wilkinson - 3rd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Fabulous Find!
Brook House Inn was a warm (in every sense of the word), clean Inn with delicious food and great, well kept beer. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely walks from the front door. We just loved Eskdale and surrounding area.

Mrs Weaver - 2nd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Winter Break
Excellent stay at Brook House, clean, good food and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We would certainly recommend to our family and friends a stay at Brook House.

Mr. David Faragher - 14th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for a lovely review

New Year\'s Break
Had a fantastic time at the Brook House, delicious food, cracking beer, comfy room, log burner in bar, what more could you ask for?! Wish we could have stayed longer!

Mrs. Vivienne Patterson - 2nd Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Hope To Be Back Soon
First stay here for weekend break. Comfortable, good sized room and bathroom. Very good home cooked food, plenty of choice.
Friendly staff.
Hope to be back soon.

Mrs. Catherine Tomlinson - 10th Dec, 2014
Verified Review

December Visit To Eskdale
Just returned from my umpteenth visit
I love this place !
Michael D

Mr Dickson - 8th Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Loved Every Minute
From the minute we pulled up, and saw the fabulous location we were happy :). Then we stepped inside to book in and were greeted with a roaring fire and a friendly welcome. Upstairs, the room was cosy and warm, with the most enormous bed! I was also pleased to see a nice spacious bath :D. In the evening our meal was top-notch & breakfast in the morning was excellent too. We didn\'t feel any need to eat anywhere else our second night ~ there was so much selection and with everything being home-made it was simply delicious. The restaurant was filled both nights with a mix of people: some obviously regulars and others guest. The staff seemed to know their regulars well ~ always a good sign! We would definitely stay here again if we ever get the chance! Thank-you so much for a lovely stay. If I had one thing to suggest it would be to improve internet connection around the place. It\'s great if you want to be \'off-line\' for a little while, but not so fantastic when you need to be in touch with home!

Paul Hampton - 28th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks for a lovely review - we have made some changes to the internet connection which appear to have worked, so hopefully if you can \\\'escape\\\' again you will be able to keep in touch with home.

November Treat
Happy 3 days in Eskdale with a warm welcome after each day out.

Mr N Ryley - 28th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Away
We all found the food at the Brookhouse to be very good and served by friendly informative staff. The rooms where spotlessly clean and confortable. We will be staying at the Brookhouse again

Mrs. Donna Brackley - 23rd Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn, Eskdale
Excellent three days in this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere. good substantial meals. Wide variety of local ales and huge choice of whiskies in the bar. Comfortable, warm rooms. Just what you need after a wet day on the fells!

Mr Shuttleworth - 16th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

General
Myself and my party all enjoyed our stay very much indeed. Well looked after and the food, as always, was excellent. Ideally situated for many lovely walks, high and low!

Gill Dixon - 5th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Anniversary Weekend
Had another wonderful time at Brook House,fantastic food, good friendly service,comfortable bed all in beautiful surroundings.this is a very good family run Hotel that I would recommend to anyone

Mr And Mrs J Barker - 22nd Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn Oct 2014
This was our 5th stay in 8 years at Brook House and we\'ll be back again next year. Ideally positioned in the beautiful Eskdale valley this family run pub never fails to deliver excellent food, ideal after a day\'s walking, great choice of beers and over 150 malt whiskies to sample. The owners and their staff are always warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are warm and comfortable, although our room on this occasion could benefit from a refresh. The breakfast with the best Cumberland sausage I have tasted, I\'ve made a lifetime study, set\'s you up for a day\'s walking and looking forward to your return to sample the kitchens and bars delights.

Ray Grimshaw - 17th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Room With A View
Lovely place with excellent Breakfast, and comfortable rooms, with lovely views of the fells.

George Fox - 12th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

A Lakeland Gem
After staying at a number of hotels and pubs in the Lakes where I was treated as a commodity I had decided that I would try one more then give up. How lucky I was to choose the Brook House Inn; the food was excellent, the beer even better but what made my stay so good was that I felt welcome there. Everyone on the staff was kind, thoughtful and treated me as a person. I will certainly be returning.

Mr. David Mcdiarmid - 26th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Great Accomodation
Great food, extensive bar/restaurant menu, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff

Ms R Fielder - 15th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Another Excellent Stay
Our sixth visit and as good as ever. We will definitely be returning before too long.

Mr & Mrs Alistair Charlesworth - 15th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

September Stay
Rooms clean and comfortable, staff pleasant and helpful
All food and drinks very good too.

Mr. Greg Miller - 12th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Eskdale And Brook House Inn
My partner and myself stayed in Brook House Inn on the penultimate leg of this years camping trip to the Lakes. We came across Brook House and decided to stay there. We weren\'t disappointed. A beautiful rural Inn, the staff are so friendly and welcoming it made us feel right at home. The food, oh the food is to die for, you have to try it, and the breakfast was beautiful. the room was clean and comfortable with a rustic country feel (ask for the top floor room 5, the east view is amazing in the morning and at sunset). We will definitely return again at some point in the future. Simply wonderful!

Ian Grozier - 10th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Reliable
Having stayed here many times over the years it has not changed. Friendly family run offering excellent value and food in an area surrounded by walks for all abilities.

Mr Davies - 10th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

September Weekend
No complaints from our party of six. Food and drink were excellent as usual and the staff were extremely friendly. Having stayed there four times now we know that we will be back again next year if not sooner.

Mr. Philip Curwen - 8th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Very Happyt
The Inn was lovely, the staff very welcoming. I enjoyed the fact that every room had a fantastic bath so necessary after hiking up Scarfel Pike. The dinner both nights was amazing and staff very attentive. Had a great two nights and will definitely come again.

Mrs Katherine Holmes - 8th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

A Good Place To Stay
Brook House Inn is set in beautiful countryside with lovely walks. The Inn Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is exceptionally good. The bedrooms are nice and the ensuite bath is a particular plus.

Mrs Jennifer Olive - 6th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Holiday
Great food as always, great accommodation. Thank you x

Miss C Scaife - 5th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Very Good Choice Of Place To Stay In Eskdale.
We stayed for a week 23rd-30th of August 2014. We had a very comfortable room, the food was good quality and the beer and whiskey selection and quality was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. In sumer the hotel is very busy - but that is because it is so good. The hotel is well sited for walking in Eskdale. We would definitely visit there again.

Dr. Garry Wilson - 1st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
Comfortable, friendly, nice food and beer. Flaky wifi.

Ms. Katherine Mcquail - 1st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Fantastic Stay
Beautiful spot. Fab food. Lovely staff - very helpful. Will always stay here. Been twice so far. Only downside is the internet is none existent which can be a great advantage however I needed it this weekend :(

Alan Locke - 1st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay At Brrok Hose
Nice room, friendly staff and excllent food, and of course a beautiful setting!

Dr. Brian Hoskins - 31st Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House August
A warm and friendly welcome as on previous visits. Drying room appreciated by our wet walking gear. Dinner and the wide range of draught beers appreciated by us!

Mr. Tony Breakell - 26th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Walking In Eskdale
Brook House remains my base of choice for exploring this magical area
The fact it's family owned and run makes all the difference and manifests itself in every aspect of the operation
I'll be back!

Michael Dickson - 21st Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
This is a good venue especially for walking, with excellent rooms, friendly staff and great food.

Mr & Mrs David Smith - 20th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Home From Home
A warm welcome; helpful friendly staff; spacious and comfy room; excellent food. Didn't sample the extensive range of whiskies, but the wine list is intersting! What more can you ask? This was our second visit and there's bound to be a third.

David Beaton - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Very Happy With Our Choice!
We had an excellent stay at Brook House Inn near Boot. The location is ideal for great walks. The scenery breathtaking. The food and the inn was great, and the service was good.

Diane Clement - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Walking Break
We are 2 sisters who were finishing the last leg of The Furness Way and stayed at the Brook House Inn on Sunday 3rd Aug 14. Our arrival was very welcoming and the room was very nice, food excellent and staff, will definitely return soon.

Mrs. Val Managh - 5th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Tonbridge Gold
Great hospitality. The staff and so friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. Great rooms, lovely food, outstanding views of Eskdale. What more can one say!

Mr Andy Blundell - 31st Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Great Service
Great service, fabulous food , good accommodation. Would be happy to recommend the guest house

Mrs. Lesley Slaney - 27th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Pleasant B&b In Eskdale
Very pleasant Country Inn with a restaurant in the middle of some spectacular Lakeland scenery. It's remote location makes for a long journey to get to but for a few days walking in the area it is perfect. Food (a little expensive) and beer was good. Breakfast was not adventurous and lacked good continental options. The accommodation was satisfactory and the staff friendly. Recommended.

Mr. Derek Hollingsbee - 24th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

A Quick Stay To Climb Scaffel Pike
Having stayed at this wonderful Lakeland Inn and wanting to stay in the Eskdale area, I had no hesitation in booking for two nights B&B. We were not disappointed with; the room offered, choice on the menu and of course the wide variety of local Ales. The breakfast was filling, just right for the days walking. Finally the hosts were helpful,friendly and most welcoming to our Party. I would always recommend this Hotel/Inn to anyone wanting to visit this part of the Lakeland National Park. 10/10 all round!!

Mr Hartley - 20th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Highly Recommended
The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-decorated, all with wonderful views and good-sized bathrooms. The breakfasts and evening meals are exceptional, the bar is well stocked and the staff are friendly and helpful. The Thornley family are wonderful hosts - and we've been returning every year since 1999!

Mr John Wadsworth - 14th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Third Visit
Third visit in five years. Once again excellent food and beer, comfortable accommodation and very friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant weather this time too!

Mr. Christopher Rostron - 13th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
Very efficient and friendly staff. Room was clean and well equipped. Food was superb, with an extensive menu as well as specials that changed frequently during the stay.

Mr. Thomas Sinden - 8th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House
I spent an excellent 4 days here. I already knew the high standard of the food and drink, which is well above the usual pub grub found in the area. It was the first time I had stayed,and I found it very comfortable, with marvellous views from the bedroom, and a very hospitable and obliging staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. I will certainly be back.

Mr. Robert Haslam - 22nd Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Utopia!
Another excellent stay at the Brook House Inn. Great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, superb food and beer in the loveliest place in England. What could be better!

Mr Keith Dodd - 12th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Yet Another Brilliant Beer Festival!
The Brookhouse Inn is one of our favourite places.We have stayed at virtually all the inn's in the valley but always return to the "Brook" The friendliness of the owners and staff is unquestionable, along with great food and amazing scenery. Give them a try. You will not be disappointed.

Mr & Mrs Anderton - 11th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Home From Home
We've stayed at the Brook House Inn a few times over the last few years, and had meals and drinks there regularly. The staff are so helpful and friendly even when rushed off their feet (frequently), and the food and drink is excellent. The inn has a cosy, informal, friendly atmosphere and is located in a stunning area, with easy access to walks for all abilities, and the coast is slightly further afield. All in all, I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Miss. Lucinda Machell-ffolkes - 10th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Best In The Area
Stayed for two weeks on a business trip and found the Brook House to be the nicest hotel in the area. The staff are wonderful, very friendly and went out of their way to make the experience special. I look forward to returning!

Mr. Andrew Seddon - 28th May, 2014
Verified Review

Awesome!
Stayed at this wonderful cosy hotel. Bedrooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. Food and service was top class. The service from the staff was one of the best I've encountered, always smiling and special mention must go to Diane. I will definitely go back and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Mr Jim Patel - 28th May, 2014
Verified Review

Stay At Brook House Inn
The stay for a few days either by walking, or by car a perfect spot, because first the food is the best for the area and location and is very welcoming as what age your child is made welcome , Excellent week end.

Mr and Mrs T Helsby - 26th May, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Service
My daughter and I stayed there in May...brilliant staff and if you asked for anything they would help..Taxi...walk advice...distances...The food was brilliant breakfast fab!!!!Thanks to you all!!!We will be back!! Simon and Rach

Mr. Simon Crumpton - 20th May, 2014
Verified Review

Scafell In Comfort
A great place and I wish we had more time in the area to enjoy it all. Very friendly staff who made us welcome, great bar and great food. Special thanks to an excellent chef who clearly knew his stuff.

Mr Reynolds - 19th May, 2014
Verified Review

Perfect
A real home from home in a stunning location. Everyone there made us and our daughter welcome. Food was very good, best scone I have had in years! Our rooms were just right, we appreciated having the bath, although there was a shower over it if you wanted. Ideal quiet, location to get away from it all and enjoy, good food and walks.

Mr Reynolds - 19th May, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn. Boot
Great stay. All members of the party thought this one of the best weekends ever, enjoyed excellent food and very friendly service. Wonderful location. Would certainly stay again.

Mr & Mrs Cowburn - 19th May, 2014
Verified Review

The Brook House Inn Is A Gem
A rare combination of location and real home comforts. The Brook House Inn manages to provide a warm welcome with that important element of behind the scenes hospitality. The result is a genuine homely Inn, relaxed, cosy and friendly and at a reasonable price. Good food, good ale, walks from the door, a steam railway within yards, all in a beautiful and quiet part of the Lakes.

Mr. Steve Edmondson - 18th May, 2014
Verified Review

Rollinson Ramble
This is the third time our party of between 10 and 13 mature adults has had its annual "get-together" at the Brook House. Each time we have been well looked after by Sarah and her team. The cuisine has always been very good and the range of beers and wines excellent.

Mr and Mrs Trohear - 12th May, 2014
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
As ever, our stay at The Brook House was first class. The room was comfortable, with a spacious en-suite, and the views from the dual aspect windows were lovely.
We particularly appreciated the wonderful food and excellent range of real ales, cider and perry. The chefs clearly know how to cook imaginatively and every time we stay they have put new things onto the menu but retain the old favourites. Breakfasts can be almost anything you like but the full Cumbrian will certainly set you up for the rest of the day.
What really makes The Brook House special, however, is the friendly ambience and the helpful staff. Their welcome and attention to detail just makes you want to go back again and again. So we do!

Mr & Mrs B Lee - 11th May, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn Eskdale
We have eaten in the Brook House Inn many times, often with our family and have found the standard of food and service to be consistently excellent. Catering for our granddaughter, who has coeliac disease,was no problem to them whatsoever. We recently stayed for the first time in the hotel which was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Phillip Bettney - 7th May, 2014
Verified Review

Second Visit
Well worth making a detour to, as we did, to enjoy again the beautiful situation and the excellent food.

Mr. Kingsley Jones - 5th May, 2014
Verified Review

Walking In Eskdale
As I have had a few unhappy experiences at other places in this area, I approached this visit with slight trepidation.
Quite needlessly. Brook House was just what I was looking for. Excellent food, friendly staff, and a comfortable room. Perhaps a trifle compact, but it had a bath - and as a hill-walker, when I return from a walk I want a soak, not just a shower.
As a word of advice, if booking in advance then choose the £25 dinner option only if you know that you will want a three course meal. If, like me, you want only two courses then it may be better value to pay for the individual dishes - though this does depend on how attracted you are by some of the "Specials"!!
I will be back.

Mr. David Purchase - 3rd May, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Not my first stay at the Brook House and although only for 1 night really enjoyed being there again.

Both dinner and breakfast were lovely and the selection of local ales is better than ever.

David Lawson - 1st May, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks David - good to see you back in the valley.

Always Good
A traditional inn/hotel with large and comfortable bedrooms, excellent food at reasonable prices and (so close to my heart) absolutely beautiful local real ale. Added to that you have first class friendly service a pleasant atmosphere and a first class location for walking the mountains or touring the west side of the Lake District park. What more do you want?

Mrs Massey - 23rd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn In The Stunningly Beautiful Eskdale
We stayed at Brook House Inn last year for one night on a Lakes Haute walk. Based on our experience we decided to book for the Easter weekend, an annual foray into the Lakes now for many years. There were nine in our party and we had a thoroughly good time. The staff were really friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic!! The beers good too, and some of us enjoyed sampling one or two of the 175 whiskies! Well done Brook House.

Mr & Mrs Mowforth - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Easter 2014
Excellent food, lovely staff and comfortable room.

Mrs Jan Webster - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Comfortable And Welcoming With Amazing Food!
We had a wonderful stay. The room was spotless, the staff really friendly and welcoming, and the crowning glory was the food. Oh, and the real ales were very tasty!

Sasha Gallagher - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
This is a real treasure - excellent food, excellent beer + lots of whiskies to taste - will have to go back just to carry on sampling them! Very good en-suite room with all you could need - would prefer a bar of soap to wash mt face but that's just me! And you're very close to Ratty - the miniature railway that takes you to Ravenglass with all its attractions not to mention all the walks from the door. Definitely going back asap

Mrs. Penny Woodyer - 13th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Top Notch
I spent a couple of nights at the BROOK HOUSE INN in Boot, I arrived on the tuesday after a long train journey and checked in, the staff were very polite and nice and the room was excellent, Evening meal was lovely and the lakeland lager is a nice pint, Breakfast included with the room was excellent, choice of cereals as well as you can also have toast and a cooked breakfast with plenty of tea/coffee, overall polite staff, good prices and a comfortable room. next time I think I will be bringing my wife and kids. A great place to stay in Boot.

Mr. Martin Mcgough - 11th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Martin. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back with your family in future.
Lesley

Friendly Place To Stay
Having stayed at the Brook House Inn a few times now I can recommend it for a warm friendly stay enjoying great food and drink all at a realistic price.

Mr Tony Doherty - 8th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you hope all goes well with the back.

Friendly Place To Stay
Having stayed at the Brook House Inn a few times now I can recommend it for a warm friendly stay enjoying great food and drink all at a realistic price.

Mr Tony Doherty - 8th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly Place To Stay
Having stayed at the Brook House Inn a few times now I can recommend it for a warm friendly stay enjoying great food and drink all at a realistic price.

Mr Tony Doherty - 8th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly Place To Stay
Having stayed at the Brook House Inn a few times now I can recommend it for a warm friendly stay enjoying great food and drink all at a realistic price.

Mr Tony Doherty - 8th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly Place To Stay
Having stayed at the Brook House Inn a few times now I can recommend it for a warm friendly stay enjoying great food and drink all at a realistic price.

Mr Tony Doherty - 8th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Brook House Inn
It is always a pleasure to stay at Brook House Inn. The food and drink are excellent. Perhaps even more important, the hospitality is warm, welcoming and friendly. The staff are efficient and helpful without being intrusive: in the best sense they are thoroughly professional.

Mr And Bliss - 2nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you very much for such lovely comments see you again soon.

Brookehouse Inn
Great food. Great service. Great beer. One of my favourite small hotels in the UK.

Mr J Shilland - 26th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks James always a pleasure to see you.

Good Stay
Excellent accommodation with very good food making a lovely stay. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommended

Margaret Heath - 26th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Family Run Pub
We're never disappinted when we stay at the Brook House, the standard they set is so high that we really don't want to stay anywhere else! Excellent food, great beer, brilliant wine & superb service set this place apart from anywhere else!

Andrew White - 4th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks it was great to see you both again.

26/02/2014
First visited brook house for our honeymoon - 28 yrs ago. Nothing much has changed. We had an excellent time. All staff very friendly. Food excellent. Atmosphere good. All in all had a wonderful time wendy and trevor etchells x

Mrs. Wendy Etchells - 3rd Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you - glad you had a great time.

Lovely Stay Once Again
Lovely stay once again, warm welcome all staff friendly and accommodating. Great food ideal place for exploring western lakes. Extra special place and we wont hesitate to return.

Mr Kevin Mincher - 26th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks Kevin. lovely to see you both again.

February 2014
A delightful place to stay, as always. Everything you could possibly require is provided.

Mrs. Brenda Bibby - 25th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you

3 Generations Of Palins
Superb as Usual

Thankyou very much and see you again

Mr Ian Palin - 19th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Lovely to see you all again

Perfect Inn
A wonderful establishment in a remote and stunning location in the Lakes. Good beer, quality pub food, proper log fires, more whiskies than you can shake a stick at and warm comfy bedrooms. I have stayed twice and there is always a warm friendly welcome and as far as service is concerned, nothing is ever too much trouble.

Mr. Duncan Howbrook - 19th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for such a lovely review.

Brook House Inn Short Stay
Just had a great two night stay, spacious, clean room with a really comfy bed. Good selection of beers considering the time of year and so many whiskies to choose from. Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast and we had two great evening meals. Will definitely use again when in the area.

Mr Alan White - 19th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thanks glad you enjoyed it.