What A Find
Just returned from a great week staying here. From the friendly welcome including fresh scones, to the breakfast at small wood house on our last day (which was yummy) we could not have asked for more. Such a well thought out layout and everything you needed was there. The central location was great. Such a warm and cozy place to stay and well deserving of its 5 stars. I would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends.

Denise Thomas - 3rd Sep, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you Denise, we will look forward to seeing you again soon we hope.

Another Great Stay With Harrisons
We have been staying here since 1975 and have always returned to find the Smallwood Hotel even better than the visit before. I have recommended it to others who had a wonderful visit there, also.

Dr. stephen nichols - 19th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It has always been such a pleasure to have you staying with us too. So sorry that you have decided that you wont be travelling so far any more, we will miss you.

A Gem In The Heart Of Ambleside
This is our second visit to The Cuckoos Nest.
It is a very comfortable gem of a cottage attached to the hotel, home from home very cosy and everything you want in a self catering cottage. The hosts are very friendly and most helpful. A welcome pack on arrival to get you started and a complimentary breakfast when departing at the end of the week was most welcome. We will certainly be returning again.
Ann and Stuart
Sunderland

Mr. Stuart Dawson - 3rd Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect Cosy Nest
Clean and very well appointed apartment. Comfortable bed and luxury bathroom with jacuzzi , twinkling star lights, and underfloor heating. Individual parking spot,and small balcony to sit out in the sun. Central location for walking ,shopping ,cinema etc. Delicious complimentary breakfast on last morning of stay was much appreciated

Mr & Mrs P & M Roden - 30th May, 2015
Verified Review

Perfect Hideaway
This is the perfect hideaway with all you need to relax after a busy day on the fells or siteseeing/shopping.It is far more spacious inside than what you may think from the outside. Very confortable living room very mod bathroom and spacious bedroom.
All topped off by being very close to all Ambleside has to offer.Hopefully we will get the chance to return.

Mr P Mccarten - 22nd Apr, 2015
Verified Review

3 Night Break
Brilliant location, very comfortable accommodation and useful parking. Couldn\'t ask for much more for what I wanted. Would use again.

Alan Heafford - 14th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Mrs Laura Watson
The cuckoo\'s nest is a lovely, comfortable house with every convenience. We were made welcome with provisions of bread, milk eggs and marmalade and tea and coffee. A very enjoyable holiday.

Mrs. Laura Watson - 4th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you

Accommodation For Two.
Everything on hand. Every attention given by Anthony ,Chistine and their staff.Relaxing,exceedingly comfortable. Positively friendly.

Popplewell - 27th Sep, 2014
Verified Review

Excelent
really enjoyed our stay, there were so many personal touches which makes it just like home.although we were right in the centre of town it was very quite. would recommend to any age.

Mr. Kevin Law - 7th Jul, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay

Fab!!
We stayed here in March and had a fabulous stay. We had perfect weather and got some very pleasant walks in. Was lovely to have the CN to get back,to to unwind and spread out. We will definitely be back..

Mrs. Yvonne Leathley - 17th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

A Truly Nestly Nest!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Cuckoo's Nest lacks nothing and is, indeed, the perfect place to 'nestle' after a day of whatever activity is chosen in one of the loveliest areas in the UK. We'll hosted by Anthony and Christine. Looking forward to the next time!

Mr & Mrs Kellett - 24th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Very Good Flat/apartment For 2
We've just had a lovely 4 nights in the Cuckoo's Nest.
In a great location in the centre of Ambleside close to the excellent Zefferellis and Lucy on a Plate.
The flat is well furnished and a lovely touch was fresh bread left in the kitchen for our arrival. Would recommend this to anyone who wants accommodation in the centre of Ambleside.

Mr R S Hampson - 22nd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent!
This was our second visit in almost as many weeks and once again Cuckoo's Nest didn't disappoint. A good location and well equipped, it also includes those 'little extras', such as access to the local spa, which make it a an excellent place to stay

Mrs. Helen Merritt - 10th Nov, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So pleased you enjoyed your say again.

Perfection
We stayed at Cuckoo's Nest in Oct 2013 and are returning a month later we liked it so much. We stay in self-catering cottages quite often and this is one of the very best. Although designed for two, the rooms are a decent size and the cottage is very well equipped. The hosts are friendly and provided generous welcome supplies (and an invite to breakfast in the adjacent guest house on our day of leaving!) The jacuzzi bath was much appreciated after a day's walking in the hills. Also the included pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub (at an hotel v close by) were of high standard. To have free car parking right in the middle of Ambleside was really helpful. All in all the perfect place to stay.

Mrs. Helen Merritt - 28th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back again next month

Cuckoos Nest
A beautiful romantic cottage with a lovely walk to Lake Windermere. The cottage was superb and we were made very welcome by the owners. Loved the spa bath and the twinkly lights, the fresh warm bread on arrival and the eggs and butter were also thoughtfully provided too. We absolutely loved the comfortable bed with the feather quilt. We hope to return sometime in the future. Thanks for an absolutely lovely holiday.

Wendy Nethercot - 16th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next year or even sooner?

Cuckoos' Nest
Perfect place to stay, situated in the heart of Ambleside. The cottage is of a very high standard & my husband & I have stayed there for holidays a number of times.

Mrs Brenda Ferguson - 14th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Cuckoo's Nest
Our third time at Cuckoo's Nest and it just gets bettere and better. The welcome pack that awaits you is first class e.g. Homemade bread, marmalade etc. the bathroom is still s source of indulgence with jacuzzi bath and twinkling lights that help to relax a weary walker following a day on the fells. We even made use of the small balcony for coffee in the sunshine on the Sunday morning and read the papers. A fantastic place to stay for a couple which is further enhanced due to the location - all amenities of Ambleside on the doorstep. My husband and I will return very soon.

Catriona Robinson - 1st Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Easter In The Lakes
Great location for our walking, eating & drinking. Very welcoming owners, excellent, well equipped spot where we could fully relax.

Mrs. Grace Rishton - 4th May, 2013
Verified Review

Easter 2013
From start to finish our stay at the Cuckoo's Nest was a treat. We were greeted by the forever smiling Christine who welcomed us into our beautiful cottage to the smell of a warm loaf, a fridge with milk, butter eggs & marmalade. Tea & coffee to last the week, basic items but very thoughtful, as was the complimentary last morning breakfast.

On first impressions the cottage appeared to be cramped but it served our purpose and was ideal for our needs, the heating, (under floor in bathroom & kitchen)and lighting could be altered to suit, so cramped soon became snug.

The bathroom was excellent with its spa bath, oils & twinkly lights enabling you to relax after a hard days walking.
The free use of the spa facilities at the Best Western hotel around the corner was another bonus which we used and spent the morning in the hot tubs, saunas & pool.

On the whole we had a fantastic week, including the weather. Blue sky days with snow capped views.

Our thanks too you all at the Smallwood.

Nigel Pearson - 9th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for such a glowing review. Good to know that you found the cottage is as we think such a great size for 2 people. Pleased you enjoyed your breakfast on departure, if you need a short stay you will know where to come. Best wishes

Stunning Little Find
A very well equipped cottage which was ideal for us. Great location with own parking place. Very comfortable indeed from a great bed, lovely bathroom and all you would need in the kitchen which made it a joy to cook whilst on holiday!! We couldn't fault a thing.
Anthony and Christine certainly made you feel welcome from the fresh bread on arrival to Anthony clearing off our car from the night's snowfall, not to mention the lovely cooked breakfast on day of departure.
Looking forward to our next visit ... All the best and kind regards

Mr & Mrs H Carter-firth - 29th Mar, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope its not too long until we see you again. As you say it is a great location for all the amenities of Ambleside.

Cuckoos Nest
Lovely cosy cottage with many extra touches! Fresh bread brought in on arrival and milk and eggs in fridge. Super jacuzzi bath and underfloor heating. Some road noise in bedroom and bed harder than we were used too. Free access to excellent health club. Ambleside full of great restaurants and everywhere gave excellent service and was very clean. Great place to stay!

Kathryn Woods - 9th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Sorry you found the bed alittle hard, it is so difficult to have it right for everyone, some prefer thier bed softer and some harder. Pleased you enjoyed the rest of the cottage.

Wonderful
The Cuckoo's nest is a perfect place to stay.Very central for every need whether it's walking or just browsing the shops. The accommodation is spotlessly clean & comfortable with lovely heated floors in the kitchen & bathroom. Our only "complaint" would be that our stay there wasn't long enough and perhaps the bedroom could do with some blackout curtains to reduce the light from the street.We have already recommended this lovely apartment to some friends who are considering a trip to the Lakes.

Mr & Mrs Rogers - 4th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

New Year @ Cuckoo's Nest
We had an absolutely fabulous stay in the Cuckoo's Nest over New Year. The little cottage is tucked away off one of Ambleside's busiest streets and is lovely and quiet, and yet a minutes walk later you are in the middle of lovely tea shops, fantastic take aways a cinema and access to some amazing walks - without getting in your car. The Cottage is furnished to a high standard with all mod cons needed to make for a stress free and easy living holiday. Will definitely be looking to stay there again on our next winter trip to the lakes.

Dr. Helen Willis - 9th Jan, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
So pleased you enjoyed your New Year in the Cuckoo's Nest, hope to see you soon, perhaps you should test out the summers as well

Nice Place
There are some many good things about the Cuckoo's nest. From the Jacuzzi bath, to the little touches of fresh bread when you arrive.

The location is also very central to Ambleside. Which is a blessing and a curse, as the only fault we have was the noise of the traffic from the bedroom window on Sunday morning. (This might have been a one off as they were taking down the Christmas lights!!!)

Tom Keeber - 7th Jan, 2013
Verified Review

Cosy Cottage
Beautiful, cosy little cottage perfect for two. Little extras provided by owner a lovely treat. Would stay again if in the area.

Rebecca Kerr - 25th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Ambleside Retreat
Comfortable, well appointed and equipped accommodation. Very good location, useful parking. Would definitely recommend Cuckoo's Nest.

Mrs. Ana Manns - 17th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Cuckoos Nest
A wonderful relaxing place to stay. All the home comforts of home. We will be back.

Carol Aitken - 10th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Cuckoo's Nest
What a brilliant place - just right for two. Lovely warm bread, marmalade, milk, butter and eggs to start you off. Central location with restaurants just minutes away. Great for walking, shopping and the buses - good if you have a bus pass!

Mr. John Cole - 6th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

March 2012 Holiday
The Cuckoos Nest is a lovely property and gets full marks in our book. We enjoyed the many thoughtful touches, particularly the starter provisions and the farewell breakfast, and also the lovely bathroom extras.

Thank you for a marvellous holiday (even down to the weather).

Mrs. Joyce Prothero - 3rd Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Just What We Wanted!
A comfortable and cosy place to relax for the weekend, whatever the weather! Ideal place for two in the very heart of Ambleside. Everything was as advertised plus a welcome few extras. Would thoroughly recommend.

Gillian & James Dean - 21st Jan, 2012
Verified Review

'cuckoos Nest'
A very well appointed and comfortable cottage in a great central location for exploring the region. Loved the extra touches such as the welcome pack, spa bath complete with twinkly ceiling lights and the cosy underfloor heating.

Ann Hanish & Stephen Oakes - 21st Jan, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect Cottage
EXCELLENT, lovely and warm cottage. 10/10

Kevin Wilson - 19th Jan, 2012
Verified Review

A Home Away From Home
Delightful cottage centrally located that fulfilled all our needs. Comfortable bed and the little extras (fresh bread, eggs, milk, butter and home made jam) provided. We will be highly recommending the cottage for use by our friends.

Mr Dennis Stanton - 2nd Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you return soon.

Excellent Holiday
Excellent stay at cuckoos nest!!! All the little extras like bread, milk, eggs, butter and homemade marmalade made us feel really welcome. The accomodation had everyrhing we needed and more!!! The bathroom is one of the best weve every been to, twinkling lights in the ceiling, jacuzzi bath. Thanks again for a super hoilday!!!!! julie and derek xx

Mr & Mrs Pearson - 1st Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Thank you for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon, we hope
Best wishes
Christine