Friends Trip
Enjoyed a 3 night stay with friends. lovely atmosphere- Charming rooms Excellent breakfast.

MR KEITH HARDING - 5th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Very Welcoming And Accommodating
Had a very pleasant mid week break with friends. The staff at the hotel couldn\'t have been more pleasant and helpful from making sure we\'d had enough breakfast to making suggestions and recommendations for places to visit . We felt more than comfortable in treating the place as home.

MR K BEHN - 5th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Great Again
Always a pleasure to stay here. Well maintained property, friendly owners and staff and you can\'t beat the breakfast. I\'ll be back.

Beverley Ward - 3rd Oct, 2017
Verified Review

What A Lovely Surprise!
I booked this for 6 of us for a short break and thought it would just be nice but it was so much more than that. The building was well cared for all the soft furnishings were tasteful and comfortable. The breakfast was a small feast and the pool very special. But than anything else the staff always went the extra mile to ensure our stay was special. Not really a B and B but a small hotel that makes dinner recommendations!!!

Mrs N. Fitch - 1st Oct, 2017
Verified Review

September Break
We very much enjoyed our stay at wonderful Fernbank. Joanne certainly was very welcoming at the start and remained so throughout our 3 night break. Our room was first class, with a very comfortable bed. The hotel is located within a short stroll to many restaurants and pubs and the sea front can easily be reached on foot. The gardens at the hotel are little havens and maintained at a high level. Thanks to all the wonderful staff at lovely Fernbank. Janice and Derek Pearce.

MR AND MRS D. PEARCE - 1st Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Thank You For A Wonderful 4 Night Stay.
We stayed at this very well run hotel for a 4 night,couldn\'t have asked for better,there was a very large selection of food for breakfast and all diets catered for excellent home made bread. The whole hotel was very clean and tidy. Excellent few days stay!!

MRS M JEFFERY - 30th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Short Visit
Hotel was recommended by local business, only stayed the one night but must say one of the most welcoming and comfortable hotels I have stayed in.
Within walking distance of town which was a plus. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the staff

MR D. WHEATLEY - 29th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Fabulous
Absolutely loved this place, first visit to Isle of Wight and couldn\'t have picked a nicer place to stay, outstanding service from start to finish, room stunning, grounds stunning, breakfast amazing, so so welcoming and friendly I cannot wait to visit again next year

MRS JUSTINA MORRELL - 29th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful
We had a wonderful time. Beautiful hotel and the staff were lovely. Hope to visit again.

MR BRIAN EDE - 28th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Superb Break
We had a wonderful time. The hotel is of the highest quality. Lovely room, excellent breakfast with ample choice, very friendly and attentive staff. We will certainly be coming back.

MR AND MRS R GREENBROOK - 26th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Fernbank
Excellent family run hotel. Fantastic location with ease of access to Shanklin town, yet far from the crowds and noise. Booking direct even with a late booking, was very easy with an understanding of our needs that was greatly appreciated.
One of the best breakfasts that we have had either in the UK or France.
We will stay again next year and hopefully for a longer period of time.

MR AND MRS G. JONES - 26th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
We had a most enjoyable 3 days here - nothing was too much trouble for the delightful hosts. Comfy beds, beautiful bright conservatory dining area, pristine indoor swimming pool I used and pretty garden with sunbeds.

MR AND MRS C. DAVIS - 25th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Group Of Eight Seniors.
We have had a wonderful few days, even the weather was brilliant. The hotel and staff are very accommodating, even to supplying an extra cake when we asked for crockery/cutlery to enable us to have the birthday cake we arrived with. Nothing was too much trouble, the food and service were excellent, the décor and hygiene was as though we were the first to ever stay there! I cannot recommend this hotel enough and our group are intending to go back next year

MR AND MRS J BROOKS - 24th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful
Wonderful stay, can\'t fault it.

Mrs Geraldine Cornell - 20th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Friendly And Relaxing
Joanne and her team were very welcoming during my weekend stay. The pool is delightful- warm and very clean. The room was very quiet, well furnished, and immaculate. I would definitely recommend the Fernbank!

Jane Fraser - 19th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
Our 4 night stay was fabulous, nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend & certainly visit again.

MRS COOCH - 18th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Little Gem
This is a real find. Close to Shanklin town centre (5 mins stroll) and practising the sort of service we have only ever seen in the States. Comfortable accommodation with pool. Would recommend.

MR J LAMEY - 17th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Discovered A Gem
My husband and I have just returned from a midweek break at this lovely hotel which is conveniently situated in the old town of Shanklin. Our hostess and her staff went to great lengths to ensure we were comfortable and well looked-after.The hotel was clean and comfortable, breakfast and light-bites were excellent. I will definitely stay again when next visiting the Isle of Wight.

MRS MARION SARJANT - 17th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Quality Always Counts
Very welcoming and an excellent one night stay. Our room was very nice and the breakfast experience was fantastic. Joanne made sure all our needs were taken care of. All the staff were very friendly.
Oonagh and Frank

Oonagh Killen - 16th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Top Class
Enjoyed 3 nights of friendly hospitality and first class accommodation this week at the Fernbank Hotel. Absolutely everything is top quality including the freshly cooked breakfast, bedroom and decor. Very comfortable lounge and bar areas to relax in and overlooking beautiful terraced gardens to sit and read....... If only the weather had obliged! Best B&B ever.

MR AND MRS NICK BAKER - 15th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Thank You
Jo-Anne and Julian, thank you for making our holiday an enjoyable stay. We can now only dream of your wonderful breakfasts as we sit and eat our 2 slices of toast!! Again, a big Thank you for your hospitality - it was superb as usual.
Hope to see you again. Kindest regards,
Linda and Peter

MR P VAUGHAN - 15th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

One Step Further
I found Fernbank to be a very friendly welcoming hotel, the breakfast is perfectly presented and varied to cater for all. A comfortable bedroom. Felt a longer stay would have made me feel even more at home!

MR JONATHAN COOK - 14th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Family Holiday
This is the second time we have stayed and we love this hotel. The staff could not be more welcoming and helpful, and sorted out everything for us (anti-allergen pillows / fans / gluten free bread). Nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, with everything you need provided.

The breakfast is as good as you can get - I stay in hotels regularly with work and have yet to see anything to compare with the service, choice, and quality of food.
We will definitely be returning and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

MR P ADAMS - 10th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

At Home
Happy relaxed atmosphere. Felt at home. Nothing too much trouble . Even lending a bathing costume & umbrella
Very clean & quiet.

Miss Anthea Searle - 5th Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Sublime
Again we have to say we\'ve had the best experience beautiful rooms stunning gardens fantastic food and the loveliest hosts and their staff nothing is too much trouble.....we relaxed, swam in the pool and just chilled in the garden...can\'t wait for next time

MR LEN O\'NEILL - 3rd Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Our Stay At The Fernbank
Excellent service all round, friendly helpful staff, food superb lovely clean rooms beautiful settings. Highly recommend the fernbank to everyone.

MRS EVANS - 2nd Sep, 2017
Verified Review

August 2017 - One Week At Fernbank
Hello,
We, three adults and two children spent a famous week in your hotel. Everything was wonderfull and we would like coming back for a longer stay.
Best regards Cordula,Christoph,Charlotte with Maike and Navina

Mrs. Cordula Möller-Lutomski - 30th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Short Stay Break.
I stayed at Fernbank for four nights, the room was excellent bright & clean with a big comfy bed & sea views. The breakfast could\'t be better, huge selection & generous portions. The pool was very inviting after a long day touring the island & I made use of it too, step outside into the garden & dry off on the sun lounger, nice. We were made to feel so welcome, it was quiet,calm & relaxing after the madness of the scooter rally. We will definitely stay here again.

Mr. JOHN WILCOX - 29th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Gibbs & Hardman - Suffolk
We had a very comfortable stay and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The staff member cleaning our room said that all staff were very happy there and it shows.
Breakfast was exceptional and freshly cooked.
We can thoroughly recommend Fernbank Hotel.

Mr. Barry Gibbs - 28th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Place To Stay
The Fernbank was a lovely place to stay. Brilliantly clean, lovely generous breakfasts to suit all requirements. The staff were all very friendly and efficient with Joanne and Julian setting the tone for a very well run hotel. Would happily recommend to anyone. Excellent location and beautiful interesting, peaceful gardens.

MICHELLE GREGORY - 26th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Four Night Break
A lovely find - hotel wonderful. Pool great. Breakfast was brilliant. Staff could not do enough for us. Cleanliness excellent. There is a few yards climb to the hotel from the main street. Would highly recommend.

MRS M LEGGETT - 23rd Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Third Visit - Still Fabulous
Booked a single room for 5 nights and delighted to find high standards still maintained throughout - from room cleanliness and size, to friendliness of staff. The only problem is what to limit yourself to from the vast array of breakfast options and dishes...though you can swim it off later, in the lovely indoor pool!

Karen Jacobs - 22nd Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Another Lovely Stay At The Fernbank.
Found this lovely hotel last year and went back this year for a chill out break and it did not disappoint. Beautiful peaceful setting and gardens to relax in. The hotel is walking distance to Shanklin town for restaurants and shops. Such lovely people who own the Fernbank, Joanne and Julian, and the staff cannot do enough for you. Our superior room was perfect with everything you could possibly need for your stay. The breakfasts are superb and such a varied choice from the cereals and fresh fruit, yogurts and home made bread to the extensive cooked menu.We shall be returning next year, can\'t wait!

Mr And Mrs G. Pringle - 14th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderfully Relaxing Stay
A beautifully relaxing, warm, and welcoming home to spend a lovely weekend with family to discover the Isle of Wight. Our hosts Jo-Anne and Julian ensured that nothing was missing and we felt right at home! Breakfast is ample and delicious with many healthy choices. We will be back!

THOMAS HARTER - 14th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Holiday
Once again the furnbank lived up to our expectations everything was spotless and we were made very welcome by Jo and Julian
The breakfasts are wonderful with a great selection with everything cooked to order
Our room was quite and had everything we needed,
Overall another great holiday on the IOW and at the furnbank

Mr And Mrs K. Woodman - 14th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Single Traveller
Excellent hosts, lovely hotel, amazing breakfast selection, the best b & b that I\'ve been to,especially for the money, I would certainly go back without hesitation, lovely room, also quite surprised to have a bath as well as a shower!

STEPHEN WILTON - 13th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Fernbank
Outstanding accommodation, with outstanding hosts just could not ask for anything better, 5 star rating for everything, such good value in superb location so quiet.
Breakfasts Wow!! Everything such quality and homemade bread. We will be back providing everyone keeps this place secret, as it\'s the best of Shanklin !

Elaine Barry - 13th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Stay At Fernbank
We had a very good time at Fernbank .
We were overwhelmed with your hospitality we have never been looked after so well the facilities at Fernbank are more than you could expect. We shall definitely visit again and again in future.

MR PRAMOND-MITRA - 11th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

First Timers
This trip was a short break and we were delighted with the cleanliness and comfort of the Fernbank. The staff are so polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were a reason to get up. Hopefully this will not be the last trip to Fernbank, I would recommend it to anyone.

Clive G. Bumpus - 11th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Fernbank Hotel
Great location ,friendly staff ,nothing to much trouble,great breakfast and very comfortable rooms and shared areas .Would definitely come again and would recommend it to all my friends

MRS JOANNA QUIGLEY - 9th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Anniversary Break
This is our 3rd time staying at this wonderful hotel - this time to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Jo-Anne and the team are the perfect hosts and excel at customer service.

Mr. Paul Gregory - 8th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

The Friendliest People Imaginable
This is a wonderful guest house (almost a hotel) run by the friendliest people imaginable. It is set back away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre but only a short cut away from the best places to eat and drink. Bedrooms are comfortable and scrupulously clean. Breakfast in the garden room is a perfect start to the day.

Mr Steven Whalley - 7th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Great Stay At Fernbank
Everything was very good. All the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was plentiful and of excellent quality. The gardens were lovely and the indoor pool is a bonus.

David Pattison - 7th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Great Hotel
We stayed at the fernbank for 5 days and found it excellent the all hotel is well maintained and very clean throughout,the breakfast has a good choice and was always cooked beautifully. The owners are very helpful and will give you advice of the best places to visit,would definitely stay there again

MRS BARBARA DUNN - 7th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Believe The Reviews
Fernbank is an immaculate property maintained to the very highest standards by Jo-Anne, Julian and her team. Nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast is the best I have eaten in 40 years of life on the road with holidays and work. Calm and tranquil when it needs to be. Friendly and vibrant When guests gather. Fernbank awaits you...

MR A FOULDS - 4th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Our Stay At Fernbank
A very comfortable stay. Julian and Jo-Anne were warm and welcoming on arrival and very friendly throughout our stay. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of cecials, fruits, rolls and yogurts as well as a full English breakfast and toast.

The hotel was clean throughout and offered excellent facilities such as an indoor heated swimming pool. The rooms were equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a TV and the lounge had free WIFI which did extend comfortable to my room.

The service was excellent at all times, I highly recommend and will definitely return again next time I plan a trip to the Isle of Wight.

CHRIS MELLOY - 4th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Fabulous Fernbank!
Thank you Jo-Anne and Julian for another perfect stay at The Fernbank. Faultless from start to finish - as usual. Spotlessly clean,impeccable service and wonderful cakes! I\'m sure we\'ll be back again soon.

Mr. Richard Scotcher - 31st Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Absolutely Brilliant
Have stayed at Fernbank many times now. Won\'t stay anywhere else on IOW. Brilliant service, very friendly, excellent rooms and award winning breakfast (have seen the awards!).

Mr K. A. Pearce - 27th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

A Perfect Stay.
We had a very enjoyable stay nothing was to much trouble. Wonderful breakfast staff very
friendly would not hesitate to return.
We would recommend to all our friends.

MR AND MRS ROSS - 27th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Our Holiday At Fernbank
We had a brilliant stay at The Fernbank Hotel. It was our first visit but definitely will not be the last. We so much enjoyed the lovely everything about Fernbank; the beautifully maintained interior rooms and the lovely gardens which were a pleasure to relax in. The added bonus of the inside swimming pool was great. We have recommended the hotel to our friends and thank Julian & Jo for a smashing week

Mr B Golledge - 17th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Another Wonderfull Week At The Fernbank
breakfast at the fernbank is aalways very generous and of excellent quailty, they also cater for all dietary needs. The hotel is very well decorated and cleanliness is always to a extremlly high standard, even the inside of drawers are spotless. The garden is a perfect place to relax with a pot of coffee and a large slice of lovely home made cake.
Julian, Jo-Anne and Toby are very friendly and make everyone feel very welcome and welcome. We will definatly be back.

Mr And Mrs S. Burgess - 16th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

A One Week Holiday
This was our second visit to the Fernbank, and we might well come again next year. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the service is without fault and the breakfast is just great and sets you up for the rest of the day. A really great place to stay!

Mr. Peter Kitchen - 16th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Probably The Best Hotel In Shanklin
Always a pleasure to stay here. Very friendly and accommodating owners and staff. So much choice at breakfast, have just want you want. Rooms are clean, well decorated, plenty of drawers/hanging place, and fresh towels/linens regularly. Toiletries supplied along with tea and coffee in the room. Reading room and bar area available. Swimming pool and gardens also well looked after. It\'s a joy. I\'ll be going back.

Miss BEVERLEY WARD - 14th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Fernbank Hotel
One of the nicest places we have ever stayed. It was comfortable yet immaculately clean. The staff were so friendly and did everything they could to make our stay special. The breakfasts were excellent. It was really good to be able to relax in the beautiful well kept gardens and swim in the pool. Will definitely recommend.

MR AND MRS P CAWRSE - 13th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

The Perfect Break , In A Great Location
We had a wonderful 4 night break at this lovely hotel.The location was amazing , with lots to see and do .Buses very near , and the lovely beach a 10 min. walk.The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had !!!We will be back soon !! Yvonne Desbois

MISS Y DESBOIS - 11th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Our Fourth Visit Won\'t Be Our Last
My wife and I have just returned from our annual visit to the Fernbank Hotel, suffice to say it was every bit as good as we remembered it. Jo Ann continues to maintain the hotels very high standards of service, cleanliness, efficiency, friendliness and comfort, not to mention the superb breakfasts that first drew us to try the hotel four years ago. Long may she continue to preside over this excellent establishment. Many hotel proprietors could learn a lot from her example of how to run a hotel properly and efficiently.

Mr D. Morris - 4th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
Just spent a lovely weekend at Fernbank. The hotel was lovely, our room was nicely furnished and very comfortable, although a little on the small side. The staff very helpful and friendly. We were even offered swimwear to use the pool. Breakfast was plentiful with a good variety, and the dining area is beautiful. I would definitely stay there again.

ANNE EAST - 4th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Great Resting B/b /location Very Good
Beautiful b/b to stay at .very friendly/ very very clean / excellent location . Cannot get a better breakfast we had a very relaxing break thank you Joanne & staff

MR PAUL LAWRENCE - 3rd Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Review Of Stay
Once again a superb stay. Good value excellent location. Food was brilliant with a good selection. Staff made us feel very welcome,

Mr. Ian Lamb - 3rd Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Lived Up To Expectations
A comfortable room and an excellent breakfast with attentive staff who all made us feel very much at home. Already looking forward to our next visit!

MR J. A. TURNBULL - 29th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Great Hotel - Would Happily Return
Lovely hotel with impeccable standards, ever cheery and helpful Joanne in charge to whom nothing is too much bother, well located for Shanklin and the rest of the island.

Mr. Scott Kerr - 22nd Jun, 2017
Verified Review

First Time Isle Of Wight
Well what can be said about the Fernbank Hotel,from the moment we arrived Julien and Jo-Anne are just the most welcoming couple we have met on our travels. The hotel has a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere through out, furnishings and decor are of a very high standard. Breakfast choice is varied and excellent quality.
Staff are very attentive to everyone\'s needs,with a wealth of local knowledge

MR TERRY HINDLEY - 21st Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Terry & Sue Stagg
We have been several times now, always made to feel at home, relaxed and spoilt. Everything is perfect, the family always go that extra mile to ensure you have everything you need. Thank you and we will see you again in September.

Mr And Mrs T. Stagg - 19th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Delightful - Again!
This was my second visit to Fernbank and lived up to my expectations built upon my first stay, last year. I had a delightful room overlooking the garden and with a distant sea view. Everything was spotless and maintained in that way by the daily room service. Fernbank provides a peaceful haven just a stroll away from Shanklin\'s bustling old town. Breakfast is a stellar experience, the quality of the food and the excellent conservatory in which it is served, combined with the attentive service from all staff -truly set you up for a day on the Island. Of an evening it\'s a joy to take a drink in the bar, or in the adjoining garden area. The owners and their staff really understand how to make guests feel welcome and indulged. Thank you!

Mr Dario Atkinson - 17th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Nobody Does It Better
Comfortable rooms with all necessities, good bed with excellent mattress and topper. Nice swimming pool, wonderful gardens and sun terrace. Most amazing are the hosts who work so hard to please their guests. Simply amazing service. Nobody does it better

MR CLIVE EMMERSON - 16th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Great Few Days
Thank you for a lovely three days stay everything was lovely and nothing too much trouble beautiful surroundings very comfortable great hosts we had a lovely time with our friends.

MR AND MRS EGLIN - 16th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Great Misic Deserves A Great Bed
We come to IOW for the IOW Festival anc Fernbank is a great place to stay and have as a base for the music festival. Room really good as it was was spacious, with comfortable bed, great decor and furnishings. Breakfast is super and garden areas are beautifully kept. Used pool and it was lovely. Best of all though is staff -everyone is welcoming and friendly. Can\'t think of a better place to stay for the festival - or for any other kind of trip to IOW. We would thoroughly and wholeheartedly recommend The Fernbank to anyone!

Mr. Colin Stewart - 13th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay On Iw
Once again the Fernbank has provided us with a superb place to stay during the IW Festival. The room was spotless, the breakfasts as delicious as ever and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Absolutely faultless!

Stephanie Light - 13th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

I.o.w. Festival
Stayed here Sat/Sunday whilst visiting the above.

Very pleased accommodation was first class, breakfast
Delicious so much variety. Staff were very attentive..

Would go back again if visiting Shanklin.
Just a shame we had to leave!!!

MRS SUZIE STROUD - 13th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Fernbank Hotel
Excellent facilities and service.spotlessly clean throughout.the owners were very welcoming and approachable throughout our stay.the gardens and hotel grounds were immaculate. thoroughly enjoyed our stay

MR BARRY BURTON - 12th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

A Lovely Place To Stay
Glad we chose the Fernbank to stay on our first visit to the Isle of Wight. The owners and staff are lovely and very helpful, our room was very comfortable and we slept well, breakfast was the best, such a variety to choose from - fresh homemade bread, fruit, yogurt, croissant, cereals and a cooked breakfast if you wanted. Absolutely beautiful garden, nice pool area with a couple of stationary exercise bikes by the side of the pool. Bar and lounge areas very comfortable and we spent some time here after returning from our days out before heading off for some food in the evening. Fernbank is situated close to all amenities and a nice walk to local pubs, restaurants and tea shops also Shanklin beach.

MRS INGRID PARRIS - 11th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Super, Smashing Or Great
Everything about this hotel can be covered by the words Super, Smashing or Great. Food, cleanliness, facilities, staff et al. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Mr And Mrs E Long - 9th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect Place To Stay,
Everything about our five night stay in this wonderful hotel exceeded our expectations.Room,staff, service, food were all to the highest standards. Really enjoyed the swimming pool.Could not fault anything.

MRS M. WAKE - 5th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Another Lovely Stay
My wife and I have recently returned from a stay at the Fernbank, our second in two years. We found it to still be of an extremely high standard. The breakfasts were excellent, and the rooms kept spotless, and the general level of service as good as ever. All this in a beautiful building surrounded by well maintained gardens and close to the village centre.

We will be returning without hesitation.

Paul Windle

Mr P Windle - 5th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay!
My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 2-nights, along with an aged parent. We have stayed at the hotel before and this was another wonderful stay. The hotel is ideally situated close to the town, with bright public rooms and contemporary bedroom decor. The bathroom amenities are lovely (Duck Island). The breakfast offers home baking and local produce, and tasty cooked options. The hosts are charming and service orientated, and the rest of the team are simply great too. A wonderful stay!

MR P LUCAS - 4th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Great Place
Comfort, location, breakfast, clean, tidy...all fantastic.

Mr. Kevin McCarthy - 1st Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay At The Fernbank
We recently had a short break at the Fernbank whilst family were visiting us from the USA. We were given a very warm welcome from the friendly owners, Joanne and Jullian, who run their establishment with pride and professionalism. The hotel is extremely comfortable, the bedrooms tastefully decorated, and everywhere is exceptionally clean, and, the breakfasts are outstanding! My nephew particularly enjoyed the indoor pool, which he often had to himself, and it quickly became known as \'Michael\'s pool\'! A wonderful time had by all. thank you so much Joanne and Jullian.

Ms. Debra Richards - 24th May, 2017
Verified Review

The Perfect Place To Stay
So glad we found such a delightful place to stay. Such a warm welcome from Joanne, Julian and all the staff. Very comfortable rooms, great breakfast and so nice to have a swim in the pool and a drink in the bar to round off the day. It was so peaceful sitting in the pretty gardens in the sun.

MR JOHN DICKSON - 23rd May, 2017
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Excellent service, friendly and extremely helpful. Full marks!

Mr. Tighearnach O Murchu - 22nd May, 2017
Verified Review

Exceptional
We recently spent a few days on the Isle of Wight and were delighted to have stayed at the Fernbank. The level of service, quality of accommodation and food were exceptional. Our reception was welcoming, thorough and usefully informative. Accommodation, including the large heated swimming pool, dining room and lounges, was comfortable and comprehensively furnished. Breakfast, with splendid service and notable quality of fresh locally supplied food was attractive and delicious. A quote from John Hassall, artist and writer confirms our stay at the Fernbank ... \'Obliging in the extreme they appear to be the happiest when their visitors are best pleased\'.

MR P ROGERS - 19th May, 2017
Verified Review

Thank You Jo-anne And Julian.
We had a really enjoyable stay at Fernbank and plan to make this our base whenever we come to the Isle of Wight to visit family. We enjoyed everything about this hotel, but particularly the personal and caring nature of the staff and the owners. We felt we were in an environment where everyone in the hotel was committed to the success of our visit. It was a restful and very happy week in lovely surroundings. Thank you.

MR AND MRS E O\'CALLAGHAN - 19th May, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent As Always!
This is our seventh year of coming to Fernbank, to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we wouldn\'t dream of going anywhere else now. It has a wonderful homely, friendly atmosphere whilst still retaining a high level of professionalism. Full of character and never looks \'tired\' as some hotels do. From the moment the front door opens and we are greeted by hosts Jo-Anne and Julian, we feel we have \'come home\'.

Mrs J. Riggs - 16th May, 2017
Verified Review

Short Stay At Ferbanks
We had a fantastic stay at the Fernbank. Every one couldn\'t have been more pleasant and helpful.

Mr. Adrian Howe - 15th May, 2017
Verified Review

Our Favourite Place
Superbly run by jo-anne,julian and the team.Lovely quiet setting,sunny gardens,friendly bar,lovely pool best breakfasts,spotlessly clean....Love it!

MR D BATTELL - 15th May, 2017
Verified Review

Great Stay As Always
Comfortable, relaxing, great breakfast, swimming pool, beautiful garden, helpful owners and staff. Everything you need for a base to explore the island.

Mrs. Beverley Ward - 14th May, 2017
Verified Review

Richard And Teresa\'s Stay 8th To 11th May
Our first stay at the Fernbank and hope it won\'t be the last! Our room was excellent, the Full English Breakfasts were to die for and the swimming pool was a welcome addition. Lots of places to visit.

Richard Stewart And Teresa - 12th May, 2017
Verified Review

Home From Home
Spotlessly clean,high quality decor,friendly staff,great location,brilliant pool & garden and the breakfast is the best bit this was our second stay and we are saving for the next

MR P BAILEY - 10th May, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect!
Fernbank was just perfect as a base for a couple of days away walking with a friend. Comfortable accommodation, amazing breakfast, bonus of a bar and a swimming pool - not your average B&B! - and incredibly friendly and efficient owners and staff. I cannot fault it and will definitely be back.

Ms. Vanessa Claydon - 9th May, 2017
Verified Review

A Favourite Place To Stay
This is a wonderful hotel; Joanne and her staff were welcoming and hospitable with every comfort provided. I particularly appreciated the delicious breakfast and the plentiful choice of vegan items to meet my needs. It was one of the best breakfasts I\'ve had.
The hotel is spacious and warm and the beds comfortable. Everything is beautifully maintained including the delightful sheltered garden. The hotel is in a quiet location a short stroll from the beach, shops and restaurants. It has 3 lounges with a small bar in one and a swimming pool. This was a return visit and I hope I look forward to next time.

Mrs Felicity Fincham - 8th May, 2017
Verified Review

Another Excellent Break
The photos and the description say it all. Very tranquil sheltered garden, totally relaxing. \'delishus\' homemade cakes for afternoon tea. Buffet breakfast par excellence. This is very non-PC but all English staff which is nice to find. Carry on the excellent work Julian and Jo-Ann.

MRS MARY SMITH - 6th May, 2017
Verified Review

Delightful Escape
We booked Fernbank as we had spent our honeymoon there 35 years ago, and we were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we stepped through the doors we were spoilt. The whole team at Fernbank are so welcoming and helpful, the beautiful setting and well equipped rooms. Lovely breakfasts and facilities. The swimming pool is a lovely bonus. We shall definitely be returning. Thank you Fernbank x Rona and Mark Greenwood.

Mr. Mark Greenwood - 2nd May, 2017
Verified Review

A Perfect Choice- Fenbank
We were delighted with our reception and stay at the Fernbank hotel.Our room and the hotel\'s public rooms and gardens were excellent and without fault. We look forward to staying again on our next vist.

Mr. douglas Reed - 1st May, 2017
Verified Review

Absolutely Excellent
We had an extremely comfortable room. Breakfasts were excellent. Lovely swimming pool and beautiful gardens. Julian, Jo- Anne, Toby and all their staff could not have been more friendly and made our stay any more enjoyable. Thank you to all and we will be back soon.

Mr. Stuart Matthews - 30th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Mr @ Mrs
wonderful tranquil accommodation excellent hot breakfast very friendly kept immaculate

Mrs Janet Anstee - 29th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Small Is Beautiful
A great little hotel. Welcoming, very comfortable, pretty garden, super indoor pool, great afternoon teas with homemade cakes, and I defy anyone to find a better breakfast. And all at a very reasonable price.

Mrs Carolyn Payne - 29th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Home From Home
This was my second stay at Fernbank and I hope to return before too long. Jo and her team are so welcoming and can\'t do enough for you. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the restaurant and lounges are stylish and welcoming. The breakfasts certainly set you up for the day and there is plenty to do in Shanklin and beyond. Definitely five star rating!!!

Mrs. Sue Mercer - 29th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Relaxing Stay
Really lovely welcoming place to stay. Excellent breakfast menu. Lovely staff always cheerful and ready to help. Beautifully clean rooms and very comfortable. Thoroughly recommend.

MRS L MATTHEWS - 29th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Birthday Break
I treated myself to a short break at the Fernbank to celebrate my birthday (for the third year running). I was thoroughly spoiled by Jo-Anne, Julian and their wonderful team - nothing is too much trouble for them! Hope to return again next year to carry on where I left off!

Michael Gould - 26th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Best Hotel On The Aisle Of Wight
Had an amazing weekend staying at this immaculate beautiful hotel. The staff here could not be friendlier and nothing was too much trouble. They always had time for you and ensured we were having a good time.
The breakfast was out of this world too.
We will be back. If I could give more than a 5 star rating I definitely would!

NATASHA EVANS - 24th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Friendly And Welcoming
Nothing was too much trouble and the hotel was clean and comfortable. We received a wonderful, cheerful welcome on arrival and each day. The breakfast was superb as always. We also appreciated the thoughtful \'extras\' such as the sweets in our room and the chocolate egg under our cup on Easter Sunday! Definitely our favourite place to stay on the Isle of Wight.

MRS ANGELA HEDGES - 20th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic Hotel - Best On The Island
Stayed at Fernbank just over a week ago as always had a fantastic stay . Have booked to return twice more this year. Cannot fault the Hotel in any way at all - the owners Jo-Anne and Julian are so pleasant, so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommend this fabulous hotel and simply wouldn\'t stay anywhere else.

Trevor Meakin - 19th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

A Warm Welcome
Jo-Anne and Julian are the perfect hosts at this spotless hotel. We have stayed here a few times before and enjoyed the comfy beds and good decor of the rooms. Nothing is too much for them and their breakfasts deserve the fantastic reputation they have with their locally sourced bacon, sausages, preserves ans home made bread.

Val Craig And David Catteau - 18th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

First Class
A very warm friendly homely welcome. Spotlessly clean with comfy rooms and relaxation lounges. A superb breakfast menu awaits you each morning served in a bright room overlooking the garden. The swimming pool is a generous size and well maintained. We will certainly be back.

ANGIE TODD AND ADRIAN RICKMAN - 18th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

A Fabulous Establishment
An AA four star awarded, privately owned outstanding establishment deserving of a five star rating. Friendly, considerate and hospitable proprietors made our stay one of the most memorable. Exceptional. Chris & Jeannette

MR C.G. ASLETT - 15th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Great Experience At Fernbank Hotel
From start to finish there was nothing the staff wouldn\'t do for their guests. There was excellent food, excellent service and excellent accommodation. The staff were very friendly too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family as a lovely hotel to stay at.

Mrs S. Mallaburne - 9th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Top Hotel
best hotel on the island

Mr P. Camplin - 5th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Stayed September 2016
An excellent hotel in every way. High standards achieved in each area, bedroom, passageways and communal rooms, breakfast, friendly and helpful staff at all times.

Mr. Andrew Donaldson - 3rd Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Short Break
what a relaxing break with superb service and food.extremely pleasant and helpful staff. 2nd time of visiting fernbank and just as good as the first.

Mrs P. Blaber - 28th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So nice to see you both again, love the addition to aid my eyesite!!!! worn it ever since.

5* In Every Way
VERY GOOD IN EVERY WAY

Mr. DOUG NICHOLS - 27th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hope to see you in the future.

Fernbank Hotel
A very enjoyable stay. Lovely gardens, comfortable room and wonderful breakfasts.

Mrs S. Lawson - 26th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday, we have missed our early birds. Hope to welcome you to the Fernbank in the future

A Beautiful Hotel
We recently enjoyed a fabulous 10 night stay at the Fernbank. We stayed in a superior double room which was very spacious and very comfortable. It was also spotlessly clean with ensuite with double shower and a separate standing bath. The delicious breakfasts were served in delightful surrounding overlooking the gardens. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family as the Fernbank is excellent value. Thanks again to Jo-Anne, Julian and all the staff for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back. David & Claire (The Intrepid Explorers)

Mr David Ashworth - 26th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, we loved that you found all the midden spots on the island, no stone unturned!!!! Hope to see you both in the future.

Late Summer Break
Lovely quiet location, well sited just above
Old Shanklin. Given a warm welcome on arrival. Gardens to relax in and an excellent breakfast served by friendly staff.

Mr J. Taylor - 25th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed our lovely location. It is a joy even in winter. Hope to see you in the future

Contentment
As usual everything was excelent

Mrs J. Bird - 25th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always our total pleasure to welcome you to the Fernbank

Our Favourite Hotel!
We have stayed at the Fernbank many times. The hotel has every requirement. JO-Anne and Julian, along with their staff, are professional, very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The standard of hygiene throughout cannot be faulted and the choice for breakfast is superb. We look forward to our next visit.

Mr And Mrs M. Wright - 25th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your words, your husband is a bit of a star with us all, such a super couple. Hope to see you next year.

Most Enjoyable
Spent four nights at Fernbank.Most enjoyable.Spotlessly clean,comfortable beds and a wonderful breakfast.We shall definately be back.

Mrs P. Webster - 24th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So glad that you enjoyed your break, hope to see you next year

Lovely Relaxing Stay
A few lovely relaxing days starting with refreshing indoor pool swim before a superb breakfast. Comfortable lounges and peaceful gardens for \"chilling\" with a book.
Perfect night caps and company in the bar after returning from dinner out, before a very comfortable night\'s sleep. 3 days of !!

Sonia Stirling - 24th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
The super girls!!!! missed the early morning swimmers. All the best the Fernbank Team

Fernbank Hotel
Lovely stay. Second visit. Clean, excellent breakfasts, and attentive staff. Will be back again!
Thank you.

Sarah Hunter - 24th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hope to see you in the future, so gald that you enjoyed your second stay at the Fernbank

Pleasant Autumn Break
We spent a week at Fernbank in September. Joanne, Julian and their staff were highly professional and courteous at all times and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Everything was very clean, comfortable and friendly. Our room was a little on the small side, as we booked pretty last minute, but had everything needed for our stay. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice from the buffet and cooked breakfast. The location of Fernbank is convenient for the old village with a great choice of places to eat in the evening.

Mr. Michael Langton - 22nd Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to have welcomed your both to the Fernbank.

High Praise & Worth It.
Stayed from Friday 9th Sept\' to Monday 12th Sept\' with my wife and 2 adult daughters, 1 with their husband. All agree what a great place to stay. Will definately stay again. Excellent rooms and a FANTASTIC breakfast. The service we received from everyone we met was FIRST RATE.

Mr A. Davies - 21st Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We thorughly enjoyed the whole family\'s company, such lovely people. Hope to see you in the future.

Excellent Accomodation
This was an excellent B&B, great location around the corner from the village and very quiet. Room,lounges and the gardens were superb and a swimming pool too. A brilliant breakfast, great choice and with very attentive staff. would definitely stay here again

Miss. MARY STEVENSON - 20th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Break
thank you all for such a lovely break. You are all fantastic and work so hard. We had a most enjoyable time on the IOW. Thank you for your recommendation to go to Bonchurch. It was fantastic.

Mr And Mrs M. Hainauer - 18th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful Anniversary Break
We were recommended to the Fernbank Hotel, and after our recent stay to celebrate our anniversary found it to be completely up to our expectations.

The hotel is exceptionally well run, spotlessly clean and beautifully situated. Our room was lovely, very light, overlooking the front garden.

The breakfasts are excellent and very well prepared and presented with ample choice.

The indoor pool and superb surrounding gardens made for a very relaxing environment.

Joanne and the staff could not be more helpful at all times.

We have stayed at other Shanklin hotel but the Fernbank far exceeds them all.

We very much look forward to returning next year.

Many thanks again a lovely few days. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Mr P Windle - 17th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you to the Fernbank in 2017.

The Photos Tell The Truth
Everything you see in the photos is how The Fernbank Hotel is. We can\'t fault anything. Our room was very comfortably furnished and quiet. The staff were super, unobtrusive but there if you needed anything.
Breakfast was everything you would hope for.
We didn\'t use the pool (weather was too good to miss) but it looked super and we intend to make use of it \'next time\'.
For us the location of the hotel was \'just right\' - just a short walk into the Old Village of Shanklin. Driving further afield was convenient too.

Mrs G. Bowden - 16th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was great to have welcomed you both to the Fernbank, such lovely weather. Hope to see you both in the future.

Our Anniversary Trip.
There\'s not much we need to say really other than this is an excellent bed and breakfast hotel in all aspects,staff,food,rooms,pool,garden and the location.
If you want somewhere really nice this is the one,treat yourselves its great.

Mr Barry Leatherland - 16th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was so nice to see you both again. We are glad that you enjoyed your Anniversary holiday.

Highly Recommended
Have spent our holiday at Fernbank for last 6 years & always very good service & lovely food. Jo-Anne,Julian & Toby very accommodating. Best ever.

Mr And Mrs P. Parkins - 16th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always miss you both, when you go home. Part of the family. See you both in April, enjoy the North wing!!!

Fantastic Hotel
We have just returned home after spending 3 nights at the Fernbank. We cannot praise it highly enough, the breakfast is amazing with all hot options being cooked to order and a cold table with everything you could possibly need. The grounds are lovely and the the staff were all very attentive and welcoming. We will definitely recommend the hotel to friends and would book again if we return to the Isle of Wight.

Mrs P. Hetherington - 13th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was our pleasure to have welcomed you to the Fernbank.

Sue & Terry
Lovely hotel run by a lovely family always ready to go that extra mile for you. Staff are lovely and all hardworking. Looking forward to being back next June.

Mrs S. Stagg - 13th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, it is always lovely to see you both. Look forward to welcoming back in June 2017

Peter & Joy Mitchell
we have just had a very enjoyable 4-night stay.A lovely hotel-everything was perfect.Rooms,garden,quiet position,breakfast & especially staff were exceptional.Look forward to a return visit.

Mr P. Mitchell - 11th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review.

Holiday Review
Excellent accommodation and breakfast, well worth a stay, only a fe minutes walk to the centre of Shanklin Old town

Mr C. Haren - 9th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we all loved the car.

Lovely Break
The hotel was beautiful and the pool was a welcome bonus at the end of the day. The hosts were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely with a wide choice of both hot and cold food available. We will return!

Mrs. Kay Rudge - 7th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

An Excellent Hotel
We booked this lovely hotel for two nights and had a superior room. All of the hotel was spotlessly clean and our room was very well stocked with tea, coffee etc and plenty of toiletries. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were both very friendly and efficient. We would most certainly look to stay there again in the future.

Mr J. Mills - 7th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Best Place To Stay On The Island
Our 6th visit to fernbank we wouldnt stay anywhere else fantastic rooms, great breakfast,hotel is run by Joanne and Justin who\'s main aim is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible .it also has the added extras of a pool and lovely gardens

Mrs. J. Trimmer - 31st Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always so nice to welcome you both to the Fernbank, hope to see you next year.

Fantastic Stay
We had a fantastic stay. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The setting was great, lovely views and well located for the town and beach. Service was brilliant, friendly and professional nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious, wide selection. Of items and the home made bread was to die for ! Can\'t wait to come back to the beautiful Isle of Wight and will definitely be staying at Fernbank when we do.

Mrs. Liz Dunn - 30th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your long Bank Holiday Weekend, such a lovely family.

Our Stay At Fernbank
Thank you so much for a wonderful weeks stay in your lovely hotel. We have stayed in many hotels over the years and this is without doubt the best run and cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. This was our second visit and will not be the last.
Thank you Jo-anne and all your staff
From Peter and Diana George.
Coulsdon Surrey.

Mr P. George - 27th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was our pleasure to have welcomed you both once again to the Fernbank, we are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday, it is such a lovely island. Hope to see you both again.

A Superb Break On The Iow
2nd stay with Fernbank. Last August and this August 16. Genial service, superlative breakfasts and immaculate standards throughout. Jo-Anne continues to run a superb service and maintains Fernbank to the highest standards. Thanks for providing fantastic weather too ! Hope to be back soon 😄

Mr A. Foulds - 24th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, once again. It has been a super August on the island, wall to wall sunshine.

Great B And B
Thank you for making our stay with you very special. Comfortable and very clean rooms and excellent breakfasts.

Mrs Rut Wilson - 22nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at the Fernbank. Thank you for your kind words, and hope to see you in the future

Wow! A Truly Lovely Place To Stay On Holiday
We hade a lovely holiday at the Fernbank. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We felt very welcome and relaxed at the Fernbank. The breakfast was delicious, and to be offered a selection of gluten free cereals, artesian bread and GF sausages was delectable. The service is first class, a very clean and well kept hotel.
We loved our holiday at the Fernbank and fully recommend it as a great place to stay, and will be back - Thankyou.

Mr. Julian Davis - 21st Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was great to meet you both, what fantastic explorers, you enjoyed this beautiful island as we do. Fab weather for most of your holiday, even the last damp day, did not stop you. So hope to see you in the future. Regards all the team F

Excellent Accommodation
We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Ferbank for our Wedding Anniversary. The room was comfortable, the food excellent. The pool was great and we enjoyed sitting out in the sunny garden. They could not have done more to make us welcome. I would definitely recommend it! Thank you!

Mrs. Alison Wilson - 17th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are so glad that you choose the Fernbank for your Anniversary break, it was a pleasure to have met you both.

Great Weekend
The hotel was well presented. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were all great.

Mr. David Wilkinson - 16th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend.

Home From Home - But With A Pool!
This is such a lovely, welcoming place to stay I can\'t recommend it enough. Lovely gardens and a pool to relax in. Fantastic choice for breakfast and plenty of it. Owners and staff are friendly and helpful. Close to old village but in a quiet setting, and convenient for buses.

Mrs. Beverley Ward - 14th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always so lovely to see you Beverley, 10/10 for the sunshine this time.

Fantastic Fantastic Stay
We stayed here for one night on Monday 8th August whilst celebrating our wedding anniversary. We had a great time and the Fernbank was one of the best Bed and Breakfast accommodation we have ever stayed in. The hosts/owners Julian and Joanne are a wonderful couple and nothing is too much trouble for them.The only drawback was that because we booked at the last minute they were only able to accommodate us for the one night. Just shows how popular this establishment is. We will definitely be back for a longer stay.A great big thank you to everyone at the Fernbank for making our stay such a memorable one.

Mrs S. Hudson - 14th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary, we are just so sorry that we could not offer you accommodation for the next few nights. Our many return guests book in mid Autumn for the following year to secure their favourite rooms. We so hope to see you both in the future, such a super couple.

Lovely Visit
I was made most welcome at this charming peaceful B&B. Everyone was friendly and smiley. The breakfast was to die for and the room was charming and homely. Very close to old Shanklin. Would highly recommend

Ms. Wendy Mitchell - 7th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you in the future.

Fernbank Hotel
Great place to stay. Service impeccable. Jo-Anne leads a wonderful team of staff who cannot do enough for you. No wonder there are so many awards for this hotel - it truly deserves them. Bedrooms cleaned every day to a superb standard; breakfasts are of a very high standard and generous as well. We\'ll definitely be back

Mr And Mrs M. Blagg - 6th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was lovely to see you both once again this year. Julian and myself appreciate your kind words, we are lucky to work with such a team, it is nice when the hard work is noticed, I will pass your kind words on to them all. Hope to see you in the future.

A Wonderful Find!
This is the 4th time we have visited the Fernbank, staying in the same room each time. The set up is perfect for us with a teenage daughter who needs her privacy yet still theoretically, in the same room as us. The last two times we have brought along friends to experience the wonderful hospitality and breakfasts for them to enjoy too.
We always receive such a warm welcome from Jo-Anne and the breakfasts are the best we have ever had! Jo-Anne and Julian does insist in keeping their guests as well fed as possible with good quality locally sourced produce from the island. All the staff are courteous and extremely efficient and the whole place is immaculately clean. It is like being home from home without the housework or the cooking!!

Mr J. Cook - 6th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, it is always a pleasure to welcome such a lovely family and friends to the Fernbank, we feel you are part of the family.

Quality Relaxation And Comfort.
This is a family run hotel of Quality.
Jo-Anne, her family and staff make sure every day is quality in this fantastic hotel. We have stayed here before and the welcome was just as warm this time as it was then. Nothing is any trouble to make it a relaxing stay from the moment you book. Great advise on where to go visit and the best local eateries.

Dont miss the heated indoor swimming pool !!!

Mr. Ivan Byrne - 30th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have welcomed you both once again to the Fernbank. Lovely to see you early morning aiming for the pool, that\'s the great advantage of a ground floor bedroom. Many thanks for the choc\'s enjoyed by us all. Hope to see you both in the future.

Another Fab Stay
Just home from another stay at Fernbank Hotel.Such a lovely place to stay so welcoming ,clean and not to mention the scrumptious breakfasts.Cannot wait to go back next year.

Mrs Lynda Kirk - 29th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So nice to see you both again, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and use us as your retreat. Hope the great sausages got home in one!!!!!

Second Visit
This was our second visit to the Ferndale & it was as good as the first. Nothing is too much trouble & the breakfast is quite a feast. It is a lovely area of Shanklin & our room overlooked the lovely garden with no traffic noise, which is a huge bonus. If we ever return to the Isle of Wight, then the Ferndale will always be our first choice. Thanks to JoAnne & all her staff. Carol & Michael Bishop.

Mrs Carol Bishop - 20th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was great to see you both again, we have missed you in the garden in the afternoon.

Anniversary Mini Break
We have just returned from a fabulous break on the Isle of Wight, staying at the beautiful Fernbank Hotel. This was our second stay at the Fernbank and it was, once again, a real treat. It is clean, comfortable and peaceful in magnificent surroundings. The breakfast is delicious and plenty of it. The hotel is in walking distance of the shops and beach, as long as you don\'t mind hills and steps. We will definitely be returning to the Fernbank.

Mrs T. West - 19th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your Anniversary beak with us. We are so lucky that we are able to share our lovely location with all our guests. Hope to see you soon.

Recommend This Place To Anyone
This is my 2nd visit this year. I will definitely be back again. If not this year then next year. Fantastic break. Staff are wonderful. Rooms are spotlessly clean. Beds very comfortable and the breakfast is unbelievable. 5 stars from me.

Sue Blakey - 12th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Sue for your kind words, it was wonderful to meet your friend. We all enjoy your company, and love the new car. See you soon. Best wishes all the team

Long Week End Break
Could not have found abetter position to stay. The most amazing breakfast with so many choices - cooked fresh & delicious. Owners & staff friendly and went the extra mile to make sure all was perfect. Rooms clean comfortable with lovely beds. Enjoyed a pre breakfast swim in the indoor pool. We made it back to the hotel bar each evening just to enjoy the chat & enjoy a slice of homemade cake with our nightcap. We will be back!

Mr. David Norman - 11th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, it was great to meet you both, fabulous walkers. Hope to see you in the future.

A Wonderful Holiday
We found the Fernbank hotel to be very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is situated in a attractive and peaceful location, yet only a couple of minuets walk from a wide choice of pubs and restaurants.

Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.

Both the quality and choice of the breakfast is excellent, and there\'s certainly plenty of it, the same can be said of the range of homemade cakes that are available throughout the day, and always seem to be served in huge portions.

we will defiantly be coming back

Mr And Mrs S. Burgess - 8th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, it is always a pleasure to welcome you to the Fernbank,we so enjoy your company.

Couldn\'t Be Better.
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely return.
Hotel - spotless & comfortable.
Staff - faultless, couldn\'t do enough for you.
Jo-Anne & Julian were really friendly and went out of their way to make everything run smoothly and efficiently. Oh,the breakfasts!! So much to choose from.Scrumptious!!!! We would recommend the Fern bank to anyone.

Mr Larry Evans - 2nd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, it was our pleasure to have welcomed such a friendly couple to the Fernbank. Just to remind you the wall colour is Bath Stone Beige, Dulux.!!!!!!!

No Hesitation
If we re-visit the IoW we would have no hesitation in booking again at Fernbank. Superb breakfast, served by lovely helpful staff in nice surroundings. Without having a car we also found it very well located.

Mr. David Wilson - 2nd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us. I hope the train journey home went well.

Lovely Stay Again
Returned to fern bank for second year, excellent stay again, friendly staff excellent service,excellent breakfast. Rooms clean and tidy,added extra able to have a swim each evening. Will return again next year.

Mrs L Gray - 2nd Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, it is always a pleasure to welcome you to the Fernbank, hope to see you next year.

Just What I Needed
Only a brief stay and too busy elsewhere to explore the facilities fully, but I found the hotel immaculate and comfortable. The Fernbank also serves a fine cooked breakfast.

Mr. Adrian Orchard - 27th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was a pleasure to have welcomed you to the Fernbank, hopefully you will return.

\"at Home\" Once More!
There is always a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Well decorated and kept exceptionally clean throughout. Comfortable bed and slept well every night, it is so peaceful here. Lovely indoor pool and beautiful gardens with tables and chairs. Breakfast will keep you going all day, so much choice.

Beverley Ward - 27th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It is always so lovely to welcome you to the Fernbank, such a wonderful explorer, you know the island almost as well as ourselves now.

Excellent Stay
wonderful hotel with great facilities. Food was exceptional with great choices. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Can\'t wait for our next visit.

Mr J. Salkeld - 21st Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hope to see you both soon, many of the guests have missed your company, since leaving. We have all missed the friendly afternoon chats in the bar, over a slice of cake

Fantastic!
Fantastic hotet situated in a great location. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the whole experience.

Mrs. Claire Robinson - 20th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So nice to have welcomed your both once again to the Fernbank.

Our Lovely Stay At Fernbank
We have been staying at Fernbank for a few years now , and couldn\'t ask for a more comfortable and ablidgeing place to stay. Joe-Anne , Julian and Toby are a really nice family and couldn\'t do enough for us.
The breakfast is superb and the rooms are spotless. The girls that do the waitressing and the girls that clean the rooms are very helpful and so polite.
We feel we have friends at Fernbank and will be going there for the foreseeable future.

Mr Peter Dear - 20th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It is always our pleasure to welcome you both to the Fernbank, such a lovely couple. Its great to have such good friends as you both have. Rooms are on hold for next year, take care.

Small Hotel With Excellent Service.
So pleased that we found a lovely small hotel to stay on the IOW but I\'d rather not let everyone know!!!!   My husband has an elderly relative in Ryde and this makes a perfect place for us to stay when visiting her.  The superior room was spacious and had a view of the sea in the distance and very well presented manicured gardens all in a very quiet location.  The old Village of Shanklin is about 5 mins walk away.  Breakfast is a real treat with a really hot cooked breakfast, homemade preserves, fresh fruit and a wide choice of cereals.  It is served in a conservatory overlooking the gardens.  All of the staff are friendly and we were always greeted in the morning with a cheery morning welcome and smile. Please don\'t change a thing, I\'m sure that we\'ll back again next year. Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay.

Mrs. Fiona Ake - 16th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you both again whilst visiting family on the island

Excellent Week At Fernbank
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a treat. The cooked meals were tasty and well presented. We appreciated the range of cereals, pastries, fresh fruit and home-made jams. From our initial welcome to our departure the service was thoughtful, friendly, helpful and efficient. Thank you.

Mr R. J. Swindells - 10th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your week at the Fernbank, it was helped along with such lovely weather. Hope to see you in the future

Fabulous Fernbank
My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at fernbank. It was fabulous. The room was bright and beautifully furnished. As always it was spotlessly clean. The breakfast is out of this world. Great choice, with beautiful, fresh ingredients ( the bacon is best I\'ve ever tasted.
Joanne, julian and their lovely son Toby are fantastic hosts. They make you feel special and can\'t do enough for you. You feel part of the family. Lovely people.
Wouldn\'t stay anywhere else on the island.
Missing it already. Thank you Joanne, Julian, Toby and all the other staff for a wonderful stay. See you again soon.

Sharon Whipps - 6th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always a treat to see you both, Thank you for your kind words, and hope to see you all later in July with the family.

Relax And Enjoy
We return again to this beautiful Isle, our stay at the Fernbank is always a pleasure Joanne, Juilan and their staffs are wonderful. The hotel and grounds are immaculate and excellently maintained, the breakfast options never disappoint with local produce freshly prepared. Shanklin has some excellent restaurants catering for all tastes and budgets. Looking forward to next time.

Mr C. Rivett - 4th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always good to see you both, what fabulous weather for a Bank Holiday!!!!

Fabulous
What a lovely place to enjoy a relaxing break. The hotel is spotless, the gardens are immaculate, the food is delicious and the staff and the service they give is absolutely fabulous. We will definitely return and would highly recommend a stay here.

Mrs E. Jeffs - 4th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Relaxing Week
A big thank you to Jo Anne and all the staff at Fernbank. Professionally organised in all aspects of hospitality with all the staff friendly and helpful. We\'ve been before and we\'ll come back again.

Mr And Mrs P. Wyre - 30th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was lovely to see you both again.

Fantastic Holiday
Once again we had a wonderful time at The Fernbank. There is nothing to fault at all. The rooms are immaculate, the food is well cooked and well presented. The staff are excellant and so friendly nothing is ever too much trouble, they also take the time to talk to you. We would go back again tomlorrow if we could, would never stay anywhere alse on the Island. We tank Jo Anne and Julian for their hospitality. We are missing you already.

Mr F. Dyer - 29th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always a pleasure to welcome you both to the Fernbank, such great supporters of our lovely island and its activities.

Would Recomnend This Place To All
I had a fantastic, relaxing holiday. Your are made to feel almost like one of the family. Nothing is too much trouble. Room was extremely comfortable & spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are amazing. I cant wait for next year when i will be going back.

Sue Blakey - 27th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
See you next year Sue, and a big thank you for the e-card.

Weekend Break
We arrived for a weekend break and found the owners very helpful, the premises immaculate, the breakfast superb and the gardens delightful. Being a few minutes walk from the town centre and restaurants made the location perfect. First choice when we return.

Mr Alan Smith - 26th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So glad that you enjoyed your weekend at the Fernbank, we are very lucky to have such a lovely location.

Another Wonderful Weekend
When we stay at the Fernbank, we are reminded of what quality service used to be like. I have no doubt we will be back again soon.

Mr G. Loxton - 24th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So nice to welcome you once again to the Fernbank, we do hope that you are able to order the breakfast room, sea grass chairs. Hope to see you in the future.

Excellent
We had an extremely pleasant stay at Fernbank Hotel. Spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable, delicious breakfast. Very welcoming atmosphere. Nothing too much trouble for Jo-Anne and Julian. If ever we visit the Isle of Wight again - we will certainly want to stay here. Thank you

Mrs J. Martin - 22nd May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we thoroughly enjoyed your company, and here\'s to a proper car!!!!!.

Excellent As Always
This is our sixth visit to Fernbanks. We can\'t fault Julian and Jo-Anne\'s hospitality in any way. Always warm and welcoming - so much so that we now feel part of the family. We recommend them to everyone we meet and will be back again next year for our anniversary.

Mrs J. Riggs - 18th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It is our pleasure to welcome such lovely return guests to the Fernbank.

Ideal Location
Stayed for 2 nights, visiting friends in Shanklin. Very comfortable and quiet environment, lovely and welcoming staff and great breakfast. Hope to stay again soon.

Mrs L. Groom - 17th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, we hope all the renovation works go well, and hope to see you in the future.

Excellent All Round Service
Friendly staff and good food (really wonderful breakfasts) and nice comfortable rooms (singles were great) with all facilities. Lovely tastefully furnished lounges and a super pool and gardens.

Mrs. Jean Grey - 15th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have welcomed such lovely ladies to the Fernbank.

Excellent In Every Way.
Although classed as a B & B the Fernbank is run more like a hotel situated within easy walking distance of Shanklin Chine. There are excellent lounges, a swimmimg pool, beautiful gardens and a bar where guests can also sample cakes and a really excellent cream tea. Jo-Anne and Julian are very welcoming hosts and always happy to suggest places to visit and good dining experiences. The staff are very efficient and friendly. This was our second stay and we will certainly stay at the Fernbank when we next visit the Island

Mr And Mrs I. Donaldson - 14th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. It is always a pleasure to welcome such a charming couple to the Fernbank, hope to see you next year.

May Weekend
Had a lovely stay at the Fernbank . We go every May bank holiday with a group of friends
Would recommend the Fernbank always get a warm welcome from Joanne & Julian . Lovely rooms superb breakfast and good assortment of cakes for afternoon tea

Mr E. Wood - 6th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always a pleasure to welcome you all to the Fernbank, we think of the garden as yours.

Best One Yet!
Stayed for May Day bank holiday for short break with our classic cars
What a find ! Such lovely relaxing atmosphere friendly experienced staff
Accommodation so lovely and a swim before a very filling breakfast
Thankyou all so much
Highly recommend x

Sharon Farmer - 4th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, all the guests and ourselves loved the car\'s, nobody could decide which one they were going to take home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope to see you all again.

Words Cannot Describe
Stunning, fabulous, warm & welcoming. Just some of the words I can use to try to begin to review this incredible hotel. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, everything was perfect. Already looking to go back!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ALL.

Mr Scott Strathern - 3rd May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Fernbank, it was our pleasure to have met you.

Lovely Welcoming Hotel
We spent three nights at this lovely B and B. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. The pool was very nice with clean changing facilities.

Mrs Sally Matthews - 29th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we thoroughly enjoyed your company, very impressed with the paddling!!! Hope to see you all again.

Weekend At Fernbank
Visited Fernbank for the second time and will definitely return in the future.
Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff, sumptuous breakfasts, swimming pool and cosy bar - everything I need for a sightseeing weekend!

Mr. Michael Gould - 27th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It is always a pleasure to welcome you to the Fernbank Michael, hope to see you next year.

Amassing Stay!!!
This is a fantastic place, highly recommended. Staff are friendly and very efficient. Immaculately maintained building and gardens situated not far from Sanklin beach. Cannot fault the breakfast where we were invited to \"each as much as we like\" excellent attentive staff, amassing full breakfast (recommend). We will be back!!! Thanks to all.

Mr M. Mosko - 26th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So glad that you enjoyed your first trip to the island, hope to see you in the future.

Absolutely Amazing
I went with my partner to the Isle of Wight for the weekend as a surprise for her birthday. She said to me that I could not have made a better choice of hotel.

We were welcomed by the lovely Joanne who made us feel very much at home. She walked us to our room which she described as her favourite, and for very good reason! The view was stunning!

Cleanliness: 5/5
Facilities: 5/5
Customer service: 5/5
Tea and cake: 5/5
Breakfast: 5/5
WiFi: 5/5 - good signal and speed

Most definitely my favourite hotel I have ever stayed in. Would recommend to family and friends.

Mr. Harry Sassoon - 25th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fernbank, it was our pleasure to have welcomed you both to the hotel, we hope to see you, for the next birthday. We are so lucky to live on this beautiful island, and love to share it with all our guests.

Spring Break
This was a fabulous break in a wonderfully well appointed hotel with friendly and attentive staff. It would be difficult and churlish to find fault. The breakfast was superb with a good choice of well prepared food served in an idyllic setting. Our room was immaculately clean with every facility refreshed daily. The free wi-fi worked perfectly and the bonus was of course the swimming pool with the views out into the sub-tropical gardens. We would be happy to recommend this excellent hotel and would certainly stay here again.

Mr Malcolm Ward - 25th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we all strive to give our guests the best holiday possible, helped by such a lovely period building. Hope to see you in the future

A Wonderful Experience
This was our first trip to the Isle of Wight after many years of travelling abroad to a warmer climate.On arriving at Fernbank Hotel we found the hospitality of management and staff was exemplary.The accommodation throughout was exceptional.The hearty breakfast served by friendly staff started the day off for us in good spirit.Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one.We intend to visit again and Fernbank it will be!

Mr L. Davis - 16th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, it was truly our pleasure to have welcomed you both to the Fernbank, we do hope to see you in the future.

Wouldnt Go Anywhere Else
We stay at the Fernbank every year, twice or if possible, three times. We have never stayed anywhere else on the Island and having discovered the Fernbank when we first visited 3 years ago, we wouldn\'t want to go anywhere else. Have just returned from another week\'s stay and already planning our next visit. Cannot recommend The Fernbank Highly enough.

Trevor Meakin - 13th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, we always look forward to your visits, see you soon.

Excellant Guest Accommodation
Enjoyed our stay at Fernbank, made very welcome. Excellant breakfast would definitely
stay here again, superb accommodation

Mrs M. Waghorn - 11th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was lovely to have met you both, great walkers.

Delightful B&b
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Very friendly and relaxed. The swimming pool was a bonus for our 12yr old and the relaxing gardens perfect for a lazy morning reading and soaking up the April sun. Breakfast was a feast and very delicious. Thank you. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Mrs D. Coxhead - 4th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, great weather for April, it was our pleasure to have welcomed you all to the Fernbank.

Late Easter Break
Great place to stay... hotel well laid out and to a high quality standard. Staff at the hotel extremely friendly and helpful in all respects. Location also good for most attractions. Will definitely re-book this hotel when traveling to the IoW later this year

Mr. Mark Haynes - 4th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So nice to have met you both, hope to see you later in the year, such a lovely weekend, stunning weather for April.

Fernbank Hotel
Very nice hotel and grounds. The owners and staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfasts excellent. We would recommend.

Mr D Lumley - 4th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was a pleasure to have welcomed such a lovely family to the Fernbank, how lucky you all are to have such a charming father. Hope to see you in the future

Wonderful Short Break
Our first time to the Isle of Wight, and having chosen Fernbank we were not disappointed. The booking was effortless as the Ferry is booked and included in the price, Fernbank is spacious, extremely clean and tidy, friendly and everyone was made to feel a \"Special Guest\"
The dining room and breakfast well deserves the AA rating, with of choices of high quality food.
Thank you to all of the staff at Fernbank, I would be happy to recommend your Hotel to anyone, wanting a quiet, relaxing home from home.

Mrs Rosemary Dartnall - 26th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday, with a bonus of a few chilly but sunny days.We are pleased that we can offer our guests considerable savings with our car ferry inclusive package, when booked direct with the hotel only. These are not bookable on line, just call for great savings. Hope to see you both in the future.

Lovely Stay. Immaculate Standards
Top quality stay in Fernbank. The benchmark is set very high by the charming Jo-Anne and her efficient staff. Nothing to knock - plenty to enjoy....highly recommended.

Mr A. Foulds - 9th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

A Wonderful Find.
We enjoyed a wonderful short break at Fernbank and wished that we had booked to stay longer. The accommodation was exceedingly clean; the food was very good and the service provided was faultless. Many thanks for a comfortable and memorable stay.

Mr R. High - 30th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Highly Recommended
Excellent accommodation. Very friendly and polite staff.

Mr. Andrew Pitfield - 7th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Warm And Welcoming
The Fernbank is an excellent place to stay. Every care is taken by this lovely family to ensure every need is catered for. Comfort , cleanliness and an excellent breakfast. Couldn\'t ask for more

Mrs L. Barker - 4th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Nothing Is To Much Trouble
Joanne and all the staff are superb, the hotel is clean, the breakfast is great, local knowledge is invaluable everyone takes interest in your stay and your needs.
We will defiantly visit again .
Thanks for making our bank holiday weekend special

Mr Richard Dixon - 2nd Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Hotel
Third time we have visited this hotel, Comfortable, spotless, friendly helpful staff. Amazing delicious breakfast. Set in beautiful grounds. We will be returning next year.

Val Craig And David Catteau - 1st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Tranqul & Lovely B&b
Probably one of the top places to stay on the IOW. Welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, lovely small garden and indoor pool. Very kind hosts. Spotless comfortable rooms.

Mrs. Claudia Laux - 19th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Sandown To Shanklin Pier Swim
Having struggled to find accommodation last year once i had a place in the swim I booked immediately and chose the Fernbank as the hotel last year wasn\'t up to standard. The Fernbank is a delight. The staff are friendly and both informative and helpful from the initial booking over the phone and throughout your stay. Well situated for us, room and all facilities clean, modern and a great choice of breakfast and in addition to hot food, healthy choices of yoghurt, fruit cereals and homemade breads and jams. Will definitely be returning next year and would highly recommend. Added bonus for us was end of Cowes week celebrations and sandown/shanklin regatta.

Mrs L. Slamaker - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Accomodation
A most wonderful snd tranquil location. The staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was excellent and the rooms were of a high quality.
I would recommend The Fernbank to anyone looking for a short break in one of the best locations on the island.

Mr M. Donald - 10th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
We have had wonderfull days in the Fernbank Hotel. We stay for a few days. The lady of the house and her staff is very friendly. Every morning time for a joke. Breakfast is lovely. Thanks for the lovely days. We were glad that You don\'t have to save us during our dangerous walks. Fernbank is a relaxed place to be.

Mr. Gerrit Vermeer - 31st Jul, 2015
Verified Review

Fern Bank Best B&b In Isle Of White
We stayed here for a week in June and it was the best b&b we have stayed in,a very beautiful house and the staff couldn`t do enough for you food was great everything was lovely would definatly stay again.

Mrs. Brenda Sharp - 18th Jul, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Fernbank.

June 24th - 28th 2015
I had a very enjoyable few days escaping it all just over the water from where I live! The attention to detail, the care and concern and the pool were wonderful. Thank you. I\'ll be back soon!

Miss. Catherine Porteous - 29th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So nice to have met you Catherine, we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to welcoming Mum and sister in August, lets hope that they have the great weather like yourself.

Great Place To Stay
Hotel clean and tidy and rooms very spacious and comfortable. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Lovely freshly made breakfast.

Mr. Kevin Barker - 26th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review.

Sue And Terry
Wonderful hotel, friendly and welcoming, staff are really helpful, this was our 3rd visit, the service and the standards have remained consistently good and we rate the hotel so highly that we are returning again in September and June 2016 a testament in itself.

Mr And Mrs T. Stagg - 23rd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, it is always lovely to see you both. Such lovely weather, you pick your week\'s well. Look forward to seeing you both in September.

Super B&b!
Fabulous service, location and breakfast was amazing! Highly recommended. We will definately return xxx

Mrs T. Rees - 23rd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your weekend break at the Fernbank. Hope to see you both in the future, not to far to travel either.

Very Good
Friendly and helpful hostess, spotless clean room, firm bed and the best cooked breakfast I have had in many years.
I will stay here next time I am on the Island 

Mr. Paul Harrison - 22nd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Fernbank.

Perfection
Perfect location excellent food and hospitality. Joanne and her staff are so friendly and helpful couldn\'t ask for more would defiantly stay again (2nd visit)

Tracey Price - 20th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Always lovely to see you both, great weather again for your ten day\'s. So glad that you enjoyed your holiday.

First Class
Two couples for four nights. We were delighted with the accommodation the breakfast and the service. Highly recommended.

Mr. Michael Platt - 14th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you in the future.

Wonderful
We stay at the Fernbank every year, as always the welcome and care Jo-Anne, Julian and staff give to ensure you enjoy your stay is unrivalled. The bedrooms, bathrooms, bar and lounge areas are all of a high standard, cleanliness is excellent. Breakfast is a delight, choice, produce and service first class. Set in lovely gardens in a quiet location the Fernbank is a short walk to the Old Village or High St. Shanklin has some of the best restaurants on the island. Dive in!!

Mr C. Rivett - 13th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, it is always a pleasure to welcome you both to the Fernbank.

Extremely Pleasant Week Long Break
The room was immaculately clean, the room and hotel in general was tastefully decorated, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were amazingly polite and accommodating. We couldn\'t have asked for a better stay. Thank you!

Miss. Felicity Houston - 7th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was great to meet you both, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

Delightful
Had a very pleasant stay at The Fernbank. Breakfast was varied and plenfiful. Staff very courteous and attentive.

Mr. Duncan Fraser - 31st May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your short break at the Fernbank. Enjoyed your evening company in the bar, hopefully I will be as lucky and not need the spec\'s in the future. Hope to see you both again.

Lovely Place To Stay
The Fernbank is in a ideal place just five minute walk from the local shops and pubs.very warm welcome. Lovely room, comfy bed.spacious ensuite with large walk in shower.quiet location and plentiful parking.with its own bar open until 11 pm also serving light bites.we looked forward to breakfast every morning.cereals and fried breakfast,home made bread, always a good variety on offer.staff are so welcoming and friendly,we wouldn\'t hesitate to return here.thank you for an enjoyable stay. Definitely worthy of 5stars.

Mrs. Nicola Middleton - 30th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Fernbank, hope to see you in the future.

5 Day Break
The Hotel was perfect just what we wanted for us and our friends would stay again and also tell our other friends about our stay

Mrs. Vannessa Matthews - 30th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we loved the bikes, and hope to see you all again.

Fernbank Hotel Isle Of Wight
Stayed at the Fernbank over the Bank Holiday weekend and managed to see all the major points of interest during this time. Having seen most of the island, I can honestly say that the Old Village of Shanklin is by far the nicest. The Fernbank is perfectly located, secluded yet just a few minutes from the centre of the village with its abundance of excellent restaurants. We stayed in a Classic double room which was quite spacious, very clean and comfortable. The guest sitting/drawing rooms were all beautifully decorated and exquisitely furnished. The conservatory where an excellent breakfast was served was a delight. All the staff were very pleasant and efficient but a special mention should go to the owners who could not have been more helpful and their son Toby who served us breakfast, a charming young man who gave us some good ideas of places to visit. A lovely swimming pool and beautiful gardens to relax in complete the picture, but unfortunately didn\'t have enough time to take advantage of these. Definitely next time when we would stay a bit longer!! A wonderful place.

Mr R. Storey - 27th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we all enjoyed your company over the May Bank holiday weekend, it was our pleasure to have welcomed you all to the Fernbank

A Lovely Hotel In Shanklin
A lovely Hotel with comfortable furnishings and very pleasant surroundings. Very friendly and attentive staff ensure you have everything you need. Will definitely wish to return.

Mr A. Cayzer - 17th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to have welcomed your family to the Fernbank, hope Mark enjoys his second holiday.

A Wonderful Weeks Holiday
We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay at the Fernbank Hotel. The owners and staff were welcoming from the time we arrived through to departure. The breakfasts were wonderful and the recommendations we received about places to eat and walks to take were excellent.
The bedrooms were decorated & furnished to a very high standard as were the communal areas including a well kept garden.
We will definitely stay again when we next visit the IOW.

Mr Keith May - 17th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
We are so glad that you enjoyed your week\'s holiday at the Fernbank, we will miss the sociable evenings in the bar. Hope to see you in the future.

Fabulous Fernbank
If you\'ve had the rest now try the best. Yes the Fernbank must be the best for hospitality, comfort, breakfast, friendliness and cleanliness. Excellent value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

Mr L. Boor - 13th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to meet you and welcome you all to the Fernbank. We hope to see you in the future.

Just What The Doctor Ordered.
We found Jo-Anne and her team were faultless!
Wonderful relaxing weeks holiday with breakfast simply the best!
Thank you all for a memorable stay.
We will return.

Mr And Mrs P. Wyre - 12th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you both again.

Nothing Is To Much Trouble
Fernbank what can I say our second stay in a short period great location great staff spotless throughout thank you for another very pleasant experience

Mr. barry hyde - 30th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review

Another Good Holiday
Yet another relaxing time spent at the Fernbank

Well looked after good accommodation good food and good hosts.Would not stay in another hotel
on the island

Mr And Mrs P. Parkins - 28th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
As one of our super regular guests, your comments mean a lot to us. Its such a lovely island with so much to see and do. Look forward to your September visit.

Gio
Excellent breakfast with hand made bread. Host was very friendly

Mr. giovanni cattaneo - 27th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Giovanni, for your review, we really hope that you enjoy your busy holiday in England. What a shame that you did not have longer on our lovely island, so much to see and do. Always a pleasure to welcome our Italian guests to the Fernbank.We hope that you enjoy your next stop in Weymouth.

Mr And Mrs Curland
we have stayed at the fernbank hotel enjoy staying as the staff are so pleasant, the surroundings are superb. We would highly recommend it and look forward on coming back, best place on the isle of wight.

Mr. DAVID CURLAND - 21st Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It is our pleasure to have welcomed you both once again to the Fernbank, fantastic weather for April. We are glad that you both enjoyed your Anniversary long weekend.

4 Day Trip
We stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Accommodation was lovely. Breakfast great. would definatly use again

Mrs. Diane Scrannage - 12th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have welcomed such lovely ladies to the Fernbank, and what great explorers

Quality Hotel
Everything was perfect. warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. the quality of everything from room to food to staff service was first class. A huge thank you to all at Fernbank. Definitely coming again. xx

Mrs. Deborah Labuschagne-williams - 15th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

One Word: Excellent
The Fernbank Hotel is simply excellent. Anyone who knows me will tell you I like a good whinge but there is not one thing I would complain about at the Fernbank. The welcome is warm and friendly, the whole place is spotless. There is lots of space, the gardens are beautiful, the swimming pool is warm, the breakfasts are excellent with great quality ingredients. I will come back and I recommend this hotel most highly.

Mr. Andrew Long - 2nd Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your kind review, we thoroughly enjoyed your company, and hope to see you in the future. Kind regards Jo-Anne and Julian

Plenty To Rave About
Beautiful hotel set in quiet surroundings. Well kept gardens and outdoor areas, ample parking. Rooms and common aresa clean and well decorated throughtout. Breakfasts cannot be beaten on quality, choice and variety - and quantity! Swimming pool just large enough for a few laps after a sunny day\'s walk. Owners and staff extremely welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. This was my 4th stay - not planning to try anywhere else. Keep up the good work.

Mrs. Beverley Ward - 28th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
Fantastic couple of nights. Lovely welcome upon arrival and personally shown to our rooms. Breakfast is great, extensive choice and plenty of it. Rooms are clean and nicely furnished. The owners are so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome - nothing is too much trouble. The swimming pool is a joy first thing in the morning and late afternoon after walking around all day. Nice and near the Old Village so nothing is too far away. Would definately recommend to our friends and return again one day. We travelled as two couples (party of 4)

Mr. Peter Trayler - 23rd Sep, 2014
Verified Review

A First Class Experience
This excellent hotel is very comfortable and clean. All the staff are friendly and helpful.The breakfast selection was superb and of a high quality as were all aspects of this establishment. Would highly recommend.

Susan Reddish - 15th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

A Real Gem
We have stayed in many hotels on the island but only once we will return to the fernbank on our next visit

Mr. Barry Hyde - 15th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

5day Break
We really enjoyed our stay at Fernbank. Service excellent , everywhere is spotless rooms very comfortable everybody very helpful nothing to much trouble breakfast is first class loads to Choose from .
Our 1st choice B & B when we return to IOW.

Mr. John Fiore - 7th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel To Stay At On The Isle Of Wight
We enjoyed our stay at this very nice hotel. Our room was very attractive in pale shades (not the usual dark hotel colours). Exceptionally clean everywhere. Joanne is a lovely friendly host, making us feel really welcome,as did all the staff we met there.

Mrs. Elisabeth Hills - 19th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Delightfull
Really Warm welcome from Joanne and all the staff to a superb three days at the Fernbank . Delightful room ,super breakfast and lovely setting . Hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants and beach . A Jem of a hotel that i am sure we will revisit .

Mrs Julie Chambers - 31st Mar, 2013
Verified Review

What A Gem!
My wife and I were looking for accommodation for one night for ourselves and our adult son. Our usual stopover on the island was full, but my wife found Fernbank and we were so glad she did. The owners and staff are so friendly, the rooms spotless and warm, and breakfast superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. Shanklin itself is a lovely village and the hotel is five minutes' walk from the village centre. Highly recommended!

Mr R. Acret - 26th Mar, 2013
Verified Review