Weekend Away!
Found this lovely plave to stay on Booking.com and was not disappointed. Stylish room which was very comfortable, a great welcome by Jane and her staff, delicious food- what more could you ask for. Would definitely visit again and recommend.

Dawn Harrison - 10th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

George Hotel
Very friendly staff, great food and simply the best Bloody Mary\'s ever. The rooms are comfortable as well.

Mr. Rupert Coke - 9th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Weekend Away!
Found this lovely plave to stay on Booking.com and was not disappointed. Stylish room which was very comfortable, a great welcome by Jane and her staff, delicious food- what more could you ask for. Would definitely visit again and recommend.

Dawn Harrison - 7th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

A Pleasant Inn With A Very Friendly Welcome
Returning to the George Inn after 73 years was a really good experience. We had a great welcome and enjoyed a delicious lunch meeting up with family.Our room was comfortable with an accessible shower.Much of my childhood was spent in the ancient village of Robertsbridge . I would heartedly recommend a visit and a stay in the George Inn.

Pauline Chapman - 27th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Welcoming And Relaxing
A very enjoyable stay with welcoming owners . Thank you

Mrs. Sharmi Mattison - 27th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

The Gerge Inn
The George Inn offers all that is good for a comfortable and traditional stay at a superb and beautifully renovated old coaching inn.The staff without exception were attentive and friendly even the Gruffalo! Dinner and particularly breakfast was delicious - well selected local produce indeed. the Bedroom was restful and well furnished with everything you could need including a very good mattress. Thank you Jane and John

Mr. Lance Usher - 17th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent
Lovely nights stay in preparation to go the the 1066 anniversary the next day. (Just a walk away)
Lovely room, with lots of space, comfy bed and happy to give us lots of fresh milk for tea.
Would definitely recommend dinner downstairs which was delicious, with all locally sourced produce.
Would
A great place to stay

Dr. Sophie Russell - 16th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Happy Customers!
Delightful overnight stay before leaving on holiday from Gatwick. All aspects of D, B&B were excellent, and special thanks to John for coming in personally to provide an earlier than usual breakfast. We will be back soon!

Robin Hall - 11th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous - Again!
Second visit to this fabulous village pub/small (and perfectly formed)hotel. Despite the village cricket team dinner, we were welcomed very warmly and made to feel very much at home. Excellent beers and gins. superb breakfast next morning. Hard to rate any higher. Please go and try for yourself.

Stephen Barker - 3rd Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Total Satisfaction
This was our fifth visit to The George, this time treating some friends to \"The George\" experience. A wonderful time: first rate accommodation, wonderful food, friendly and professional staff and a beautiful setting. Thanks to Jane, John and the team: we will be back again. Many thanks from Peggy and Roger.

Mr. Roger Boothby - 2nd Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Inn
If you are looking for a warm welcome, great bedrooms with comfortable beds and crisp linen coupled with great bar and food then this is the place to stay. Robertsbridge is ideally located if you are exploring East Sussex.

Mrs. Anne Pritchard - 1st Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Great Place
We stayed for 3 nights with our 1 year old daughter. The George Inn was very accomodating and friendly. The rooms where beautiful and the big bed was heavenly. We really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner was delicious. Definitely recommend this great pub.

Ms. Stephanie Bream - 30th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

One Night Stay.
Very friendly and welcoming throughout stay.
Delicious breakfast.
Beautiful, quiet bedroom .
Only criticism was that room stuffy.
Probably just not shown on arrival how to air room.
Thank you.

Sally Clements - 26th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely!
We booked into The George for 2 nights as we were attending an event in the area. Our room was beautifully presented\' and very quiet despite being over the bar. The shower room was divided - large shower on one side of the chimney and then separate toilet and basin on the other side but all worked satisfactorily. The lack of a wardrobe was made up for by several hooks on the wall outside the shower room.

We dined in the pub on the first night. After a slightly shaky start the fish and chips was beautifully cooked and the staff were very attentive. Really good service.

Breakfast both mornings was excellent.

Overall a lovely to place to stay - well placed to visit the area and very peaceful for a good night\'s sleep.

Alison Buckley - 25th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

The George Inn Robertsbridge
Greeted by proprietor Jane on arrival .Clearly a caring host .Room satisfactory and good breakfast choice .Convenient location for Garden visits.

David Hanson - 25th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

The George Inn
We stayed for our anniversary and had a wonderful time, the room was excellent the food was excellent and the staff a delight.
I would highly recommend it for anyone wishing to stay in a traditional inn but with all the modern comforts.

Mr. brian howes - 18th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous Choice!
We stayed at The George when we attended a friends wedding reception. We\'re so glad we chose to stay here. We had the room named Padyhame, a beautiful, bright large double room. It had a gorgeous en suite. Breakfast was included, and was oh so delicious! The owners are so friendly. I would highly recommend staying here, if we needed to stay in Robertsbridge again we would definitely book the George!!

Mrs. Diane Mills - 12th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Beautiful Inn!
We absolutely loved The George and had a fantastic over night stay in the Bamfylde room. The furnishings and soft furnishings were of high quality and luxurious in beautiful Browns and greens and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our only slight criticism was that there were only two breakfast tea bags provided but this wasn\'t the end of the world!
The bar and dining areas were very welcoming and all staff very helpful and friendly. The evening meal and breakfast we had during our stay were both of exceptional standard, well presented, hot and delicious encouraging us to dine at The George again.
Overall a very enjoyable stay. I think the inn represents good value for money and we would definately stay again should we get the opportunity.

Karen Ashdown - 4th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Beautifully Quaint And Such Friendly People
Absolutely perfect for a last minute retreat form the hustle and bustle of London. Lovely village and approach, food was amazing and the room was the icing on the cake. Just what we needed.

Daisy Maffia - 30th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Warm Welcome
My wife and I have just spent a night at The George Inn. I cannot praise this place enough.
From the warm welcome we received on our arrival to the superb English breakfast we had just before leaving, everything was spot on.
The young lady that checked us in, Mike, the host out front and the chef who came out for a chat after cooking our breakfast. All were friendly and made us feel at home. The room was clean and had all the amenities including very good, free wifi, an extremely comftable bed with proper pillows and plenty of coat hangers and storage space. It even had a portable fan for the warm nights we\'ve been experiencing lately.
Would definitely stay here again.

Adrian Cook - 30th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Stayed En Route
Excellent. Service and food good.

Daphne Holdcroft - 29th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

C
Lovely warm and traditional English atmosphere. Excellent restaraunt. Staff always helpful Own car best but local bus good. Thoroughly recommend

Solita Lincoln - 22nd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely East Sussex Village Stopover.
A very comfortable inn with good beer in a quiet picturesque East Sussex village. Food all locally sourced. Breakfast very tasty.

Jim Mellor - 19th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Comfortable and clean. Toilet and shower a bit small. Food good. Service was good but too familiar.

Nigel Orchard - 19th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Top Class
Great Place, Fantastic Food and Wonderful People. Truly first class service. We have already booked to go back.

Ms. Mel Lewis - 8th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Wonderful Place
Spent 1 night at this lovely pub/restaurant,staying in Hiliare - one of the 4 rooms that they have in this Georgian building. It was very comfortable and had a wonderfully large shower. Wifi and Parking -no problem.
Loved the choice of local gins and the food both evening and breakfast was very good. Would happily recommend this place to others and if in the area again this will be our first choice for accommodation.

Mr. Tim Scarr - 4th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Great Stay
A lovely stay. A genuinely warm welcome, a very comfortable room, and excellent food. I would highly recommend it.

Mr M Strickland - 3rd Aug, 2016
Verified Review

De,ightful Family-run Accommodation
This was my second stay at The George. The rooms are tastefully and individually decorated, and the bed extremely comfortable! A really pleasant stay in a lovely village.

My only slight issue (and I mean \'slight\'!) is that there is only a half hour window for breakfast, but they were more than happy to accommodate my request for coffee instead in my room.

Highly recommended.

Ms. Sarah Warren - 28th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Amazing
Loved it. So dainty, such polite staff and even the touch of a fan in the room added to the pleasure of staying here. Thank you for your Hospitality, will def be back!

Ms. Jane Hawkins - 18th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Warm Welcome - Great Service!
John and Jean and all the staff made our short stay at The George very agreeable.

Comfortable rooms and excellent food.

Will certainly stay again if in the area.

M & G Devon

Mrs. Margaret Dinnage - 17th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect B&b
We stayed at the George as we were attending a wedding nearby. I would highly recommend the George - the food is delicious and all locally sourced, the gin variety is amazing, bedrooms are large and spacious and the owners couldn\'t be nicer. John and Jane, and their staff, are extremely helpful and make sure everything you need is catered for. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Kirsty Nash - 14th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Location
A very friendly family run establishment, all staff helpful. Lovely food in the pub/restaurant and very good breakfast. Really enjoyed our 2 nights there, would love to go again

Enid Egginton - 10th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Sunny Sussex
Travelled here so we could go to Bateman\'s at Burwash. Weather was glorious and hotel delightful. Lovely big room, splendid food and very attentive service. Well worth a second visit.

Mrs. Judith Harris - 8th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

One Night Stay 02/07
Enjoyed our stay. All the staff were very friendly. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Food was excellent.

Mr. Mark Newton - 4th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Really Enjoyable
Recently stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting local vineyards to do some wine tasting. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner on both days were excellent and freshly cooked. Staff friendly. Would certainly stay again.

Liz Butcher - 21st Jun, 2016
Verified Review

A Very Enjoyable Stay
All staff were very friendly and welcoming, including the chef who chatted with us at the end of the evening. They couldn\'t do enough for us. Food was really good and the room very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and hope to come back sometime.

Ms. Sue Lenihan - 3rd Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Exceptional !
Considering how late I looked for accommodation over the bank holiday weekend I was delighted to stumble across Jane and her fantastic team at The George. What a find ! From her delightful manner, friendly staff, excellent menu ( to include many varieties of gin) a fabulous weekend was to follow ! Nothing was too much trouble ! I hope to be invited to the next gin tasting evening and to revisit Robertsbridge .

Sue Papworth - 30th May, 2016
Verified Review

The George Inn
Good room, excellent service, and very friendly staff.

Victor Hagemann - 26th May, 2016
Verified Review

An Enjoyable Stay Awaits You
A very warm welcome from Jane, John and all the staff awaits you at The George Inn. The rooms are tastefully furnished with very comfortable beds and all your needs catered for. The food is excellent and the pub is a warm and inviting venue. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Jane Pickup - 3rd May, 2016
Verified Review

A Hidden Gem In Sleepy Kent Village
Booked for one night b&b - friendly welcome, swift informal check-in and personally shown to lovely, cosy, clean room with lovely antique touches if furniture. Decided to dine in pub restaurant, glad we did cosy armcgairs for pre dinner drinks and great meal and dessert!!! Good wide range of wine and friendly conversations from landlady and staff. Lovely beds, very quiet and breakfast was delicious and hearty. Locally sourced, tasty food, friendly management and staff. Well worth a stop for relaxing break or evening meal! Thank you

Mrs. Jo Heffernan - 2nd May, 2016
Verified Review

Special Occasion And A Special Place!
My family, friends and I spent a wonderful night at the George to celebrate my 50th birthday. We had a lovely meal in the evening, the breakfast was very good and the rooms all excellent and to a very high standard. I would recommend the \"George\" highly, and many thanks again Jane and John for making my weekend special.

Judy Atkin - 24th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous Weekend Away
We were treated to a wonderful evening at the George in Robertsbridge. The village is lovely, the bar and locals incredibly friendly and the staff very attentive. The homely family feel is very welcoming and the personal touches very re-assuring. The food is also excellent with plenty of local produce and worth their fair prices. The room was nicely appointed with a clean and tidy bathroom. The bed was comfy and breakfast was great, although I was still full, from the night before. The only chink in an otherwise fabulous stay was the cold shower in the morning. This was mentioned and I was informed that the boiler had recently been replaced and was obviously playing up, as I was not the first guest to mention it. Hopefully, that will be resolved before my next stay!! I will look forward to it...

Lucy Fowle - 22nd Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Visiting Robertsbridge With My Son
Lovely experience at the George; my sort of place, full of character and charm. John and staff were very welcoming. Food was excellent and the Harvey\'s beer was superb. Room was very comfortable. I look forward to returning

Mr. Brian Coulshed - 16th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Just Perfect!
What can you add when it\'s in the title!
Fresh food done extremely well
Hosts were what you want when you are on a break. There when you need them and sensitive enough to disappear when you don\'t.
Extremely professional, helpful and run an exceptionally clean and tight ship with the most yummy of beds. Rooms beautifully decorated. So much so you think you are in a hotel. Full marks team

Mrs. Kim Williams - 6th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Accommodation In Characterful Inn
We really enjoyed our stay in this delightful place - the bedroom was comfortable and full of lovely touches. The staff were friendly and the breakfast superb. Really personal service.
Our only minor issue was no food being served on the Sunday evening - but this was only a minor thing.
Highly recommended.

Ms. Sarah Warren - 15th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Nice Pub
Lovely room, great breakfast

Emma Hiley - 14th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Sussex Stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the George. The venue is ideally located for exploring East Sussex and was very comfortable. The food is delicious and the overall service and friendliness was very good. Would recommend this venue for comfort, food quality and value.

Mr. Brian Storey - 11th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent Accom
Fantastic accomodation and lovely homely feel. Only thing that let it down was food. Although a reasonable price was very bland and did not enjoy. Would stay again as could not fault room.

Robert Weatherley-Day - 7th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Perfect.
the George inn was perfect for us as we wanted a meal with accommodation so that we could both drink. The food was absolutely lovely with something on the menu for everybody and the service and atmosphere was really good. The room was clean, comfortable, warm and decorated to a high standard. The breakfast was very enjoyable and very relaxed. We will definitely be returning. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Mr. richard wiggins - 5th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Warm And Welcoming
A really lovely pub with great rooms, delicious food and all round service. I joined a shooting party and we were very well looked after from the moment we arrived. Couldn\'t have asked for more.

Barnaby Parker - 18th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

January Stay
Lovely Evening Meal and very comfortable room. A lovely place to stay. Thanks

Richard Callaghan - 4th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Another Lovely Stay At The George
This was our third visit to the George, and we were welcomed back like old friends. The room was as comfortable as ever, the beer superbly well kept and the food outstanding (compliments to Stuart, the chef). Jane and John continue to do an exceptional job in maintaining a pub which is clearly the beating heart of the village, if the Christmas Capers celebration that was going on during our stay is anything to go by. Already looking forward to the next time.

Roger Hutton - 7th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay.
We enjoyed our stay, short though it was. The room was excellent, although had our stay been longer hanging space would have have been very limited. Food and atmosphere are 1st class.

Colin Hill - 7th Dec, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent All Round
After a grim drive in horrendous traffic and pouring rain, it was a pleasure to settle into a comfy sofa by a blazing fire and enjoy a warm welcome, drink and good dinner.The room was very comfortable with everything you could possibly want. Cooked Breakfast was lovely and in sensible sized portions. The yoghurts were delicious as was everything else. These are people who work exceptionally hard to ensure that their guest are comfortable.

Ms. Kathryn Haworth - 26th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay In A Great Location
Great pub in a great location. The rooms look recently re-modeled to a high standard, everything is good quality, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The owners are welcoming, friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is excellent. All in all this is definitely an 11 out of 10. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

Mr. Daniel Docherty - 17th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent
We stayed one night in \'Pooke\'. On arriving we were greeted iby friendly bar staff who checked us in and offered to help with bags. The room is big and has a big comfortable bed, a lovely wooden warbrode with great mirror on the front. The couch was a lovely touch. Everything fitted into a \'period\' feel. The toilet and shower are seperate sides of the chimney breast from the fire in the pub. Very clever use of space. The curtain are lovely and heavy to keep the light out. Good heating and lovely lighting in the room. We ate dinner and breakfast and both meals were lovely, tasty and well cooked, served by friendly staff. Jane made a point of saying hello and obviously trains the staff to provide friendly and efficient service. Would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend.

Lynn Barnes - 16th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

A Beautiful Inn
A lovely Inn set in the heart of the village. This is the place to stay if you want a special break away.Stayed in Pooky room beautiful. Staff very helpful.Food very good.

June Pitt - 6th Nov, 2015
Verified Review

The Perfect Escape!
We managed to get away for a rare night without our children. The George delivered just what was needed - a delicious meal, lovely wine,a comfy bed in a luxurious room and a hearty breakfast. We will be back!

Mrs. Sarah Hill - 3rd Nov, 2015
Verified Review

A Very Comfortable Stay
Sadly we only spent one night in this extremely comfortable hotel. Room was beautifully decorated and so quiet, despite facing the road. Both the evening meal and breakfast were very good, with high quality ingredients. John, Jane and all staff that we met are very accommodating. The venue is also good as a base for exploring 1066 country. We will undoubtedly return to this gem of hospitality.

Beverly Leahy - 29th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

My Visit Review
Friendly staff, very nice room, excellent food & local ales, welcoming atmosphere. Thanks

Mr. TONY BUCKNEY - 23rd Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Small, Stylish Room With Fantastic Shower
The room was perfect for our 2 night stay in the area. Although the room was small, it was furnished well and felt luxurious as a result. The bed was comfortable and the lighting was good. The bathroom was small but modern and the shower cubicle was spacious with a fabulous monsoon shower with great pressure. There was a nice area to sit and chill out in downstairs after breakfast. Would definitely recommend it.

Lynette Maree - 5th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Good Choice
Overall very comfortable with good food and service. The George is set in a beautiful village in a very attractive part of the country. The locally sourced food was particularly good although the perfectly cooked steak, although better than most, was not quite \"top of the tree\". I feel overly picky in reporting this because everything else was great and the staff tried very hard to please. We would certainly recommend both the accommodation and the food.

Mr Jordan - 20th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

A Haven !
Fab night ..
Delicious Dining..
Great Hosts..
Fab Room & Facilities ..

Sheila Doherty - 5th Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Find
Just booked here on the off chance and it was wonderful. A lovely welcome from the owner, stunning room with a fabulous bed and furnishings. modern bathroom, double glazing so barely heard the thunderstorm. dinner was delicious, would recommend the roast beef. Cheese board was a good size. Breafast was relaxed and plentiful, highly recommended. Can\'t wait to return. thank you

Angela Lamb - 1st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Relaxing Hotel In A Pretty Location
The George Inn is a lovely hotel set in a quiet pretty village. The room was very comfortable and well appointed with a view into the village. The hotel itself is full of character with low beams and a comfortable bar area. We spent a pleasant evening having a delicious meal in the hotel garden. The staff were very attentive and made our stay very enjoyable.

Malcolm Hart - 30th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Friendly Staff And Comfortable Room
Couldn\'t fault the hotel room or staff, breakfast was nice and we only wish we could have stayed longer.

Martin Philip Cutts - 24th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

First Class
We stayed one night for a wedding locally. We we\'re looked after so well we could have stayed for the week. Next time we fancy a weekend away we will book in and enjoy the beauty of the place and being so well looked after by Jane and the team. Thank you and see you soon.

Simon Bunn - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent
We had a lovely welcome, a comfortable room, and probably the best breakfast we\'ve ever had in a very long time!

Karen Cochrane - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Escapade Romantique
Cet établissement est charmant. L\'accueil, la nourriture et les chambres sont d\'une qualité remarquable. Un séjour mémorable!

Mrs. Caroline Flower - 14th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Good Quality
Excellent room and fresh cooked breakfast with lots of options.
Evening meal very good.
Made to feel very welcome in this well run hotel/pub - a good feel to the whole place.
Great location - quite - good for visiting National trust locations and more.

Robert Davies - 9th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Very Friendly Welcome
Stayed here as a couple, we received a very friendly welcome and the room was lovely. The restaurant food was good and breakfast was excellent.Would definitely stay here again

Mr. Nicholas Poulter - 4th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

What A Gem!
My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at The George. A beautiful room with excellent beds, delicious food and very pleasant people! John and Jane deserve every success - their attention to detail is tremendous. Significantly, but not surprisingly, The George is obviously very popular with the locals!

Mrs. Kate Rissbrook - 4th Jul, 2015
Verified Review

The George Inn
Very comfortable & welcoming. The room was clean & well decorated. Pleasant staff & good food.

Mrs. Sharon Bigg - 22nd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Time
Thank you for making our weekend memory so perfect. It is a clean friendly hotel. We were made to feel very special. Great food.

Maggie Bradshaw - 17th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Highly Recommendable
We have just come back from a wonderful weekend in East Sussex with the George Inn as our base. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The room was just like the photo on the website, spotlessly clean and lots of character. Shower room and toilet, albeit small, looked brand new and again spotless, with a great rainfall shower. Breakfast was local produce and fresh. Great location on the high street, in a small picturesque village. Highly recommendable.

Mr. Halvor Ellefsen - 15th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

The Perfect Stay For An Idilic Weekend
From first to last our stay at The George was everything we hoped for and more. Every member of staff was warm, friendly and fun, nothing was too much trouble and everything was easy. The location is painfully picturesque and utterly charming. Our room at once homely and elegant, the restaurant, bar and garden, inviting, and the food - all locally sourced from ethically raised livestock! - was absolutely delicious.

This was exactly the break we needed. Perfect for a romantic get away or just for a rest in glorious peace and quiet.

All sorts of wonderful heritage sites and beautiful countryside to visit also. We look forward to going back in November.

Thank you Jane and John! We hope you have a wonderful time in Greece!

Natalie Hunt - 15th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Great Choice
Well worth a visit - highly recomended

CHARLES NOBBS - 8th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
A warm welcome which just got better. Excellent food choices and brilliant service. Made to feel like special members of the family not just paying guest. Room was high standard and very comfortable. A joy from start to finish, thank you

Mark Thorpe - 1st Jun, 2015
Verified Review

A Lovley
My husband and I had a rare night away and chose to stay at the George. The pub is located in a quiet picturesque village which has conveniences such as a pharmacy, One Stop and a delightful bakery/coffee shop. The George is situated at the top of the high street and has lovely views of the village. We stayed in Pooke (named after the earliest recorded landlord of the pub) and was tastefully decorated. The room has an en suite toilet and shower which are compact but perfectly functional and in fact the shower was brilliant. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The owners were very welcoming and went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable (we had some transport issues during our stay and Jane came to our rescue which meant that we were able to make an appointment for a treat we had been looking forward to).
We decided to eat in the bar and had an amazing meal at a reasonable price. The chef was happy to discuss my dietary requirements with me and offered to make something for me if the menu didn\'t cater for me. If you plan to eat at the George I would recommend booking a table. We stayed mid week and most of the tables had been reserved for diners.

Mrs. Natasha Coston - 29th May, 2015
Verified Review

Do Not Forget To Book A Table!
perfect place to stay: friendly, helpful, cheerful staff, stylish room, comfortable bed, fabulous shower, and the food...the food was absolutely superb! What an asset that chef is - never let him go!

Ruth Heyburn - 19th May, 2015
Verified Review

An Absolute Gem
The owners John and Jane are truly genuine lovely people. They have a wonderful place to drink, eat and sleep. As a business traveller alone, I was made to feel very welcome by all the staff at the George Inn. The whole place just makes you feel at home, but even better!! The food is exceptional and the accommodation is to high standard and comfortable, everything for me was perfect and I\'m picky about where I stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending the George Inn to anyone. Thank you again, and I will be back again soon…

Mr. Stuart Palethorpe - 13th May, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Stay At The George Inn
We had a lovely stay here in April 2015. Made to feel welcome and room very comfortable and spotless. Thank you

Mrs. Helen Downes - 12th May, 2015
Verified Review

What More Could One Want!
Genial hosts, a very clean and comfortable room, great food and all in a pretty East Sussex town setting - what more could one want!

Tim Cooney - 10th May, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect!
The George inn was a lovely place to stay, room and bed was huge and very comfortable. People are lovely and the breakfast was delicious. Perfect!

Chloe Mulvey - 3rd May, 2015
Verified Review

Warm, Welcoming And Excellent
On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly staff and shown to our room (Hilaire) which was modern, clean and perfect for two. We had dinner in the pub, and after talking to the chef about my wheat and gluten intolerance he assured me he could adapt anything on the menu to suit my needs. I had the cheesy garlic bread, fish and chips and a trio of ice creams, all of which was excellent. Both Jane and John (owners) introduced themselves to us which was a nice added touch and we had a quiet and relaxing sleep. We were off early the next morning and again the breakfast was catered to my dietary needs. All in all an excellent stay in the George Inn, which is a great base to explore the surrounding attractions such as Bodiam Castle and Hasting. Thank you.

Miss. Emily Ashley - 30th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent Country Inn
We had a lovely two night stay at The George Inn. All the staff were helpful & welcomed us on arrival. Both Jane & John are great hosts. Our room was spacious, very comfortable & beutifully decorated. We ate in the restauant on the Friday evening & the food was exceptionally good. Would recommend a stay at the George!

Charlotte Verney - 21st Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Short Stay
Excellent as always just a short stay found everything
perfect.

Mr. John Statham - 18th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
We both had a really great stay at the George. The staff were very helpful, the room lovely and the food was great too - and Robertsbridge is a nice town to explore also. Thank you!

David Adam - 16th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Friendly Traditional Country Inn
Stayed with my wife for as April break of 4 days, using it as a base to travel across Sussex & Kent.
Lovely quiet village in which The George is the local pub as well as having an excellent restaurant.
Only 4 modern comfortable rooms with tea/ coffee.

Mr. David Ellison - 12th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

The George Inn
After being battered by high winds at nearby Bodiam Castle, we spent a rainy afternoon by the fireside of this traditional and cosy local pub. Our room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Jane, the co-owner, warmly welcomed us to the restaurant where we enjoyed a delicious and relaxed meal. It was a busy Saturday night, so service was a little slow but we didn\'t mind.

Rita Sharma - 30th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Little Gem In The Country
We stayed 1 night at this hotel and the services provided was excellent. All members of staff were extremely friendly. We stayed in Pooke and the room was beautifully decorated, clean and tidy. The breakfast in the morning was all local produce and was very well cooked at presented. Unfortunately we had evening plans so couldn\'t have dinner here, but from what we saw the food looked amazing and it is a very popular little spot. We will definitely be returning again and have recommended The George to a number of our friends.

Ms. Nicola-Marie Roberts - 18th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Great Stay
I am writing this on behalf of a group of business travellers who stayed at the George B&B last night. They thoroughly enjoyed their stay, returning to work today very well rested and well fed after their lovely breakfast. The owners Jane and John were extremely helpful and accommodating with the various amendments and requests we made. We hope we have the opportunity to book with you again and will defnitely be recommending you to our collegagues - many thanks!

Hannah Kirkadie - 10th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Recent Stay
We found both Jane & John excellent hosts very friendly and welcoming. We wanted complete R & R and that is what we had . We can recommend the food as we ate every night and although there is not a large selection we had no trouble in making a choice. Can\'t wait to be able to make a return visit

Anthony Wheaton - 9th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Great Gastropub
Lovely little gastropub in a pretty village, a warm welcome and drinks by the open fire. Large double with everything one could ask for, super rain shower and a bed that we slept like logs in.
Food was excellent both the dinner and the full english breakfast. Hubby agreed one of the best he had eaten in England, although we thought that 9.30 was a bit early for a sunday morning for last breakfast orders. Would stay again and really reccomend it.

Mrs. Angela Chivers Johansson - 3rd Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Very Good Weekend
Excellent accommodation, food and service. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, even the weather was great.

Andrew Keogh - 26th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

An Very Enjoyable Stay
A very enjoyable stay that was all too brief. Situated in a nice position in the centre of the village. Rooms very comfortably appointed and excellent food, wine and beer.

Mr. Roger Braddick - 22nd Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent
We recently stayed at the George Inn for 2 nights and could not fault it, the staff were kind and gracious, with nothing being too much trouble, we ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was brilliant (we are still talking about it). the room was a perfect size with everything you need and a big comfy bed. We will definitely be back

Ms. Susannah Brown - 19th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

A Lovely Stay
We had a warm welcome at this lovely hotel...excellent food in the restaurant and a good wine list...great ambiance.
Room tastefully decorated and bed very comfortable.
Definitely worth a return visit!

Mrs. Peta Jarmey - 15th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Thank You For Making Us Feel So Welcome
Had a lovely nights stay here and food so good we went back the following evening. The staff and owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and valued as guests.

Christopher Sanderson - 13th Jan, 2015
Verified Review

Beautiful Bedrooms And A Cracking Pub To Boot!
Loved the pub atmosphere with its welcoming log fire, cosy bar and dining area. Bedrooms are lovely , beautifully furnished with the most comfortable beds , antique furniture andexcellentmodern rain showers. Food brilliant as well.

Mrs. Rusty Haran - 8th Dec, 2014
Verified Review

Gorgeous!!
I had a lovely, totally relaxing stay at The George Inn ;-) The owners and staff were very attentive (so attentive that the owner actually came to greet me (and I was just walking along the road). The atmosphere is serene, the bedroom was beautiful, each room is named in honour of previous landlords. I had a wonderful nights sleep, the bed, pillows and cushions are to die for and the area is totally magical!! I would highly recommend the George Inn as a place to stay, as a business person or for a couple on a romantic break. The village and surrounding area is beauty at it\'s best!! I can\'t wait to stay again!

Claire Kirtland - 21st Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Fab Treat
What a great little pub with rooms. Couldn\'t fault the rooms exactly as described . The bar and restaurant had a very homely feel. Really welcoming. The food and wine were very good and the staff were extremely efficient. We will definitely be visiting again and reccos.. mennding to our friend

Nicky Mason - 10th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Well Worth The Stay!
My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night as we were attending a wedding in a neighbouring village. The owner Jane was kind enough to allow us to check in early and provide a temporary room to wash and change in before the wedding. The staff could not be more friendly and accommodating. The food was fab and the breakfast was delicious - all locally sourced as well and cooked by Stuart! The tomatoes roasted on the vine were great! The room was lovely and spacious and all in all we had a fantastic stay. Would have stayed for Sunday lunch if we could. The village is gorgeous and the bakery is excellent. Especially the sausage rolls with caramelised red onion. The George is somewhere we would definitely stay again. In factbwevintend to buy some vouchers as a gift for family. Thank you.

Matt Lord - 10th Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Nice Inn, Shame About The Music!
Handsome Inn, nice welcome, good locally sourced food, friendly atmosphere, clean comfortable room, reasonable value. One criticism - the piped music. Ugh! One of my pet hates. What is wrong with the simple buzz of people conversing?

Geoff Cole - 13th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

A Relaxing Break
Lovely Inn with tastefully decorated rooms and delicious food. Owners and staff really friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Mrs. Judith Elt - 6th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Great!
From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed - John and Jane couldn\'t have been more friendly and helpful. They were so lovely letting us check in early so we could change for the wedding we were attending. The room was fab and the breakfast delicious. Also a special mention for the brilliant taxi service Buddy\'s who took us and picked us up from the wedding. I wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend the George!

Lucie Jordan - 5th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Best Pub In East Sussex
We had a wonderful stay at the George,everything about the place is first class.Great hospitality,great food,excellent chef,the staff are friendly and polite,and Jane the owner is a real star.It would be very hard to beat the George

Steve Blake - 4th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Wedding Night Hotel
Our room was beautiful! We booked it for our wedding night. The staff were lovely and welcoming. We hope to revisit on our first anniversary if not sooner!

Danielle Rose + 1 - 28th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Friendly atmosphere in well appointed facility. Location is excellent. A positive experience.

Mr. Chris Tallon - 22nd Sep, 2014
Verified Review

English Gem
As a party of 8 attending a wedding in a village nearby, we all stayed at the George Inn for 2 nights. This was a wonderful experience in a charming village and everything about the Inn is first class. Hospitality and comfort are in abundance here along with good food and an atmospheric rustic bar. All the staff were very helpful and we will be back again.

Mr. Aidan O\\\'connor - 21st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

No Wonder It Is 5 Star
A warm welcome, our room - Padyhame is the cosiest room we\'ve had during our travel. The food was good. I rarely ate bacon for breakfast but this time I ate it all. Next time we come back, I\'ll try the pancake.

Ella Ngo - 20th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Great Hotel..great Location. .great Welcome
The George is everything a hotel should be..comfortable clean. .a sense of home from home but with nicer curtains! Lovely breakfast and Jane and John were very accomodating when we wanted it early.

Thanks we had a great stay

Gillian and doug

Gillian Dent - 8th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely!
We loved our time at 'The George'. Staff went out of their way to help. Room was lovey, food was delicious... We would love to return! Thanks again! X

Mr. Alex Thomas - 1st Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Another Lovely Stay
My husband and I stayed on Friday 1 August 2014. It was the second time I had stayed in three months and it lived up to my first visit. Lovely room, great food and friendly staff who can't do enough for you. We will be back!

Suzanne Pickard - 11th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Wedding Group
Thank you, we were well looked after. Lovely rooms.

Deborah Watts - 6th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

The George Inn
Enjoyed our stay. Jane and her team looked after us very well. The room was large and comfortable. Our dinner and breakfast were both delicious. Dining room is very warm and engaging. Outside area is very relaxing - could benefit from more flowers/pots to make it more cosy. But overall we had an excellent time.

Peter Sutton - 2nd Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Peter for your lovely review and for taking the time. I have taken your point on regarding the garden and poor John is going to be experiencing an afternoon at the garden centre in the very near future to get some more pots and plants for the courtyard. Earlier in the year we had vegetables including beans and courgettes growing but unfortunatley our customers have eaten them all now!!! Thank you once again though and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Jane Turner

Super Stay
We stayed from 23/7/14 for two nights and from the moment we checked in could not have been made more welcome by ALL the staff.
We stayed in Pooke which was a large en-suite situated at the front overlooking the car park and again was very comfortable. The only down side was the fact that the toilet and shower rooms were both very cramped. As we only stayed for two evenings it was not a problem. The breakfasts were of a high standard and again nothing was a problem. We dined there both evenings and had lunch there one day and the food was locally sourced, well presented and of a very good quality.
Would definitely stay again

Stewart Westbrook - 26th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Couldn't Ask For More
Stayed here for a wedding with a couple of friends. The owners were welcoming, friendly and very accommodating when we unexpectedly acquired another guest. Breakfast was great, nice selection of ales and couldn't have been more helpful with sourcing taxis (having warned us we should book far in advance - pay attention!)

Lovely building done up nicely in beautiful (if remote) surroundings. Highly recommended.

Mr. Nick Lewis - 30th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

First Class!
A wonderful place in a lovely village.The hosts were wonderful too..very friendly and attentive. We really felt at home. The room was luxurious and the evening meal and breakfast were unbeatable. We will definitely be returning and sharing this gem with friends too.

Gaynor Entwistle - 29th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

The George Inn
The staff at the George Inn gave us a Warm welcome and we were well looked after during our stay. The rooms were very nice and the bar and restaurant are beautifully decorated creating an elegant but warm and cosy atmosphere. breakfast was delicious and I only wish I had been able to stay longer and eat in the restaurant! I would most definately return if I am in the area again.

Helen Plaice - 21st Jun, 2014
Verified Review

1 Night Stay
Beautiful room very comfy bed and great view of the village- gorgeous food and very welcoming and friendly staff. Attentive landlady who took time to explain the menu and local attractions. Would prefer a bath but shower was good

Jeremy Burton - 8th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely
Lovely setting, really spacious rooms, very helpful staff. Thank you for a great stay.
Only wish we could have tried breakfast, but 9am is a bit late when you have little ones who wake at 6!
Maybe next time.

Fiona And Johnathan Scott - 2nd Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Our Stay
We were made very welcome by a friendly staff team. All our requirements were met and nothing was too much trouble

Ali Bebn - 31st May, 2014
Verified Review

Great Night
Great food, friendly hosts and a very comfortable room - a good nights sleep followed by a fine breakfast. 10 out of 10

Mr. Mark Petters - 30th May, 2014
Verified Review

The George Inn
This was a really lovely stay, a warm welcome, beautiful room and the most delicious food. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was superb.
I would recommend the George to anyone visiting the area or doing a Sarah Raven flower course

Annabel Parker - 20th May, 2014
Verified Review

Highly Recommended
This is a top class establishment. The rooms are classy and comfortable, the food is great and the people are lovely. What's not to like? We will be back!

Beth Collins - 16th May, 2014
Verified Review

Should You Visit ?
Do..... as the minute you walk through the door you are met with a very warm welcome. The rooms are not only very nice they are spotlessly clean. The food was exceptional, all delivered with warmth and charm. If you are thinking of staying, you will not be disappointed

Mr. Paul Hooper - 3rd May, 2014
Verified Review

Business Visit
Hotel was fantastic, clean and friendly. Food was exceptional.

Great hotel all round.

Helen Maxwell - 2nd May, 2014
Verified Review

Happy Easter
We had a great stay at the George Good Friday and Easter Saturday. Our room was excellant, food wonderful and the staff very helpful. I have already recommended a stay to friends and family.

Denise Moyes - 28th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Hillaire
A wonderful welcome - thank you. your attention to detail is greatly appreciated and it shines through everywhere. Two fabulous evening meals and a lovely cooked breakfast on the first day - kippers! Would have welcomed a croissant instead of bread with our packed breakfast. Hilaire is a cosy room once we had mastered the radiators - it cooled down a little! Bed is very creaky! We are aware there is no space for a hanging cupboard - perhaps a hanging rail would help. some double hangers for suits and trousers could be added? This is being very picky but trying to be helpful! Thank you again for a wonderful stay and we will be back next year. We shall contact you direct once our dates have been confirmed. Thank you again.Jane and Richard Tovey

Jane Tovey - 28th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend
We received a warm welcome. The room was lovely. The food was excellent and the staff made every effort to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. We will return.

James Shaw - 27th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
Really gorgeous inn run by a lovely couple. Rooms, service and area delightful. We will return!

Ms. Victoria Sorby - 23rd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

A Real Gem
We were made to feel very welcome here. John and Jane made every effort to ensure we were comfortable and happy and all the staff came across as bubbly, intelligent and with a good sense of humour. We were grateful for the advice on good places to visit, independent coffee shops, the best places to park etc. Our room, 'Paddyhame', was tastefully furnished and the mattress was comfortable. I think if we were to stay any longer than a couple of nights, we might prefer to go for one of the rooms with a larger bathroom. The food was fabulous. So fresh, full of flavour and beautifully presented. We found the location perfect for visiting Rye, Hastings (old town), Battle, Burwash and Bodiam Castle. Robertsbridge, itself, is a delightful village.

David And Sally Rowland - 22nd Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Great Value, Warm Welcome!
Just a one night break at the George felt like an entire weekend away. We received a friendly welcome at the bar from the locals and tucked into tasty home cooking in the lounge room restaurant. Classy but homely, and a breakfast for champions with local produce, fresh fruit and a non greasy fry up! We look forward to coming back!

Ms. Alex Fudakowska - 14th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Comfortable Friendly Hotel
We had a one night stay the weekend before Easter and were made to feel very welcome. The staff were obliging and friendly and the room itself was very comfortable. Our cooked breakfast was delicious and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending a stay there to anyone.

Mr. Daniel Bunce - 14th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

70th Birthday Surprise
With Jane's guidance I arranged a surprise 70th birthday meal for my wife. As part of the surprise I also arranged for my wife's two sisters and their husbands to stay at The George. The arrangements, table decorations and our meal all contributed to a memorable evening. Also, our guests loved the rooms and their breakfast.

Richard Mann - 10th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
We had a great time at The George, the food is fantastic and Jane welcomed us and looked after us during our stay. It is spotlessly clean. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Mrs. Gill Lipscomb - 10th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Very Friendly
Very friendly, comfortable room and an excellent breakfast.

Jill Clarke - 9th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Pooke Bedroom
we stayed in this beautifully decorated bedroom for one night.It was spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.we would just add two items to an already perfect room;1)window blinds as room overlooks entrance and parking area.2)A box of tissues.The food was excellent and very well presented and a great variation of wines
and beers.Owners Jane & John were on hand throughout our stay and made us so welcome.We
look forward to visiting again soon.

Anne Mansfield - 7th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
We stayed on Saturday night at the George Inn and had a delightful time. Our room was beautiful. Our dinner was delicious - especially for me to have gluten free fish and chips was a real treat! Most importantly we were treated like friends and local's - very special. We'll be back!

Joanna Crossley - 17th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
We booked in the George Inn for one night and were very impressed with the high quality of staff and accommodation . We were made to feel welcome from the start and had a very enjoyable stay and evening meal.The George Inn is situated in the lovely town of Robertsbridge, and I would highly recommend it to others, and we are likely to return in the not too distance future.

Lorraine Walland - 17th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Great Experience
Great rooms; great service and lovely food and drinks. We would definitely recommend!

Mrs. Dawn Tomlyn - 16th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

The George Inn
We had a fabulous weekend and were made to feel very welcome. Great breakfast. Room was very clean and had a good modern shower room. We had both meals in the restaurant and really enjoyed the food. We will hopefully return again!

Mrs. Victoria Cunnah - 10th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Birthday Treat
Thank you for making my birthday so special. Your welcome, your food and your luxurious accommodation - all these helped to make our stay with you unforgettable. Thank you very much.

Bryan Hampton - 9th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Great Weekend
A lovely old village pub with well furnished accomodation. The restaurant food was excellent and staff very friendly.
We had a very enjoyable long weekend stay.

Mr. Alan Sexton - 7th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Little Piece Of Heaven
Everyone is so lovely and helpful,nothing too much trouble. Cosy room, beautifully furnished, fantastic food in the restaurant,what more can I say.

Linda Lynch - 1st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

A Weekend In East Sussex
John & Jane gave a warm welcome on arrival,the rooms were nicely decorated and very comfortable.Dinner and breakfasts were very good and the service from other team members was very attentive to our neeeds.In all a nice hotel to stay in East Sussex and yes we would stay again.

Bernard Coe - 24th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Highly Rated
If you are looking for a well run family hotel then look no further. Mein hosts Jane and John Turner head a superb team of staff where the service is all important. The food,rooms and atmosphere blend to create the perfect home from home atmosphere. My wife and I will certainly return when we are next in East Sussex as Robertsbridge is very close to so many ares of natural history and beauty.

Mr And Mrs Dedman - 24th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Recommended
Excellent accommodation and breakfast. We were attending a function close by so did not sample the restaurant. However, did have a couple of brandy's in the bar on return. One was presented in a very dirty glass. When returned to bar contents were decanted into another glass!!!!! Minimum I would expect would be a fresh (clean) glass and another brandy.
However, I would thoroughly recommend the accommodation, very tastefully decorated.

Mr. Malcolm Henderson - 23rd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

A Great Valentine's Dinner And A Comfortable Stay
We have eaten at The George several times and the food is always consistently very good so we decided to treat ourselves to a Valentines night out and also to stay in one of their bedrooms.

Valentines Dinners are notoriously over priced and disappointing - not so here! We had a delicious supper, it was reasonably priced and the service was friendly and efficient but not too 'in your face'. It was a set priced three course meal with excellent choices and very reasonably priced. We wanted to add a cheese course - a request that was organised with no fuss and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated - I actually was quite sorry we were only staying for one night! A delicious and generous breakfast was included in the room price. At just over £200 for the two of us for a four course supper, drinks before hand and a bottle of nice red, our room and breakfast it was absolutely amazing value.

We had a lovely time and I would recommend eating here.


Visited February 2014

Andrea Heald - 20th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

So Cosy!!
Had a lovely one night stay at the George inn, the bar and food was lovely and I would highly recommend to anyone to stay for the weekend or come for dinner!

Amy Lloyd - 17th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

The George Inn Robertsbridge
Had a really lovely afternoon and evening meeting the locals in the bar area very friendly and welcoming ,evening meal was very nice ,and the room was very comfortable clean and warm also quite home from home.Was made to feel very welcomed loved our night thank you ,will visit again .

Sacha Wand - 15th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

A Great Weekend Away, Made Even More Lovely By Jane And John
From the initial welcome on Friday evening to the moment we left The George on Sunday, Jane and John made our weekend stay really special.

There was a great atmosphere in the bar when we arrived. Jane showed us to our room (Padyhame) which, like the rest of the Inn, was clean, tidy and extremely well decorated.
Jane had reserved a table for us but without any fuss slipped it back a while due to us being a tad delayed by traffic.

Dinner on both nights was great; the hot food was hot, as were the plates, a big thing for me…

It was my birthday over the weekend (the reason for our time away) and my partner had secretly arranged a cake, which Jane and her team had actually made themselves. At the height of dinner on the Saturday evening, Jane brought it out with candles, singing ‘Happy Birthday’…!

Overall the weekend was perfect; the accommodation was delightful, food excellent and the care & attention from John, Jane and their team was exquisite.

If you want a relaxing place to stay, with good food and a great atmosphere, The George is an absolute must. Definitely a location we intend to return to.

Mr. Martyn Copperwheat - 14th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

An Unexpected Jewel
I generally ignore review requests but The George and "mine hosts" were a delight. The accommodation, service and food were excellent. No faults whatsoever. Thank you.

Mr. John Fagan - 11th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

An Unexpected Jewel
I generally ignore review requests but The George and "mine hosts" were a delight. The accommodation, service and food were excellent. No faults whatsoever. Thank you.

Mr. John Fagan - 11th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

A Nights Respite From Life
Thank you for a very warm and welcoming reception. We both felt you could not do enough for us and we loved every minute. The facilities were great and we had everything we needed and we both had the best nights sleep in months . We really wished we could stay another night and are already planning another night away with you.

Mrs. Alison Bebb - 3rd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

The George Inn
Where to start! The most personal greeting possible from the most delightful owners and their most exceptional staff. Room superb - exquisite furnishings and ultra-comfortable bed. Bar area fabulous, with good real ales, sofas and a log fire. Engaging local character with stories to tell. Food in restaurant simply the best. Breakfast excellent too. A great combination of positives. I would recommend to all my friends.

Dr. Stephen Barker - 26th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
We really enjoyed our stay at The George. Stayed in Pook - beautiful room with great view of the village. Shower room tight but perfectly fine and only way of getting the shower in without compromising size of room. Only complaint was size of the cooked breakfast - we felt that one slice of bacon was a bit mean - it surely wouldn't gave broken the bank to fill up the large (empty-ish) plate with a second rasher!

Mrs. Sarah Evans - 14th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Sarah for taking the time to write your review and I understand totally what you say about the shower. You are correct in that it was a decision we took in relation to not compromising the rest of the lovely proportions of that room, however we were also restricted under some very tight planning rules and regulations as The George is Grade 2 listed building which meant that we could not actually change the dimensions of that space, even if we had wanted to.

In relation to your breakfast comment though, I have passed this onto our chef as realistically your plate should not have been empty or even emptyish. Having discussed this with our Chef, I think what has happened is that if guests haven't usually ordered all of the items that make up a full Sussex breakfast, he would usually have put on extra of the items that had been ordered but I think on this occasion, he must not have done this. We are so sorry that that was the case and I can assure you that this will not happen again. We pride ourselves on a giving a good breakfast and have recently just been awarded a Breakfast Award by Visit Britain to support this, so hopefully if we can tempt you to come and stay again with us, we can make sure you have the full George breakfast that time around.
Thank you though once again for taking the time to write up your comments as we do really appreciate getting feedback.
Kind regards
Jane

Peaceful Weekend Break
A lovely, peaceful weekend in a lovely English village. Nicely furnished, comfortable rooms, good food at breakfast and dinner, and very warm, welcoming hosts. Have stayed there before and we weren't disappointed and hopefully will be back!

Ms. Jackie Drabble - 12th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

New Years Eve Stay
What a wonderful place. The rooms were stunningly decorated and very comfortable. The food was amazing and the hospitality was genuinely warm and welcoming. The owner Jane in particular treated us like old friends. My only criticism was the music / DJ was terrible but as an outside source cannot include that as a fault of the George. It really was impeccable and I would recommend anyone thinking of staying there to do so.

Mrs. Emma Green - 6th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Last Weekend At The George
As ever, the welcome was great, food excellent and standard of service very high.
It makes a perfect break from our hectic London working life.
If only I can persuade the chef not to give me too much English breakfast (I couldn't move afterwards!)

Ms. Kathy Reeds - 13th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Great Find
Lovely weekend away at The George, friendly hosts, comfortable rooms and excellent food. Would definitely recommend!

Mrs. Nicola Cook - 11th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay!!
We stayed here for a night when we attended a wedding locally, we were able to check in early and the staff were very friendly. The accomodation is great and the breakfast was yummy. Would definatley recommomend and be back if we were down this way again. Thanks guys at the George, keep up the good work.

Mrs. Sarah Fidler - 9th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Fantastic Night
We were delighted to stay in The George Inn for one night but we would like to be longer. It is a lovely place!

Mrs. Victoria Valiente - 8th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

A Lovely Stay At The George
On the weekend of my parents' Diamond Wedding Anniversary, we stayed at the George. We were made to feel very welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable; the breakfast was lovely; and Jane made us feel very much at home. I'm sure we will be staying at the George again.

Mr. Charles Rodgers - 30th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Weeknight Stay
Room was lovely, clean and good facilites. shame there wasn't a service for earlier breakfast even a pre-packaged take out breakfast as I had to leave before 8:30

Miss. Jackie Smith - 28th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Overall Experience
Warm welcome, tasty food and relaxing atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Miss. Claire Chappell - 26th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

The George Inn At Robertsbridge
My wife & I stayed at the George recently for the first time. The owners were away on holiday, but the remaining staff were both competant & courteous from start to finish. Our bedroom (Hilaire) was both quiet & comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on both nights. The menu could have been a little more varied, but the food was delicious and well presented. On the Saturday evening there was a party of 17 people on another table who had arrived just before us. Nevertheless, there was only a little delay in our being served. The beer & wine were excellent.
All in all I would recommend the George for a stay of a few nights.

Dr. Timothy Cantor - 26th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Very Accommodating
We stayed for just one night with our two young children as we were in Roberstbridge for a wedding. The room was set up with an air bed for our daughter and cot for our son. The room was lovely, the breakfast delicious, staff very friendly and professional, nothing would have been too much trouble I'm quite sure.
Next time we'll return without the children so we can enjoy the restaurant area and pub a little bit more!

Emma Smith + 1 - 23rd Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Just Lovely
We only stayed for a night but wished it could have been longer.Just 90 mins outside of London but a world away - so quiet and peaceful! We had been worried that in a room over a pub it would be noisy but there were no issues there at all, even for the must-have afternoon nap!
Great hospitality from Jane, superb service, good food, very comfy bed and an amazing shower. Will definately be back.

Mrs. Claire Symons - 9th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Great stay - very comfortable room and excellent food. A memorable rib eye steak.

We would stay again.

Mr. Patrick Grant - 1st Sep, 2013
Verified Review

2 Quiet Nights In Pretty Robertsbridge
Very welcoming, even though we were late arrivals! Lovely room and extremely comfortable and big bed. Shower room a tad small for biggish people but realize it could really not have been any bigger. Excellent breakfasts and very good dinner - for 11 of us! We
would certainly recommend The George +++.

Mrs. Elizabeth Day - 22nd Aug, 2013
Verified Review

The George Inn, Robertsbridge
Absolutely lovely place to stay. Fantastic room and delicious food, would definitely stay again.

Jess Groves + 1 - 24th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Weekend Away
We came to stay at the George whilst I was on a baking course in Ewhurst Green. We had a lovely time. The food was good and the staff were very efficient and nothing was too much trouble. We also loved our bedroom. Will definitely come and again and would recommend to friends.

Mrs. Karen Death - 24th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Cosy Rooms And Friendly Inn
Very warm welcome from John our host, and a lovely location of this B&B in the heart of the picturesque historic village of Robertsbridge. Lovely room with ensuite, beautifully furnished, as was the whole property. Fantastic locally sourced breakfast and quiet, peaceful stay. We would reccomend to anyone, who wants to stay in this area. A home from home !

Mrs. Amy O\'connor - 24th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

You Won't Be Disapointed!
We spent a great weekend with friends, enjoying John and Jane's hospitality. The rooms were beautiful. We stayed in The Pooke, and I have to say it was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in - and we've stayed in some very classy hotels over the years. Treat yourselves to a stay here - you won't be disappointed. And the food is excellent too!

Mr. Kenny Mccoll - 16th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Treat Yourself.
A delightful and very enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly attentive and very customer focussed. The evening meal was superb and reasonably priced for the excellent quality. Would highly recommend a stay. :)

Simon Shepherd - 15th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect From Start To Finish
I stayed at The George Inn for one night. My room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was excellent and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. I had dinner with some family members in the restaurant where the food was very good and the service friendly and attentive. The hosts were really friendly and they made me feel very welcome. I can't recommend this place highly enough and I will definitely stay there again. Thank you!

Mrs. Fiona Mallin - 9th Jun, 2013
Verified Review