Kings Arms
Very comfortable,pleasant staff and very nice food
Nice place to stay

Gary Priest - 29th May, 2017
Verified Review

Cycling Weekend
First visit, excellent atmosphere, friendly hosts, good food - slightly better weather next time would be appreciated :-)

Malcolm Inch - 22nd May, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent
Very warm welcome. Good facilities. Staff friendly & helpful. Will definitely be returning.

Mrs. Amanda Pugh - 5th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Great
Very warm welcome. Kept carpark open till we got back from wedding. Room was very clean, well decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice well cooked. We will be back. Thank you

Mrs. Morag Mcclung - 13th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Very Friendly Hotel With Great Food
My son (14) and I always stay here when we go mountain biking at the nearby 7 Stanes locations. David, the owner is really into his mountain biking and very informative about the local routes...as well as welcoming of folk in bikiing gear!

Mr. Simon Lawrence - 23rd Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Good Value
A very pleasant hotel in the lovely Castle Douglas.The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.Food was very good,and you could have half portions if you wanted room for dessert.
The single room was clean,plenty of tea/coffee etc.

Mrs. ros field - 13th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Bikers On Tour
Excellent stay at the kings arms
Great comfy rooms excellent food and great beer
Will be staying again (thanks)

Mr. Philip Nelson - 7th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Short Stay
Enjoying a short stay in Castle Douglas, we found the Kings Arms Hotel very well sited in the town and had a pleasant outlook from our bedroom windows.
The evening meal and breakfast provided excellent, well presented food options for all four of our adult group and the service of the staff was first class.
The bedrooms were emaculate and well proportioned with good facilities for all our needs.
The only slight crticism was the noise level in the restaurant and bar areas during the evening meal times since there was a local meeting taking place and one or two of the party were a little boisterous. It was all good humoured but still a bit much for the other residents who found it hard to conduct a normal conversation over theri meals.
The staff were all very fiendly and, all in all, a very pleasant short stay.

Mr. Alan Patton - 10th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Good Find
Friendly staff and delicious hearty breakfast in an interesting old building. Had an excellent dinner here too. Will definitely stay here again if we return to this area.

Mr. David Outhwaite - 21st Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Great Stay
Extremely hospitable team working at the hotel - would stay again

Mr. Ross Fraser - 8th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Nice Stay, Would Come Again.
We stayed for one night as we were going on the local nocturnal nature watch. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, for example, providing fresh fruit on request for breakfast. The room was clean and spacious and we got a good night\'s sleep. We had dinner in the hotel which had a good selection on the menu.

Mr. Paul Kemp - 12th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent :)
Staff very nice and increadibly helpfully, bedroom was clean and tidy. The breakfast choice was great as catered for all. Highly recommend the king\'s breakfast !!! Thank you to all the staff for your kindness and helpfulness during my stay. Will return in near future I hope. Keep up the good work. Donna

Miss. Donna Batchelor - 8th May, 2016
Verified Review

First Class
Lovely room .friendly staff .

Mr. Donald Richardson - 18th Apr, 2016
Verified Review

Easter Break
Stayed at this hotel for an Easter break found management and staff very friendly. Ate in the hotel both nights great food and varied choice in the menu. Breakfast was excellent. Room clean and tidy with everything you would need. On site car park locked at night. Would have no hesitation in coming back to this Hotel next time we are in Castle Douglas.

Mr. Grahame Whyte - 28th Mar, 2016
Verified Review

Early Break
good location, friendly staff. nice accommodation and great choice of food

Mrs. Valerie Rushworth - 29th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay
Very enjoyable stay at the Kings Arms. Staff were very friendly and the rooms were comfortable.

Mr. Conor McManus - 9th Jan, 2016
Verified Review

Kings Arms Hotel
Nice clean hotel. Lovely room. Friendly, helpful staff and excellent food.
We would definitely stay again.

Mrs. julia donohue - 30th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Another Great Stay!
My son and I are just back from another great stay at The Kings Arms. The perfect place to relax after a hard days golfing! Great food, always helpful and cheery staff and comfy accommodation. What more could you ask for! Will be back!

Mr. Sandy Fyfe - 31st May, 2015
Verified Review

Great Hotel.
Excellent value for money.
Food was superb, especially the Kings breakfast.
Ideal location for golfing groups.
Special mention to the staff who were incredibly friendly and looked after us (especially Bev who kept the rowdier element of the group in check).
Would recommend this hotel

Mr. Nicholas Durham - 2nd May, 2015
Verified Review

Mountain Bike Weekender
Great stay, very friendly and informative staff who are always pleased to help, the hotel offered everything we needed and more as a group of mountain bikers

Mr. David Finch - 20th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Weekend Stay
We really enjoyed our stay the staff were very friendly the room was very comfortable and the food was excellent

Mrs. Jean Cameron - 15th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Saturday Night In Castle Douglas.
This was the last but one staging post of a charity bike ride. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was nice,very clean and comfortable. The pub was busy and friendly and the breakfast was an excellent start to another day of cycling. Recommended.

Mr. ANDREW ROBINSON - 13th Apr, 2015
Verified Review

Four Nights At The King\'s Arms Hotel
Slept like a lamb, and ate like a wolf! What more could you ask?

Mr. Malcolm Ritchie - 12th Mar, 2015
Verified Review

Marvellous Yet Again
We were mountain biking for a few days and use the Kings Arms as our base(hence the bike store was rather handy). A few hours of biblical rain meant we used the drying room every day. Sturdy breakfasts, good location, nice staff. We\'ll be back.

Mr. Mal Gibb - 12th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

1 Nigh Stay
Lovely place to stay, friendly and helpful. Breakfast plentiful and tasted great. First time travelling with our new puppy and staff were great.

Mr. Donald Blair - 31st Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Kings Arms
Very cheery helpful staff, really nice evening meal, comfortable nights sleep - would recommend.

Mr. Tim Mckendrick - 22nd Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay!
I got two excellent nights' sleep here. Having travelled from Aberdeen during the day, the welcome was very much appreciated. Dinners were great, if very generous portions (the steak and ale pie was the best), and the breakfast was really good too, far better than that at the commercial hotel I had stayed at previously. The location is perfect for working in the area and for sightseeing, too. If ever I'm in the area again, I'll be back!

Ms. Joanna Witton - 19th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Pleasant Welcome
Spent just the one night in single room and everything was fine. Clean & comfortable and plenty of space to move around. Breakfast was good -I judge kitchens on the quality of their scrambled egg - theirs was perfect and not the type that bounces off your plate as so often happens! Can't rate anything else as I arrived late and left fairly early.

Mrs. Lesley Tudor - 15th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Kings Arms Review
Recently stayed at the Kings Arms as part of a business trip and received fantastic service.

Staff are very polite and friendly and the food is also great.

Room very clean and well presented.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

Mr. Jim O\'donnell Clitheroe - 8th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Yorkies Stay
stayed one night as part of weekend biking tour,staff very pleasant and helpful,room spotless and comfortable also owner as plenty of info on biking, mountain biking,golf as he does them all.

Mr. Peter Gates - 21st Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay
I visited the hotel as part of a four day motorcycle tour of Scotland and northumberland. The owner dave was very helpful and friendly, providing a drying room for our biker clothes. Our room was comforatble and large with everything one would expect. The hotel was very clean and very busy. Breakfast was first class. We would definately stay here again.

Mr. John Harding - 9th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay
I visited the hotel as part of a four day motorcycle tour of Scotland and northumberland. The owner dave was very helpful and friendly, providing a drying room for our biker clothes. Our room was comforatble and large with everything one would expect. The hotel was very clean and very busy. Breakfast was first class. We would definately stay here again.

Mr. John Harding - 9th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Spring Fling Stay
Enjoyed our stay, room was newly decorated and very modern and comfortable, small issue with shower which we forgot to mention when paying, pressure and temperature not good when others using. Good service and tasting breakfast with great choice of menu. Would definately stay again. Thank you

Miss. Susan O\'brien - 27th May, 2014
Verified Review

Spring Fling Stay
Enjoyed our stay, room was newly decorated and very modern and comfortable, small issue with shower which we forgot to mention when paying, pressure and temperature not good when others using. Good service and tasting breakfast with great choice of menu. Would definately stay again. Thank you

Miss. Susan O\'brien - 27th May, 2014
Verified Review

Our Stay At Kings Arms
Very friendly staff and owners rooms were well fitted out and clean. Food was excellent.
Will definitely stay again

Mr. Trevor Vanstone - 29th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Wonderful stay, clean, modern room. Quite stay at the back of the hotel. Definitely will return

Miss. Anna Taylor - 21st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Wonderful Family Stay
My brother stayed here with his girlfriend and 2 year old little boy. The hotel were amazing, they set up a cot in the room. Helped out when my Brothers little boy wasn't feeling too well at dinner and just couldn't do enough for us. Will be visiting again without a doubt

Miss. Anna Taylor - 21st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Charmed
This spotlessly clean hotel was a delight - the nostalgic trip back to the 70s was completed by the walk down the corridor to the pink bathroom as my single room didn't have en suite facilities as advertised. However, the service was excellent, the staff very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

Mrs. Julie Blackburn - 30th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Very Good
Very friendly and helpful staff. It was very busy on the saturday night we stayed and we had our supper out in reception, which the kids actually really liked. Superb service from the staff and nothing was a problem. David was very helpful too. I stay in a lot of hotels in Scotland for work and I would be more than happy to stay here again. The quality of customer service and genuine friendliness is outstanding. What hotels used to be like.

Mr. John White - 13th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Friendly
Friendly, clean and helpful staff, what more could you ask for?

Mrs. Maureen Ortega - 13th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Luing Agm
Only stayed 1 night but had a lovely stay, room was very comfortable with all the necessary facilities. Good filling breakfast and staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again , many thanks.

Mr. Chris Young - 7th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Great Time
stayed 1 night last month that good i had to go back, so second time at the kings in 5 weeks, think that say a lot!! stayed for 5 nights this time over fishing, if your staying in or around castle douglas then look no further rooms excellent, the food well simply the best in town!! the biggest and best breakfast you will get anywhere!! great welcoming and friendly staff, what else can i add, booking for next year shortly so if thats not the recomendation need try for yourselves, ps and i caught a few good fish up to 17lbs

Mr. Justin Forsythe - 1st Nov, 2013
Verified Review

50 Years On
We visited the hotel first in 1963 as the first stop on our honeymoon. We enjoyed our second visit very much but can' remember too much from 11963 apart from the sign over the entrance

Mr. Peter Finnegan - 20th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
First of all we would like to give a big thank you to David, Pauline and all their staff for making our trip a very enjoyable one the hotel is a little gem with very comfortable rooms and excellent food and with David sorting out the golf courses what more could you want we are already trying to sort out dates for our return. Thankyou all again Martin & Larraine (Cumbria)

Mr. Martin Morrison - 18th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Another Wonderful Stay
As huge fans of the beautiful town of Castle Douglas, my husband and I would always choose the Kings Arms Hotel. The friendly atmosphere, wonderful staff and great food makes it a must for all visitors. Can't wait for our next visit.

Mrs. Beverley Caney - 30th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Quick Trip
Always nice to be able to stay at the King's as often we have trouble getting a room due to the hotel's attraction to golfers and outdoor enthusiasts. As usual everything was up to scratch. Food great, bar welcoming and room spacious and quiet. Would recommend it.

Mr. Campbell Black - 19th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Short Stay Vmcc
Good clean well run family hotel. Staff excellent, food & rooms all to a good standard for the price paid.

Mr. Jimmy Burns - 13th May, 2013
Verified Review

Vintage Motorcycle Club Weekend
Clean convenient hotel, friendly attentive helpful staff
Meals were good and served quickly given the variety ordered and the number of people dining. Would stay again

Mr. Terry Spary - 13th May, 2013
Verified Review

Kings Arms Hotel
Excellent and friendly service. Excellent food too.

Mr. Doug Macleod - 11th Jan, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
Room clean and bright. Welcoming staff and good food. What more could you want?

Mr. Robert Chambers - 27th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Top Class
Late in making booking - brilliant rapid communication. Single travelers made to feel at home.
1st Class Dinner, event though the staff had a large party to contend with.
All staff friendly throughout, and early departure was no problem.
Thanks, I will be back.

Mr. Paul Woodburn - 13th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Very Good
Very welcoming staff. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Kindly had rooms ready for check in at 11am which was much appreciated as we had a wedding to attend.

Miss. Bonnie Leibowitch - 2nd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Stay
great stay staff very friendly especially Christine. Only complaint was early check-out. Other than that would definately recommend.

Mrs. Ann Mcskimming - 26th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Worth A Visit
Lovely hotel, very helpful staff

Ms. Fiona Robbie - 20th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Recommended!
Had a great couple of nights at The Kings Arms, the staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Would definitley recommend staying here whether as a couple or a larger group. The food is also worthy of a mention, we had breakfast and evening meals, all of which were great.

Mr. Jan Taylor - 11th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

\\pretty Good
Another good 2 night / 3 day break in Scotland staying at the Kings Arms. Friendly staff and hosts. Only small thing that would really be the icing on the cake would be a slightly more powerful shower, (we stayed in room 2). Nothing else needs sorting, cheers, Ian

Ian Piper - 21st Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Friendly Local Hotel
Pleasant local hotel in Castle Douglas, well located in the centre of town with off street parking. Rooms are recently refurbished, have tea making facilites and flat screen TV's. Breakfasts are friendly and Scottish (porridge, kippers etc) with a friendly bar for evening meals.

Mr. Dean Chisholm - 4th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Home From Home
Lovely stay friendly staff food excellent rooms were lovely.will recommend to friends well worth a visit. We will be back.

Mr. Mark Phillipson - 18th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Home From Home
Lovely stay friendly staff food excellent rooms were lovely.will recommend to friends well worth a visit. We will be back.

Mr. Mark Phillipson - 18th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Area Business Visit
Central, easily accessible and good off-street parking. A warm welcome. It was evident that I was a guest expected. The upgrade was welcome and the double room was both comfortable and truly adequate. Breakfast was very good and service excellent.

Mr. John Tracey - 5th May, 2011
Verified Review